Dublin Says No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

McDermotX wrote: »
    “little midget parasite”

Brilliant.

The person that shouted that is the little midget parasite with the biggest Napoleon complex

They are nothing but a Rent-A-Mob who would show up to the opening of a packet of crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

circadian wrote: »
    I still can't fathom why Higgins is being heckled.

Because they cant grasp the fact that under the constituion he had to sign the water services bill into law, the only way he could not is if it was somehow unconstituional.

They see this as some kind of betrayal cus they are too ignorant to understand how limited he is in this specific instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Can't disagree with them. Higgins has been a complete sell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

List exactly what he has sold out on, what power does the president have exactly that he could have used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I love they these type of people constantly say that the Guards are supposed to protect them.

Believe it or not they have to protect the president from you trying to get him. As well.

Morons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

andyman wrote: »
    Morons

"Vous etes morons"

Let's get this trending people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

spurious wrote: »
    I would be very surprised if any of them were from that area. Such types are rent a crowd - nomadic in their nature.

Most were from the area as am I and I too was at the protest. Things were already in a bad mood when the child of a protester from the school was locked in a room before being suspend on the day of the protest ( this happened the day before). Meter installers, K-Tech, and the garda themselves have been intimating protesters, following them, making threats. One lad who would be very well know in regards to suicide awareness has followed twice by plain clothes garda and told to stay away from the protests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,379 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Unfortunately OP in this country we do have a pretty nasty underbelly and not just in Dublin. It's areas like this, it's people like that that the likes of SF or PBP want to help financially at the expense of workers because that is their core vote and I hope people realise that at the next election. I would love to see everyone lifted from poverty (even though in the exhibits in the OP you would have to seriously question whether those protestors live in "poverty") but dumbass policy platforms, ill thought out ideas and some lunatic far left mindsets could do huge damage to this country. Protest voting is fine - just make sure you don't actually get the government you vote for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Unfortunately OP in this country we do have a pretty nasty underbelly and not just in Dublin. It's areas like this, it's people like that that the likes of SF or PBP want to help financially at the expense of workers because that is their core vote and I hope people realise that at the next election. I would love to see everyone lifted from poverty (even though in the exhibits in the OP you would have to seriously question whether those protestors live in "poverty") but dumbass policy platforms, ill thought out ideas and some lunatic far left mindsets could do huge damage to this country. Protest voting is fine - just make sure you don't actually get the government you vote for!

Its the ultra-nationalist 'Eirigi' that are dicking around at these gatherings

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

the_monkey wrote: »
    This scum expects to live for nothing , to have to pay for nothing, absolute scum - whats wrong with Irish Society ... can't afford the water charges so I better go film a "protest" with my iPhone 6 .... ****ing scum.

Wait a minute....just because someone spends their money on nice things it doesn't mean they agree with being robbed.

You might want to get your facts straight and stop having the wool pulled over your eyes. We all get it, poor people disgust you but that doesn't mean they don't know what they're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

We live in a multi-party democracy with proportional representation.
    If you don't like someone's policies, don't vote for them and find a candidate that you do like! There's a load of them.

If you don't like any of the candidates, run yourself! There's no particularly huge barrier to entry in getting your name on the poll for local council and even to stand as a TD is not particularly difficult, you just need a bit of organisational and campaigning skills.

It's the most polar opposite to a dictatorship system that you could possibly find anywhere in the world.

Intimidating a local counsellor walking around like that is just absolutely ridiculous behaviour and did nothing for their cause other than undermine it.

The policies are changing and softening because the mainstream parties know they'll be facing a situation where they'll lose lots of votes and seeing a huge number of independents, Sinn Fein etc etc if they don't soften them. That's democracy in action.

Harassing 3 party workers in the street regardless of what party they are is just bullying.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    But it's been pointed out to them... loads of times

But wasn't it unconstitutional?
    After all the constitution states that the resources of Ireland belong to the state. Yet large sections of forestries, fisheries, oil and gas have been handed over to private companies for control and exploitation and water is next.
    It's easy to look down your nose at someone who has a problem with being robbed when you yourself don't have the wherewithall or the guts to stand up against asset-stripping. It's easy to say "ah these scum can afford iphone but they can't afford the water charges!"

Tell you what...give me all the money in your wallet. You can afford a car, give me your wallet!!!

ARTICLE 10

1 All natural resources, including the air and all forms of potential energy, within the jurisdiction of the Parliament and Government established by this Constitution and all royalties and franchises within that jurisdiction belong to the State subject to all estates and interests therein for the time being lawfully vested in any person or body.

2 All land and all mines, minerals and waters which belonged to Saorstát Éireann immediately before the coming into operation of this Constitution belong to the State to the same extent as they then belonged to Saorstát Éireann.

3 Provision may be made by law for the management of the property which belongs to the State by virtue of this Article and for the control of the alienation, whether temporary or permanent, of that property.

4 Provision may also be made by law for the management of land, mines, minerals and waters acquired by the State after the coming into operation of this Constitution and for the control of the alienation, whether temporary or permanent, of the land, mines, minerals and waters so acquired.

Basically, they are franchised out and that would seem to be in compliance with 10.3 and 10.4

The ownership hasn't changed, they're just leased out.

I'm not saying the T&Cs of that lease are great, but that's the way it's structured.
    You've a license to use the resources for X years usually.

As for the companies making an absolute killing, so far that's no really been demonstrated by any of them.
    Despite everything, we've never pumped a single barrel of commercial oil and have relatively modest gas reserves that are quite expensive to access.

The law was changed though and the new T&Cs for anything else are pretty radically different to the old ones.

Preexisting deals were almost all done under FF who are now pretending like they didn't know anything about them... The current Irish Government can't legally change them as we'd just be sued to bits.
    A lot of finger pointing at the wrong parties on that issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,296 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

What else would you expect in an area where sub human scum live ?

Which area would that be exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

... how is he a sellout, exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭liam24

VinLieger wrote: »
    Because they cant grasp the fact that under the constituion he had to sign the water services bill into law, the only way he could not is if it was somehow unconstituional.

They see this as some kind of betrayal cus they are too ignorant to understand how limited he is in this specific instance.

This isn't true. He can refuse to sign it if he wants - they're going to pin him down and force his hand to move across the page. It says in the constitution the president must sign legislation into law. So if he didn't we'd have a constitutional crisis, and he would probably be removed. If he was really principled and opposed to something, he'd do it.

Steodonn wrote: »
    Most were from the area as am I and I too was at the protest. Things were already in a bad mood when the child of a protester from the school was locked in a room before being suspend on the day of the protest ( this happened the day before). Meter installers, K-Tech, and the garda themselves have been intimating protesters, following them, making threats. One lad who would be very well know in regards to suicide awareness has followed twice by plain clothes garda and told to stay away from the protests

But what exactly did ye want the President to do about water meters? Why protest him?

liam24 wrote: »
    This isn't true. He can refuse to sign it if he wants - they're going to pin him down and force his hand to move across the page. It says in the constitution the president must sign legislation into law. So if he didn't we'd have a constitutional crisis, and he would probably be removed. If he was really principled and opposed to something, he'd do it.

Are we to have a presidential resignation and a constitutional crisis every time a controversial piece of legislation gets put before a President (legislation that would in that instance be signed anyway by the Council of State)? If what you're looking for is an Executive President with a veto like in the States, just say it - but be aware that it comes with plenty of its own problems.

liam24 wrote: »

Maybe

Just Maybe

He isn't against it and he thinks like others that water charges are a good idea?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

What else would you expect in an area where sub human scum live ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

This scum expects to live for nothing , to have to pay for nothing, absolute scum - whats wrong with Irish Society ... can't afford the water charges so I better go film a "protest" with my iPhone 6 .... ****ing scum.

Yes that's right because iPhones should only be a privilege, for the Bankers the Irish people bailed out.

All the president can do is refer a bill to the Supreme Court for constitutional testing, on having consulted with the Council of State.

He can't unilaterally block anything in reality. So, I'm not quite sure why the protests are targeting him. Other than people reading imaginary constitutions.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Are we to have a presidential resignation and a constitutional crisis every time a controversial piece of legislation gets put before a President (legislation that would in that instance be signed anyway by the Council of State)? If what you're looking for is an Executive President with a veto like in the States, just say it - but be aware that it comes with plenty of its own problems.

I'm not, and I think he should sign it into law. But to say that's he is 100% powerless to do anything is incorrect. If he was fundamentally opposed to something he could refuse to sign it.

Actually I'm in favour of a three person directly elected panel having executive authority, rotating among them the function of "head of state". I think removing complete executive authority from people who have had to navigate the corrupt gombeenism of Dail Eireann could only be a good thing. We could periodically elect an anti-corruption independent to go in and sort out all the scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

Omackeral wrote: »
    They are nothing but a Rent-A-Mob who would show up to the opening of a packet of crisps.

And that little midgit parasite would be there to cut the ribbon at the opening of that packet of crisps and make some patronizing speach about social justice.

Maybe

Just Maybe

He isn't against it and he thinks like others that water charges are a good idea?

I think he is probably against it, but he probably thinks that a constitutional crisis should be withheld for major challenges like Sinn Fein passing a law to send all the Protestants in Ireland to Connacht.

He could fundamentally oppose it and refuse to sign it but that would mean he'd have to resign over it or he could be literally impeached.

The president is supposed to be above politics too, so it's quite unlikely you'll see him act on what is a purely political issue and that should be dealt with and has been dealt with at a political level.

They have come to a pretty annoying but broadly more tolerable compromise situation.

What would happen then? Every time a piece of controversial legislation came up a president would have to fall on his sword?
    How big a controversy would it take? etc etc.

conorhal wrote: »
    And that DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED little midgit parasite would be there to cut the ribbon at the opening of that packet of crisps and make some patronizing speach about social justice.

FYP ;)

conorhal wrote: »
    And that little midgit parasite would be there to cut the ribbon at the opening of that packet of crisps and make some patronizing speach about social justice.

I bet he even drives a nicer car than you too :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Yes that's right because iPhones should only be a privilege, for the Bankers the Irish people bailed out.
    The Irish people baled out the Irish people.

Irish people who took wreckless mortgages and can't afford to pay them back costing the state billions.