Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Cars and Coffee was interesting.

Some nice cars.

****e Coffee though.

So I'm selling my 9-5 and getting one of these utter beasts :D

daewoo_2004_matiz_2.jpg

My sisters first car. I still have nightmares about it 15 years later. A pipe somehow managed to burst and leak into the passenger footwell destroying a brand new pair of shoes I was wearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

My sisters first car. I still have nightmares about it 15 years later. A pipe somehow managed to burst and leak into the passenger footwell destroying a brand new pair of shoes I was wearing.

How ghastly was the experience? I sat in it the other day and thought "my god" :o

Horrific is an understatement. The thing would tend to brake down in the worst possible places. The Conor pass, the m7, tarbert to killimer car ferry etc

Horrific is an understatement. The think would tend to brake down in the worst possible places. The Conor pass, the m7, tarbert to killimer car ferry etc

Nothing im not used to so! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I wonder if we will have meet any time soon. I can actually afford petrol and get someone to fully clean my car now. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

I wouldn't recommend crashing one either! :eek:

cheryqq_cheryqq.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I wonder if we will have meet any time soon. I can actually afford petrol and get someone to fully clean my car now. :D

I think we are due one alright but when people constantly pull out, it ends up being 2 or 3 people left and that's just sh!te.

This forum used have a great buzz about it and that was normally down to loads of people going to the meets and putting faces to names etc. The last couple that have been organised at Midway at least, have been utter washouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

It's been 3 years and a week since the first major motors meet in midway with the largest turnout.

I remember because the penalty points i got on the way down to it are coming off the licence in the next few weeks.

Also is my car advert reasonable ?

I think we are due one alright but when people constantly pull out, it ends up being 2 or 3 people left and that's just sh!te.

This forum used have a great buzz about it and that was normally down to loads of people going to the meets and putting faces to names etc. The last couple that have been organised at Midway at least, have been utter washouts.

Well, we had a lot of fun that time. I dont know about other meets as I just pretty much could not afford it. :o

Worth giving it a shot again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I haven't been able to make the last few, but now I am free to go to any of them :)

Actually would you have passed by the Merlin auctions place in Naas Saturday at about 8:30?
    We were heading drifting and a car the exact same as yours passed by!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Pick a day and I'll be there, just about 2/3 weeks in advance so I can book it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Well, we had a lot of fun that time. I dont know about other meets as I just pretty much could not afford it. :o

Worth giving it a shot again though.

It is indeed worth a shot! Let's get something going so. I'll say it to a mod and we'll get a thread going.

I think Sunday is a bad day because there's all the "out last night, too drunk to go. Enjoy the day lads" people with no willpower or discipline at all :pac:

How about Saturday February 21st?
    YbFocus wrote: »
    I haven't been able to make the last few, but now I am free to go to any of them :)

Actually would you have passed by the Merlin auctions place in Naas Saturday at about 8:30?
    We were heading drifting and a car the exact same as yours passed by!

Wasn't me man! The last time I was in Naas was in 2008 :)

21st sounds good to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

21st suits me too :)

So looks like I bought a matiz :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

So looks like I bought a matiz :o

Dafuq?

That's a bannable offence.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Dafuq?

Headgaskets fecked on it, so im gona fix it and sell it on, for 50 quid i couldnt say no like!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Dafuq?

Did you miss his posts yesterday? The head is gone on it and all

How much earlier than the NCT due date, can you book your car in for it? Whats the earliest-earliest you can do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

90 days. Well that's when you can inquire about it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

How much earlier than the NCT due date, can you book your car in for it? Whats the earliest-earliest you can do it?
    OSI wrote: »
    As early as you want. But if it's over 90 days early you'll only get a year from the test date. Is my understanding of the new rules.

Yes, what OSI says is the case

So if i was to buy a car that hadnt an NCT due til august (as is the case with one im looking at) I can still NCT it tomorrow, but the NCT will expire in february 2016?

(my thinking is that i want to get something cheap and cheerful, and at least if i get an all-clear from a mechanic on it, and get it NCTed for a year ASAP, even if it starts to fall apart around me, i can still drive the bollocks out of it for 12 months legally, anyway?).

It is indeed worth a shot! Let's get something going so. I'll say it to a mod and we'll get a thread going.

I think Sunday is a bad day because there's all the "out last night, too drunk to go. Enjoy the day lads" people with no willpower or discipline at all :pac:

How about Saturday February 21st?

Wasn't me man! The last time I was in Naas was in 2008 :)

Well, Saturdays are not perfect for me as they are my main work days, but I guess ill try to book it off.

Surely that's not your actual phone number..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Them pics are perfection, spotless, new fitted mats and the windscreen display looks perfect. I have a weird obsession with the display of discs. I have an ocd meltdown if I see a holder stuck on to inches of its life and about 30 discs jammed into each slot. Can't beat simplicity with a freshly applied holder with just one disc in each! /ramblings :P

Can't remember if I mentioned this before, but I have a bad water ingress issue in the boot of the focus. Must be there a while as there was a tiny hole drilled in the spare tyre footwell to let it out. The water comes in and due to the shape of the boot, it runs forward, under the rear seats and settles in the rear footwells. That's where I noticed the issue, sopping wet rear footwells. The rear seats were gone a tad mouldy at the bottom when I went to investigate!
    From doing some research both online and in the boot, it appears the water is coming in through the air flaps at the very extreme right and left corners, as there is a puddle immediately inside of them. If no one else knows what I'm on about Hal1 will defo! It appears the rear bumper needs to removed to get these air flaps out and to replace them.

Can't remember if I mentioned this before, but I have a bad water ingress issue in the boot of the focus. Must be there a while as there was a tiny hole drilled in the spare tyre footwell to let it out. The water comes in and due to the shape of the boot, it runs forward, under the rear seats and settles in the rear footwells. That's where I noticed the issue, sopping wet rear footwells. The rear seats were gone a tad mouldy at the bottom when I went to investigate!
    From doing some research both online and in the boot, it appears the water is coming in through the air flaps at the very extreme right and left corners, as there is a puddle immediately inside of them. If no one else knows what I'm on about Hal1 will defo! It appears the rear bumper needs to removed to get these air flaps out and to replace them.

Soooooo.....how ya gonna fix it?

Find a pair of them air flaps is the first objective anyway. The car is on the road literally every day, so I won't get a chance to take the bumper off until the 2 weeks off at Easter. Until then I've all the boot carpets taken out and the rear footwells are almost dry, so I'll keep on top of the water seeping in and keep it mopped up!

Fair enough! :D

I got a new grille for my yoke....it's got mesh on it! :D