Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,608 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

As the lads said in commentary today there isn't enough movement from RVP and Falcao as they both want to play the same game,something needs to change up front.

Nice finish by Blind for the goal.
    there was a break on in the second half and both of them ran in the very same direction,straight up the middle.I think they are too similar to play up front together and neither have much pace.
    Get Rooney out of midfield and play him up front with Falcao and I think there would be an instant improvement.

I thought Shaw had a good game ,pity about the red card but it didnt effect the result.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

"Long Ball United" - Big Sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭Robson99

Surprised at people saying Valencia and Falcao were awful,bar that awful attempt at a finish i was impressed with Falcao and Valencia was solid throughout he's just a fashionable lad to criticise. Di Maria and Rooney if they had different names would not be getting playing anymore,bench both of them and hope it bucks them up,no more excuses.

Agree totally.
    There is a lot of talk too about LVG being afraid to drop Rooney because he might throw the toys out. If is is the case there is no place for either of them at the club. The manager must have b*lls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

irishfeen wrote: »
    Awful stuff, problems all over the pitch.. Valencia, Rooney, RVP, Januzaj, Di Maria were diabolical, the rest not much better.

Lack of pace is killing us, Herrera is a total waste - feel very sorry for the lad.

This.

Di Maria tried to inject some pace but the rest were just so pedestrian.It's been going on for a couple of seasons now but the one improvement is that we didn't just accept defeat.

Valencia needs to go.At one stage Di Maria played him in with acres of space & he simply stopped and waited for a defender to get close then smashed the ball off him,that was to be repeated time & again in the game.It's like Groundhog day with him doing this.

Rooney's touch is getting worse with age.He's just not a midfielder.I'd have brought Herrera in there,at least he knows how to play in the position.

FutureGuy wrote: »

He's probably right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭KH25

He has a point....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

But rich coming from him but he is dead right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Hopefully now, Fellaini will be playing instead of Rooney. He just offers more than Rooney from midfield.

This whole Rooney to midfield transition just isn't going to work

a nice little dig but he is dead right.

I do think Rooney will go back up top next year alongside another striker (be it RVP, Falcao or someone new) once we buy a dominant CM. Which I am certain we will, be it Pogba or someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

keane2097 wrote: »
    Falcao has been great the last few weeks imo. Nobody associated with United can get any credit for anything at the moment.
    Thought he was good today .. Kept running for everything.. Missed a sitter too.

Hopefully now, Fellaini will be playing instead of Rooney. He just offers more than Rooney from midfield.

This whole Rooney to midfield transition just isn't going to work

LVG needs to accept its not working and make changes.
    He cant keep shoehorning players in ,one of the big names needs to miss out and it should be RVP imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Give Di Maria a break, he and his family are back living in a hotel due to fear.
    He can't be the most settled player at the club right now.

We need to buy a world class midfielder and that would help a lot of players.

LVG hit the nail on the head with his comment about our defenders not winning the first or second balls when crosses came in.

KH25 wrote: »
    He has a point....
    But rich coming from him but he is dead right.
    yabadabado wrote: »
    a nice little dig but he is dead right.

Oh don't get me wrong, he's completely right.

I'd drop Van Persie, not working hard enough and not looking for balls. He was woeful today. It's just not good enough.

There is a huge amount of augment for starting Rooney and Wilson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Rooney is becoming cleverly 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Van persie just doesn't seem to care anymore more concerned with getting himself a goal then working for the team but it looks like hes one of the players whos undroppable for lvg.

I actually dont think the defence were that bad today but midfield/forwards were shocking.

And not making a sun till the 70th minute was just stupid and mata, wilson or hererra not getting on was worse.

Fair play to Carragher,crucifying RVP & Falcao for not running into space and 100% correct.

RobertKK wrote: »
    G

we are stuck with what we have until the summer so LVG needs to work with the midfielders he has.
    No point playing Rooney there when its clearly not working and leaving Herrera and Fellaini on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

the strikers had less touch's theN DDG says it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

He's right, our most effective tactic is hoof ball rolling on Fellaini.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Rooney is becoming cleverly 2.0

He's been converted into cleverly by being forcefully played in midfield

Think the captains armband is blinding his judgement and as captain I doubt he's even challenging lvgs poor decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

Give Di Maria a break, he and his family are back living in a hotel due to fear.
    He can't be the most settled player at the club right now.

I agree about Di Maria.

If we were to buy a world class midfielder we would probably see Blind, Carrick and Herrera on the bench while the new midfielder partners Rooney, Januzaj.

Apart from the defense, I'm actually quite happy with our squad. IMO, The problem is not personnel, it's the team selections, positions and strategy.

Break the bank on Pogba next year. Simple as that in my book. Everything will come together then.*

* Maybe not that simple, but it'd be a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭Robson99

We have a top class one on the bench who cant get a game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Anybody got any idea what the 'philosophy' is?
    There is absolutely no stamp being put on this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

Anybody got any idea what the 'philosophy' is?
    There is absolutely no stamp being put on this team.

to pass the ball and keep it but the players cant, passing is awful. He said this today aswell he had to change it to long ball because the players cudnt pass the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Rooney should go back to being an arsehole and stop being so nice, esp to LVG.. "Play me up front and give me more money. And buy this player and that player. And stop making notes and tell the ref you'll get him sacked and tell van persie im taking penos or im going to chelsea."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

Nolars wrote: »
    to pass the ball and keep it but the players cant, passing is awful. He said this today aswell he had to change it to long ball because the players cudnt pass the ball.

He might actually achieve that philosophy if he stopped playing Rooney in midfield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Quandary wrote: »
    He might actually achieve that philosophy if he stopped playing Rooney in midfield

And give Herrera a game