Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

FutureGuy has been seriously out of form lately...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

TheDoc wrote: »
    FutureGuy has been seriously out of form lately...

I'm saving myself for that special guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I'm saving myself for that special guy.

Sometime in the future, as it were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Courtois did a twitter Q&A,you can guess what happened when United fans got in on the act.

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/555157/Chelsea-Courtois-Twitter-Q-A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Such innovative comedians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Julez

zerks wrote: »
    Courtois did a twitter Q&A,you can guess what happened when United fans got in on the act.

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/555157/Chelsea-Courtois-Twitter-Q-A

#bantz :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

That's not that bad cleverly got it worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,058 ✭✭✭✭adox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭statto25

Carrick out for 4 weeks according to LVG. Does it ever end.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Carrick out means Herrera and Blind will start more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,917 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Least it means we surely have to play 4 at the back with Shaw LB and Blind CDM. Blind, Di Maria, Herrera, Mata/Rooney midfield again please.

Did you not see the 2nd part of the tweet?

Also like I keep saying, that is leaving out United's best midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

So.... our defence is poor, Anderson is leaving, Fletcher is leaving, Carrick is out for a month but United feel no need to improve the options at centre back, right back or in midfield.

CLAP CLAP CLAP guys. Way to blow a CL place. Squad isn't good enough at this point and we are doing nothing to rectify the situation.

We don't make the CL again for next season and it is going to be tough in the transfer market. 1 season could be argued a blip, two seasons is a club in regression that many players won't take a risk on.

De Gea out of contract in 2016 too - don't see him renewing without CL football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Surprised to see Fletcher leaving. Is it because Van Gaal doesn't rate him or there are still concerns over his fitness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I might be in minority then, but I think our squad is more then good enough to get CL.

Injuries and more recently the poor tactics\ formations have been the problem imo.

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

So.... our defence is poor, Anderson is leaving, Fletcher is leaving, Carrick is out for a month but United feel no need to improve the options at centre back, right back or in midfield.

Anderson and Fletcher have played zero role in the United team this season (other than slight cameos from Fletcher) so we really aren't weakened significantly by their departure. Carrick may be out, but hopefully that means Herrera gets a decent run in the team, and we also have Fel, Rooney and DiMaria who can play there. (I'll be in the minority, but Carrick's injury might be a blessing in disguise if Herrera gets a run in the team, and we may look stronger in his absence).

I still think we'll be pushing for a CB, but it was said before the window opened that we weren't going for short term options; that we had a list of players and if they weren't available, we'd be waiting till Summer.

Still plenty of time in the window left though, so still have plenty of time to wait before the toy throwing should even consider beginning tbh. I still think we have a squad well capable of top 4 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Carrick injured surely means Herrera starts in midfield with Blind & Di Maria.

I might be in minority then, but I think our squad is more then good enough to get CL.

Injuries and more recently the poor tactics\ formations have been the problem imo.

I'm in there with you.

I think anyone that doesn't think this squad can qualify for the champions league, is stuck in some mental vortex of football manager land.

There would be an argument that our strongest 11 on paper could win the champions league, let alone ****ing qualify for it. Squad issues were last years excuse.

This year is totally down to new manager trying to instill his ideas. I'm really REALLY hoping something clicks and then it sets us up for the rest of the season. Just something, a stellar performance, a individual masterclass, SOMETHING that will make van gaal stick to a suitable tactic and then that be that.

4-4-2, Di Maria left CM, Blind DM, Herrera right CM, Mata AMC and Rooney and Falcao up top. I'm convinced that's our best front six and am consistently disappointed I can't see it get game time to gel.

I'm not nearly to hit the panic button yet, but there is a re-occuring theme where last season I was all " ah its grand, it will click and we will be back to our own ways" but there is growing worry I need to adjust to a new way I've never seen before, and because it's new I don't know when it's happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Carrick out means Herrera and Blind will start more.

Cue Rooney-Fellaini midfield at the weekend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I'm in there with you.

I think anyone that doesn't think this squad can qualify for the champions league, is stuck in some mental vortex of football manager land.

There would be an argument that our strongest 11 on paper could win the champions league, let alone ****ing qualify for it.

The defence is patchy and open for debate, but even from Midfield on we have plenty of quality.

Never had it better at the club if I'm honest

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,058 ✭✭✭✭adox

nicklauski wrote: »

Wouldnt be so sure. Will mean Blind will play instead of him. Herrera may still not get his game.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Anderson and Fletcher have played zero role in the United team this season (other than slight cameos from Fletcher) so we really aren't weakened significantly by their departure. Carrick may be out, but hopefully that means Herrera gets a decent run in the team, and we also have Fel, Rooney and DiMaria who can play there. (I'll be in the minority, but Carrick's injury might be a blessing in disguise if Herrera gets a run in the team, and we may look stronger in his absence).

I still think we'll be pushing for a CB, but it was said before the window opened that we weren't going for short term options; that we had a list of players and if they weren't available, we'd be waiting till Summer.

Still plenty of time in the window left though, so still have plenty of time to wait before the toy throwing should even consider beginning tbh. I still think we have a squad well capable of top 4 though.
    Rooney has, imo, been rubbish in midfield apart from his initial promising start there. Doesn't dictate play, doesn't tackle successfully, doesn't contribute what he could to the side.

We now have Blind, Fellaini, Herrera as the only players capable, imo, of playing in a midfield 2. Di Maria should be a runner in a 3. Rooney shouldn't be in central midfield. Mata shouldn't be in central midfield.

We need more quality. Instead we have got rid of two players (however useless they may have been) and lost another to injury while doing nothing to add to the squad.

Same story in defence. We are goign to persevere with Valencia at right back rather than trying to sign someone. And stick with Jones, Smalling and Evans (whenever any of them are actually fit) to play alongside Rojo. Brilliant.

Another finish outside the CL places out of arrogance.

nicklauski wrote: »

Rooney and Falcao midfield, Wilson up front. #Philosophy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

You have my bow

Rooney has, imo, been rubbish in midfield apart from his initial promising start there. Doesn't dictate play, doesn't tackle successfully, doesn't contribute what he could to the side.

We now have Blind, Fellaini, Herrera as the only players capable, imo, of playing in a midfield 2. Di Maria should be a runner in a 3. Rooney shouldn't be in central midfield. Mata shouldn't be in central midfield.

Can't argue with this, agree here.

EVENFLOW

The defence is patchy and open for debate, but even from Midfield on we have plenty of quality.

Patchy defense is starting to become a statistical myth, and I think it's maybe that we keep ****ting a brick seeing our defenders one on one, or De Gea making loads of fantastic saves.

What's the latest mindphuck stat? Only recently we had conceeded one less then City who spunked their load on Mangala and have Vincent "what do you mean I'm overrated Kompany", and one more then Chelsea, who many would have you believe were Fort Knox.

As much issues as you or I may have with our defenders, I think your in barny land if you think what we have isn't good enough for top 4. I'd imagine the problem is them being flung into this weird system they arn't used to, that doesn't seem to show any benefits and as a result confidence get's knocked. The amount of 1v1 situations that develop from a hoofed ball is just mind boggling.

Giggs - Scholes - Keane - Bekham.

Our current midfield is NOT better than that. No. FECKING. WAY.

Patchy defense is starting to become a statistical myth, and I think it's maybe that we keep ****ting a brick seeing our defenders one on one, or De Gea making loads of fantastic saves.

What's the latest mindphuck stat? Only recently we had conceeded one less then City who spunked their load on Mangala and have Vincent "what do you mean I'm overrated Kompany", and one more then Chelsea, who many would have you believe were Fort Knox.

Its posts like this that prompted the current thread on meaningless statistics in soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

I'll be honest lads. Anything other than a comprehensive victory this weekend will surely have huge ramifications for LVG with the fans and the press. There is already rumblings of discontent in both sections and this weekend will surely see a lot more people speaking out.

As Mitch said, and we all know, Rooney has been terrible in midfield. A midfield trio of Blind behind Herrera and ADM with Mata then Rooney and Falcao in front of it should be steam rolling Leicester.

The injuries are beyond a joke at this stage.