Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it rude of me to say no

• 26-01-2015 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

New neighbours renting next door.
    They seem nice enough I think from Slovakia .
    Last week one knocked and asked could he have the password for my internet ?
    I said I dont have any, and he said oh you do :eek:
    So I said no I dont have unlimited.
    He just looked at me, and has not said hello since.
    what would you have done ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

dollyk wrote: »

I'd change my router name to something a bit savoury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

I'd laugh in their face and close the door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Simple pay for your own Internet or pay me for half of it if you want to share it!

It's not a free service.

Call over and ask for a loan of his car..... or a go on his wife.

Cheeky b@stard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

You were absolutely right to say no. Tell them to get their own internet. Different if it was a house guess of your with a laptop etc. If this is how they start off, god knows many favours they will call on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I would happily hand it over if I had unlimited, but if not, no way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

You should have said 'why of course'.

It's 'NeighbourKiller_15'

It's unlikely they'll ask you to repeat it... or bother you again for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

The only person who'd get free internet from me is Penny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

There's no such thing as "unlimited" when comes to Internet. There's a fair usage policy that if you go over a certain amount your speed is either capped or your fined.

It's a big amount though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I would tell him to fk off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You should have given it to them.
    They were probably only going to download no more than 1Tb of child porn using your connection.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Change your router name to tightfistedcúntsatnumber17 or whatever number their house is!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

This would never happen to me since my SSID is c:/virus.exe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Fcuk that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

What if they were using it for something dodgy though? The connection is in your name, could come back and bite you in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He might say no when you ask him to keep the noise down on the 3rd day of his vodka fueled party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You'd happily give strangers access to your private network? It's a bit like saying you'd give the keys for you front door to your new neighbours because you've got loads of rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

ScumLord wrote: »
    You'd happily give strangers access to your private network? It's a bit like saying you'd give the keys for you front door to your new neighbours because you've got loads of rooms.

Tbh if you gave them the internet details they'd prob ask for the keys next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

You know you're the one responsible for anything illegal done on your connection, right?

So you give neighbour password, he downloads music/games/beastiality/cp (that escalated quickly), it's you who's going to get into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

oh can they do that ? download porn ?:eek:
    Aw im getting way to old to understand this stuff
    but my husband wondered if they could then read my emails lol
    Im not that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Password is blastUwitP1$$

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Exactly what you did but not as nicely, the cheeky bo***x. You should consider changing your ssid and password too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Change to Garda_GNIB. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

My mate used to have his open with no password.

He nearly tripped over a girl crouched outside his apartment door with a laptop when he popped out to the shop.

He put a password on it after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Ruu wrote: »
    Change to Garda_GNIB. :)

I had mine as 'Garda Surveillance Van #xxxx' for years. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Unbelievable Jeff.

The cheek!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

anncoates wrote: »
    My mate used to have his WIFI open with no password.

He nearly tripped over a girl crouched outside his apartment door with a laptop when he popped out to the shop.

Missed a big opportunity to get a girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

has anyone been done in Ireland for bestiality porn downloaded by somebody using their internet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

My mate used to have his WIFI open with no password.

Jesus, she could at least have the common sense to stay inside a parked car nearby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The Peanut wrote: »
    Missed a big opportunity to get a girlfriend.

Would make for a touching 'where did you meet' wedding speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'd probably have played dumb and apologised telling him I'm afraid I haven't a clue as my brother who works for UPC set it up for me. That way you'd be staying friendly while letting him know to stay off my connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I used to live beside a french couple that were squished into a one bed match box that the landlord at the time had added without planning or anything. I offered to share my broadband code with them and they shared the bill, as i felt a bit sorry for them, grand til they fecked off the last month without paying.
    I wouldn't do it again, you will be responsible for whatever they are looking at. If they had the cheek to ask without offering at least to share the cost then feck off

I have no clue how to change the number or password.
    Maybe I will ask one of my sons to do it when they call up.
    Thanks.
    Also I told him my kids use their own on their fones
    So im not sure how much gb I have but it seems to be enough
    just for me. I only use facebook and boards mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

My mate used to have his open with no password.

/removes password from wifi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

oh can they do that ? download porn ?:eek:
    Aw im getting way to old to understand this stuff
    but my husband wondered if they could then read my emails lol
    Im not that bad.

If they are on the same network as you then it's laughably simple to see what you are doing on the internet including passwords etc.

Aye, "she was trying to get her hands on my dongle".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

"Sure thing neighbour! It's "GetYourOwnFckingInternet" all one word".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

It is your internet. You pay for it. You are under no obligation to share it someone else. I probably would have said no. You don't know what they might use your connection for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The Peanut wrote: »
    Aye, "she was trying to get her hands on my dongle".

"Therefore what God has joined together, let no ip conflict separate.”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

You would?

And you'd still pay for it?

Unlimited or not, someone has to pay for it. Its not free for every neighbour,tom,dick and harry to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'd probably have played dumb and apologised telling him I'm afraid I haven't a clue as my brother who works for UPC set it up for me. That way you'd be staying friendly while letting him know to stay off my connection

And why would you want to be friendly with a cheeky bastard like that?
    Actually hang on, was his missus hot - you know those eastern Europeans can scrub up well sometimes!
    Time to share I think - you can use my wifi once I can use Svetlana:D

paulbok wrote: »
    If they are on the same network as you then it's laughably simple to see what you are doing on the internet including passwords etc.

Is this true ? should i change my banking passwords, not worried about the
    emails or facebook tbh. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He was a cheeky fecker to even ask for it.
    Shows what many of these immigrants think of our "free" system in Ireland.

And why would you want to be friendly with a cheeky bastard like that?
    Actually hang on, was his missus hot - you know those eastern Europeans can scrub up well sometimes!
    Time to share I think - you can use my wifi once I can use Svetlana:D

:D Im 50 and female, naw no interest;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He was a cheeky fecker to even ask for it.
    Shows what many of these immigrants think of our "free" system in Ireland.
    What does that even mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Ehhhhh no. That's what I'd say.

Speaking of which, was talking to a German woman on Saturday night and she told me it's common in Germany to get a few internet connections for a building and everyone chips in. Ingenious idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Milftastic.

Never say never dolly!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Your current password is probably a long string of random letters and numbers. Unless whoever set it up put something easy instead.

If you have a laptop of phone you should be able to see what the password actually is by going into the network options down there on the bottom right of your screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

You should be fine, as you haven't allowed them access to your connection. Don't have the same passwords for your connection and bank accounts etc.

What a cheeky b@stard you have for a neighbour.

Well Hello Dolly.;)