Mark Wahlberg lived on liquids + nuts for 6 months. What was your most extreme diet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Woshy wrote: »
    For me - pregnancy is the most extreme diet I've ever been on. I suffered from severe hyperemesis gravidarum, I couldn't even keep water down and spent a good bit of time in the maternity hospital on a drip. I lost almost 15% of my body weight in about 8 or 9 weeks and was bedridden. I drank milk which occasionally stayed down and isotonic drinks frozen into ice cubes. That's pretty much it.

I'm almost 6 months pregnant now and almost back at my pre-pregnancy weight which is great. I'm still taking drugs for it and am sick occasionally but I'm eating fairly normally now.

So, pregnancy is the most effective weight loss tool for me!

I bet your family plans have decreased a bit now. Thats some torture to go through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

PSMF - either your body will break or your spirit will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

Marlon Brando's dieting habits back when he cared about stuff were absolutely crazy. He'd eat himself into a fat mess between films then live on a diet of ice cream with gigantic meals thrown in any time his cravings got too bad which he'd make himself throw up after finishing them.

Also, quite unrelated to everything here, but I just found out Marlon Brando's sister married a guy called Dick Loving.

I tried doing slim fast once. Jesus that was horrific. Thought about doing lipotrim too when I got pretty upset about my weight, thankfully I saw sense.

I seem to have a really really slow metabolism, genuinely, for the food I eat and how active I am, I should be a lot thinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Done a cork to Dublin via the coastal route cycle for charity.had a sick stomach so survived on plain pasta, jelly tots and energy gels for the two days.i was so ill afterwards.had one pint and had to be brought home.took my stomach ages to recover from all the sugar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Marlon Brando's dieting habits back when he cared about stuff were absolutely crazy. He'd eat himself into a fat mess between films then live on a diet of ice cream with gigantic meals thrown in any time his cravings got too bad which he'd make himself throw up after finishing them.
    Seems like he was bulimic.
    I tried doing slim fast once. Jesus that was horrific. Thought about doing lipotrim too when I got pretty upset about my weight, thankfully I saw sense.

I seem to have a really really slow metabolism, genuinely, for the food I eat and how active I am, I should be a lot thinner.
    From what I've observed, most people's metabolism is at about the same rate, but there are definitely exceptions (I'd say everyone knows someone who is really overweight for how little they eat/really thin for how much they eat) - I pay no attention to people who say it's not a valid reason for not losing/gaining weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

Not sure on the semantics there; he only done it when he needed to lose weight for a role, was happy gorging away to his heart's content otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Deise Musashi

When I was training a lot in Taekwondo, and the gym, ate an apple for breakfast, two apples for my break at work and half of my dinner in the evening. After training I would eat the other half of the dinner, drink nothing but water all day and if I was hungry I would take a protein shake.

Making weight for tournaments I would drop any carbs bar the apples, up the mileage in running and TKD practice and fight at 68kg @ 5' 10".
    I usually walked around at 76kg and had visible abs at that.

I used to fast every couple of days also, read in a martial arts mag that the top fighters were doing that, used to occasionally fast for three days if I felt like it

Even then I would train in the gym four days a week, run six miles three times a week, a ten mile at the weekend, two three hour TKD classes a week and do some sprints or play squash during the week. I often trained twice a day but often felt a bit lightheaded, and got run down so colds and mouth ulcers were a common irritation

At 68kgs I was getting shoved around in the ring, I started eating protein shakes and more eggs, even set an alarm to wake me at 4am to take a protein shake(thanks "Muscle and Fitness"...).
    That got me up to 84kgs and still pretty lean but not as defined as I was at 68kg.

These days I work a lot, at a computer, don't move enough and I'm a fat bastard. I think obesity is probably more damaging to health than masses of protein and hard work, but stay away from the steroids

From what I've observed, most people's metabolism is at about the same rate, but there are definitely exceptions (I'd say everyone knows someone who is really overweight for how little they eat/really thin for how much they eat) - I pay no attention to people who say it's not a valid reason for not losing/gaining weight.

And the other way too!

There's a girl in work who eats pretty much exactly what I eat and she'd definitely have a sweeter tooth. I say no to biscuits, she says two please. She did zero exercise until very recently, and she's a skinny little thing. Breaks me feckin heart :P

And the other way too!

There's a girl in work who eats pretty much exactly what I eat and she's definitely have a sweeter tooth. I say no to biscuits, she says two please. She did zero exercise until very recently, and she's a skinny little thing. Breaks me feckin heart :P
    Yeh my best friend is a guy, nine stone, lives on beer and carbs, and barely exercises. I'd be such a haip if I lived like him. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

You are healthy that is more important. You body perhaps could not be healthy thinner.

Health is like sobriety it's more important than relationships media body image or anything.

Your healthy body is the way it is most beautiful.

Our bodies will let us down any we will be angry with them for aging or cancer or not behaving as they should.

The only thing better than being perfect is to be free.

No human body will be perfect and we will never be perfectly happy with it. But we can be free.

Your minerals micro-nutrients etc are important.

It's harder said than done I know though. But it's process of learning the importance of giving yourself a break.

And the other way too!

There's a girl in work who eats pretty much exactly what I eat and she'd definitely have a sweeter tooth. I say no to biscuits, she says two please. She did zero exercise until very recently, and she's a skinny little thing. Breaks me feckin heart :P
    Yes but you are healthier and you don't know what she does when you are not around her.

Skinny is not beauty.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152797895149051
    Daniel Cormier is waaay fitter and hotter than Walhberg.

Most female athletes are not skinny.

Alison Stokke https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/17/0f/5c/170f5c975786e7de6e3d614641566bc9.jpg
    https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/ca/fa/25/cafa25afb48576aa13f666eed5da2a3a.jpg

I doubt she diets.

Serena Williams.

http://www.celebritypic.tk/serena-williams/serena-williams-1/

I think a lot of people avoid health because they fear they still will not look 'skinny'.

We are not our bodies or our hair but we can still have fun with them.

What one person finds attractive is up to them and none of our business. But your health is your own business and no one elses.

I know it's hard but it's a very very slippery to think otherwise.
    I won't pretend I am like perfectly confident no one is.

When I was training a lot in Taekwondo, and the gym, ate an apple for breakfast, two apples for my break at work and half of my dinner in the evening. After training I would eat the other half of the dinner, drink nothing but water all day and if I was hungry I would take a protein shake.

Making weight for tournaments I would drop any carbs bar the apples, up the mileage in running and TKD practice and fight at 68kg @ 5' 10".
    I usually walked around at 76kg and had visible abs at that.

I used to fast every couple of days also, read in a martial arts mag that the top fighters were doing that, used to occasionally fast for three days if I felt like it

Even then I would train in the gym four days a week, run six miles three times a week, a ten mile at the weekend, two three hour TKD classes a week and do some sprints or play squash during the week. I often trained twice a day but often felt a bit lightheaded, and got run down so colds and mouth ulcers were a common irritation

At 68kgs I was getting shoved around in the ring, I started eating protein shakes and more eggs, even set an alarm to wake me at 4am to take a protein shake(thanks "Muscle and Fitness"...).
    That's ****ing hardcore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Pasta for three months. Sometimes wiithout sauce and sometimes raw when there was no electricity to boil the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Skinny is not beauty.

This is just something fat people say. Lets be real here.

"Skinny is not healthy." Or "Skinny is not happy" might be accurate and would be something I'd agree with.....but skinny is definitely beauty.

Look at every movie, every tv show, every magazine, every porn site. There are outliers of course but these people are young and thin for a reason. Because that's what the majority are attracted to. And it works for both sexes before I'm labelled sexist. They didn't cast Jonah Hill as Christian Grey.....they cast Jamie Dornan.

So you can be in denial all you want. I'm overweight and I know it. I accept it. But I don't pedal nonsense like everybody is perfect or that i'm beautiful. That's just naïve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,009 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Kirby wrote: »
    That's just naïve.

Isn't it just as naive to say
    but skinny is definitely beauty

:confused: I think you need to google what naïve actually means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

I bet your family plans have decreased a bit now. Thats some torture to go through

I would liken it to the worst hangover you've ever had plus it lasts at least three months :)

This is my second pregnancy and second bout of hyoeremesis (although I was a lot worse this time) and yes, there will be no more babies after this, even if I have to "fix" my husband myself!

As far as I know, littlekittylou is far from overweight so there's no denial there whatsoever!!

I don't agree skinny is beauty, perhaps 'beauty is skinny' may be slightly more accurate but being skinny certainly does not make you beautiful. Being beautiful doesn't always mean you're skinny either mind you, but it would tie in more with your theory and I wouldn't entirely disagree with it, in a general sense.

I'm not fat. I'm not skinny. I've zero interest in being skinny. I just want to be thinner than I am. Something resembling how hard I work would be nice, but alas, my body refuses to comply!

"Skinny is not healthy." Or "Skinny is not happy" might be accurate and would be something I'd agree with.....but skinny is definitely beauty.

Look at every movie, every tv show, every magazine, every porn site. There are outliers of course but these people are young and thin for a reason. Because that's what the majority are attracted to. And it works for both sexes before I'm labelled sexist. They didn't cast Jonah Hill as Christian Grey.....they cast Jamie Dornan.

So you can be in denial all you want. I'm overweight and I know it. I accept it. But I don't pedal nonsense like everybody is perfect or that i'm beautiful. That's just naïve.
    Maybe she means "unhealthily thin" when she says "skinny".
    That's what I view the word "skinny" as meaning - I don't use the word to describe a woman who is healthy and trim. Slim is the word I'd use. "Skinny" and "thin" have negative connotations (IMO).
    Jamie Dornan is not skinny IMO - he's lean and healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,009 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

:confused: I think you need to google what naïve actually means.
    I don't think I do, really.

Perhaps I shouldn't use the word skinny. I'd never use it negatively. I like skinny. I just know it wouldn't suit me at all, I'm not sure I could even ever be skinny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Deise Musashi

That's ****ing hardcore!

Thank you....it was nuts, and I probably knew at the time I was a bit out of control, but that was what I was doing so I went all in.

Turns out I'm not great as a fighter even though I broke my arse training to be, I know they say 10,000 hours practice can make you good, and I did improve in how fit and durable I was, but I was never a top tier or even decent international fighter. That sucked to be honest, I enjoyed the sport but I was in it to be very good, not just mediocre however hard I tried!

I trained under Mr. Ger Hickey in Dungarvan and Mr. Frankie Barret and "Bisto" in Waterford, with odd seminars and sessions with the likes of John Kavanagh from SBG and Tramore Hapkido bringing over lads from Gracie Barra in Birmingham.
    I enjoyed all that at the time, but even the thought of having a go at that stuff now makes me wonder where my head was at?
    I know even now at nearly 43, if I got into Martial Arts or weight training again properly, I'd go from "I'll just tip away at this" to full on nutcase in no time, might be no harm once I don't want to be a world champion this time :-)

Maybe she means "unhealthily thin" when she says "skinny".
    That's what I view the word "skinny" as meaning - I don't use the word to describe a woman who is healthy and trim. Slim is the word I'd use. "Skinny" and "thin" have negative connotations (IMO).
    Jamie Dornan is not skinny IMO - he's lean and healthy.

Well it depends on the vernacular I suppose. One person says slim, one says skinny, and so on.

I would agree that the emaciated look does nothing for me even though some people are into it. "Thin" or "fit" would probably have been a better choice of word than skinny. As you say, it has more positive connotations.

Regardless, my point still stands. That is societies definition of attractiveness for a reason. It's accurate. It's what the majority are hardwired to desire. And there is a lot of fat denial in modern society. You hear platitudes like "You are perfect the way you are" which is nonsense and ignores and devalues what the word perfection means....not that anyone can actually look perfect in the first place. It's mental gymnastics and the lies we tell ourselves to make us feel better.

These actors go through a lot when they slim down or bulk up for a role and I respect them for it. I know I certainly wouldn't have the willpower to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

That would be your subjective opinion of course, based on your perception of 'skinny'. It's impossible to know what you have in mind when you say that, so it's impossible to argue against.

Again, that could go either way, I see plenty of average looking people in the media, but I see every shape and size person you can think of when I'm out and about in the real world. That's being real for you (since you're the person who called us all to be real), and there's plenty of diversity there for there to be somebody, even many people, for anyone.

There seems to be only one person in denial here, I'm overweight and I know it. I accept it. But I don't pedal nonsense like nobody is perfect or that I'm not gorgeous. I'm ok with the way I look because I genuinely accept it. I don't think I'm God's gift, but I sure as hell don't think I need to call myself physically unattractive either based on someone else's standards. That really would be naïve.

That would be your subjective opinion of course, based on your perception of 'skinny'. It's impossible to know what you have in mind when you say that, so it's impossible to argue against.

No, it wouldn't be my subjective opinion. It would be the opinion of several billion people. Why are you being obtuse about this? Are you honestly trying to say with a straight face that is purely chance that the actors that populate the big and small screen are mostly thin? It's because its what people want to see.

We all have sexual preferences. Short, tall, white, black, blonde brunette, etc. If you interviewed 100 random people on the street, you would get some diverse answers for sure. But the underlying commonality? You know the answer to this already.

I'm sure there would be a few who find one eyed men sexy. But most? They are going to want two eyes on their man jack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Regardless, my point still stands. That is societies definition of attractiveness for a reason. It's accurate. It's what the majority are hardwired to desire. And there is a lot of fat denial in modern society. You hear platitudes like "You are perfect the way you are" which is nonsense and ignores and devalues what the word perfection means....not that anyone can actually look perfect in the first place. It's mental gymnastics and the lies we tell ourselves to make us feel better.

Christ, do we really need a another thread to go this way? We KNOW, we get it.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Christ, do we really need a another thread to go this way? We KNOW, we get it.

Apparently, "WE" don't get it. You cant speak for everyone in here. And apparently a few people disagree with me. Discussion is what we are here for, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭_Jumper_

Wahlberg is lucky to still be getting a chance to make films. He's pumping out some sh1t this last few years.