McGregor vs Siver on BT Sports 19th Jan. Prelims: Midnight. Main Card: 3am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Love him or hate him, he made that look easy.

Goodnight everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,391 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Gonna chance watchin the presser meself, c if theres any craic

Likewise. I booked off work planning to watch the fights in the morning, but couldn't take the risk of some hoore spoiling them for me so stayed up.

Might as well wait for the presser in case they confirm a date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Its McGregors GF and the small woman is his sister in that photo. Funny to have Aldo sitting so close to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

didnt they just say his next fight would be against aldo

If you read the post you will see I've acknowledged he has his shot but it's due to the hype he creates rather than his record.

Just shows you how the average irish punter knows f*ck all about MMA when they are foaming at the mouth over a stoppage of Siver, good god almighty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Nobody is foaming at the mouth and your exaggeration isn't going to deflect from your stupid comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

I guess we're all talking about the same thing here.

Ron Stallings eyebrow is a mess! Go to twitter and purposely disgust yourself. Go on....

If you read the post you will see I've acknowledged he has his shot but it's due to the hype he creates rather than his record.

Just shows you how the average irish punter knows f*ck all about MMA when they are foaming at the mouth over a stoppage of Siver, good god almighty :D

Does Joe Rogan know nothing about MMA too? Because he was fairly foaming at the mouth. Not that I think Conor will beat Aldo but he's definitely up there. If he can sell a fight better then he deserves it over the others, the business is based on buyrates and he'll sell way more than Edgar or Mendes so he gets it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Ron Stallings eyebrow is a mess! Go to twitter and purposely disgust yourself. Go on....

Link? ;)

Truth is that Uriah Hall made the biggest impression on me tonight. A killin machine!

ahh apologies misread your post.

ya i think he will be a big enough underdog against aldo but hes the prime candidate for being in with a punchers chance. either way his **** talk has drawn in huge numbers both for and against him so himself and aldo should both make crazy crazy money off of there fight.

also i was wrong the ufc pulled off a massive coup putting it right after the conference championchip games iv gotten a few txts off of american buddies already asking me who this guy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

The left side of his face is jacked.

For anyone that wants to see: NSFW

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B7rzDiZCMAACVV0.jpg

Kirby wrote: »
    Are you being purposefully obtuse? He's fighting him next.

Jaysus of course he's fighting him next.

Just baffled how people can get so nervous before, and basically foaming at the mouth after beating a guy on the very fringe of world level.

McGregor is getting his title shot next but he's nowhere near ready. Jumping from Siver, Poirier, Brandao, Holloway etc.. To Jose f*cking Aldo is madness.

There's a level of fighter even below that, that McGregor is untested against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

What time is Conor fighting? Is it on BT Sports 1? Where's CM Punk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

What record exactly?

The jury is still out, his talking has got him a title shot and fair play. Don't get carried away he has still not beaten a live contender. Silver, Poirier, Brandao, holloway, Brimmage. They are also rans, journey men.

Until he beats a Chad Mendes, Cub Swanson or Frankie Edgar then he's still not getting the title shot by making in roads into the division, so I'd hold off on talking his up yet.

He needs more experience before taking Aldo IMO.

Loved Aldo's response basically asking why everyone is getting so excited about a victory over Siver

In fairness, credit to McGregor, he looks relaxed, does it at his own pace but c'mon the opposition is cannon fodder (at this level)

Max Holloway is a 23yo on a 4 fight win streak.

He is making decent opposition look mundane.

Aldo has already beaten the rest of the division so this fight makes sense.

Amazingfun wrote: »
    Link? ;)

Truth is that Uriah Hall made the biggest impression on me tonight. A killin machine!

NSFW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,391 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Bloody hell, just read this quote from Pendred post fight...

“I knew he was a standup fighter, so I’ve been working on it and wanted to show everyone,”

That was his idea of showing his improved stand up???

NSFW

:eek: WOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

NSFW

oh holy jesus, thats is DEEP...i actually feel a little ill now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Gonna chance watchin the presser meself, c if theres any craic

What's it going to be on?

NSFW

christ and it was one punch that punch was almost a jab.... beast

oh holy jesus, thats is DEEP...i actually feel a little ill now....

That's what she said...

Liam O wrote: »
    Does Joe Rogan know nothing about MMA too? Because he was fairly foaming at the mouth. Not that I think Conor will beat Aldo but he's definitely up there. If he can sell a fight better then he deserves it over the others, the business is based on buyrates and he'll sell way more than Edgar or Mendes so he gets it.

Well we both agree he can sell it better that's for sure.

Rogan is a bad reference in fairness. I'm old fashioned, I'd like to see a confident bloke like McGregor actually clean out his fellow title contenders first and become a legitimate number 1 contender, maybe beat an Edgar or Mendes (highly probably he may taste defeat hence it was never going to happen)

Fighting Aldo so soon is mental IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Well we both agree he can sell it better that's for sure.

Rogan is a bad reference in fairness. I'm old fashioned, I'd like to see a confident bloke like McGregor actually clean out his fellow title contenders first and become a legitimate number 1 contender, maybe beat an Edgar or Mendes (highly probably he may taste defeat hence it was never going to happen)

Fighting Aldo so soon is mental IMO

i agree also the fear would be aldo wipeing the floor with him and then the mystique around connor is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

we allowed post links here? its on ufc website its free so think we can post it????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

McGregor has beaten what's been put in front of him, and done so very impressively. You're making too much of his persona and the hype that accompanies him. Look back at each of his UFC fights and he's been highly impressive, even considering he hasn't (yet) faced the top dogs in the division (although i rate Max Holloway quite highly). You might argue that he's gotten the title shot a fight early, but given how impressively he's dispatched his opponents, it's hard to argue that he's not ready for it. McGregor-Aldo should be a cracking fight, big step up obviously but i think he can take him

The comments on there are hilarious :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

What's it going to be on?

Here (below) aswell as youtube link posted above cameras on with people waiting so starting soon obviously Mcgregor will be late in

http://www.ufc.com/media/fight-night-boston-post-fight-press-conference-2015

Kirby wrote: »
    Nobody is foaming at the mouth and your exaggeration isn't going to deflect from your stupid comments.

What comment specifically was stupid? Plenty of hyping a win over Siver (in relation to his shot against Aldo) being showcased on here.

A few more sensible posters have urged caution against Aldo and rightfully so, it's fight time for real now, no more tomato cans to pad the record so to speak.

If pointing the obvious out makes my comments stupid then I guess I'm guilty of not enjoying his rise to the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭-=al=-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭leftism

People that think Conor is skipping the queue getting a title shot next need to remember one thing; Frankie Edgar, Chad Mendes, Ricardo Lamas and Cub Swanson all have one important thing in common...

They've all had a shot against Aldo and been beaten by him. They can whinge and moan about Conor all they like, but each of them has had an opportunity to take the belt off Aldo and none of them could pull it off.

McGregor vs. Aldo makes the most sense from a business perspective but from a purely competitive standpoint, he's the highest ranked fighter in the division that hasn't fought Aldo. Had he lost to Poirier, then that accolade would not be his, and we'd probably be looking at Dustin getting the next shot.