Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Bpmull wrote: »
    If your using it a lot it would be a right pain to sell it and then be without a car while looking for a new one alright. Trading is probably the easiest option so.

I'm praying an anvil will fall on it or some other act of God that would speed things up :-P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just got my first blown bulb warning I didn't realise it actually tells you which bulb Id blown well I knew it did on the newer stuff but not the older cars. About 45k km on that set of nightbreakers not too bad. Now too find somewhere in kilkenny that sells them. I'm glad this didn't happen at 5am on Monday when is be leaving for cork as it would be cold and dark then.

92B5147F-FD46-424D-AEC3-39C760BCF3B0_zpsrbrxc41y.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

dgt wrote: »
    Excuses already!!!!

Just getting my scapegoat ready :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Have a very cool piece on its way to me today. .

A carbon radiator intake from Jules Bianchi's crashed car.
    damaged and all!

Yes i have my nerd anorak on as i write this :)

Did you reset the trip counter when you filled the tank bpmull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Well usually its just the Dublin lads(and toasted pickle) that show up for these meet ups and we all feel like idiots for traveling all the way to Midway when we could of had the meeting closer to home.

After the last time I think we all resolved that either more people from outside dublin/meath/kildare should be definite "yes" respondees or we should have the meet in the phoenix park or sally gap/glendalough.

I've no problem travelling to the meets, indeed I usually make the effort to attend as many as possible as it's a good aspect to the forum but if there's no-one from outside the pale attending it's pointless having the meet in portlaoise. That's a 160 mile round trip for me. Not an issue if it facilitates more attendees but if it were like the last meet it would be pointless

AFAIR last meet there was myself from meath, the GM fanboy from Saabville kildare and everyone else from the greater dublin region.

Nope didn't fill up the last time that's why it looks quite low now under 1/2 tank mark it wasn't that far of empty and just threw 45 euro into it bringing it to between 3/4 and full. I've often seen 550km to the 1/2 tank mark although the first half always last longer as you have the fuel filler pipe and it tends to drop faster.

I'd usually be past 370-400 miles at that point so I'd say he did.

Was just grinning to myself here having gotten 300 miles in old money out of a half tank in the corolla :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

OSI wrote: »
    That's a very odd item to cherish tbh. Would be like buying one of the skis Schumacher was wearing when he smacked his head.

I thought it was an amazing thing to get my hands on.
    I have no interest in skiing but i have in f1 memorabilia, this is a unique piece.
    I didn't buy it because it Damn well nearly killed him but because of its uniqueness!

You're the first one to take this the wrong way!

Was just grinning to myself here having gotten 300 miles in old money out of a half tank in the corolla :pac:

And to think I was happy with 150 out of mine:pac:

There's still not a major amount in it if you convert it back Id get around 350 miles to half tank. Normally if I work it out properly doing a brim to brim on it it's doing 50-55mpg. So I'm happy enough with that.

What model golf do you have?
    I get 650 miles on a tank, 60+ mpg out of a 130 bhp mark4 tdi.
    Interesting to see that the newer ones seem less economical.

Trolling aside, is that what you get?

Admittedly i'm doing 6-700 miles a week 90% motorway, but i measure brim to brim everytime and i'm averaging just on 45mpg, tesco fuel and all :P

20150129_134151.jpg

After trying a few motor factors nowhere seemed to have osram nightbreakers. So I went with these I've never seen or heard of them before but they were all I could get locally. Reviews suggest they are more or less as good as the nightbreakers. Although I have a feeling they won't last as long at all. So if they blow after a short period of time I'll go back to the osrams. I must order a spare set of micksgarage I didn't think they would be as hard to get. I'll go for a drive tonight to see what they are like compared to the osram.

319AAE81-99DF-4A7B-84A0-6378E6221CC8_zpsrrrfpbob.jpg

After trying a few motor factors nowhere seemed to have osram nightbreakers. So I went with these I've never seen or heard of them before but they were all I could get locally. Reviews suggest they are more or less as good as the nightbreakers. Although I have a feeling they won't last as long at all. So if they blow after a short period of time I'll go back to the osrams. I must order a spare set of micksgarage I didn't think they would be as hard to get. I'll go for a drive tonight to see what they are like compared to the osram.

I wouldn't bother with MicksGarage for bulbs, use PowerBulbs.com!

What model golf do you have?
    I get 650 miles on a tank, 60+ mpg out of a 130 bhp mark4 tdi.
    Interesting to see that the newer ones seem less economical.

It's a 2007 mk5 1.9tdi 105bhp so just the standard engine. The mk5 seems to be no better than the mk4 mpg wise same engine I suppose granted yours is 130. The mk6 and mk7 diesel would be a bit better than mine definitely.

Trolling aside, is that what you get?

Admittedly i'm doing 6-700 miles a week 90% motorway, but i measure brim to brim everytime and i'm averaging just on 45mpg, tesco fuel and all :P

Yep I normally brim it and work it out. I've never seen below 50 mpg even on driving that had a good bit of short trips and the max I've seen is 55mpg I suppose to average it it does about 52 mpg my dads mk7 golf would do upwards of 65 mpg if he wasn't literally the most uneconomical driver you could get. Them corollas are known to be good on fuel 45mpg is fair going for a petrol like that considering it's not one these brand new high efficiency petrols too.

I was reading my local paper there and there was a dealer near me advertising. I know of the dealer they mainly specialise in jap imports which he brings in himself he is well known in that area and has been bringing them in for 20-30 Years at this stage. While most a modified he also sells normal jap import cars too. At the minute he was advertising a good few micras 2005 ish plus or minus a few years but many had between 10-20k miles on them. Not knowing a lot about jap imports why does the mileage always tend to be so low on them ?

because of the density of the population and their fantastic public transport would be the short answer.

most Japanese people living in urban areas have little or no need for a car, it is for the most part a luxury item. the cost of running it, coupled with the time it takes to get there means in most situations public transports is much faster, more efficient and cheaper than driving.

i have an uncle who lives over there and said on the train he uses, if it arrives more than 90 seconds later than it was scheduled to, you can get a time card stamped when leaving to show your employer why you are late.

his brother in law came over here to Ireland for a holiday once, he was a real car fanatic, i was showing him around my JDM import Vitz RS... he sat into it and started in and looked at the gauges. 135k km's on it, he took a photo of it to show back home, he said that that kind of mileage on a privately owned car is virtually unheard of.

Saw one of the new Passats today, they look great in the flesh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

So, I sat down in Volvo XC90 today. I almost had a boner! :pac:

What a lovely place to be in, but I could not have a spin in it as turbo was blown. It was manual too, but I can already say - ONLY automatic for this sofa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They really do. The front lights look well aggressive from the side. Some weird reverse angle going on.

The irish tv ad is atrocious though.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They really do. The front lights look well aggressive from the side. Some weird reverse angle going on.

The irish tv ad is atrocious though.

Yeah the front is very nice, very CC esque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

All this talk of 650 miles to 55l and there is me all happy with 350 from a 1.8T!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    All this talk of 650 miles to 55l and there is me all happy with 350 from a 1.8T!

Here here! Jesus mine probably does 250/300 to a tank of 60litres!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

41mpg and diesel does me grand, can't be arsed working out the range per tank...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Had the car on a lift this evening, appears there is a substantial oil leek somewhere along the sump/filter. Half the outside of the sump was covered in oil, as was the wishbone and was blown back onto some of the chassis. Tomorrow will be fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Sitting in McDonald's in fonthill and there's a woman trying to convince the manager to take her 50 Euro note that is fake. Apparently it's from her dole money....
    Conversation is hillarious, feel sorry for her poor daughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

It's real!...it's a fakkkkkkkke.

Did anyone see the picture on facebook from one of the vw garages of two new passats being handed over to their two new owners. They were mother and daughter and the two cars were identical same colour, spec, alloys the works only difference was one plate was one digit higher than the other :eek: lovely looking cars but why would they have not at least got a different colour.