Is it rude of me to say no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'd probably have played dumb and apologised telling him I'm afraid I haven't a clue as my brother who works for UPC set it up for me. That way you'd be staying friendly while letting him know to stay off my connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I used to live beside a french couple that were squished into a one bed match box that the landlord at the time had added without planning or anything. I offered to share my broadband code with them and they shared the bill, as i felt a bit sorry for them, grand til they fecked off the last month without paying.
    I wouldn't do it again, you will be responsible for whatever they are looking at. If they had the cheek to ask without offering at least to share the cost then feck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

I have no clue how to change the number or password.
    Maybe I will ask one of my sons to do it when they call up.
    Thanks.
    Also I told him my kids use their own on their fones
    So im not sure how much gb I have but it seems to be enough
    just for me. I only use facebook and boards mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

anncoates wrote: »
    My mate used to have his open with no password.

He nearly tripped over a girl crouched outside his apartment door with a laptop when he popped out to the shop.

He put a password on it after that.

/removes password from wifi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭paulbok

dollyk wrote: »
    oh can they do that ? download porn ?:eek:
    Aw im getting way to old to understand this stuff
    but my husband wondered if they could then read my emails lol
    Im not that bad.

If they are on the same network as you then it's laughably simple to see what you are doing on the internet including passwords etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Would make for a touching 'where did you meet' wedding speech.

Aye, "she was trying to get her hands on my dongle".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

"Sure thing neighbour! It's "GetYourOwnFckingInternet" all one word".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

New neighbours renting next door.
    They seem nice enough I think from Slovakia .
    Last week one knocked and asked could he have the password for my internet ?
    I said I dont have any, and he said oh you do :eek:
    So I said no I dont have unlimited.
    He just looked at me, and has not said hello since.
    what would you have done ?

It is your internet. You pay for it. You are under no obligation to share it someone else. I probably would have said no. You don't know what they might use your connection for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The Peanut wrote: »
    Aye, "she was trying to get her hands on my dongle".

"Therefore what God has joined together, let no ip conflict separate.”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

I would happily hand it over if I had unlimited, but if not, no way

You would?

And you'd still pay for it?

Unlimited or not, someone has to pay for it. Its not free for every neighbour,tom,dick and harry to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'd probably have played dumb and apologised telling him I'm afraid I haven't a clue as my brother who works for UPC set it up for me. That way you'd be staying friendly while letting him know to stay off my connection

And why would you want to be friendly with a cheeky bastard like that?
    Actually hang on, was his missus hot - you know those eastern Europeans can scrub up well sometimes!
    Time to share I think - you can use my wifi once I can use Svetlana:D

paulbok wrote: »
    If they are on the same network as you then it's laughably simple to see what you are doing on the internet including passwords etc.

Is this true ? should i change my banking passwords, not worried about the
    emails or facebook tbh. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He was a cheeky fecker to even ask for it.
    Shows what many of these immigrants think of our "free" system in Ireland.

And why would you want to be friendly with a cheeky bastard like that?
    Actually hang on, was his missus hot - you know those eastern Europeans can scrub up well sometimes!
    Time to share I think - you can use my wifi once I can use Svetlana:D

:D Im 50 and female, naw no interest;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He was a cheeky fecker to even ask for it.
    Shows what many of these immigrants think of our "free" system in Ireland.
    What does that even mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Ehhhhh no. That's what I'd say.

Speaking of which, was talking to a German woman on Saturday night and she told me it's common in Germany to get a few internet connections for a building and everyone chips in. Ingenious idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Milftastic.

Never say never dolly!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Your current password is probably a long string of random letters and numbers. Unless whoever set it up put something easy instead.

If you have a laptop of phone you should be able to see what the password actually is by going into the network options down there on the bottom right of your screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

You should be fine, as you haven't allowed them access to your connection. Don't have the same passwords for your connection and bank accounts etc.

What a cheeky b@stard you have for a neighbour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Well Hello Dolly.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

This would never happen to me since my SSID is c:/virus.exe

Indeed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Had he just moved to Ireland? Could it be cultural? It sounds so insanely cheeky it has to be a mistake of some sort.

No way would I have given it to him. Your password???? Not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭KT10

"She was trying to steal my internet, but she ended up stealing my heart!"

Cue vomiting from everyone else. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

What does that even mean

And there goes the thread down a dark dark tunnel.

I’d have said, ‘You crazy foreigners, always with the jokes’ smile and shut the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Change ur SSID to Top Secret CIA Safe House #83736

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ehhhhh no. That's what I'd say.

Speaking of which, was talking to a German woman on Saturday night and she told me it's common in Germany to get a few internet connections for a building and everyone chips in. Ingenious idea!
    That's easily doable, it's how many businesses and free public wifi works. But those kind of networks are usually set up in a particular way that takes into account people should only have access to the internet not each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,023 ✭✭✭✭kippy

o1s1n wrote: »
    What if they were using it for something dodgy though? The connection is in your name, could come back and bite you in the ass.

This 100%.

Your neighbour was fair cheeky to ask for it in the first instance........
    But even if he did offer to pay for a portion of it (as I am sure some neighbours do), you'd need to be ultra trusting that they were't doing anything dodgy on the connection as it is in your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What does that even mean

It means that many of them think they can get everything handy in Ireland.
    Don't we even send 15 million to Poland and eslewhere for children not living here.

http://www.thejournal.ie/should-ireland-pay-child-benefit-for-children-living-abroad-107801-Mar2011/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I would have definite said no to the cheeky bastard.

Katgurl wrote: »
    Had he just moved to Ireland? Could it be cultural? It sounds so insanely cheeky it has to be a mistake of some sort.

No way would I have given it to him. Your password???? Not a chance.

Hes just moved in, but the other 4 lads have been there longer.
    I just assumed they had internet, or maybe they use fones like my kids do.

Oh and the password, is just the long string of numbers and letters. thanks