Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

bangkok wrote: »
    wonder what sort of team will take to the field this weekend v west ham?

if rooney starts midfield again I think I will crack up!!

Let's hope Fellaini dosent start as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Let's hope Fellaini dosent start as well

all im asking for, along with 99% of other fans is di maria to play in his natural position and rooney to play in his natural position. I don't think that is asking a lot

Is it?

I thought he got his first chance under Moyes and looked fairly good for a kid. I don't remember there being issues about a system, or talk of it. Can you provide some examples? Sure, people questioned his actual performances and consistency - but I don't remember people saying it was because of the system. I think they may have said it was because he was (a) young and (b) playing in a team playing poorly.

This season we mostly aren't playing with wingers. We have played 532 or a diamond formation. So I don't think it is strange, AT ALL, that a young winger is struggling to play in a side that doesn't play with wingers.

I wasn't talking specifically about Januzaj but last season he looked poor outside his first maybe 2 or 3 games. He's mostly been played on the wing this season no? With Di Maria or someone else on the other side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

We're probably better off playing Fellaini at the weekend to give West Ham's centre backs a challenge if we insist on playing out wide, easy pickings for them clearing crosses against Falcao and RVP

but is this what van gaals grand philosophy is going to turn out to be crossing balls onto the head of fellaini? Because in fairness, most teams in the premier league have centre backs who like to rough up the opposition forwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Here we go again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Trond wrote: »
    Here we go again

kenan-and-kel-aw-here-it-goes-awh-here-goes-intro-kel-1352766252e.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

LVG'S philosophy is clear, "down the wing, swing it in, Simples"

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Have United become boring asks Mark Ogden, failing to include the second part of the question - "or have they been mind-numbingly boring since the end of 2008, and even before that mind-numbingly boring whenever Ronaldo is missing?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

keane2097 wrote: »
    Have United become boring asks Mark Ogden, failing to include the second part of the question - "or have they been mind-numbingly boring since the end of 2008, and even before that mind-numbingly boring whenever Ronaldo is missing?"

I must say I'm finding it hard to enjoy our football. Its is very boring and cautious. Its even harder then last years for me and thats saying something.

We don't look like an efficient unit who can go through the gears quickly and consistently. A unit like Bayern, Madrid or Chelsea that can effectively, easily and quickly make a team work and put on consistent pressure.

Its a bit much to ask LVG to give us that after one season but I have a feeling even when he has his ideal squad together we will see the same safety first, recycle the ball to the back line rather then take chances and attack style of play.

I must say I'm finding it hard to enjoy our football. Its is very boring and cautious. Its even harder then last years for me and thats saying something.

We don't look like an efficient unit who can go through the gears quickly and consistently. A unit like Bayern, Madrid or Chelsea that can effectively, easily and quickly make a team work and put on consistent pressure.

Its a bit much to ask LVG to give us that after one season but I have a feeling even when he has his ideal squad together we will see the same safety first, recycle the ball to the back line rather then take chances and attack style of play.

yea its horrible to watch, id say the only game I actually enjoyed watching this year was Hull at home, good football, lots of chances and comfortable in the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

I'd say the fact Herrera is due in court in a month is holding LVG back from using him more than him being too adventurous.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/feb/04/manchester-united-ander-herrera-court-newcastle

If there is a possibility Herrera is found guilty of match fixing I can understand LVG not wanting him associated as a UTD player under his tutelage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

keane2097 wrote: »

Fergie's last league was insane. I guess different people define boring in different ways but going behind and coming back all the time was good.

I'd say the fact Herrera is due in court in a month is holding LVG back from using him more than him being too adventurous.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/feb/04/manchester-united-ander-herrera-court-newcastle

If there is a possibility Herrera is found guilty of match fixing I can understand LVG not wanting him associated as a UTD player under his tutelage.

I don't know, I would find it hard to believe that he wouldn't be playing because of that. if that was the case, I don't think he would have him involved in any match day squad or be bringing him on in games.

Also im more inclined to believe that van gaal is not a fan of flair players etc and is very defensive as he said himself he plays rooney midfield as he is good defensively and his continuation of 5 at the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Can't help but everytime I read Ogden's stuff that there is still the seething tone that he's not ITK anymore.

Claiming Herrera isn't playing because he's too adventurous and Van Gaal doesn't like it, smacks of him trying to get his ITK status back.

Utd have been boring for the best part of 10 years apart from 2 seasons.

strongly disagree with that assessment

what I would give for a moment like this right now under lvg...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zpa0KuaG8Rs

What seasons were they then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

This place is mental, ya we had a few crosses last night 9 of which came from corners what else is meant to happen from them, people see Fellaini and get tunnel vision that we are pumpimg lone the whole time.
    Last night was once of our best passing displays in a while only cambridge but it was much better than the last time we played them, pressed them high up the park urgency to win the ball back and dominated the game.
    Teams dont go balls out to win 6 or 7 nil any more they conserve energy for the next game cause at 3-0 the games won.

While coming back from 1 down and winning games in the 90 min might be exciting but it isnt a sustainable startegy if you want to be winning leagues these days when every team nowadays are tactically aware and prepared.

We won 3-0 last night and you'd swear we lost yes we can argue about players been played out of position and i'd love to see rooney gone from midfield but there was some improvement and an easy win last night lets enjoy it to some extent and see how the next game pans out.

Trond wrote: »
    What seasons were they then?

When Ronaldo was at his peak.

Utd have never played like bayern or Madrid or barca.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

United have been terrible to watch i think since ronaldo left, the pace in our team seemed to just get worse every year from them i thought but i think the wins obliviously masked a lot of that. Even in fergies last year when we won the league there were so many games it was just terrble to watch but in the end theyd come from behind and win but the play wasnt good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Nonsense.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Nonsense.

Complete and utter spoof.

Sure we have been tearing teams apart like Madrid since 2003. Dominating teams like bayern since 2005 and scoring loads and keeping possession like barca since 2006.

We have always been a step below them. Apart from a few weels here and there.

Complete and utter spoof.

Sure we have been tearing teams apart like Madrid since 2003. Dominating teams like bayern since 2005 and scoring loads and keeping possession like barca since 2006.

We have always been a step below them. Apart from a few weels here and there.

real Madrid couldn't even get past rd16 of the champions league for 6 of the season you say we were poor...

in 11 seasons they never made a champions league final

Look what we did in the very same time period

Bayern munich only got r16 2005/6, failed to qualify 07/08, so much for dominating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

I don't know, I would find it hard to believe that he wouldn't be playing because of that. if that was the case, I don't think he would have him involved in any match day squad or be bringing him on in games.

Also im more inclined to believe that van gaal is not a fan of flair players etc and is very defensive as he said himself he plays rooney midfield as he is good defensively and his continuation of 5 at the back

Can't really say that though. If we've nothing bar history to go on, he's had some great attacking players through the years and used them well. Riquelme is the one that's always used against him but to be fair he was a player that needed a lot of hard working players around him bursting a gut to supply him. That just wasn't going to happen in a side that already had someone like Rivaldo and Kluivert who weren't too intent on working.

Last night, the idea with Rooney playing out wide I think was to have him out of the congested area in front of goal. He got on tons of ball throughout the game and he can provide a good cross from that position as well. And then that eventually opens up gaps through the middle for the likes of Mata.

Only thing we seem to know for certain about LVG's game preparation is that he looks at every side differently and prepares differently every week rather than have a set formation every weekend. It can help us in that teams will find us hard to figure out but the negative is that we look disjointed and lacking in cohesion with our shape and passing.

I think, should we make the CL this year and we purchase a couple of players - then we'll see a more settled approach next year.

On a side note, hopefully McNair ends up being our equivalent to Badstuber or Puyol (who was on the way out of Barca before Van Gaal joined) after last nights performance and performances early in the season. He looked excellent there on the right side of defence albeit against Cambridge. Van Gaal tends to bring through this kind of player out of nowhere that just fits. Very early days yet but fair play to the lad.

Seasons are usually grouped by year....care to name what seasons properly?

Also why would you want United to play like Barca?

real Madrid couldn't even get past rd16 of the champions league for 6 of the season you say we were poor...

in 11 seasons they never made a champions league final

Look what we did in the very same time period

Bayern munich only got r16 2005/6, failed to qualify 07/08, so much for dominating

In that case we are playing well by that logic.

In 3rd, 5 off 2nd.
    Through to the next round of the fa cup.
    3rd best defensive record.
    Second highest home form.
    Second highest goals scored at home.

I meant how those 3 teams are playing now btw

Some people around here have very short memories.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Some people around here have very short memories.

They sure do Tyson. They sure do.