Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Cold sores. As soon as one disappears another one sprouts up. That's three I've had since Christmas. :mad: Stoopid virus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Poor Aglomerado. Did you try taking lycine ? Not sure of the spelling but the health food shops sell it. Supposed to be good for repeated cold sores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

MsBubbles wrote: »
    jimgoose I love the sound of Her Royal Highness Princess Concita Araminta Iseult Beowulf Culloden Plantagenet-Goose !
    My goal in old age is to have purple hair, drink wine at 10am, shout abuse at strangers and generally behave like Nan from The Catherine Tate Show.

I had a run in with the male version of this earlier.
    I was in the Whitfield waiting on the lift and he came up behind me pulling a little wheelie suitcase so obviously in for a procedure.
    He came up behind me and shouts "are you waiting on the lift?" Now, you can imagine as fellow TTTAY participants how that question just filled me with delight :rolleyes:
    Then the lift arrives and there's a few people getting out so I hang back like a normal human and your man shouts "are you not getting into the lift? get into the lift!"
    So I got into the lift and pressed the button for my floor and turned to ask Shouty McShouterson where he was going and he shouts into my ear "Did you not press 1? press 1 for me! I can't reach over to the panel. Press 1!" 1 was already pressed, I was also going to floor 1 although at that point I was tempted to just get back out of the lift.
    Then when the lift arrived at the first floor he shouted "are you first? are you ahead of me?" full of courtesy all of a sudden so I walked out of the lift ahead of him and he starts pushing behind me "will you hurry up, I don't want to get my case caught in the lift".
    Yeah, get well soon Shouty McShouterson!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

26sdrawkcab LOL. I bet he told anyone who would listen about the cheeky pup in the lift who delayed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Sounds like he is going in for a personality transplant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Elder daugher has had her first period. So two rounds of bewildering mood shifts from now on in my house (and a 3rd to start at some time in the future!)

- yea me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Elder daugher has had her first period. So two rounds of bewildering mood shifts from now on in my house (and a 3rd to start at some time in the future!)

- yea me!

After a while, they'll "sync" and you'll get a massive shítstorm once a month. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

I went into a furniture shop yesterday to try and buy a corner sofa. The assistant came over to us straight away and he was really helpful but after a while I had to ask him to leave us look around on our own for a while. He went away and another assistant started to follow us and so on. After about 40 minutes I left because I was going to tell someone to **** off. So I went home pissed off with no corner sofa.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

People wasting my time or not appreciating me. Leading me on, lying or pretending to be something they aren't. Rude people on phones also. Plus people who can't write in some decent way considering English is our first language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Hate that Eternal. Can't trust anyone these days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Hate that Eternal. Can't trust anyone these days

Some are alright! Enough to give us hope :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

MsBubbles wrote: »
    26sdrawkcab LOL. I bet he told anyone who would listen about the cheeky pup in the lift who delayed him

Yeah "back in my day there were no lifts, you had to scale the side of the building to get to each floor".

People who get dogs and then the novelty is worn off them after a few months, and then nobody wants a fully grown dog that has a "bad reputation". A guy I know wants me to take his pitbull because he "doesn't have time" for him, beautiful dog but I have two of my own, the (ex) oh has his own dog so really there's no way we could take another dog and I'm not sure how he's been socialised. But still, I kind of want him :( if I didn't work so much Id definately consider taking him in. Poor thing will probably end up in the pound. Between dogs not eating dog food, expecting steak/lamb/pork and tearing the furniture asunder, I'm up to my neck with the dogs I have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭NotYourYear20

- yea me!

God help any males in your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

As someone who had sisters growing up......I pity them...not fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

That would be just me (and the cat). I'm so getting a sanctuary shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    fúckin' colds.

Finished work yesterday with a bite in my throat. By lastnight I couldn't speak; went into work today barely able to speak & when I did my throat just cut so I was fortunate to be able to leave work early (couldn't talk to people)!
    I actually thought I sweat it outta me lastnight too though, but alas, was not to be.
    Damn aches & pains! & I haven't had a cold in soooo damn long :(

Hope you feel better soon though yeppydeppy,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Finished work yesterday with a bite in my throat. By lastnight I couldn't speak; went into work today barely able to speak & when I did my throat just cut so I was fortunate to be able to leave work early (couldn't talk to people)!
    I actually thought I sweat it outta me lastnight too though, but alas, was not to be.
    Damn aches & pains! & I haven't had a cold in soooo damn long :(

Hope you feel better soon though yeppydeppy,
    kerry4sam

It's going around like no-ones business, 4 went down with it where I work today while in work, and 2 of them were brought in to cover 2 that phoned in sick with it..

In my quest to find the perfect over the knee boot, I stumbled across an entire new website. Super cheap too, with high boots flat boots over the knee boots high heels, sandals. Good lord. It's either a feast or a famine

Let me know when ya get them, I've ceilings that need painting later on in the year....:D:D:D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Get Real

People who treat others with complete disrespect/ place themselves in a "higher order" in society because "my dad is ceo of x"

KPMG girl is a prime example if people recall that drunk teenage girl screaming in a chipper.

Also that Korean Peanut Air rage incident, where a woman went mental because peanuts weren't served to her on a plate and her dad is chairman of the airline.

Maybe she was trivially annoyed herself at having to eat peanuts out of a bag (:confused:) but she got done for air rage and was stripped of her title within the company. What do some people be thinking/ how do people manage to get into an argument and think this information is in anyway relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Seeing my OH's eyes totally glaze over when I tell him something fascinating. Somebody once made a big picture out of tumble dryer fluff and I was bitching that we only ever have the one colour fluff.
    My 3 yr old has clung to me like a limpet all day, after being awake much of the night , as per usual. If I hear Mammy one more time I'll be found wandering. These days I actually pretend to need the toilet to hopefully get a few minutes peace. It's a good job I love her !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

That would just me (and the cat). I'm so getting a sanctuary shed.

You're lucky! At least you have the cat. Even my dog is a bitch. :D

73Cat wrote: »
    Seeing my OH's eyes totally glaze over when I tell him something fascinating. Somebody once made a big picture out of tumble dryer fluff and I was bitching that we only ever have the one colour fluff.
    My 3 yr old has clung to me like a limpet all day, after being awake much of the night , as per usual. If I hear Mammy one more time I'll be found wandering. These days I actually pretend to need the toilet to hopefully get a few minutes peace. It's a good job I love her !

I don't know how mothers aren't signed in somewhere. I went for lunch with my cousin and her little one today. She's two. Just getting the swing of this ralking business. We all had food. She wouldn't sit in the high chair, she was going to sit next to me instead, that was grand. Then she wanted my chips, then some of my rice. Her mam pointed out she had her own dinner. "I want lexie wice". So she had Lexie's rice. Then it was icecream time, time to colour, time to play with the dog, time to play with the ball, then she wanted to sit on my knee and pretend I was a horse, and then she screamed at me not to leave. I don't particularly like kids but I'll be damned if they're easy to say no to :( I don't know how people put up with that 24/7

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Come home work today, notice the house was like a bomb had hit it.
    I immediately knew that a friend of the missus and her 2 kids were over visiting. Her 2 kids are little f*cking animals, I find it hard not to hit them with a sly boot in the face. My kids are no angels, but they know to respect things, boundaries and not to try break everything they see.
    And also not to be whiney little c*nts like these 2. I know its not the kids fault they have ended up like this, all down to the parents, they are a couple that just shouldn't have reproduced.
    Thankfully I had to stay a bit later in work, if I had of witnessed them destroying the house I would have done some actual parenting on them.

And the TA,the parents know themselves that their kids are little f*cknuggets.

So instead of climbing into my fleece, having a laugh with my kids,putting the kids to bed, getting a bite to eat, I'm cleaning finger paint off walls and trying to find pieces of the scalextrx track. I haven't even started looking for the remotes yet. And I have no idea what the brown stuff on the rug is. I know it's going to be sh*t. I just know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Come home work today, notice the house was like a bomb had hit it.
    I immediately knew that a friend of the missus and her 2 kids were over visiting. Her 2 kids are little f*cking animals, I find it hard not to hit them with a sly boot in the face. My kids are no angels, but they know to respect things, boundaries and not to try break everything they see.
    And also not to be whiney little c*nts like these 2. I know its not the kids fault they have ended up like this, all down to the parents, they are a couple that just shouldn't have reproduced.
    Thankfully I had to stay a bit later in work, if I had of witnessed them destroying the house I would have done some actual parenting on them.

And the TA,the parents know themselves that their kids are little f*cknuggets.

So instead of climbing into my fleece, having a laugh with my kids,putting the kids to bed, getting a bite to eat, I'm cleaning finger paint off walls and trying to find pieces of the scalextrx track. I haven't even started looking for the remotes yet. And I have no idea what the brown stuff on the rug is. I know it's going to be sh*t. I just know it.

You poor thing, if they came to my house she would be told to control her kids. It pisses me off that people think its ok to let their kids run wild around other peoples houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Spend ages unpeeling an orange/clementine/mandarin only for it to taste shíte!

A flippin "scobie" walking across the road in front of me yesterday, cap to the side hoodie with some logo on tracksuit bottoms tucked into the white socks with the runners on, with the can red bull, with the stride (you know, the stride)
    the bugger must have been in his mid to late 50's, I nearly crashed lookin at him in me rearview mirror, with a WTF.
    a new slant on the aging disgracefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

When you're out for a stroll in the evening and you see a dodgy looking type running, can't tell if they're out running for exercise or fleeing the scene of a crime.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Jaysus......its annoying me that nothing is annoying me lately!! HELP!!!!!! :-D

Past few days I've been in an absolute fouler. Nothing's wrong but everything is bugging me. I don't want to talk to my best friend, I'm furious with her over something stupid, so im just blanking her, she knows something is wrong but isn't sure what so she keeps sending stupid snap chats and texts trying to goade me into conversation, that doesn't work she's writing to my cousin (another of ny best friends) to see what's wrong and that's doing my head in but I can't tell her why I'm upset with her because I know it's a stupid reason and it'll sound worse when I say it out loud.

I got my nails done again today and trying to readjust texting on a touch screen with them is headwrecking I feel like flinging it at a wall

People are just being mean, knowing I'm in bad form and deliberately trying to get a rise out of me.

And the hose on the shower was leaking so I bought a new one. It was so hard to unscrew the old one so when I finally did get it off and tried put the new one on all the water started spraying out of the wrong end of the hose and drowned me so I hammered the head of the shower off the ground in temper so that's probably in ****e too

And stupid auto correct.

God I wish I could drink. It's a 2 bottle of wine and 4 Valium kind of night.