Does your bull**** tolerance decrease with age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

Well, generelly speaking, I find it to be just the opposite. I am these days much more willing and able to give random bullsihters the time of day than I ever was before.

When I was young, I was a different person, very self-involved, very self-absorbed, thinking that there is no time to waste and I have to get stuff done and you'd better move out of my way.

I am still very egotistical, but as I've got a few big a$$ kickings by life, it's happened that I stop and smell the roses much more, even if the roses are in reality farts, iykwim. I get more interested in people and their stories, in general.

As for romance, I have become more pragmatically ruthless about it than ever, yes. Enjoy the situation to the utmost, take what it has to offer, move on when the time comes. Suffer no fools, that goes without saying. It's not particularly romantic, but it works.

seenitall wrote: »
    Well, generelly speaking, I find it to be just the opposite. I am these days much more willing and able to give random bullsihters the time of day than I ever was before.

When I was young, I was a different person, very self-involved, very self-absorbed, thinking that there is no time to waste and I have to get stuff done and you'd better move out of my way.

I am still very egotistical, but as I've got a few big a$$ kickings by life, it's happened that I stop and smell the roses much more, even if the roses are in reality farts, iykwim. I get more interested in people and their stories, in general.

Oh I'm the same, absolutely, a great memory of mine is sitting in Brussels train station chatting to two homeless guys for about an hour. One who spoke only French, the other who spoke French and English and a little dutch! They wanted to buy me coffee, when I refused I was offered beer! Stuff like that I love, listening to people, having brilliant chats with strangers, helping people out.

I think there's a difference between being less tolerant, and being less tolerant of bullsh*t. I'd fall into the latter category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

If one was intolerant of bullshítters, one would cut boards.ie loose pronto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭dublinjen

Thanks guys, it seems the general consensus is yes - with age we don't take bull**** behaviour so easily and while that may result in us being cranky aul ones, we don't let ourselves be messed around.

Still don't know what to do about the bollocky bill of a boyfriend because now it seems I have two options;

1. Accept the tomfoolery and remain young at heart

2. Accept defeat the age is looming and that I will soon become a cranky aul bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I've just turned 20 and my tolerance to bullshît has decreased exponentially since I was 18. Generally, I tend to avoid people who have a negative impact on me now. This has meant severing ties with some old school-friends.

Last week, my friends and I hopped into a taxi after a night out in Dublin. Hearing five drunken culchy accents he thought he'd take us on a tour of south County Dublin. The thing is I knew exactly which way was the quickest way back. I told him to turn the **** around or he can let us off here. He then tried to force us to pay the extra two euro or so that had been clocked up by his little adventure. I told him to shove it up his arse. He said he'd ring the Gardai, I just said fine and we went into our house. The old bollocks knew the Gardai wouldn't give a feck on the off chance they turned up so he pulled off once we went inside.

I would not have had the cajones to do that at 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

beks101 wrote: »
    I'm almost 30 and I hate most people.

In fairness, most people really are ****ing stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

beks101 wrote: »
    I think it's just that with time comes experience.

At 20 you probably met someone attractive and just thought "BOOBIES"...fast forward a few years and you know that you're not going to be compatible with someone who talks shyte and is a head-wrecker who displays epicly crap behaviour, even if she has a great rack.

The more gobshytes you have under your belt, be it through relationships or friendships or work or general life experiences, the more privy you are to them.

I'm almost 30 and I hate most people.

Wait till you get to 45 :pac:.. god damn stupid arse-hole people everywhere, why the hell can I not get through one fcuking day without meeting another bull-****ter of an arsehole. The way it was back in my day there was less arseholes and it was grand but now they are everywhere, all over the place in my ear just talking constant ****e. Nonfcukingsensicals.

Wait till you get to 60 and it's all down hill from then on out. The fcuking property tax, water charges, the fecking hoover won't work while you're kicking the **** out of it (no-wonder it doesn't work), gravitating towards the sun in anger because you can't find the second sock you need, or horizon tv remote control is 10 seconds in the past while trying to change the fcuking channel.

Don't even talk about 70... the whole world are bull****ting and talking about you and you are the only one in the silence that is making sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

thelad95 wrote: »
    I've just turned 20 and my tolerance to bullshît has decreased exponentially since I was 18.

I feel old. I remember those years as one long night out.:D