Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hen Harrier and land-designation conflict

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

It's quite possible and indeed more than likely that the perpetrator of this criminality is a member of a local gun club. I know that in some quarters the NPWS view is that by keeping the gun clubs and the NARGC informed and onside in the protection and preservation of threatened wildlife, the risk to species such as the Hen Harrier or the White Tailed Eagle or other birds of prey is somewhat reduced. Problem is that there are renegades in some clubs who have scant regard for any protective wildlife legislation and see birds of prey as a target for elimination. While the perpetrator of this mindlessness may have acted alone, there are likely to be others in the know, it being a small rural community. Given the widespread publicity regarding the illegality of killing raptors etc, ignorance of the law is no excuse. It's incumbent on gun clubs and the NARGC to again speak out with force and condemnation and identify those in their midst who would perpetrate such acts - in small rural communities, the "trigger happy" lads are usually well known. The NPWS and the Gardai face an uphill struggle in catching the shooter(s) unless local community support is forthcoming. Otherwise, perhaps it's time to revisit the gun licensing laws and impose more punitive measures on errant licence holders and those clubs who would remain silent about renegades in their midst.

If they has some some of vicarious liability for Gunclubs it would help. Every firearm holder would have to be part of a gunclub. If one person is found guilty the Club would be punished. That would weed out the vermin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,943 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

It's quite possible and indeed more than likely that the perpetrator of this criminality is a member of a local gun club. I know that in some quarters the NPWS view is that by keeping the gun clubs and the NARGC informed and onside in the protection and preservation of threatened wildlife, the risk to species such as the Hen Harrier or the White Tailed Eagle or other birds of prey is somewhat reduced. Problem is that there are renegades in some clubs who have scant regard for any protective wildlife legislation and see birds of prey as a target for elimination. While the perpetrator of this mindlessness may have acted alone, there are likely to be others in the know, it being a small rural community. Given the widespread publicity regarding the illegality of killing raptors etc, ignorance of the law is no excuse. It's incumbent on gun clubs and the NARGC to again speak out with force and condemnation and identify those in their midst who would perpetrate such acts - in small rural communities, the "trigger happy" lads are usually well known. The NPWS and the Gardai face an uphill struggle in catching the shooter(s) unless local community support is forthcoming. Otherwise, perhaps it's time to revisit the gun licensing laws and impose more punitive measures on errant licence holders and those clubs who would remain silent about renegades in their midst.

In fairness the NARGC are allways very quick to condemn these incidents and I expect they'll to do the same this time. They actually have a good working relationship with the Golden Eagle Trust and have worked well together on various upland birds projects like the Ballyboley Grouse project in Leitrim. The vast majority of hunters and shooters will condemn this act as they know well the damage it does to the sports image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,943 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

For anyone with an interest, Heathers exploits were documented and discussed here: http://henharrierireland.blogspot.ie/ We essentially know everywhere she's been from the day she left her nest to the day she was shot.

Ove the course of a couple of seasons they put satellite tags on 9 Hen Harrier chicks - Heather was the only one to survive, the others died of starvation etc within a few weeks of fledging.

In her two years Heather has been on the east coast, the west coast, up to Northern Ireland and back home to Kerry - someone commented yesterday that she had been to more counties in Ireland than he had!

She was named by schoolchildren in Kerry, who all eagerly followed her exploits, and she was a great ambassador for wildlife and nature in ireland for the next generation. Unfortunately she is now illustrating a very tough lesson - that there are people out there happy to shoot Hen Harriers and happy to shoot birds of prey. As Capercaillie said, we only know about Heather because she was satellite tagged, how many more Hen Harriers and birds of prey are shot each year?

They fact that 9 chicks have died from starvation is even more alarming than this incident. It points to a serious habitat issue that is affecting most declining upland bird species. I was at the conference yesterday in the Green Isle and the chap from the GET doing the habitat mapping in the HH SPA areas really laid bare how poor the quality of habitat is within these areas. Most of the land cover is now a desert of mature conifer plantations, wind farms etc. and what remains isn't in great shape eitheir:(

Birdnuts wrote: »
    They fact that 9 chicks have died from starvation is even more alarming than this incident. It points to a serious habitat issue that is affecting most declining upland bird species. I was at the conference yesterday in the Green Isle and the chap from the GET doing the habitat mapping in the HH SPA areas really laid bare how poor the quality of habitat is within these areas. Most of the land cover is now a desert of mature conifer plantations, wind farms etc. and what remains isn't in great shape eitheir:(

IFA, Senior Fine Gael TD/MEP's and vermin like Michael Fitzmaurice TD want an end to restrictions on planting in SPA/SAC , which will lead to the extinction of Hen Harrier.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Birdnuts wrote: »

That was Ryan Wilson-Parr - I thought it was very interesting alright! Seemed to be death by a thousand cuts in terms of small patches of land-use change all adding up to less than half of the habitat in Hen Harrier SPAs actually being suitable for Hen Harriers! And thats only going to get worse as the forestry matures.

Another important point he made was that the numbers of HH's in SPA's is declining, so managing habitat outside SPA's is very important! And thats only going to happen with suitable agri-environment schemes and financial support for farmers and land-managers!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Here's An Taisce's response to todays news - very well put! :

https://www.facebook.com/AnTaisce/photos/a.10153326974250457.1073741826.68916935456/10155203240085457/?type=1
    No other bird has been at the centre of such controversy surrounding its protection, nor been so misrepresented and misunderstood.

Ten years ago this bird didn't even register with many people who sadly now view it in a negative light. The behaviour or ecology of the Hen Harrier hasn't changed at all during that time, but perceptions of it have: regrettably, it is now considered by some to be a threat to farming livelihoods due to the designation of Special Protection Areas (SPAs) for its conservation.

Ignorance about this remarkable bird is the main reason for this, and we would like to set the record straight.

That was Ryan Wilson-Parr - I thought it was very interesting alright! Seemed to be death by a thousand cuts in terms of small patches of land-use change all adding up to less than half of the habitat in Hen Harrier SPAs actually being suitable for Hen Harriers! And thats only going to get worse as the forestry matures.

Another important point he made was that the numbers of HH's in SPA's is declining, so managing habitat outside SPA's is very important! And thats only going to happen with suitable agri-environment schemes and financial support for farmers and land-managers!

The GLAS scheme written for Hen Harrier seems to be written by somebody who hasn't a clue. It makes no mention of heather management only grass management.

And Birdwatch Ireland have issued a full press release. It's too long to quote it all here, but it's well worth a read - comments from NPWS, Birdwatch Ireland and NARGC:

http://www.birdwatchireland.ie/News/HenHarriershotdeadinCountyKerry/tabid/1435/Default.aspx
    Dr. Barry O'Donoghue of the National Parks & Wildlife Service oversaw the satellite tracking project: “Knowing this bird since she was a tiny chick, and having followed her every movement remotely and in the field was a real privilege, enlightening and indeed humbling. Every time without fail, she lit up my eyes when her tag showed she was alive and well. It was heart-breaking to find this young bird when she had been shot. An individual that gave so much joy to thousands of people that followed her progress, killed in the prime of her health. This was not just one bird, but the hopes and dreams for a species that is vanishing from our country.”

John Lusby, Raptor Conservation Officer with BirdWatch Ireland, commented on the implications of this shooting: “Birds of prey are so important in an healthy countryside, and the lack of education which fuels such incidents of illegal persecution not only affects their vulnerable populations but has much wider implications for our countryside. Fáilte Ireland has shown that visitors to Ireland rate the natural and unspoilt environment as one of the main factors which attract them here. County Kerry is one of our most popular tourist destinations, so imagine how this shooting and the spate of other wildlife crimes reflect on our green image.”

David Scallan, a spokesman for the National Association of Regional Game Councils condemned the shooting: “The shooting of this bird is unacceptable. No right-minded hunter would do something like this."

Have NARGC had any educational programmes to educate hunters? Licencing laws need to be tightened up, any fool can get a licence. A lot of people seem ignorant about prey/protected species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Have NARGC had any educational programmes to educate hunters? Licencing laws need to be tightened up, any fool can get a licence. A lot of people seem ignorant about prey/protected species.

I don't think a hen harrier could be mistaken for another bird that could be legally shot ie. A pheasant etc. By anyone who knows about birds or shooting
    Even an 18 year old Moran that just got a gun should know and if he did not could he get close enough with a shot gun and have the aim to hit it
    From the harriers I have seen they are very elusive birds you will not get too close to.
    I would think it was shot with intent
    I'd be interested to know if it was shot with a shotgun or telescopic rifle

djmc wrote: »
    I don't think a hen harrier could be mistaken for another bird that could be legally shot ie. A pheasant etc. By anyone who knows about birds or shooting
    Even an 18 year old Moran that just got a gun should know and if he did not could he get close enough with a shot gun and have the aim to hit it
    From the harriers I have seen they are very elusive birds you will not get too close to.
    I would think it was shot with intent
    I'd be interested to know if it was shot with a shotgun or telescopic rifle
    You would be surprised by the amount of posts on the Hunting forum with people unaware of shooting season/legal prey species. I agree with the moran point.

Hen harrier fly low/slowly over the ground . They would be easily shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭homerhop

We have the tightest firearms laws in Europe. The licensing is not the problem, it's the mindset of a minority of individuals who have no regard for laws, nature or any form of conversation. The NARGC do run courses that go through everything from the firearms act to the wildlife act. We do not know if it was a farmer or so called hunter who did this. It's all over fb pages for different hunting groups and not one comment in support of what was done. As much as you might dislike us who hunt. We are not all fools who can get a firearm

homerhop wrote: »
    We have the tightest firearms laws in Europe. The licensing is not the problem, it's the mindset of a minority of individuals who have no regard for laws, nature or any form of conversation. We do not know if it was a farmer or so called hunter who did this.
    Licensing is a problem I would say from the level of Raptor persecution and Deer poaching.
    The NARGC do run courses that go through everything from the firearms act to the wildlife act.
    That is good to know
    It's all over fb pages for different hunting groups and not one comment in support of what was done
    It would be foolish for anybody to say otherwise.
    As much as you might dislike us who hunt. We are not all fools who can get a firearm
    Never said I dislike hunters, as I said on previous threads the majority of shooters are law abiding. There is a significant numbers who are not though judging by the amount of wildlife crime in this Country. Somebody prominent on the Shooting Forum said recently that 99.99% of shooters in the country are law abiding. Given that there is about 240,000 firearm holders in the Country that would equate to about 24 breaking the law. Believe that if you will

i could guarantee you right now if I called the ranger that covers here I would have a better chance of speaking to Obama.
    Lads are blue in the face down in cork, Kerry and Waterford reporting poachers and nothing being done about it.
    If they took a leaf out of the states book and confiscated all gear from transport to clothing and auctioned it off they would be self funded within 6 months.

homerhop wrote: »
    i could guarantee you right now if I called the ranger that covers here I would have a better chance of speaking to Obama.
    Lads are blue in the face down in cork, Kerry and Waterford reporting poachers and nothing being done about it.

Given that ranger numbers are tiny it's amazing they respond at all. A couple of the new rangers are agricultural officers transferred from the DAFM and who would not be top quality.
    If they took a leaf out of the states book and confiscated all gear from transport to clothing and auctioned it off they would be self funded within 6 months
    That would be a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Every time a thread on illegal shooting starts we hear about licensing morons, the NARGC are not doing enough etc etc etc. there is never any recognition of the fact that there are large numbers of stolen weapons out there used by people who never heard of a gun club, NARGC or the word 'raptor'..
    Two weeks ago a neighbours gun case was levered off the wall during a burglary , that's three shotguns and a rifle now floating about destined for goodness knows what..
    Two years ago the local gun dealers premises was cleaned out, air rifles, shotguns, ammunition , everything.. This is just in my area, there are guns disappearing on a regular basis countrywide and they are not all destined for the 'sawn off' market....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Every time a thread on illegal shooting starts we hear about licensing morons, the NARGC are not doing enough etc etc etc. there is never any recognition of the fact that there are large numbers of stolen weapons out there used by people who never heard of a gun club, NARGC or the word 'raptor'..
    Two weeks ago a neighbours gun case was levered off the wall during a burglary , that's three shotguns and a rifle now floating about destined for goodness knows what..
    Two years ago the local gun dealers premises was cleaned out, air rifles, shotguns, ammunition , everything.. This is just in my area, there are guns disappearing on a regular basis countrywide and they are not all destined for the 'sawn off' market....

You can rest assured they are not stealing firearms so they can shoot wildlife!

Well of course they are not... they are stealing firearms to sell to whoever will buy them.... And the three gentlemen from a certain section of the community with lurchers and three shotguns on my patch last summer most certainly did not have licences...
    As our American friends would say, go figure...

Well of course they are not... they are stealing firearms to sell to whoever will buy them.... And the three gentlemen from a certain section of the community with lurchers and three shotguns on my patch last summer most certainly did not have licences...
    As our American friends would say, go figure...

Did you call the gardai?

Lads - let's not lose sight of what's going on here. Read this thread from the start, and in addition there are several years of similar persecution and politicians sticking their oar in and making things worse. Heather was shot because she was a Hen Harrier. There was no mistake in ID, and while it was possibly shot by someone who just habitually shoots raptors it seems more likely she was shot because of the aforementioned conflict.

Thankfully, though many farmers in Kerry and further afield might not be fans of Hen Harriers, very few are bad-minded enough to actually shoot one. Though with so few Hen Harriers left, very few would have the opportunity. In all likelihood this was a farmer with a gun license - as Srameen said, people don't steal guns to shoot Hen Harriers - but the NARGC are always very quick to condemn these actions! Quicker than even the Minister for Dept of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, who's portfolio this is! It's important to not lose sight of the fact that the breed of lunatic who did this isn't representative of all Kerry people, isn't representative of all farmers and isn't representative of all shooters or people who carry a gun license.

I would like to semore workshops/lessons etc for hunters in terms of ID skills, but that is very much a side issue - Hen Harriers are not shot because they are confused with legal quarry. And unlike the UK, Hen Harriers in Ireland are not villified because of their choice of prey. Heather was shot because of the conflict between designated sites and a lack of compensation being paid to landowners. Our rage is best directed at the Department of Agriculture who were given €400+ million to stop that becoming a problem, and didn't do it!

Of course..I recognized one, and no I wasn't stupid enough to approach them, all vehicles here carry binoculars to keep an eye on wildlife and ,em, 'others'.
    His home was visited and two firearms were discovered, both stolen, his parents 'knew nothing' and he has since disappeared ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Where was the shooting please? One of my neighbours has been out with a gun recently very near me. I am near Blackwater, Moll's Gap. In Healy Rae territory and deplore his attitude to wildlife.

Lads - let's not lose sight of what's going on here. Read this thread from the start, and in addition there are several years of similar persecution and politicians sticking their oar in and making things worse. Heather was shot because she was a Hen Harrier. There was no mistake in ID, and while it was possibly shot by someone who just habitually shoots raptors it seems more likely she was shot because of the aforementioned conflict.

Thankfully, though many farmers in Kerry and further afield might not be fans of Hen Harriers, very few are bad-minded enough to actually shoot one. Though with so few Hen Harriers left, very few would have the opportunity. In all likelihood this was a farmer with a gun license - as Srameen said, people don't steal guns to shoot Hen Harriers - but the NARGC are always very quick to condemn these actions! Quicker than even the Minister for Dept of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, who's portfolio this is! It's important to not lose sight of the fact that the breed of lunatic who did this isn't representative of all Kerry people, isn't representative of all farmers and isn't representative of all shooters or people who carry a gun license.

I would like to semore workshops/lessons etc for hunters in terms of ID skills, but that is very much a side issue - Hen Harriers are not shot because they are confused with legal quarry. And unlike the UK, Hen Harriers in Ireland are not villified because of their choice of prey. Heather was shot because of the conflict between designated sites and a lack of compensation being paid to landowners. Our rage is best directed at the Department of Agriculture who were given €400+ million to stop that becoming a problem, and didn't do it!

I don't believe this..:mad: ' in all likelyhood this was a farmer with a gun licence' ! I'm a farmer with a gun licence... But , hey lets not consider any other scenario, we'd be wasting another golden opportunity ...
    Ah here..I can't be bothered, OYE was obviously there when it happened..I'm going off to cool down..

Graces7 wrote: »
    Where was the shooting please? One of my neighbours has been out with a gun recently very near me. I am near Blackwater, Moll's Gap. In Healy Rae territory and deplore his attitude to wildlife.

Waterville in Kerry is where the bird was shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Graces7 wrote: »

By no means are all people out shooting up to no good. It's pheasent season for example. Rabbits are being shot too. The majority of hunting is legitimate. Just because people are in an area shooting does not make their activities illegal.
    Who the local political representatives are is immaterial surely?

I don't believe this..:mad: ' in all likelyhood this was a farmer with a gun licence' ! I'm a farmer with a gun licence... But , hey lets not consider any other scenario, we'd be wasting another golden opportunity ...
    Ah here..I can't be bothered, OYE was obviously there when it happened..I'm going off to cool down..

Zoo4m8 - you've ignored everything else I said, especially the thing I repeated over and over again - this incident tells us nothing about the average farmer or the average guy with a gun license. Like with anything theres a spectrum of different types of people - some are excellent, some are terrible, most are fairly alright - that goes for conservationists, teachers, doctors, Gardai, telephone operators - everyone!

I didn't ignore any other possibility - I just played the numbers game, and the odds are that was the type of person who did this.
    I've said it repeatedly in this thread and in others - farmers and conservationists are on the same side here. And feel free to go through my posting history, I have absolutely nothing against anyone with guns.

I'm not going to apologise when you selectively cherry-pick a few words from a long and thorough post.

Coverage from the Raptor Persecution Scotland blog:

https://raptorpersecutionscotland.wordpress.com/2015/02/02/another-hen-harrier-shot-dead/

Just to pick one paraagraph thats particularly worth highlighting...
    Heather was an Irish bird. She hatched there, she lived her short life there, and she was killed there. But it’s important to recognise that she was part of a wider population whose range includes England, Wales, Isle of Man, Northern Ireland & Scotland. Some Scottish hen harriers travel to England, Ireland, Northern Ireland etc, just as some Irish harriers travel to England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, just as some English harriers travel to Scotland, RoI, Wales etc etc. If there are persecution issues in any part of the range, the impact will eventually affect the population in every other part of the range. Heather’s pitiful death should be felt just as keenly by those of us in Scotland, England, Northern Ireland etc as it is by those in the Irish Republic who today are mourning her loss. Political boundary lines on a map mean nothing to these hen harriers and they should mean nothing to those of us fighting to protect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

We really should lobby our political local TDs about this as they are the only one who can force change.
    One thing that could be done for example is stop replanting after clear fell a lot of forestry in spa is owned by coilte a state owned company.
    This would grow the hen harrier area.
    Give farmers enough to cover their costs or rent land outside an spa area
    Have an independent body to come to a fair sum or amount.
    Stop fines for things like heather or rushes growing on land or else allow a fair use of chemical sprays to control them.
    Under current law as I understand is clear felled forest has to be replanted to get felling license
    Open your eyes you seem to have a good grasp of the problems.
    The problem with farming in a traditional way is its not profitable any more and farming like any other business had to scale up and become more efficient to survive.
    That means ploughing reseeding spraying draining etc. Nobody can survive on 5000 a year on glas scheme and pay their costs planners etc. out of it.
    Not all spa ground is bad in that it was reclaimed and reseeded before the land was degesnated but every year it is becoming worse and less profitable.
    As an example if a farmer in spa land had a hundred acres without restrictions
    Option 1
    Reseed and drain ground and let out for 200 an acre = 20000 euro
    Option 2
    Plant forestry 200 an acre tax free = 20000 euro
    Option. 3
    Join glas scheme and carry out mesures for protection of rare birds max payment 5000 before costs = 3500 to 4000 euro

djmc wrote: »
    Option 1
    Reseed and drain ground and let out for 200 an acre = 20000 euro
    Option 2
    Plant forestry 200 an acre tax free = 20000 euro
    Option. 3
    Join glas scheme and carry out mesures for protection of rare birds max payment 5000 before costs = 3500 to 4000 euro
    x2
    It essential comes down to that. The cap on GLAS payments has to go. It's unfair. Until it's gone and people get at least the payments they get from planting non-native forestry the problem will only get worse.

Press Release from the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht:

http://www.ahg.gov.ie/en/PressReleases/2015/February2015Pressreleases/htmltext,18392,en.html