Junkies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Aircraft Freak

I think the worst I saw was a junkie taking a dump down the back of the 77A 15 years ago, the pong was that bad I got off at Greenhills and walked the rest of the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Carpentry wrote: »
    Seen those huge stormtroopers <hilarious btw:D> being beaten up by 3 young lads in tracksuits at actual train. One of the troopers got real bad. Hilarious as well.

What's so hilarious about some ordinary joe doing an honest days work getting beaten up by scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Carpentry

Is there something wrong with you?.

Why do you find it hilarious that someone out making an honest living gets beat up?.

I was assaulted only last night, sucker punched. I'm working to pay off two college fees for my children not for some scumbag to sucker punch me.

But you might find that hilarious, right?.. (btw I'm a pretty "huge" guy myself).

You got me wrong. I said hilarious about "stormtroopers" word, it's just fit perfectly.
    And then I have seen this stormtroopers acting as Dheads, so I guess they got what they where looking for.

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Hilarious yeah, you are part of the problem you dipsh!t.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by fg1406 View Post
    Having spent the past few years commuting on the Red Line daily for almost an hour each way, I have a book compiled about it. Junkies shooting up, drug dealing, drunks pissing, fighting, children pickpocketing, traveller kids racially abusing tourists etc It's so depressing. Since January I've begun driving into the city centre to work as I just can't deal with it any more. I've turned into a public transport snob. I refuse to use it unless absolutely necessary.
    Dropped public transport all the way about 3 years ago. Had to pick up car the other day and decided to walk from Phoenix Park to Drumcondra having 46a at the door step.

No, I'm not.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    What's so hilarious about some ordinary joe doing an honest days work getting beaten up by scumbags?

Didn't say scumbags, young lads I said, pretty skinny to be perfectly honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

But you said it was hilarious to see the security staff being beat up. What hilarious about that?.

Last night the little prick who punched me broke a filling in my mouth, and I've a swollen jaw. I dare not let my daughter know what happened as she worries enough for me, and I've little doubt there are guys in a similar position working the LUAS line who don't find being assaulted as hilarious as you seem to find it.

Pathetic tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Most urban centers have drug problems - it's how they're handled thats the key difference.

German police tend to deal with anti social behavior before it even starts.

I know, I lived in Germany for nearly 2 years, so have seen first hand how they deal with anti social behaviour. But germans are (in my own experience anyway) I the whole more socially mature than the average Irish person as well so they've developed a stronger sense of civic pride that stops these issues getting out of hand.

Most european countries have paramilitary police forces (carabinieri in Italy, gendarmerie in france) and dedicated transport police (lived in London for 5 years and they generally deal well with anti social type behaviour). This is used to deal solely with and social / crowd control situations.

My reply was to a previous poster who states they wouldn't visit Dublin because of its drug problem - I ackowlwdge that it is perhaps more evident given its relative size, but go to similar sized European cities and you'll see the same. If all the European counties and cities I've visited I've yet to see one that is drug free - by that I mean evidence of open drug taking, junkies, discarded drug paraphelnalia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

"young lads" who beat up security staff = scumbags by definition

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I know, I lived in Germany for nearly 2 years, so have seen first hand how they deal with anti social behaviour. But germans are (in my own experience anyway) I the whole more socially mature than the average Irish person as well so they've developed a stronger sense of civic pride that stops these issues getting out of hand.

Most european countries have paramilitary police forces (carabinieri in Italy, gendarmerie in france) and dedicated transport police (lived in London for 5 years and they generally deal well with anti social type behaviour). This is used to deal solely with and social / crowd control situations.

My reply was to a previous poster who states they wouldn't visit Dublin because of its drug problem - I ackowlwdge that it is perhaps more evident given its relative size, but go to similar sized European cities and you'll see the same. If all the European counties and cities I've visited I've yet to see one that is drug free - by that I mean evidence of open drug taking, junkies, discarded drug paraphelnalia.

Not in most, but in every other country there is a properly trained and armed police to deal with any "event".
    Gardai are just public servants. :p

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    "young lads" who beat up security staff = scumbags by definition

As eyewitness I'd say there was fault on both sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I just spent 30 minutes on a bus from the city centre, with some junkie down the back playing loud music, singing, smoking weed directly into my face, who then started asking me for money and kicking the back of my seat when I said no.

Not in the best mood about dublin right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Spr1ngsteen

Seen those huge stormtroopers <hilarious btw:D> being beaten up by 3 young lads in tracksuits at actual train. One of the troopers got real bad. Hilarious as well.

Yeah, that sounds absolutely hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

Whosthis wrote: »
    Pretty sure that constitutes "use".

No, it's abuse

cloud493 wrote: »
    I just spent 30 minutes on a bus from the city centre, with some junkie down the back playing loud music, singing, smoking weed directly into my face, who then started asking me for money and kicking the back of my seat when I said no.

Sorry to hear that. I can imagine how you are feeling. Id urge you to consider reporting it to Dublin Bus. you were threatened and intimidated.
    Maybe if we all start doing it, constantly,to the point where they can no longer ignore it, something may be done .

( I know Im probably being naive, but maybe, just maybe...)

Jake1 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that. I can imagine how you are feeling. Id urge you to consider reporting it to Dublin Bus. you were threatened and intimidated.
    Maybe if we all start doing it, constantly,to the point where they can no longer ignore it, something may be done .

( I know Im probably being naive, but maybe, just maybe...)

People complaint for years about dart trains being late all the time,and guess what, they are still late.

Cant argue with you on that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Vomit wrote: »
    Well, this is what happens when you have a tram service that starts at Connelly Station and basically stops at almost every one of the scummiest parts of Dublin. The Green line, however, stops at more remote places including industrial estates where people go to and from WORK.

But then, if all of Red Line stops are considered to be full of poverty and criminality, then what does that say about our fair city? That the vast majority of it is a ****hole?

If everybody on the red line is unemployed, the hundreds of people I see every morning looking like commuters are presumably junkies in disguise trying to fcuk with people's heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

They're probably not allowed to batter the little cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Joe Duffy would rather you call them "unwell people"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Unfortunately, the Gardai really can't do much, they could arrest every junkie caught drinking on the street or loitering around, but there isn't the resources for them to do that while also taking care of more important crimes. Hell, I live in a rougher suburb of Dublin, I went to leave my house one day to find a junkie passed out on my porch. I called the police, and even with a station 10 minutes away, it took them about 2 hours to send a car. Not the Gardai's fault themseleves, I believe the guards are for most part quite well trained and good at their jobs, but unfortunately, funding gets in the way of them being able to enforce every single law, they know that if they're dealing with someone drinking in public, that means another, potentially much more serious crime will be left waiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

cloud493 wrote: »

Now I know we can't do anything about drug taking and scum baggery - but ffs there's a crime taking place here, Smoking on a bus. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Really hope there's some type of sterilisation included in drugs like heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Red line victims, have no fear, your anguish will come to an end soon when the Red and Green lines are linked up together so the junkies can travel further for rich pickings. Throw in the new line coming from Broombridge and our middle class southside friends will be crying for help from the menace on the Green line!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Originally Posted by Vomit

Well, this is what happens when you have a tram service that starts at Connelly Station and basically stops at almost every one of the scummiest parts of Dublin. The Green line, however, stops at more remote places including industrial estates where people go to and from WORK.

But then, if all of Red Line stops are considered to be full of poverty and criminality, then what does that say about our fair city? That the vast majority of it is a ****hole?

The green line stops at sandyford and cherrywood that are reasonably small, the red line goes up the nass road right through about 3 or 4 square miles of industrial estate and then up to city west which is about the same size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Need some dedicated transport police, the private security firms are very limited in what they can do. Need some Gardai dedicated to wiping this behaviour out on Dart/Luas/Bus, give them power to seize free travel passes of abusers and fine/kick off/arrest as necessary.

What will a dedicated transport police be able to do that the dedicated Gardai force are not able to do?

A dedicated transport police will just be a sponge for Gardai resources and take even more away from the Gardai who fight crime in general!

What is needed are changes in legislation to allow the Gardai to fight the scumbags with force! if someone is confrontational and aggressive they should be beaten to the ground with rubber batons and subdued. beat them until they comply with reasonable direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

foggy_lad wrote: »
    What is needed are changes in legislation to allow the Gardai to fight the scumbags with force! if someone is confrontational and aggressive they should be beaten to the ground with rubber batons and subdued. beat them until they comply with reasonable direction.

And right on cue onemanonecup egginacup to berate you while calling any policing force murderers if they protct themselves and the general public in the line of duty :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This is all part of living in a city, I dont really care what people are doing once they dont interfere with people around them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

This is all part of living in a city, I dont really care what people are doing once they dont interfere with people around them

Junkie scum are leaving needles everywhere and they just dont care ......... a dirty needle is just as potentially destructive as landmine. There is a mistake in the PC brigade that we have to accept it ..... and see it as normal behaviour... these people arent fit be living in communities of decent people

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Give em a place to go to take heroin to remove the fear from public transport. In fact tbh they should give them the heroin too to remove the need for petty crime to pay for their habit.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Junkie scum are leaving needles everywhere and they just dont care ......... a dirty needle is just as potentially destructive as landmine. There is a mistake in the PC brigade that we have to accept it ..... and see it as normal behaviour... these people arent fit be living in communities of decent people

Jesus that pc brigade are getting the blame for ****ing everything these days.