Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Does anybody else get a bit sick of the faux-mourning that goes on around the anniversaries of Munich or Hillsborough?
    Terrible tragedies and the memory should be kept alive but young Irish lads who weren't even born or were too young to understand putting up stuff with sad emoticons and stuff is a bit much.

Have you never stood at OT or in the Bishops after a game or at any United game for that matter and sung the Red Flag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

bangkok wrote: »
    I presume its because they have seen all the old films and documentary's, heard stories from Bobby Charlton etc and just the general sadness of the whole situation. its only for 1 day as well so I have no issues

Look, a lot of things grate me and I'll put up with them, not trying to have a go at anyone; just wondering if I was on my own in feeling that way.

kstand wrote: »
    Have you never stood at OT or in the Bishops after a game or at any United game for that matter and sung the Red Flag?

I haven't been in years and when I did go I wasn't one for singing either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

this team should have enough to get 3 points on sunday..

share_b9b345edd58ce118e63a185c97a37748.png

You were bitching at Rooney for playing out wide the other night.
    Then you go and put him out wide

I haven't been in years and when I did go I wasn't one for singing either.

Well I'm going Sunday and we'll be singing the Red Flag in memory of those who died. I wasnt born when it happened, neither were any of the lads I go with, but we will still honour their memory, an imbedded part of the fabric and history of our club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Mata right side?? Is Moyes back in Charge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Does anybody else get a bit sick of the faux-mourning that goes on around the anniversaries of Munich or Hillsborough?
    Terrible tragedies and the memory should be kept alive but young Irish lads who weren't even born or were too young to understand putting up stuff with sad emoticons and stuff is a bit much.

Kinda get what you are saying. I acknowledge the dates, but I don't actually do anything out of the ordinary for them, but I don't feel the need to make public my emotions over it.

But I totally get where your coming from. I guess it can be tricky since some people will get instantly offended.

I guess I roll my eyes at it "sometimes" when I see people I know, who give it large during football disaster memorials, but wouldn't be able to tell you the start of the Easter Rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭brevity

Depends from person to person I guess. For me they are tragedies first and for most and should be treated as such.

When it comes to Hillsborough the recent developments regarding coverups etc are pretty disgusting tbh and as such can sting quite a bit.

For the Utd plane crash I believe Utd were under pressure to play even though its was considered too dangerous and risky.

Both demonstrate how cheap life can be really and that they could have happened to any successfully sports team.

this team should have enough to get 3 points on sunday..

share_b9b345edd58ce118e63a185c97a37748.png

There is absolutely no chance Van Persie doesn't start.

Well I'm going Sunday and we'll be singing the Red Flag in memory of those who died. I wasnt born when it happened, neither were any of the lads I go with, but we will still honour their memory, an imbedded part of the fabric and history of our club.

Maybe I'm just being cynical or maybe I'm just sick of people pretending to care about sh*t all over the world due to today's ease of access to every tragic story from every corner of the globe.

I love the club, obviously, but I just can't feel any emotional attachment to something that long ago involving people I don't even know or know much about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

You were bitching at Rooney for playing out wide the other night.
    Then you go and put him out wide

Haha couldn't of put it better myself mate. But personally I think if Rooney played like he did the other night id stick him in there he didn't have a bad game so see how he dies against prem oppposition

Would be surprised - have the best RB in the league in Zab, and a quality backup in Sagna. Would be an odd move to go for Alves.

I also think he would be an odd buy for United - a 32 year old right back. Not entirely convinced re. his defensive game - not tested too much at Barca. At his age could he work up and back?

Signing him would have me very worried with regards to the future use of 352. Maybe he would be brilliant in a back 4, but I'd worry he would be signed more for his suitability as a wing back (stamina permitting)

To be fair to Alves he has been excellent this year for Barca. They have the best defence in La Liga and he is an intergral part of it. He still has the legs and lungs to work up and down the line.

The stories about Alves leaving are there for about 18 months now because Brca had a replacement come into the club, but so far the guy has been unable to replace Alves.

But I get where you are coming from, I don't see what a 32 year old is going to bring to the team, and as can happen with 30+ yr players sometimes their decline can be RAPID. It's a rough age to be moving and adjusting to a new league and team.

I still rate Rafael highly, and don't see the need for a new RB. After maybe seeing Valencia get tested against one or two better wingers in the league, might be able to have better judgement on his prospects as a RB.

Probably why I've scoffed a bit at the Clyne stuff, I really don't see the need for a new RB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

On anothe rbright note it has been confirmed that paddy mcnair has signed a new contract now id like to see them do same with blackette and Pereira

TheDoc wrote: »
    Kinda get what you are saying. I acknowledge the dates, but I don't actually do anything out of the ordinary for them, but I don't feel the need to make public my emotions over it.

But I totally get where your coming from. I guess it can be tricky since some people will get instantly offended.

I guess I roll my eyes at it "sometimes" when I see people I know, who give it large during football disaster memorials, but wouldn't be able to tell you the start of the Easter Rising.

That's kind of where I was going, you won't hear a peep out of them when it comes to historical anniversaries in this country. It's all for "likes" and "thanks" which in a way is just disrespectful.

Maybe I'm just being cynical or maybe I'm just sick of people pretending to care about sh*t all over the world due to today's ease of access to every tragic story from every corner of the globe.

I love the club, obviously, but I just can't feel any emotional attachment to something that long ago involving people I don't even know or know much about.

I understand where you are coming from. But in the same way as I dont get the whole thing with lads in pubs at home wearing United or Liverpool shirts getting worked up and excited about a club that they have only ever watched on tele and in many cases, probably couldnt point where the club was based on a blank map.

Yeah that resonates with me. I tend to have beef with, and call out, people on my Facebook or Twitter who appear outraged a stuff around the world, yet have no interest in outragous **** that goes on here.

I absolutely DETEST how people take such interest in the American presidential stuff, and show **** all interest in our elections.

But we've strayed away from football now, but yeah, I feel ya

I understand where you are coming from. But in the same way as I dont get the whole thing with lads in pubs at home wearing United or Liverpool shirts getting worked up and excited about a club that they have only ever watched on tele and in many cases, probably couldnt point where the club was based on a blank map.

Well I've been pretty open here in admitting that I have never attended a game in person, ever. I've been to some EPL matches and CL matches alright, but never United. Normally being on a trip or something and the group decided to catch a game or whatever.

But it's not like say how my Da's decribes his following of Leeds from the 60's, without ever seeing them play in person. He used to listen on the radio or read the match reports in papers, and for a long time could never put a face to a name, or see a goal or how great someone was being reported as.

I've been lucky that in my generation, a United game has rarely if ever never been available on TV, or via the internet. It's the club I've supported for 17 years, so I don't think it's unreasonable for me to have an emotional attachment to the club, albeit not geographic.

Although perhaps having never attended a game live, is why I don't have the tribal reaction in regards to some of our rivals. Sure I love beating Liverpool, City etc. but I don't swagger around the week after giving it loads to my pool mates. Although maybe that's just me as a person rather then influence of my type of support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

It bothers me that the attitude in the space of a couple of years has gone from.... We will win against westham away- to.... We should have enough to get a result away to westham,with a bit of doubt hovering over it.

TheDoc wrote: »
    Well I've been pretty open here in admitting that I have never attended a game in person, ever. I've been to some EPL matches and CL matches alright, but never United. Normally being on a trip or something and the group decided to catch a game or whatever.

But it's not like say how my Da's decribes his following of Leeds from the 60's, without ever seeing them play in person. He used to listen on the radio or read the match reports in papers, and for a long time could never put a face to a name, or see a goal or how great someone was being reported as.

I've been lucky that in my generation, a United game has rarely if ever never been available on TV, or via the internet. It's the club I've supported for 17 years, so I don't think it's unreasonable for me to have an emotional attachment to the club, albeit not geographic.

Although perhaps having never attended a game live, is why I don't have the tribal reaction in regards to some of our rivals. Sure I love beating Liverpool, City etc. but I don't swagger around the week after giving it loads to my pool mates. Although maybe that's just me as a person rather then influence of my type of support.

Your sort of support is one thing - its quite another as you stated to be going round the place going "us mancs did ye over" after a game when for starters, they have never even been to Manchester. Most United fans the world over havent even been to England - but at the same time their merchandise purchases etc is a vital part of the money that comes into the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Jeez Will I was about to post "who p155ed in your cornflakes this morning", but on reflection i do see your point about it.
    I did post last night saying to fellow posters to remember those people who died on that day. Its the darkest day in our clubs long history and shouldn't be passed without a nod to those who passed in that tragic event.
    However i do agree with your faux mourning, none of us were directly affected by this, as most of us weren't even an apple in our grandparents eyes, never mind our fathers eyes,

brinty wrote: »
    Jeez Will I was about to post "who p155ed in your cornflakes this morning", but on reflection i do see your point about it.
    I did post last night saying to fellow posters to remember those people who died on that day. Its the darkest day in our clubs long history and shouldn't be passed without a nod to those who passed in that tragic event.
    However i do agree with your faux mourning, none of us were directly affected by this, as most of us weren't even an apple in our grandparents eyes, never mind our fathers eyes,

I'm not having a go at you or anyone else here. A reminder is fine, just seeing a lot of other stuff elsewhere that's kind of irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

It bothers me that the attitude in the space of a couple of years has gone from.... We will win against westham away- to.... We should have enough to get a result away to westham,with a bit of doubt hovering over it.

In the last few years West Ham have improved quite a bit and have been known to get results against the "bigger" teams, look at this season even!

And realistically, United should have enough to get past them, but Liverpool should have as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

I'm not having a go at you or anyone else here. A reminder is fine, just seeing a lot of other stuff elsewhere that's kind of irritating.

Fair play Will, knew you weren't and the point you are making and as I say, you're not wrong ;)

Anyways game this weekend, lets get concentrated on that

brinty wrote: »
    Fair play Will, knew you weren't and the point you are making and as I say, you're not wrong ;)

Anyways game this weekend, lets get concentrated on that

Perfect managerial response ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

West Ham away was always a dodgy fixture. The last season we won the league under Fergie we drew there twice (once in the league and once in the cup)

I can think of other occasions in recent years when we didn't get the win there or escaped with the win by the skin of our teeth.

Now they're having one of their best ever PL seasons. No way would Sunday be a banker if Fergie was here, there was always doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

I hope levy comes calling for him, then we can really put the price up, payback for Berbatov, the price quoted for Modric and the 100m we bid on bale

I think we've a better chance if we ring up Steve Bruce and ask for £12 million tbh ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Alves is a rat and I wouldn't want him anywhere near United.

As detestable as Suarez IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Are you going to eat him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Seeing as he is playing next to Jordi Alba and Sergio Busquets, Dani Alves seems a lot more tolerable these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

What REALLY gets me is the people who look for an excuse to give out about these situations - using them as another 'weapon' vs oppo fans.

Liverpool fans making up stories about United fans pissing on the Hillsborough memorial (police confirmed no such event, or no knowledge of it), on 'their' side.

Then you have this pathetic, pot stiring, over-reaction from somone looking to have a go:

http://mufclatest.com/former-liverpool-star-makes-insensitive-comment-about-plane-crash-live-on-radio/

Absolutely cringey imo. A pathetic attempt to go looking for controversy. Plenty of the #GGMU #family on twitter lapping it up too.

Using a tradgedy for point scoring, no matter which direction you are coming from is pathetic.

Can't decide if I detest the faux mourning or faux outrage more though!