Is it rude of me to say no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭eigrod

Absolutely right to say 'no'.

If your password is still the one that came with your router (ie if you haven't changed it yourself) - be careful that he, or his partner, don't take a picture of it if/when they come over to borrow a bit of milk !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

dollyk wrote: »
    Oh and the password, is just the long string of numbers and letters. thanks

Which ones may I ask? Just wondering is all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Today WiFi.
    Tomorrow swans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭zefer

Had 2 french lads knock on my door few years ago asking to share my BB as they were only here for 5 months and couldn't (or wouldn't get a contract)

Told them I didn't have any even though the router was right beside me at the door blinking in their faces :D

They then asked me did I know anyone else in the block willing to share their BB! Maybe it's done on the continent? I thought it was very odd at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

dollyk wrote: »
    Hes just moved in, but the other 4 lads have been there longer.
    I just assumed they had internet, or maybe they use fones like my kids do.

Oh and the password, is just the long string of numbers and letters. thanks

I would still change it when you get the chance. Ask one of your sons or daughters when they are next over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

He's clearly a spy needing to relay information back to his superiors on his progress.

"Red skies over Bratislava, Putin's bear has washed it's socks"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

Cheeky bastard. You were dead right to tell him to get lost, the cheek of him.
    He was probably just testing you out to see if you are a soft touch who he could take advantage of in other ways too.

In particular, I would note the fair usage policy - if he goes downloading heaps of movies or whatever he will blow your limit. And good luck getting him to pay the fine!

Also he could be intending to use it for illegal activity, be it downloads, fraud, child porn, whatever. The point being that if and when the authorities find out it will be the guards on YOUR doorstep and not his and he can just deny any involvement leaving you to swing for it.

Tell this cúnt to fúck off. Prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Can I just take this opportunity to add to the chorus of people declaring he should to told to fcuk right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Change your SSID to "Get Your Own Internet You Cheap Bastards"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,431 ✭✭✭cml387

iDave wrote: »
    Can I just take this opportunity to add to the chorus of people declaring he should to told to fcuk right off.
    It's a good thing these people can't get on the internet. The things we're saying about them:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Today WiFi.
    Tomorrow swans.

What if he was trying to buy something from asos.pl

(As Seen On Swans)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭slinky2000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

zefer wrote: »
    Had 2 french lads knock on my door few years ago asking to share my BB as they were only here for 5 months and couldn't (or wouldn't get a contract)

Told them I didn't have any even though the router was right beside me at the door blinking in their faces :D

They then asked me did I know anyone else in the block willing to share their BB! Maybe it's done on the continent? I thought it was very odd at the time
    No it's certainly not the done thing on the continent. We do have our share of cheeky bastards though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

What's Slovak for 'jog on' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

ScumLord wrote: »
    Your current password is probably a long string of random letters and numbers. Unless whoever set it up put something easy instead.

If you have a laptop of phone you should be able to see what the password actually is by going into the network options down there on the bottom right of your screen.
    Mine is like that..Is it easy to change? Also can I check what people have been using on it?Just out of curiosity;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Colser wrote: »
    Mine is like that..Is it easy to change? Also can I check what people have been using on it?Just out of curiosity;)
    It's usually not hard to change the password, you have to log onto your router by putting it's IP address in your internet explorer bar (where the website address goes), it's probably 192.168.0.1, you can find out by going into network and internet settings, open up your active network connection link and clicking details, you're looking for your default gateway.. It's pretty self explanatory from there it just works like a website.

Some routers can give you a pretty detailed breakdown of the traffic but I'd say most cheap ones don't other than overall traffic.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

I would happily hand it over if I had unlimited, but if not, no way

Yeah and when your door is booted down by the vice squad at dawn and you're hauled away while your gaff is searched and all your computer equipment confiscated because someone was downloading kiddy-porn, bombmaking manuals, or cyberstalking someone you can be comforted by the fact that you're a righteous dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

You would?

And you'd still pay for it?

Unlimited or not, someone has to pay for it. Its not free for every neighbour,tom,dick and harry to use.

I would, I have, I do.

I don't particularly care, if its isn't capped and I am already paying for it.

I would like to point out that at no point did I say that people who don't are bastards. OP is wll within her rights to say no. If it was me she told no, I would be mortified for asking, not annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I would, I have, I do.

I would like to point out that at no point did I say that people who don't are bastards. OP is wll within her rights to say no. If it was me she told no, I would be mortified for asking, not annoyed.

Well, you're a walkover then.

Egginacup wrote: »
    Yeah and when your door is booted down by the vice squad at dawn and you're hauled away while your gaff is searched and all your computer equipment confiscated because someone was downloading kiddy-porn, bombmaking manuals, or cyberstalking someone you can be comforted by the fact that you're a righteous dude.

Have you any examples of this happening?

I amn't even a dude. I'd love to know why the fact that I have shared my internet connection in the past is pissing everyone off so much. I didn't say you have to do it.

Birneybau wrote: »
    Well, you're a walkover then.

Well, if you tell me, I had better change my mind immediately then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

I'd love to know why the fact that I have shared my internet connection in the past is pissing everyone off so much. I didn't say you have to do it.

no you are just being incredibly naive

once a person is connected to your router, they have access to your LAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,023 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Have you any examples of this happening?

I amn't even a dude. I'd love to know why the fact that I have shared my internet connection in the past is pissing everyone off so much. I didn't say you have to do it.

No one has to do it, and it is entirely up to you if you do. But it is a risk.

kingtiger wrote: »
    no you are just being incredibly naive

once a person is connected to your router, they have access to your LAN

maybe you are being incredibly paranoid. the people I have shared a connection with can barely fire up their laptop unaided.

still don't know why this is getting everyone so incensed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

maybe you are being incredibly paranoid.

nope

I just know what can be done once you have access to a network

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Huawei Gallagher

There's no such thing as "unlimited" when comes to Internet. There's a fair usage policy that if you go over a certain amount your speed is either capped or your fined.

It's a big amount though.

I will second this, my internet is "Unlimited". That means that it is actually limited to 30 GB per month! Dont know how they can get away with calling it that, but they do. I managed to burst the limit by downloading a single game. If I then downloaded the game again it would have cost me many thousands of euro for the second download, so be warned!

These people are busy as we speak trying to piggyback on your broadband and guess your password,so If I were you I would change both the username (which is often set to "Admin"), and password for your internet.)I would also set your router up to restrict any other device from connecting to your network, except your own. (MAC Address filtering/Restricting).Get your geeky friend to set it up if you are not sure. And also keep an eye on how much data is being used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I would, I have, I do.

The other person could use up all your bandwidth leaving you a few kilobytes to use. While companies say unlimited there are usually clauses that mean they don't actually have to give you unlimited, namely to stop people downloading way to much stuff.

As already said your giving them access to your network and everything on it, you'd want to be sure your internal security is good.

Of course these people could be setting up a drug operation next door, importing drugs using the likes of the silk road and you'll be the fist port of call the next time there are raids.

If you know the person very well and know their next to illiterate when it comes to PCs then you might be safe enough but you have added an unsecured link to the chain. What if he gives the password to one of his friends?

You can do it and get away with it for a long time, just like you can decide not to wear a seatbelt while driving your car, most days you don't need your seatbelt anyway. Until the day comes that you do and your not wearing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Tell him you'll swap it for a shot of his missus.

Then change the password.

I have reason to believe the risk is minute. And I periodically change the password, so I dont have one permanently in circulation.

You dont see this kind of vigour condemning anti - vaccination loons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

What's Slovak for 'jog on' ?

jog na (apparently) :D