Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

gosplan wrote: »
    I'd be very surprised if he looks at anything beyond playing squad and budget.

And when he took the Chelsea job, United were league champions and had a huge budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Mourinho wanted the United job. Why do you think he was sucking up to Fergie around the Madrid game that season?

The guy is a poison though. Look at his antics last season especially in the Villa, Sunderland and the slip game. When his time at Chelsea ends again, it will be him bowing out disgracefully as usual.

Not appointing Mourinho wasn't the biggest mistake the club ever made. Appointing Moyes was the biggest mistake the club ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

thelad95 wrote: »
    Mourinho wanted the United job. Why do you think he was sucking up to Fergie around the Madrid game that season?

The guy is a poison though. Look at his antics last season especially in the Villa, Sunderland and the slip game. When his time at Chelsea ends again, it will be him bowing out disgracefully as usual.

Not appointing Mourinho wasn't the biggest mistake the club ever made. Appointing Moyes was the biggest mistake the club ever made.

His antics are no worse than Fergie's were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

Lukker- wrote: »

Ah in fairness he is a bit worse maybe not the media stuff but some of the stuff he has done on the sidelines fergie never would have, like the early handshake thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

Some good news!! DeGea agent

"It is not true that De Gea has found a deal with Real Madrid. I'm negotiating with Manchester United his extension"-Mendes to CadenaSer

I won't believe it till I see seem pen in hand and signing the contract on MUTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

What were Fergies antics? For the most part all he ever did was point at his watch.

Fergie would never have done what Jose did at Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

The whole eye-poking thing was as low as it gets, but to paint Fergie as a saint is folly as well. He took our major shareholders at the time to court on a whim ffs.

And when he took the Chelsea job, United were league champions and had a huge budget.

And when he took the Chelsea job, United had already named Moyes as first choice successor to Fergie a month earlier.

Not that it matters, but I personally thought he was grooming himself for replacing Sir Alex in those final few months. His comments and demeanor in the post-match interview the night his Real Madrid put us out of the C.L. in March 2013 were bizarre. He seemed forlorn, and stated himself something like "the better team have been eliminated tonight."

Now I am not for one minute suggesting that he was unhappy that his team won and progressed in the C.L., rather that he was careful with his words and showed great respect to our club. This is just one example of him doing this that I can remember, but there are other times when Jose could have put the boot in like he does in many pre/post-match interviews with various other teams, but for whatever reason chose not to with us. It is quite possible that Mourinho knew about Ferguson's retirement when he gave that post-match interview, since he said in June 2013 "I knew many months ago that Sir Alex was retiring".

Whether it is his enormous admiration for Sir Alex, respect for our club, or a little bit of both, I think Jose has actively tried to remain popular through United eyes, at least up until Moyes was appointed. I believe if he had been offered the job at Old Trafford back then he would have taken it. For me, the fact that he didn't end up there means it wasn't offered. Snubbing Chelsea wouldn't have come into it as the United offer would have been made privately to him as early as February.

I reckon the new challenge at one of the biggest clubs in the world in United, having already done it all with some of other 'biggest clubs' around, would have been something he'd have jumped at. For whatever reason though, it wasn't to be and he is currently where he belongs.

I would have taken him though. No question about it, our 2013/14 season would have been a completely different story if he was Fergie's immediate successor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Maybe Jose already knew fergie was leaving as he had already turned down the job?

Explains him at the Madrid match and just showing fergie some respect because it would be his last European game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Fergie got up to plenty back in his day, so don't think Mourinho would be any different... my only issue with Mourinho is he never seems to stay long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

stankratz wrote: »
    And when he took the Chelsea job, United had already named Moyes as first choice successor to Fergie a month earlier.

Not that it matters, but I personally thought he was grooming himself for replacing Sir Alex in those final few months. His comments and demeanor in the post-match interview the night his Real Madrid put us out of the C.L. in March 2013 were bizarre. He seemed forlorn, and stated himself something like "the better team have been eliminated tonight."

Now I am not for one minute suggesting that he was unhappy that his team won and progressed in the C.L., rather that he was careful with his words and showed great respect to our club. This is just one example of him doing this that I can remember, but there are other times when Jose could have put the boot in like he does in many pre/post-match interviews with various other teams, but for whatever reason chose not to with us. It is quite possible that Mourinho knew about Ferguson's retirement when he gave that post-match interview, since he said in June 2013 "I knew many months ago that Sir Alex was retiring".

Whether it is his enormous admiration for Sir Alex, respect for our club, or a little bit of both, I think Jose has actively tried to remain popular through United eyes, at least up until Moyes was appointed. I believe if he had been offered the job at Old Trafford back then he would have taken it. For me, the fact that he didn't end up there means it wasn't offered. Snubbing Chelsea wouldn't have come into it as the United offer would have been made privately to him as early as February.

I reckon the new challenge at one of the biggest clubs in the world in United, having already done it all with some of other 'biggest clubs' around, would have been something he'd have jumped at. For whatever reason though, it wasn't to be and he is currently where he belongs.

I would have taken him though. No question about it, our 2013/14 season would have been a completely different story if he was Fergie's immediate successor.

I think Mourinho was one of the rare few around with the ego to think he could take over from Fergie and possibly better him.

Spazdarn wrote: »
    I think Mourinho was one of the rare few around with the ego to think he could take over from Fergie and possibly better him.

We could have done with a dose of ego last year, rather than new Ipads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

LVG won't be sticking around long either if these performances continue, a draw against west ham might be considered by some a good result but not for man utd. We really haven't improved that last season which is ridicolous considering the money that was spent and the continued picking of rooney in midfield is bizarre. I was confident of top 4 about 6 weeks ago, not so much now if we cannot win away from from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    LVG won't be sticking around long either if these performances continue, a draw against west ham might be considered by some a good result but not for man utd. We really haven't improved that last season which is ridicolous considering the money that was spent and the continued picking of rooney in midfield is bizarre. I was confident of top 4 about 6 weeks ago, not so much now if we cannot win away from from home.
    4 points better off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Its the lack of chances that is very worrying. Our efforts all seem be coming outside the box far too often.

We have the players to piss Top 4, but we are doing our best to piss it away.

EVENFLOW

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Di Maria was shocking today(again), would be delighted if we could get 40 mill for him of PSG in the summer.

Its the lack of chances that is very worrying. Our efforts all seem be coming outside the box far too often.

We have the players to piss Top 4, but we are doing our best to piss it away.
    Looking at our fixtures I am worried - if we don't get our act together and fast .. It not necessarily this result but our performances of late are desperately worrying.

Liverpool, Spurs, Arsenal and to a letter extent Southamption are playing some lovely stuff lately - we are probably still favourites but we could very easily fall outside over the next 14 games.

Di Maria was shocking today(again), would be delighted if we could get 40 mill for him of PSG in the summer.
    Ah here now - let's not do anything rash FFS..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

irishfeen wrote: »
    Looking at our fixtures I am worried - if we don't get our act together and fast .. It not necessarily this result but our performances of late are desperately worrying.

Liverpool, Spurs, Arsenal and to a letter extent Southamption are playing some lovely stuff lately - we are probably still favourites but we could very easily fall outside over the next 14 games.

That's why dropping points today is worrying.

Fair enough over the season you are always going drop points in winnable games. At least in 7-8 matches over season too. Every team drops silly points. But we have reached our quota already in that regard now or very close.

A goal in last minute should not change that .

No need for a panic button just yet though. We are still in decent position, European games are around corner for our rivals and we are still in cup.

Plenty to play for, we need to spice it up from Midfield onwards and the faster the better.

EVENFLOW

irishfeen wrote: »
    Ah here now - let's not do anything rash FFS..

Doesn't seem arsed at all, not interested in putting his foot in at all which is a worrying sign. Pussied out of at least 3 50/50's that immediately spring to mind, probably more. We would have been better of keeping nani who can at least cross the ball, Di Maria seems to hit the first man every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,452 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Maybe its not his fault?

You don't become a bad player over the space of a few months. I think the tactics he's playing under might be the cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Doesn't seem arsed at all, not interested in putting his foot in at all which is a worrying sign. Pussied out of at least 3 50/50's that immediately spring to mind, probably more. We would have been better of keeping nani who can at least cross the ball, Di Maria seems to hit the first man every time.

Dat knee jerk reaction doe

Rooney and Di Maria both look lost at minute

I really don't think they are the problem though.

EVENFLOW

UDAWINNER wrote: »

The typo here might be giving me the wrong understanding of what you meant, but if you did mean to type "We really haven't improved from last season", well then I highly, highly disagree with that. It's true that we're not playing anywhere near the level we should be with what we have, but we have improved greatly on last season. People who think otherwise have very short memories.

There are other points from your post that I agree with, but I've been seeing this "We haven't improved from last season" pop up a few times recently and had to throw in my 2 cents.

Ah jaysus.

Dat knee jerk reaction doe

He's been woeful since he came back from injury and was hardly pullin up trees before that either bar a couple of decent games against dross at home like QPR, for 60fkin mill we should be expecting a bit more.

Rooney and Di Maria both look lost at minute

I really don't think they are the problem though.

They are the problem but its not their fault, stop playing Rooney in midfield and get di Maria into some space where he can use his best attributes like dribbling and crossing.

I'd never wish an injury on any of our players but if it happened to one of our strikers itd solve this rooney mess and maybe itd be done with then.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Maybe its not his fault?

You don't become a bad player over the space of a few months. I think the tactics he's playing under might be the cause.

Can hardly blame tactics for pussying out of tackles, taking brutal set pieces, getting pushed off the ball far too easily, running the ball down blind alleys , dire crosses etc etc, its his general attitude that's pissing me off most though. At least falcao is showing some heart.

He's also only human which we do forget some times, adapting to a new league and a new lifestyle can be hard for some people, it was said earlier his house was broken into while his family where in it and they are now living in a hotel so I'd give him some slack.

He absolutely destroyed germany in a friendly after the world cup so he has the talent no doubt. I'd say this time next season we will be singing his praises. Look what a year adjustment did for Fellaini totally changed player from last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

http://giant.gfycat.com/CooperativeFluffyDamselfly.gif

Shaw and Rooney's reactions are almost identical when the ball goes in. Freaky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Again Van Gaal moans about balance but starts the team that is very much the definition of unbalanced.

Starts with 2 pure 9s who are not comfortable dropping deep and lacks pace.
    Plays Rooney in the midfield when Herrera and Fellaini on the bench.

Plays midfield of Di Maria, Blind and Januzaj away to West Ham, one of the most physical team in the league and a tough away ground when Fellaini would have been ideal.

Now watch him play Fellaini at Old trafford against Burnley when it would be game for Januzaj, Di Maria and Mata to shine.

Herrera has played well in the midfield but can't buy a min anymore.

Rafael was back from injury long back and played for reserves last week, now he is playing without protective mask but still Valencia plays as RB.

Smalling and Rojo proved to be decent option but somehow Jones always plays ahead of Smalling.