Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭califano

Jasus what was Des Cahill trying to do at the end there, he was sinking the ship with that ramble. Bad spot for Sean O'Rourke, he really was sorry he asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

This author john Connolly on now , has to have the most annoying voice I've heard since Abie Philbin Bowman, thank god he dosent narrate talking versions of his books .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

fg1406 wrote: »
    I'm finding this show to be increasingly dull. It seems to follow a format. Every week he interviews the parents of an ill or deceased child, the chef/ cookery spots are tedious, an author or playwright (generally british), someone flogging something etc
    I can't recall PKs show being so rigid in its format, or maybe I just have a short memory.

Seems to be format for every programme lately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Oops69 wrote: »
    This author john Connolly on now , has to have the most annoying voice I've heard since Abie Philbin Bowman, thank god he dosent narrate talking versions of his books .

Really? I was just thinking he was interesting to listen to. Maybe it's just the subject matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Just flicked over from Newstalk...is that Smug Smugenport I hear?

Haven't heard him on NT for a while. Not that long ago you could hardly turn it on without hearing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Roundstone garda station? In Wicklow??

Presumably Roundwood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Presumably Roundwood.

Fergal Keane sounded a bit
    confused making that report.
    Sean had to correct him re
    the name if the girl who was
    murdered. He also referred to
    her and her father's visit to
    her mother's grave 'near Bray,
    Co. Dublin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Ol' Donie wrote: »

lol... I switched over to him as well when Connolly was on... there's just something about the all knowing Fionn Davenport that irks everybody I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Haven't heard him on NT for a while. Not that long ago you could hardly turn it on without hearing him.

He ran out of free air-miles.
    Back to regale everyone with his tales of how he was bathing off of St. Barts with spider monkeys for the past two weeks.

Leo is a breath of fresh air

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Callan57 wrote: »
    Leo is a breath of fresh air

Is he really? I find him just as evasive as any other politions. He's just better at hiding it than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

ah brilliant a great way to ruin a friday morning Ronan "your all going to hell" Mullen

neris wrote: »
    ah brilliant a great way to ruin a friday morning Ronan "your all going to hell" Mullen

He is one almighty pain in the butt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Wondering who this caveman was.

He's a hateful man.

Oh you can be sure Ronan will speak on it Ad nauseam - he's kinda obsessed with other people's sex lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

Oh you can be sure Ronan will speak on it Ad nauseam - he's kinda obsessed with other people's sex lives

If your talking about it, it means your not getting it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,681 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Plus 50/50 rules mean himself and Fidelma HE are going to spending an awful of time in radio/tv studios over the next few months. What I'm not clear on is does the rule apply even if SSM is only intended to be a brief part of the panel discussion concerned? I suspect we could see more of what happened this morning: because Ronan is on the panel, the topic will push everything else aside...

and push me to Lyric :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    Is he really? I find him just as evasive as any other politions. He's just better at hiding it than others.

His evasiveness is so evasive it evades perception?

Now that's clever.

alaimacerc wrote: »
    His evasiveness is so evasive it evades perception?

Emm...no. It's still fairly obvious, but not as blatant as the rest them.

Leo is a bit too right-wing on economic matters for my taste, so I don't really find his perceived frankness that refreshing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Leo is a bit too right-wing on economic matters for my taste, so I don't really find his perceived frankness that refreshing.

Reality a difficulty for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

He's vastly right-wing on economics! And says so! Hence I don't get this bit that he's "evasive". Just sounds like "I don't like him, so here's a random insult, don't much care if it fits".

LV is personally responsible for me voting quite a way down the local ticket to avoid FG following his chilling "we're going for an overall majority" soundbite. I hate to think what loose cannons I must have given a low preference to. He's exactly the opposite of what I believe in economically. But I have to give him credit for at least saying it. As opposed to the fauxialists in FF, who after sitting in the most crazed right-wing pro-cyclic boom-and-bust capitalist government in the history of the state, now try to play the socially concerned Keynsians from opposition.

alaimacerc wrote: »
    He's vastly right-wing on economics! And says so! Hence I don't get this bit that he's "evasive". Just sounds like "I don't like him, so here's a random insult, don't much care if it fits".

In the interview with O'Rourke he avoided answering quite a few of the health service related questions properly ie. he was being evasive, imo. He may have been more forthright when he was later asked more general political queations, but he didn't really answer the far more important questions related to his brief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Jaysus this girls burying herself on the radio right now.

Call me mad but if I rang Kenya 19 times at a cost of over 2k I'd remember it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭touts

Michelle Mulherin is babbling incoherently. She claims that the only thing she knows about it is what was reported in the media but then she says she is the one who made the calls. She says she doesn't know what numbers were called then she says the calls were to represent someone else with an "ongoing problem". She says she made some calls to "Africa" but not sure it any of the calls were to Kenya.

Now she half sobs that she couldn't have made any personal calls because she doesn't have a personal life as she is so busy serving the people.

Give me a break!

She's displaying a text book example of how not to handle such things. It's all the meeja, the meeja.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Sean is handling the interview extremely well - he's at his best in dealing with things like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭touts

I'd have a lot more respect for her if she just came out and said yes I was phoning my boyfriend back in Kenya. I made a mistake and I'll refund the money. I'm sure every other TD phones their partner on the Dail phone from time to time. Instead all this babbling about not wanting to talk about a "third party" and needing an investigation into which number were called did her more harm than good.