BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Originally Posted by Skid X View Post
    12.35am Synth Britannia
    An examination of the musical backdrop of the 1980s when synthpop was all the rage, having been popularised by bands including Depeche Mode, Ultravox and Soft Cell. The documentary also studies how this genre influenced the future of electronic music and groups such as Pet Shop Boys and New Order. Featuring interviews with Bernard Sumner, Gary Numan and Neil Tennant

mzungu wrote: »
    Thats the shot right there.

Yeah, that was excellent. It's on again on Friday 30th January at 11pmfor anyone who missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Can I just mention that it happened to me again.

11pm The Beatles Please Please Me....Yaaay!

....awww, it's that remake yoke again...

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Can I just mention that it happened to me again.

11pm The Beatles Please Please Me....Yaaay!

....awww, it's that remake yoke again...

I hear you, Donie. Mark Radcliffe seems to be on with either that or the richest songs at least once a month.

It would be nice if the BBC would do a big epic new Beatles documentary ... or even repeat the Beatles Anthology (even if it was on ITV first time around). I know money is tight but they need to make an effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭evilivor

Skid X wrote: »
    Originally Posted by Skid X View Post
    12.35am Synth Britannia
    An examination of the musical backdrop of the 1980s when synthpop was all the rage, having been popularised by bands including Depeche Mode, Ultravox and Soft Cell. The documentary also studies how this genre influenced the future of electronic music and groups such as Pet Shop Boys and New Order. Featuring interviews with Bernard Sumner, Gary Numan and Neil Tennant

Yeah, that was excellent. It's on again on Friday 30th January at 11pmfor anyone who missed it.

Preceded by a new Kraftwerk documentary Pop Art.

Ed Sheeran's Storytellers gig will be broadcast live from Whelan's tonight at Midnight on MTV Music (Sky 350 and UPC 708)

And there are more Ed Sheeran shows on MTV from 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Just watched Episode 2 of 'Sound Of Song' - most excellent :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Duets at the bbc Kenny and Dolly's Islands in the stream atm

Just watched Episode 2 of 'Sound Of Song' - most excellent :)

Yeah, I agree WM. It is class from start to finish

Neil Brand (the Presenter and Writer of Sound of Song) wrote this on his Facebook, I thought it was interesting
    Hi Folks - many thanks for lovely comments about Sound of Song - a good few people (including Whispering Bob Harris/"I am not worthy") have asked why no mention of Les Paul, given the extraordinary firsts he is responsible for, not least multi-tracking. The straight, boring answer is time constraints although I agree we should have given him his due at the very least - he actually deserves a programme to himself and I will do my best to try to make that happen.

The slightly more complicated answer is that the structure of these programmes is very difficult and is put together over weeks - we try to stick to a continuous timeline and make one story roll seamlessly into another - as there was such a huge natural connection from Elvis, to Mike Stoller, to Phil Spector, to Brian Wilson and finally to the Beatles we stuck rigidly to that line, which didn't allow us to veer off to cover Les Paul, much I wish we had.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Neil-Brand/189154424461134

Very well said, and fair dues to him for saying he didn't get it all right. He has managed to get a huge amount of excellent television into a few hours. I hope the BBC commission him to do something similar soon.

Already looking forward to episode 3 :)

Followed by fahren fahren fahren auf der Autobahn!

Already looking forward to episode 3 :)

Followed by fahren fahren fahren auf der Autobahn!

Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Neil Brand (the Presenter and Writer of Sound of Song) wrote this on his Facebook, I thought it was interesting

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Neil-Brand/189154424461134

Very well said, and fair dues to him for saying he didn't get it all right. He has managed to get a huge amount of excellent television into a few hours. I hope the BBC commission him to do something similar soon.

Yeah I saw Les Paul chatter on line, however the BBC have already made an excellent doc about the great man - Chasing Sound.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00dzzv0

Hello, it's that big Kraftwerk/Synth Britannia Double Bill tonight, and the conclusion of Sound of Song. If you missed Play it Loud: The Story of the Marshall Amp before Christmas, it is repeated late tomorrow night. I thought it was excellent.

Tonight

7.30pm Sounds Of The Sixties
    1964-6: The Beat Room Archived footage of performances by Tom Jones, the Kinks, the Pretty Things and John Lee Hooker on the long-defunct music show - The Beat Room

8pm Genesis and Genius (Not actually a Genesis programme, but there is a Genesis Night next week
    Genesis and Genius Simon Russell Beale charts the history of classical symphonies, beginning with the works of three of the most renowned composers of all time - Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. He explores how the Austrian-born Haydn's work was influenced by his time in England, examines how the prodigious talent of Mozart caused a sensation in the 18th century, and explains why Beethoven's Eroica is still regarded as one of the greatest symphonies ever created - more than 200 years after it was written

9pm & 12.30am Sound of Song
    Mix It Up and Start Again As his exploration of great songs reaches the modern era, Neil Brand charts how the arrival of digital technology and the computer transformed music. He talks synthesisers with Yes keyboardist Rick Wakeman, discusses sampling with Public Enemy's chief producer Hank Shocklee, uncovers the surprising lo-fi origins of Bruce Springsteen's Born in the USA, and finds out how Cher changed her voice on the smash hit Believe. Last in the series

10pm & 1.30am Kraftwerk: Pop Art
    Documentary profiling the German experimentalist band and charting their journey to becoming one of pop's most influential acts. Featuring footage from their 2013 Tate Modern shows, as well as archive footage dating back to 1970, newsreel and cinematic evocations of Kraftwerk's obsessions. With contributions from techno pioneer Derrick May, Can co-founder Holger Czukay, DJ and remixer Francois Kevorkian, graphic designer Neville Brody, writer Paul Morley, band photographer Peter Boettcher and Tate Modern curator Catherine Wood

11pm & 2am Synth Britannia

Saturday

11.20pm Pop Charts Britannia: 60 Years of The Top 10
    The evolution of feelings and attitudes toward the British singles chart. Documenting changes from the 1952 NME countdown via Pick and Top of the Pops through to the Radio 1 chart show of today

12.50am Top of The Pops 1980
    Simon Bates hosts an edition of the chart show first broadcast on January 17, 1980. Featuring performances from Billy Preston and Syreeta, New Musik, Sad Cafe, Sister Sledge, Madness, Positive Force, Dexys Midnight Runners, Dr Hook, Amii Stewart, Styx, Rupert Holmes and the Pretenders. Plus, dance sequences by Legs & Co

1.40am Play it Loud: The Story of the Marshall Amp
    In the early 1960s drum shop owner Jim Marshall launched the loudest amplifier in the world at a point in time widely perceived to be the birth of rock. Young musicians like Clapton and Hendrix rushed to adopt the revolutionary `Marshall sound', and the electric guitar spoke for a new generation, while stacks and walls became an essential backdrop at concerts. The company was rescued from financial meltdown by comic exposure in the 1984 movie This is Spinal Tap, and the electronic boxes were propelled to iconic status. This documentary charts the amp's history, with contributions from rock musicians Pete Townshend, Lemmy and Slash, plus an interview with the founder himself

Elsewhere those cheeky scamps at Sky Arts 1 have a Sex Pistols night tomorrow

8pm Classic Albums: Never mind the Bollocks
    9pm There'll always be an England (Live concert from 2007)
    10.35pm Sid! By those who really knew him

(followed by all the episodes of the very good 'Anarchy in Manchester', it being a compilation of Tony Wilson's 'So it Goes' programme, featuring liev performance from the likes of Elvis Costello, The Jam, The Clash, Iggy Pop and others)

The Spy Who Loved Me is on ITV (but not UTV Ireland - Boo) on Sunday at 4.15pm, which is the best Bond Intro/song of the lot IMO. But don't take my word for it, Alan will explain all ...

Thanks Skid!

Looks like a good weekend. Lot of love for the synth (even if it ain't my cup o' tea).

I find good old TOTP often brings out the best in this thread. And I'm setting an alarm for the Marshall doc right now, just in case.

Edit: Lot of love for the synth round these parts, I meant to say/type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

10pm & 1.30am Kraftwerk: Pop Art
    Documentary profiling the German experimentalist band and charting their journey to becoming one of pop's most influential acts. Featuring footage from their 2013 Tate Modern shows, as well as archive footage dating back to 1970, newsreel and cinematic evocations of Kraftwerk's obsessions. With contributions from techno pioneer Derrick May, Can co-founder Holger Czukay, DJ and remixer Francois Kevorkian, graphic designer Neville Brody, writer Paul Morley, band photographer Peter Boettcher and Tate Modern curator Catherine Wood

Weekend made! :)

Plus - The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975) Channel 4 1am tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Donovan answering Boardsies questions in AMA today.

Thought it'd be of interest to folks hereabouts. :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057370598

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Donovan answering Boardsies questions in AMA today.

Thought it'd be of interest to folks hereabouts. :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057370598

Any excuse to post this classic record :D

Dokumentarfilm Kraftwerk - das ist gut :)

The Dead Pool is on TG4. Although I've never watched it, I think I read proper GNR are in it at some point.

:-)

For the posh people with, cough, Sky Arts, good documentary at the moment about Sid Vicious :)

The Joy of the Guitar Riff on now featuring one of my favs, Richard Hawley!

Hi, We have another chance to see the recent Genesis reunion again. It was on fairly recently but you might like to turn it on again (sorry). There is also a new (to BBC4) Genesis concert from 1981. The Queen Documentary Double Bill also gets another outing. It could be worse, for once they resisted the tempation to show the biggest earning songs thing again ...

Thursday

8pm & 1am Top Of The Pops 1980
    Mike Read presents an edition first broadcast on January 24, 1980, featuring performances by the Buggles, the Nolans, Suzi Quatro, Dollar, Barbara Dickson, Matchbox, the Regents, Joe Jackson, the Pretenders, the Specials, Shelia B Devotion and the Boomtown Rats. Plus, dance sequences by Legs & Co

1.40am Wild Boys; The Story of Duran Duran
    Documentary about the new romantic band who ruled the charts during the 1980s with hits including Girls on Film, Hungry Like the Wolf, Rio and Save a Prayer. The band's image, relationships and lifestyles are examined, as the programme follows their climb to superstardom before they fell out of the public's favour. Featuring interviews with band members John Taylor, Nick Rhodes and Simon Le Bon as well as contributions by Debbie Harry and Lou Reed

Friday

7.30pm Sounds of The Sixties
    The Folk Revival Archive footage with an acoustic theme. Featuring performances by Pat Seeger, Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen and Tim Buckley

9pm & 12.40am Genesis: Together and Apart
    Many schoolboys get together to form a band, but few of them go on to become multi-million-selling recording artists - but that's what happened to Genesis. Its core members - Peter Gabriel, Mike Rutherford and Tony Banks - met at Charterhouse, a public school in Surrey, and began playing together with two other students in 1967. A few years and personnel changes later (including the addition of drummer Phil Collins) and the classic line-up was in place. But relationships within the band were fraught; Gabriel left for a solo career in 1975, and Rutherford, Collins, Banks and Steve Hackett carried on without him. Here, they're back together again to discuss their careers. Rare archive footage helps tell the story

10.30pm & 2.10am Genesis; Three Sides Live New!
    Genesis filmed in November 1981 on the Abacab tour in North America, originally released on VHS to coincide with the live album of the same name. It has only ever been released on DVD in the limited edition box set The Movie Box 1981-2007. Originally filmed in 16mm, the footage has now been fully restored and is being reissued as a standalone DVD and Blu-ray for the first time.
    The show focuses on tracks from the Duke and Abacab albums, and the tracks are intercut with behind-the-scenes footage and interviews with the band members. As ever with Genesis, the show is visually stunning and it captures the band in their transition from their progressive days in the 70s through to the hugely successful pop/rock act they became from the mid-80s onwards.

11.55pm TOTP: Genesis
    A celebration of the rock group that delves into the archives for performances by the band and its members past and present, including clips of solo material by Peter Gabriel and Phil Collins as well as Mike Rutherford's side project Mike & the Mechanics. Featuring I Can't Dance, I Know What I Like, No Self Control, In the Air Tonight, Many Too Many and The Living Years

Saturday

11.20pm Queen: Days Of Our Lives (Part 1)
    Part one of two. Documentary telling the story of the extravagant British rock outfit. The band's best-known line-up, consisting of singer Freddie Mercury, guitarist Brian May, bass player John Deacon and drummer Roger Taylor, formed in 1971 and went on to become one of the world's most popular rock acts - but their career was dogged by controversy and tragedy

12.20am Queen: Days Of Our Lives (Part 2)
    The second part of the documentary focuses on the peak of the rock outfit's fortunes, as they broke attendance records at stadium shows across South America. However, the band suffered a blip as internal tensions increased - until their performance at Live Aid and the 1986 Magic tour returned them to world attention, before frontman Freddie Mercury received devastating news

1.20am Top Of The Pops 1980

3am Sounds Of The Seventies
    A collection of rock anthems from the decade, featuring archive performances by artists including Alice Cooper, the Faces, Nazareth, Bad Company, AC/DC, Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake and Black Sabbath

11pm BBC One - Robbie Williams: One Night at the Palladium
    The former Take That star performs an evening of swing music and new songs recorded at the London Palladium on November 8, taken from his album Swings Both Ways and featuring special guests Lily Allen, Rufus Wainwright and Muppet megastars Miss Piggy and Kermit the Frog

If you have the Sky Arts, they've got Pink Floyd, Squeeze, Johnny Cash, Meat Loaf, Peter Gabriel and The Rolling Stones over the weekend

http://www.sky.com/tv/channel/skyarts/listings#/programme-0

That's about it, The Life of Brian is on ITV4 on Saturday at 11.30pm, Sure why not ...

Thanks, Skid.

Hang on, I thought we had a rule about mentioning Robbie Williams in this thread? :-(

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Thanks, Skid.

Hang on, I thought we had a rule about mentioned Robbie Williams in this thread? :-(
    11pm BBC One - Robbie Williams: One Night at the Palladium
    The former Take That star performs an evening ... blah blah blah ...featuring special guests ... Muppet megastars Miss Piggy and Kermit the Frog

Ah yeah, but the committee invoked this lesser known amendment to the rules :pac:...

Beebrock Rule no. 236 S.34 Clause 7 (commonly known as "The Muppet Clause") ... Any show featuring The Muppets is eligible for inclusion in the listings, even if that show would otherwise be excluded because of its host and/or guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Ah yeah, but the committee invoked this lesser known amendment to the rules :pac:...

"Minutes of Meeting" requested please.....:p:pac:

Thanks for the heads up Harry!....

I am quite the Genesis fan... :)

This is pretty good, it's like the hits album you want....

I have to say I loved the earlier albums from Genesis.

"A Trick of the Tail" is possibly one of my favourite ever....

In case you have the inclination!....

Ah, one of the classic "slow set" songs.......

"Many to Many".... :)

Ah, that stupid walk......

Yes.

I did it too.