Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Pickles should add a turbo and 4wd to the matiz.

A big big turbo. ......
    Or if the check engine light is on - which being a matiz it's likely to be - take the engine out, wash it, put it back in and rev the hell out of it just to give it a good thorough cleaning.
    Sounds good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

This looks interesting.

10247454_886613251390617_3844899246656379015_n.jpg?oh=4af3c6e1c88d828761de4ce6751cba63&oe=55496EB1&__gda__=1432004737_4f5877aac5c6c41b3bff459a12840dc5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Gonna try some of that dipetane in the RX. It's been running a bit rich lately. Might help clear the crap out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Dartz wrote: »
    Gonna try some of that dipetane in the RX. It's been running a bit rich lately. Might help clear the crap out.

Never mind dipetane, wring it's neck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Just got asked by one of the guys in class to do a hg on his astra....sure why not!

YbFocus wrote: »
    Never mind dipetane, wring it's neck!

Tried that. Works for a few minutes. Settles down into a nice smooth idle....

And after a few minutes sat at a red light it starts feeling a bit rough again, which suggests to me that the ECU's steadily trimming itself rich at idle, because it gets really fumey. Can see it adjusting itself and not quite hitting the sweet spot

I'm thinking I've either got a dirty MAF, slight vacuum leak, or an o2 sensor that's partly fouled. Vacuum leak would make some sense since I have had the intake apart some time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Dartz wrote: »
    Tried that. Works for a few minutes. Settles down into a nice smooth idle....

And after a few minutes sat at a red light it starts feeling a bit rough again, which suggests to me that the ECU's steadily trimming itself rich at idle, because it gets really fumey. Can see it adjusting itself and not quite hitting the sweet spot

I'm thinking I've either got a dirty MAF, slight vacuum leak, or an o2 sensor that's partly fouled. Vacuum leak would make some sense since I have had the intake apart some time ago.

If it was a leak it probably wouldn't be rearing itself in traffic. A leak will usually sort itself once it gets hot while a faulty MAF would cause an engine to idle rough when the engine is idling. Well, this is the case with my car anyway.

It's peculiar and transient, which suggests to me that it's either such a small and intermittent leak that the engine thinks it can correct for it, or an odd spurious reading from a sensor.

The only code it throws is for the Cat efficiency being a bit low - which I'd expect since it's just an empty shell now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anyone else have the problem with clicking a donedeal link and it comes up as co.uk and has pounds as the currency. The app is fine, but if you search from google the uk version appears? This is all on the phone btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Anyone else have the problem with clicking a donedeal link and it comes up as co.uk and has pounds as the currency. The app is fine, but if you search from google the uk version appears? This is all on the phone btw.

What phone network? Or are you on wifi? Donedeal with change to .co.uk if you are in the UK, or you're running through a proxy which is based in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

What phone network? Or are you on wifi? Donedeal with change to .co.uk if you are in the UK, or you're running through a proxy which is based in the UK.

It's meteor, I'm on loads of different wifi networks, primarily eircom and upc though. Only noticed it lately.

I, very foolishly in hindsight, cancelled my Insurance when I sold my car.

I had about 5 weeks left. Obviously I wasn't thinking right at the time.. I drove for approx. 11 months on that policy, then cancelled it.. Did I very stupidly do myself out of an extra years no claims discount?! (it's only my second year driving, so it'd have been nice to have 2 years instead of one! :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Motorsense waterford/ fassnidge are dodgy out are they? Thinking of enquiring into the 02 celica they have for sale and getting rid of my corslowla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Motorsense waterford/ fassnidge are dodgy out are they? Thinking of enquiring into the 02 celica they have for sale and getting rid of my corslowla.

Have you not seen the "dealer trouble" thread. Their various court appearances don't paint a great picture tbh.

I hadn't actually read it. Was sure i had seen the name crop up here before though. Not to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Just failed the NCT: no biggies, as expected tyres , etc

One funny one was the tint strip on the windscreen didn't pass more than 65% of light - is this a new thing? I know they were clamping down on the tinted windows.

Its not a ridiculous one like the felters have just a 4" black strip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

She can't be that slow man!

Would you not look for something like an ST202? Or stretch to a 205....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Wonder if the new Air Filter is big enough :p

10422575_900849209949341_7341382387392745056_n.jpg?oh=3ee049abebc1fa42c4cdfc33e9c45088&oe=55585450

dgt wrote: »
    She can't be that slow man!

Would you not look for something like an ST202? Or stretch to a 205....

it's painfully slow... or by comparison to the glanza it is anyway! I know a 140bhp celica wont be blistering but at least it would look nice.

A 205 would be lovely but it's not really suitable at the moment, the gen 7 would be a fair bit easier on the wallet in terms of mpg @ 700 miles a week, tax is a bit cheaper and they are much more insurance friendly.

(Just noticed they have a gen 6 and gen 7, it's the 7 i'm interested in)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I, very foolishly in hindsight, cancelled my Insurance when I sold my car.

I had about 5 weeks left. Obviously I wasn't thinking right at the time.. I drove for approx. 11 months on that policy, then cancelled it.. Did I very stupidly do myself out of an extra years no claims discount?! (it's only my second year driving, so it'd have been nice to have 2 years instead of one! :( )

Do you not loss all your ncb by cancelling the policy maybe I'm wrong you definitely loss that 11 months anyway ie can't count that as a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Old diesel wrote: »
    Wtf - 8 to 9 grand for 2008 Corolla diesels on carzone.

That's for a 7 year old car.

And no im not looking for one - I was benchmarking the prices I was seeing for C30 Volvos as I nearly dropped with some of them.

(says he who was looking at 11 grand for 2011 Fabias some months ago)

Don't look up tdi golfs so many 2008 diesels ones are looking for 9k -11.5k

Bpmull wrote: »
    Do you not loss all your ncb by cancelling the policy maybe I'm wrong you definitely loss that 11 months anyway ie can't count that as a year.

Ah, I'm sure I wouldn't lose it all. I still have a full year with no claims from a previous insurer.

Doubt it really makes any odds to the prices I'll be given, but for the sake of continuity alone, it bugs me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

So.... Boards.ie love matchmaking.... Thats what I got. I am not sure how do I feel about it. Confused, but slightly impressed...

1114b71f5df980bf39e86f031eb90b10.png

So.... Boards.ie love matchmaking.... Thats what I got. I am not sure how do I feel about it. Confused, but slightly impressed...

Was just posting mine but made a balls of it. I have to stop hanging around here :P

IM ONLY THIRD??? :mad::mad::pac:

Its a tie between you and davycc. Ye'll have to fight for me I'm afraid

Nah feck that :pac:

the father wants me to go look at a car for him, he's won the most vague description ever award for his efforts

"I'm buying a car, it's a big enough thing not like the wee yoke i had before, the one said the engine was put in wrong though, it starts but there's a hum or something out of it would you know what that is?"

Firstly, how does one put an engine in wrong? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Recently single aye?
    Got a thing for MX5s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

Ah, I'm sure I wouldn't lose it all. I still have a full year with no claims from a previous insurer.

Doubt it really makes any odds to the prices I'll be given, but for the sake of continuity alone, it bugs me. :(

You still have 1 year NCB, the difference between 1 and 2 years can be around 10-20% of the premium...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I got my rugby ball shaped wheel straightened today, no more driving a 3 legged donkey :D