Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does your bull**** tolerance decrease with age?

• 26-01-2015 6:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭

So a friend of mine made quite an interesting point the other day. We were discussing our friends and how they are much more likely to dump dumbass's then they were a few years back (all approximately 25yo). We were wondering if it was due to a decreasing bull**** factor, in that with age you will no longer waste your time with idiots?

I ask because my other half has displayed some pretty epic idiot behaviour tonight, and I'm wondering would my reaction be the same when I was a carefree 20 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

The real cull begins at 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭dublinjen

I hate cats what am I supposed to do ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Maybe as you get older you realise that you can be a bit of a bull****ter yourself and if you are producing enough bull**** that you do not need other bull**** providers !

I may have just proved my own point !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I think it's just that with time comes experience.

At 20 you probably met someone attractive and just thought "BOOBIES"...fast forward a few years and you know that you're not going to be compatible with someone who talks shyte and is a head-wrecker who displays epicly crap behaviour, even if she has a great rack.

The more gobshytes you have under your belt, be it through relationships or friendships or work or general life experiences, the more privy you are to them.

I'm almost 30 and I hate most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Yes, for me anyway. Also I will call bsr's out more and question them more than before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I think as we get older, we're certainly way more comfortable in our own skin. We worry less about our image and we're less conscious of what others think about us. I'm far more comfortable speaking my mind than I was when I was younger and I guess one aspect of this is not putting up with crap.

It's easy on the interweb; mainly just don't get involved. I disagree with a lot of what's posted on AH but I tune it out. There's no point in pursuing it. 20 yr old me would have argued the issues to death and I can't be dealing with that now. In the real world, I will raise a point if I have an issue with something but also criticism from others bothers me less so I guess its a win-win to some degree.

There are benefits to aging; not quite grumpy old man but slightly-cranky-and-come-back-to-me-when-it-gets-serious old man.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

In some cases you start with "low tolerance to bull" and end up turning into a cantankerous old bastard.

I'm taking tablets, we'll see if they work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Oink wrote: »
    In some cases you start with "low tolerance to bull" and end up turning into a cantankerous old bastard.

I'm taking tablets, we'll see if they work.

As you get older, you realise time is running out, and "ain't nobody got time for that"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

As you get older you have less and less free time due to work and family commitments. You want to ensure that the free time you do get is spent doing something enjoyable/worthwhile and with people you like. If you like idiots then by all means spend time with them but most people dont have the time or energy to waste on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

beks101 wrote: »

You think you're cool, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yes as I've gotten older I find I have less time for muppetry, time-wasters or bull**** - I'm very direct and upfront anyway and appreciate the same in others. Makes life a lot easier.

Where relationships are concerned this is even more important - not that BOOBIES aren't still important too :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Of course. And your opinion is really important to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Not in an overly dramatic way but it does. I dumped 2 old friends in the last few years just because stuff I was OK about for years, I suddenly didn't want to tolerate. Not that I'm perfect but you just don't put up with things as much when you get older, not just because you've grown up but also because you simply don't have the time so you prioritize people you can rely on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I think as you get older you become more conscious of time being a rather precious commodity, and thus more resentful of wasting it on gobsheens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I always try and remember the serenity prayer -

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,The courage to change the things I can,And the wisdom to know the difference.

Hence I have an unusually high tolerance for bullshìt because I still lack the wisdom to tell the difference all too often.

I've always been a cantankerous little bastard though, but I'm a quietly cantankerous little bastard, I'll often keep it to myself. It just depends on the person and the circumstances how far I'm willing to put up with the bullshìt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

It decreases exponentially. You make mistakes when you're younger, some of which hurt. You don't make them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've zero tolerance for many things as I age. Really old people just annoy me with their presence now, I can feel time slowing down when they show up, really young people annoy me with the lack of knowledge on things I have knowledge of, ads on TV, newspapers, music in general, traffic lights, telephone calls, waiting for just about anything. The list is literally endless. I seem to just go around shaking my fist at everyone these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

It was very important that people liked me back in the day, even people I didn't particularly like, and I'd stress myself out making sure that was the case. Now I care I less. I speak my mind a bit more now (though not enough) and I'm more inclined to suit myself. Definitely a lot more cantankerous than I was in my 20s and less concerned about how I'm perceived by others.

Like previous posters, I've cut a few people out of my life as they were more hassle than they were worth and it feels good.

Saying all that, and this probably sounds contradictory but I'm probably more inclined to cut people slack than I used to be and accept the fact that we're all trying to muddle through the best we can. Some people are just cnuts though and they can fook off tbh.

I'm still work in progress though and am not quite there yet.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I've zero tolerance for many things as I age. Really old people just annoy me with their presence now, I can feel time slowing down when they show up, really young people annoy me with the lack of knowledge on things I have knowledge of, ads on TV, newspapers, music in general, traffic lights, telephone calls, waiting for just about anything. The list is literally endless. I seem to just go around shaking my fist at everyone these days.
    I wonder what people are thinking when you show up:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 runinfinity

The other day I annoyed myself being a giddy gobshyte.
    That's how intolerant I have become.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭happysunnydays

You know you have that power, you can drop a deliberate wind up clanger, sit back, hold your poker face and watch people get all red in the face as they hit the rage button. It can also work vice versa.

Like this guy...

...and textbook older person's response.
    Of course. And your opinion is really important to me.

The One Doctor owned bigtime! Nice.

The Peanut wrote: »
    I think as we get older, we're certainly way more comfortable in our own skin. We worry less about our image and we're less conscious of what others think about us. I'm far more comfortable speaking my mind than I was when I was younger and I guess one aspect of this is not putting up with crap.

It's easy on the interweb; mainly just don't get involved. I disagree with a lot of what's posted on AH but I tune it out. There's no point in pursuing it. 20 yr old me would have argued the issues to death and I can't be dealing with that now. In the real world, I will raise a point if I have an issue with something but also criticism from others bothers me less so I guess its a win-win to some degree.

Totally agree with everything you've said.

I think you get to a point where you realise what's really important. You realise that you'd rather fill your time with only important stuff so the time you have to spend dealing and putting up with bollox becomes less and less. I barely find time for the important stuff as it is so I really don't have time for bullsh*t or for anyone/anything that drags me down. I think I'm less cranky, and happier as a result though. Not the other way around :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I certainly am. I spend more time than I should over at the Downey's sipping their rather decent four-star Port. I have a groove in my hip. I can jive with turkeys with the best of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Like previous posters, I've cut a few people out of my life as they were more hassle than they were worth and it feels good.

Saying all that, and this probably sounds contradictory but I'm probably more inclined to cut people slack than I used to be and accept the fact that we're all trying to muddle through the best we can. Some people are just cnuts though and they can fook off tbh.

I'm still work in progress though and am not quite there yet.

Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

blinding wrote: »
    I wonder what people are thinking when you show up:D
    I've seen some people just start crying.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I've seen some people just start crying.
    Thats probably mildly better than indifference:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,458 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

When you reach the point in life that you realise/suspect that we are all heading towards the same shitty prize at the end of life, i.e. fück all, your tolerance for people's bollocks talk gets pretty much wiped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭seenitall

Well, generelly speaking, I find it to be just the opposite. I am these days much more willing and able to give random bullsihters the time of day than I ever was before.

When I was young, I was a different person, very self-involved, very self-absorbed, thinking that there is no time to waste and I have to get stuff done and you'd better move out of my way.

I am still very egotistical, but as I've got a few big a$$ kickings by life, it's happened that I stop and smell the roses much more, even if the roses are in reality farts, iykwim. I get more interested in people and their stories, in general.

As for romance, I have become more pragmatically ruthless about it than ever, yes. Enjoy the situation to the utmost, take what it has to offer, move on when the time comes. Suffer no fools, that goes without saying. It's not particularly romantic, but it works.

seenitall wrote: »
    Well, generelly speaking, I find it to be just the opposite. I am these days much more willing and able to give random bullsihters the time of day than I ever was before.

When I was young, I was a different person, very self-involved, very self-absorbed, thinking that there is no time to waste and I have to get stuff done and you'd better move out of my way.

I am still very egotistical, but as I've got a few big a$$ kickings by life, it's happened that I stop and smell the roses much more, even if the roses are in reality farts, iykwim. I get more interested in people and their stories, in general.

Oh I'm the same, absolutely, a great memory of mine is sitting in Brussels train station chatting to two homeless guys for about an hour. One who spoke only French, the other who spoke French and English and a little dutch! They wanted to buy me coffee, when I refused I was offered beer! Stuff like that I love, listening to people, having brilliant chats with strangers, helping people out.

I think there's a difference between being less tolerant, and being less tolerant of bullsh*t. I'd fall into the latter category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,092 ✭✭✭Hitchens

If one was intolerant of bullshítters, one would cut boards.ie loose pronto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭dublinjen

Thanks guys, it seems the general consensus is yes - with age we don't take bull**** behaviour so easily and while that may result in us being cranky aul ones, we don't let ourselves be messed around.

Still don't know what to do about the bollocky bill of a boyfriend because now it seems I have two options;

1. Accept the tomfoolery and remain young at heart

2. Accept defeat the age is looming and that I will soon become a cranky aul bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I've just turned 20 and my tolerance to bullshît has decreased exponentially since I was 18. Generally, I tend to avoid people who have a negative impact on me now. This has meant severing ties with some old school-friends.

Last week, my friends and I hopped into a taxi after a night out in Dublin. Hearing five drunken culchy accents he thought he'd take us on a tour of south County Dublin. The thing is I knew exactly which way was the quickest way back. I told him to turn the **** around or he can let us off here. He then tried to force us to pay the extra two euro or so that had been clocked up by his little adventure. I told him to shove it up his arse. He said he'd ring the Gardai, I just said fine and we went into our house. The old bollocks knew the Gardai wouldn't give a feck on the off chance they turned up so he pulled off once we went inside.

I would not have had the cajones to do that at 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

In fairness, most people really are ****ing stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I think it's just that with time comes experience.

At 20 you probably met someone attractive and just thought "BOOBIES"...fast forward a few years and you know that you're not going to be compatible with someone who talks shyte and is a head-wrecker who displays epicly crap behaviour, even if she has a great rack.

The more gobshytes you have under your belt, be it through relationships or friendships or work or general life experiences, the more privy you are to them.

Wait till you get to 45 :pac:.. god damn stupid arse-hole people everywhere, why the hell can I not get through one fcuking day without meeting another bull-****ter of an arsehole. The way it was back in my day there was less arseholes and it was grand but now they are everywhere, all over the place in my ear just talking constant ****e. Nonfcukingsensicals.

Wait till you get to 60 and it's all down hill from then on out. The fcuking property tax, water charges, the fecking hoover won't work while you're kicking the **** out of it (no-wonder it doesn't work), gravitating towards the sun in anger because you can't find the second sock you need, or horizon tv remote control is 10 seconds in the past while trying to change the fcuking channel.

Don't even talk about 70... the whole world are bull****ting and talking about you and you are the only one in the silence that is making sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

thelad95 wrote: »
    I've just turned 20 and my tolerance to bullshît has decreased exponentially since I was 18.

I feel old. I remember those years as one long night out.:D