Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭KH25

Lucky escape. We did not deserve that. Feel for Shaw, he had to take that for the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Fair play to the lads for not giving up. If only they had that attitude from the first minute.

I'm gonna bleach my eyes after watching it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

RVP and Falcao dont work up front we need a pacey striker with Falcao. Di Maria was horrible today im surprised Mata didnt come on for him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Honestly, I'm still nowhere near ready to start throwing toys out of pram over LVG. I didn't lose faith in Moyes till I realised Top 4 was gone, and I still think that's well on the table for us this season. Thats not to say there isn't concerns, but just that I think a choice needs to be made at some stage; do we shift LVG or do we shift the deadwood.

I think his hands are tied with Rooney; if he drops him (as he should), I'd imagine there'd be an uproar of a different sort. That's not trying to justify his midfield spot; I'd happily see Rooney gone. But we have Rooney and Valencia as two of our primary creative players and neither able to actually create much. If Rooney wasn't "Mr Man United", he'd have been dropped, but the problem is over the last few years, he has become THE guy, sadly. I wonder how Rooney feels; while I know he gave out about being played out of position before, I also think he's mentioned in the past about "evolving" into a midfielder. I wonder how much of it is that Rooney himself WANTS to be a midfielder, wants to be the "Scholes" of the team. I also don't think moving him up front helps much tbh; I feel Rooney's inability to stay up as a striker is a major problem and that so long as he's anywhere in the team, we'll have problems.

Mind, I'd see RVP gone as well at this stage, and Falcao's inability to put the ball in the net is very worrying. For all people go on about our defence though, I can't help but feel that out mid-to-striker areas just come accross as not being all that bothered and/or have lost all form :/

I can see why there's problems with LVG but there's still deadwood in the team. If things go wrong and he gets the sack, chances are we're stuck with the deadwood again; a new manager coming in would likely keep Rooney, Valencia, etc. There's still a lot of building work to be done, and changing manager will undo a lot of the good work started so far. I see what LVg is trying to do, which is more than I could say about Moyes' time there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭Robson99

Rushden wrote: »
    Falcao and blind were our only two players who looked desperate to win today. Di Maria looks terrified anytime anyone comes near him and Rooney was absolutely dreadful again

Valencia played very well also. At this stage I don't blame the players. Our manager is fu*n crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

As the lads said in commentary today there isn't enough movement from RVP and Falcao as they both want to play the same game,something needs to change up front.

Nice finish by Blind for the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Rushden wrote: »
    Falcao and blind were our only two players who looked desperate to win today. Di Maria looks terrified anytime anyone comes near him and Rooney was absolutely dreadful again

He kept trying but he was poor today. Everything bounced off him and he looked sluggish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

LVG must be blind or something. If you play Rooney, you play him up front ffs. Drop RVP for him, because he's been poor. Di Maria was a disgrace too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

United play the worst football of any of the teams in the top 8 IMO which is absolutely crazy when you look at the squad and compare it with the others.

If the football was decent this would be a lot easier to stomach. There's something really wrong to have those players playing so badly. Di Maria looks like a wannabe Elmohamady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

Yeah really poor performance. It is mad putting a midfield out like that and previous posters have pointed out most of what was wrong today.

Now maybe a controversial opinion, and he has saved us many many points this season but, although our aerial defensive capabilities were really poor today I do think he is exacerbating the problem by literally not coming for any ball. He invites the opposition to drop the ball a lot closer to the goal because they know he isn't coming for it and it puts huge pressure on the defence.

Anyway I'm only bringing it up and not pointing out the rest of the problems today as most of them have already been discussed. I'll probably get dogs abuse for questioning him on here but I di think it's a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Some of our players should be ashamed of how much they are earning.
    We were absolute muck but in saying that LVG needs to sort out the stubbornness.
    We are clearly lacking in midfield and his treatment of Herrera is terrible

Wouldn't go to mad on Di Maria lads considering its his first season and he was good at the start but he got injured and now he ahs the house thing in his mind. Id be more worried about Rooney and RVP looks finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Awful stuff, problems all over the pitch.. Valencia, Rooney, RVP, Januzaj, Di Maria were diabolical, the rest not much better.

Lack of pace is killing us, Herrera is a total waste - feel very sorry for the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

We just about deserved a draw based on the 2nd half but my god that was very badly managed from LVG.

Rooney was awful but he is not a midfielder
    I thought Shaw was poor and looks a shadow of the player he was before he joined us
    Januzaj and Di Maria were both terrible
    Valencia was good defensively but poor going forward
    Falcao and RVP were both poor but they had no service

Worrying times lads. Questions need to be asked of LVG at this stage.

One positive is the team spirit is fairly impressive and the Utd tenacity is back, something which was missing last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭KH25

Im gonna look on the bright side here: we got the equaliser and after we went 1-0 down there were some nice bits of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Clueless from LVG once again. The big names need to be stopped constantly being stuffed into this team, Falcao should be dropped immediately as he's never going to sign and he is offering very little up front, If I never seen RVP again play for United again I wouldn't give a ****, Shaw, Blind and De Gea had decent games but overall a dreadful performance. Would love to see another manager with this team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭Robson99

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I see what LVg is trying to do, which is more than I could say about Moyes' time there.

Please enlighten us as a lot of us don't.

Also why have a go at Valencia our full back when Di Maria, Janazuai, and Rvp have been worse and are our so called creative players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Van Persie and di Maria didn't try a leg. No work rate, look uninterested and lost all the 50/50 s. Not good enough and I'd be happy if both were dropped.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

Look at Di Maria's performance today and tell me the guy isn't a mercenary. He couldn't give two ****s about the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Surprised at people saying Valencia and Falcao were awful,bar that awful attempt at a finish i was impressed with Falcao and Valencia was solid throughout he's just a fashionable lad to criticise. Di Maria and Rooney if they had different names would not be getting playing anymore,bench both of them and hope it bucks them up,no more excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

Fakman87 wrote: »
    Look at Di Maria's performance today and tell me the guy isn't a mercenary. He couldn't give two ****s about the team.

The thread that keeps giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Herrera Mata wilson in for januzaj falcao and rvp please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Surprised at people saying Valencia and Falcao were awful,bar that awful attempt at a finish i was impressed with Falcao and Valencia was solid throughout he's just a fashionable lad to criticise. Di Maria and Rooney if they had different names would not be getting playing anymore,bench both of them and hope it bucks them up,no more excuses.
    Valencia is brutal, absolutely brutal .. Keeps passing backwards and cannot cross the ball - Christ sake this is United like..

irishfeen wrote: »
    Valencia is brutal, absolutely brutal .. Keeps passing backwards and cannot cross the ball - Christ sake this is United like..

He was out player of the month last month yet still spent most of it getting criticised :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

adox wrote: »

The thread that keeps giving.

It will be the same 3/4 people circle jerking and thanking each other as well. They validate eachothers opinions, even though they are wrong and utterly clueless.

As bad as most of us here are armchair managers they are worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Falcao has been great the last few weeks imo. Nobody associated with United can get any credit for anything at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Rushden

Kirby wrote: »
    He kept trying but he was poor today. Everything bounced off him and he looked sluggish.
    I never said he played well , but he was still our only player who when we went behind was constantly showing for the ball and trying to make things happen. He looks like he wants to win all the time and even when he isn't playing well tries as hard as he can, unlike van Persie who'll just stand around. Nothing worse than being behind and seeing players not bothered to even try close down the opposition defenders

Herrera must be struggling with the investigation,that's the only reason i can think of he's not getting more gametime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

Not at the stage of over-reacting just yet to Lvg, but his formations and team selections have been so baffling at times.
    As for leaving Herrara and Mata out when chasing a game but bringing on Fellaini and not having the courage to take off an underperforming big name, Moyes would be absolutely slaughtered in here for that.

Its definitely worrying.
    Still think we will make top 4, but with the advantages we have over the competition we should be strolling to it.