Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Was talking to one of the aul maintenance fitters in work today saying I picked up a throttle body gasket from Volvo for less than a fiver. He was nearly giving out to me saying I could have gotten a load of gasket paper and just cut the thing out myself and have a ball of it leftover for future jobs. He swears by the stuff. I know my aul lad used it back in the day (70's-80's) on whatever banger he had at the time. Do ye use it or have ye ever used it? Personally I prefer to buy from the dealer for the sake of a few euro.

Use it all the time :) Well anytime I need to make a gasket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just when you think you've seen it all on donedeal seen this in a ad

"Car comes packed with extras including electric windows and a CD player"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Bpmull wrote: »
    Just when you think you've seen it all on donedeal seen this in a ad

"Car comes packed with extras including electric windows and a CD player"

Was the advert for a Golf?

Sorry couldnt resist :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Got my nct today! :)

That's the navy one?

Yep!

Yep!

Green cars are bad luck anyway, the navy one is much nicer!

So everyone keeps saying! So yeah now I've the green one just sitting there and I dunno what to do with it

I'm sure some smartarse will be along to say set it on fire :rolleyes:

I've a few butane bottles if required...winter bbq meet?

:pac: smartarse :P

But yeah if anyone wants a fixerupper it's there for the taking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Looks like it's not our week Bear1 :(

Hit and run foxhole again was it where that happen?

Was the advert for a Golf?

Sorry couldnt resist :p

Ah no it was an astra h I was just flicking through ads. I'm not as obsessed with golds as you all make out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I'm down in listowel and Killarney for the week if any boardziez fancy a mini meet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

A meet soon would be no harm atall atall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

A meet soon would be no harm atall atall

After the last success? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Hit and run foxhole again was it where that happen?

No, a rear ender of the entrance to the Kinsale Road Roundabout from the city entrance. Ringing her now tomorrow to sort it all out, won't be too bad, I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Was in boxing tonight, bad things happened.
    Now in A+E, think I broke my arm.

No driving for a while.

No, a rear ender of the entrance to the Kinsale Road Roundabout from the city entrance. Ringing her now tomorrow to sort it all out, won't be too bad, I hope.

Ah that's ok so hopefully its be sorted quick enough! You were getting the bumpers done weren't you can do it all now maybe at same time like.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Was in boxing tonight, bad things happened.
    Now in A+E, think I broke my arm.

No driving for a while.

That sucks dude :( but this is why you should drive auto :pac:

Ah that's ok so hopefully its be sorted quick enough! You were getting the bumpers done weren't you can do it all now maybe at same time like.

Yeah I wanted to get the front done anyway along with the boot rust so it's not overly terrible timing :p

Let me know where you get it done and what they like etc too as looking to do my front bumper some stage too!!

Will do, but I am slow to move on things :o

MuppetCheck, clear your inbox :P

Owen hodder and John Harrington are both meant to be very good on tramore road! Last place I had body work was Waterford after a ""work colleague" hit my car and drove off! Luckily caught the git on cameras! Was good job too and reasonable

Would mobil one oil be as good as castrol edge or has anyone used Mobil one used Mobil 3000 in my focus before and found it good.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Would mobil one oil be as good as castrol edge or has anyone used Mobil one used Mobil 3000 in my focus before and found it good.

I use it in my car, seems grand!

Owen hodder and John Harrington are both meant to be very good on tramore road! Last place I had body work was Waterford after a ""work colleague" hit my car and drove off! Luckily caught the git on cameras! Was good job too and reasonable

Our family use Kenny brothers usually as he's my dad's best friend so it's handy out, all their stuff has been great.

Might call to a few places tomorrow if there open get a few quotes on tramore road so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

If either of you are near Charleville a fellow local to me is very good and not expensive.

nd wrote: »
    If either of you are near Charleville a fellow local to me is very good and not expensive.

Cheers but no where near there unfortunately!