Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Smalling is far worse than Jones and Evans, dreadful on the ball, and in general just an awkward footballer.

They're all absolute shíte and need to be replaced ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

keane2097 wrote: »
    Realistically, this is all amateur psycho-analysis you've done from your couch. Full blown nonsense IMO for what it's worth.

You don't get to be a top level professional sportsman without being ultra-competitive, the idea that these guys don't care/aren't trying is just laughable.

I do think there's a certain placebo effect when it comes to a lot of so called top level footballers. The vast majority of us including myself are sometimes brainwashed into thinking that if so and so plays in the premiership or any top European league they must be leaps and bounds above the rest.

Yesterdays game yet again proved otherwise, league 2 players matching top players who get paid sinful amounts of money for kicking a ball, you'd have to question it.

Big chunk of luck thrown into the mix most of the time as in regards to getting a break with a big club or forever playing out a career in the lower leagues for a lot of players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I do think there's a certain placebo effect when it comes to a lot of so called top level footballers. The vast majority of us including myself are sometimes brainwashed into thinking that if so and so plays in the premiership or any top European league they must be leaps and bounds above the rest.

Yesterdays game yet again proved otherwise, league 2 players matching top players who get paid sinful amounts of money for kicking a ball, you'd have to question it.

Big chunk of luck thrown into the mix most of the time as in regards to getting a break with a big club or forever playing out a career in the lower leagues for a lot of players.

I think that's way oversimplified. If United and Cambridge played one another 38 times a season you'd quickly see the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,609 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

I really dont think there is,the cream usually rises to the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The idea that Cambridge matched United in a game where they touched the ball half a dozen times in the second half is just not worth arguing about.

If you want to think the game last night showed that League 2 level is close to EPL level that's grand enough with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Chelsea losing with a few mins to go at home.

Small teams playing big teams always make a day out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Mourinho is a spoofer.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Mourinho is a spoofer.

And man city.

Spoofers bill. All of them. Overpaid spoofers.

Lvg tactical genius. Lulling Chelsea and man city into laughing at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

If these results stay the same and we take care of Cambridge, things not looking all that bad for a trophy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

City are out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,238 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Chelsea are out

What

The

Faak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Spurs...City...Chelski out?! LVG is a football genius after last nights great result

2-0 and 4-2 city and Chelsea are out.

Sometimes cup football isn't as simple as how many places are between teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

And chelsea out :)

Last nights result ain't too bad now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

spurs city chelsea southampton all gone

City, Chelsea, Spurs all out.

Mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,801 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

FA Cup wide open now. Chelsea, Citee and Spurs all gone today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Last nights not looking so bad now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Crazy results today. Loving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

it was all part of his plan tactical genius

Southampton gone too.

Now if some posters could just cop on with the notions that any top team should be able to comfortably beat any team that would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Can somebody explain to me how some other team losing suddenly means we played well last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,238 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Now if some posters could just cop on with the notions that any top team should be able to comfortably beat any team that would b me great.

howya gettin aaahn!
    Can somebody explain to me how some other team losing suddenly means we played well last night?

no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

At least United are still in the cup however bad or good we played.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

I don't think anyone is saying that, more so that today shows that anything can happen in cup football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Liverpool vs united final seens destined for gerards last match the way this is panning out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

At least we were on the road.. really opens up the cup for us if we do the necessary in the replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

sky88 wrote: »
    Liverpool vs united seens destined for gerards last match the way this is panning out

In fairness Liverpool v Cambridge Utd wouldn't fill Wembley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

astradave wrote: »
    I don't think anyone is saying that, more so that today shows that anything can happen in cup football

Which implies that we struggled last night because thats the nature of cup football, rather than the fact that we struggled last night because our players have been performing terribly for a long time now.