McGregor vs Siver on BT Sports 19th Jan. Prelims: Midnight. Main Card: 3am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

we allowed post links here? its on ufc website its free so think we can post it????

Yes just no unofficial streams allowed is all if you did something wrong the mods would throw uppercuts anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Amazingfun wrote: »
    The comments on there are hilarious :pac:

"Dennis Siver got robbed!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭budgemook

Is the McGregor Aldo fight going to be in Croke Park? Read that somewhere earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,028 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

budgemook wrote: »
    Is the McGregor Aldo fight going to be in Croke Park? Read that somewhere earlier.

No, Las Vegas I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

leftism wrote: »
    People that think Conor is skipping the queue getting a title shot next need to remember one thing; Frankie Edgar, Chad Mendes, Ricardo Lamas and Cub Swanson all have one important thing in common...

They've all had a shot against Aldo and been beaten by him. They can whinge and moan about Conor all they like, but each of them has had an opportunity to take the belt off Aldo and none of them could pull it off.

McGregor vs. Aldo makes the most sense from a business perspective but from a purely competitive standpoint, he's the highest ranked fighter in the division that hasn't fought Aldo. Had he lost to Poirier, then that accolade would not be his, and we'd probably be looking at Dustin getting the next shot.

That's a very fair point, but is McGregor v Aldo right now, as big a fight as it could possibly be?

Personally think a win over Edgar/Mendes, he'll even Swanson would make Conor v Aldo even bigger.

He's taking a big risk, is the payday as big as could be say 2016? I do actually rate McGregor believe it or not but just feel that he's in no way prepared to take on the top dog in the division, not yet anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

budgemook wrote: »

Dana recently said las Vegas unfortunately :(

Could be just on the wind up though! I reckon sell more tickets doing a stadium in Ireland. But ppv would be easier from a Vegas perspective and it is the home of big fights. Just have to wait and see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

"Dennis Siver got robbed!"

Early stoppage.
    Siver was setting up a triangle!!!!

My personal favourite :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

dxsnq9jxilg0j9enmkxr.gif

VqcOQfF.gif

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Early stoppage.
    Siver was setting up a triangle!!!!

My personal favourite :P

Mine was "Kathall really proved himself tonight" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Anyone else hear yer man trying to chat up some bird on the presser feed? hilarious stuff!

If you read the post you will see I've acknowledged he has his shot but it's due to the hype he creates rather than his record.

Just shows you how the average irish punter knows f*ck all about MMA when they are foaming at the mouth over a stoppage of Siver, good god almighty :D

It makes the most sense tbf, true hype is an incentive to make it happen every other potential candidate has lost to Aldo strike while irons hot an all that.

A lot on here are more foaming at the mouth not on the result against the opponent tonight necessarily but coz its a sport they've been watching for yonks with an Irishman about to compete for a title in it. Thats a massive massive achievement in itself.

While I thought Conor would certainly have enough to get victory here, the reality is he fought a guy who done all of his finishing at 155, fair play to him and the lads who made the journey over to support him he didn't disappoint even if some of the chaps attending the Aldo Q&A did :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,391 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I feckin hate how they send a notification that the presser is now live, and then we sit through half an hour of nothing waiting for Dana and the fighters to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

That was a well deserved win by McGregor! Calm as f*ck the entire time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

presser just started

manual_man wrote: »
    presser just started

Missed 2 mins what awards handed out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Title fight Vegas Memorial Day weekend (May25). He didn't rule out croke park but Id say there's just too much going against it

Hotel booked...

Flights seem pricey unless you do a connection though.

Its Vegas UFC187 for sure pretty much

J DEERE wrote: »
    Title fight Vegas Memorial Day weekend (May25). He didn't rule out croke park but Id say there's just too much going against it

i think he kind of did to be honest just put it nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

:D "that skinny little Brazillian"....the trash talk 2.0 begins:D

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Hotel booked...

Flights seem pricey unless you do a connection though.

$500?

How much u get hotel for?

Amazingfun wrote: »
    :D "that skinny little Brazillian"....the trash talk 2.0 begins:D

christ "little boys bodys like there from the favelas or something" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Conor is a pure troll. You can't deny he's got it. Its 6:30am, and I'm here watching a press conference just to laugh at the crap he says.

$500?

How much u get hotel for?

Provisionally booked 3 different ones, all around $1000.

All good hotels though, and staying for 5 days because the wife will be with me. If I was going solo I'd stay somewhere cheap for 3 nights for probably about $300.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

:D Conor's gettin drunk

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Provisionally booked 3 different ones, all around $1000.

All good hotels though, and staying for 5 days because the wife will be with me. If I was going solo I'd stay somewhere cheap for 3 nights for probably about $300.

That doesn't sound too bad at all. Wonder if tickets will be hard to get for it?

If you're a Fight club member they get on sale no probs I'd say believe it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Ah that presser was so cringe! Thought Conor was gonna pass out there at one point. Certainly didn't do anything to dispel the Irish stereotypes, but feck it, he won and he earned the right to have a bitta craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Drinking on an empty stomach x 10
    Dana didn't mind but he wrapped it after conor said "we " signed Duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha