Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junkies

• 17-01-2015 8:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Was on the LUAS red line the other day in the middle of the day and 2 junkies were shooting up in broad daylight in front of 2 kids of about 12 years old sitting opposite them. :mad:

Why oh why does the green line seem to be swimming with those Viola security stormtroopers and yet the red line junkie express neglected security-wise?

Has the heroin problem gotten worse in recent years? Dublin and Cork City seem to be absolutely crawling with the zombies. Can't walk from one end of O'Connell Street or Patrick Street to the other without getting hassled by them. Can't seem to get a bus without at least one of them spaced out of his tree in the back talking nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Foxhound38 wrote: »

Why oh why does the green line seem to be swimming with those Viola security stormtroopers and ....

.. the heroin problem gotten worse

red line junkie express neglected security-wise?

You've answered your own question.
    The green line is an easier job to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

We give them free travel. Would a compromise be a restricted time zone and at the very least a minimum fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Chinasea wrote: »
    We give them free travel. Would a compromise be a restricted time zone and at the very least a minimum fare.

At the very least the compromise should be a "no shooting up on the LUAS" rule that's actually enforced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Teachers should take their classes on red line field trips, show students what lies ahead of them if they fail their leaving cert.
    Maybe even do a surprise test with a practical exam while there

Teachers should take their classes on red line field trips, show students what lies ahead of them if they fail their leaving cert.

"If you fail your leaving cert, you will be forever shuffling around the streets, condemned to never having a euro for the bus/hostel" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

"If you fail your leaving cert, you will be forever shuffling around the streets, condemned to never having a euro for the bus/hostel" :pac:

Got any chaaaaaaange bud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I got the luas (red line, need I mention it!) the other evening, and these 4 got on at jervis, luas was fairly packed, two women, spaced out and drinking cider from empty Pepsi bottles, and one of them had the 2litre Devils bit they were all sharing. Anyway, there was no seats and the dopiest lady junkie stood in the aisle and when the luas took off she fell on her ass. This kid sitting in the front seat helped lift her up when the other more aggressive female junkie started roaring about how the kid should have jumped up off his seat as soon as they got on to let "Avril" sit down, because she wasn't well. She was ranting until the next stop at least about how nobody offered the females a seat.

Funny thing is that young lad probably paid for his fare and they made a holy show of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Sounds like one of the joys of our wonderful capital city.

Which is why, except for a week in 2004 and driviing through when getting the ferry, I never visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I dunno - I think that's a dangerous game to play with children. They might take away that they should study. On the flip side, they might take comfort in knowing that these people who, presumably, failed their leaving cert get by just fine.

It might be a different lifestyle, but it's a viable one. "Feck this, why should I study and listen to my parents. I can move out on my own, get a medical card, get a travel card, spend my days on the luas getting drunk and hanging out with my mates!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Was on the LUAS red line the other day in the middle of the day and 2 junkies were shooting up in broad daylight in front of 2 kids of about 12 years old sitting opposite them. :mad:

What did the Gardai and the driver say when you reported it? or did you also turn a blind eye and enabled them?

bjork wrote: »
    What did the Gardai and the driver say when you reported it? or did you also turn a blind eye and enabled them?

It's heartening to know there are selfless exemplars such as yourself who evidentally patrol the streets dailing 999 on every one of the many occasions in which a smackhead is encountered.

The emergency operators and LUAS drivers must know you by name at this stage! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Has the heroin problem gotten worse in recent years? Dublin and Cork City seem to be absolutely crawling with the zombies. Can't walk from one end of O'Connell Street or Patrick Street to the other without getting hassled by them. Can't seem to get a bus without at least one of them spaced out of his tree in the back talking nonsense.

I dunno, I'm living in Dublin a mere 4 years, but in my time here, living in the city centre, I've never seen a junkie shooting up, or a syringe on a bus or luas and never felt afraid or intimidated.

The only thing drug related that's ever bothered me was constantly being offered drugs in Prague and more so in Lisbon. That was irritating.

Yiz need to not be so fraidy lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Strangely enough I know plenty of Junkies with decent leaving certs. Alcoholics too!!!
    Conversely I also know people that don't drink, smoke or do drugs that are doing just fine for themselves without the benefit of holding such a fine certificate..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Strangely enough I know plenty of Junkies with decent leaving certs. Alcoholics too!!!
    Conversely I also know people that don't drink, smoke or do drugs that are doing just fine for themselves without the benefit of holding such a fine certificate..

There's always somebody who knows these opposite people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

kneemos wrote: »
    There's always somebody who knows these opposite people.
    Sure, I know a Muslim who is NOT a terrorist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Sounds like one of the joys of our wonderful capital city.

Which is why, except for a week in 2004 and driviing through when getting the ferry, I never visit.

If you can give another European capital city without a drugs problem, do tell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Aircraft Freak

Something, something "don't take me drugs away" dude on bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Gongoozler wrote: »
    I dunno, I'm living in Dublin a mere 4 years, but in my time here, living in the city centre, I've never seen a junkie shooting up, or a syringe on a bus or luas and never felt afraid or intimidated.

The only thing drug related that's ever bothered me was constantly being offered drugs in Prague and more so in Lisbon. That was irritating.

Yiz need to not be so fraidy lads.

I seem to go months without even being asked for change in Dublin, and then other times I'm constantly surrounded by junkies, anti-social behaviour and drugs.

Might be to do with "dry spells" when heroin gets hard to find or if the guards do a little "operation" around town for a few weeks.

It can also be the routes you take or the times you're in town. Getting the Red Luas at 9pm and 10.30 pm can be vastly different experiences.

Shooting up in plane view is quite rare to see - however, it's never far away. There's a number of alleyways off Abbey Street that are great little shortcuts but I don't use them anymore. I've came across too many junkies strung out with needles to risk it.

The other week I got on a 123 and had to sit down the back upstairs. This junkie takes two empty brown medicine bottles (methadone, I presume) from his pocket, puts them on the ground and stomps on them to smash them. A fair few people 'jumped' and were obviously intimidated. He was also mumbling and shouting random ****. This kind of carry on is what pisses me off the most - just general anti-social behaviour particularly on a bus used by yanks on their way to Guinness's. Not a pleasant experience.

I'm rarely ever actually intimidated though. Most of the time it's just junkies being junkies. Perhaps making a nuisance of themselves or looking for their next fix. However I can see how it might be intimidating to a lone woman or a tourist unfamiliar with the city - Dublin does have a bad rep for is street urchins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

Well, this is what happens when you have a tram service that starts at Connelly Station and basically stops at almost every one of the scummiest parts of Dublin. The Green line, however, stops at more remote places including industrial estates where people go to and from WORK.

But then, if all of Red Line stops are considered to be full of poverty and criminality, then what does that say about our fair city? That the vast majority of it is a ****hole?

Vomit wrote: »
    Well, this is what happens when you have a tram service that starts at Connelly Station and basically stops at almost every one of the scummiest parts of Dublin. The Green line, however, stops at more remote places including industrial estates where people go to and from WORK.

But then, if all of Red Line stops are considered to be full of poverty and criminality, then what does that say about our fair city? That the vast majority of it is a ****hole?

The red line is an absolute **** hole of a line, I have a friend that drives the Luas, and the stories he tells me are unreal, Connolly is festering with brass monkeys and beggars, The chap loves when his shift is on the green line, no bother at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Evidently Chickentown

The ****ing cops are ****ing keen
    To ****ing keep it ****ing clean
    The ****ing chief's a ****ing swine
    Who ****ing draws a ****ing line
    At ****ing fun and ****ing games
    The ****ing kids he ****ing blames
    Are nowehere to be ****ing found
    Anywhere in Chickentown

The ****ing scene is ****ing sad
    The ****ing news is ****ing bad
    The ****ing weed is ****ing turf
    The ****ing speed is ****ing surf
    The ****ing folks are ****ing daft
    Don't make me ****ing laugh
    It ****ing hurts to look around
    Everywhere in Chickentown

The ****ing train is ****ing late
    You ****ing wait you ****ing wait
    You're ****ing lost and ****ing found
    Stuck in ****ing Chickentown

The ****ing view is ****ing vile
    For ****ing miles and ****ing miles
    The ****ing babies ****ing cry
    The ****ing flowers ****ing die
    The ****ing food is ****ing muck
    The ****ing drains are ****ing ****ed
    The colour scheme is ****ing brown
    Everywhere in Chickentown

The ****ing pubs are ****ing dull
    The ****ing clubs are ****ing full
    Of ****ing girls and ****ing guys
    With ****ing murder in Their eyes
    A ****ing bloke is ****ing stabbed
    Waiting for a ****ing cab
    You ****ing stay at ****ing home
    The ****ing neighbors ****ing moan
    Keep The ****ing racket down
    This is ****ing Chickentown

The ****ing train is ****ing late
    You ****ing wait you ****ing wait
    You're ****ing lost and ****ing found
    Stuck in ****ing Chickentown

The ****ing pies are ****ing old
    The ****ing chips are ****ing cold
    The ****ing beer is ****ing flat
    The ****ing flats have ****ing rats
    The ****ing clocks are ****ing wrong
    The ****ing days are ****ing long
    It ****ing gets you ****ing down
    Evidently Chickentown

John Cooper Clarke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I'm more concerned by those damn emo kids hanging around the parcel motel smoking :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Some things in life you just can't take for granted but you can rest assured that there will nearly always be a junkie with crutches falling all over people on the Luas!

Was getting on the red line from Connolly a few months back, and this dude in swat team gear was getting the tickets for people when they went to purchase them at the machine, he was taking the money and getting the tickets because of the scumbags around the place, I thought to myself, " why doesn't he just kick the bollocks out of them and move them on?"

So they actually had to employ somebody to stand there and get tickets for people at a self-service ticket machine, because otherwise the scumbags and brass monkeys won't leave them alone?

ffs :mad:

Why don't the gardai just move them on? "gizzaeuroforthebussssBuddd"

I think everyone has a red line story. Me, I've seen lots of f*ckology take place.. screaming argument between a city girl and and old man who was threatening to bring his shotgun on his next Luas journey. Saw another lad get on once and casually reach behind a seat where he had stashed a brown bag full of god knows what. The Gardai and security services know full well that they would never be out of business if they patrolled the red line properly.. there'd be arrests on an hourly basis. What's the issue? Lack of Garda funding? Attitude of 'let the decaying parts of the city just rot'..? People basically have no fear of the law. Even if they were arrested, that would just be a bit of craic for a few hours- they'd be in the courts..into cushy rehab, told they are 'ill'..always the victim not the perp.

Sometimes you need a stronger approach to alter anti-social behavior. People will do anything if they think they can get away with it. We should have a situation where people on the red line are afraid to break the law-- not afraid to USE it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Never feel too intimidated when I see these people myself, mostly pity really. Drunks on the other hand can cause serious trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'm more concerned by those damn emo kids hanging around the parcel motel smoking :mad:

I don't get the emo kid hate. They're more likely to hug you than punch you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Need some dedicated transport police, the private security firms are very limited in what they can do. Need some Gardai dedicated to wiping this behaviour out on Dart/Luas/Bus, give them power to seize free travel passes of abusers and fine/kick off/arrest as necessary.

I remember a few years back I was on the red line and a junkie and his junkette girlfriend were having a right aul row about who owed who 5 euro, causing hassle for everyone in the tram. Anyway, after a while they seemed to forget all about that, because they were wearing the face off each other. The claw must have been dropped at some point before Rialto because she was making a lot of noise! :eek:

It's like other people don't exist to some of these lads.

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    If you can give another European capital city without a drugs problem, do tell

Most urban centers have drug problems - it's how they're handled thats the key difference.

German police tend to deal with anti social behavior before it even starts.

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Most urban centers have drug problems - it's how they're handled thats the key difference.

German police tend to deal with anti social behavior before it even starts.

If you were caught shooting up in front of kids on a tram in broad daylight in some cities in the US, you'd be in for an absolute world of pain.

Agreed.

I felt safer on the Subway in BedStuy, Brooklyn at 3am than I would on the LUAS at 11pm. The NYPD patrol the crap out of the subway. If you even jump the barrier it's a mandatory arrest.

In Ireland you'd want to murder someone to even get a response.

Guess where I am now? And guess what just got on at drimnagh.......

Live action junkie updates!!

Crutches or no crutches?? :D

None I'm afraid but I'm coming up to James's!!

Nothing at James's!! Wow that's a first maybe I should do the lotto today!!

On a somewhat unrelated note nothing gets people moving like ticket inspectors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Theres a massive junkie problem in Dublin City Centre. Dublin is a pretty small City by global standards and it stands out like a sore thumb. The main drop-off point for tourists is O'Connell street which is infested with these cretins. The relevant authorities only give a crap about the bottom line accounts instead of worrying about a deteriorating situation and medium to long term reputational damage to Dublin as a global tourist destination. Its wrong and their view is very short-sighted because if Dublin was cleaned up it could be one of the great cultural/litary/party cities of the world.

But as we have seen the last few years, in Ireland the authorities do not give a sh!t about the things that matter. The vulnerable in society. Its bad governance pure and simple.

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Theres a massive junkie problem in Dublin City Centre. Dublin is a pretty small City by global standards and it stands out like a sore thumb. The main drop-off point for tourists is O'Connell street which is infested with these cretins. The relevant authorities only give a crap about the bottom line accounts instead of worrying about a deteriorating situation and medium to long term reputational damage to Dublin as a global tourist destination. Its wrong and their view is very short-sighted because if Dublin was cleaned up it could be one of the great cultural/litary/party cities of the world.

But as we have seen the last few years, in Ireland the authorities do not give a sh!t about the things that matter. The vulnerable in society. Its bad governance pure and simple.

I'm not a fan of bullying from cops or thuggish behavior, however I think the Garda need to get more "proactive".

Things like drinking in public, forceful begging and loitering are ignored. It's only when those little problems cause bigger ones that we get a response but by then the damage is done.

For example, a group of junkie are ALWAYS hanging around the Londis at the O'Connell St, Abbey St intersection. They drink, the loiter and they beg. The garda do nothing. It's only when the inevitable fighting/stealing happens that they bother to move them along. If the garda intimidated these cretins and never let up on them, they wouldn't be able to cause a hint of trouble.

Another thing I'd like to see clamped down on is kids cycling on bikes on footpaths in the city center. Take the things off the kids if they're caught more than once doing it.

I'm not trying to spoil kids fun. It's because it's a common tactic used to rob phones. They cycle around for an hour or two before spotting an easy victim, snatch the phone and cycle off. It's also a tactic used to ferry drugs around the place knowing the garda haven't a hope of catching them in dense city traffic.

I live in Drimnagh. You should see what STAYS here! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

I'm not a fan of bullying from cops or thuggish behavior, however I think the Garda need to get more "proactive".

Things like drinking in public, forceful begging and loitering are ignored. It's only when those little problems cause bigger ones that we get a response but by then the damage is done.

For example, a group of junkie are ALWAYS hanging around the Londis at the O'Connell St, Abbey St intersection. They drink, the loiter and they beg. The garda do nothing. It's only when the inevitable fighting/stealing happens that they bother to move them along. If the garda intimidated these cretins and never let up on them, they wouldn't be able to cause a hint of trouble.

Another thing I'd like to see clamped down on is kids cycling on bikes on footpaths in the city center. Take the things off the kids if they're caught more than once doing it.

I'm not trying to spoil kids fun. It's because it's a common tactic used to rob phones. They cycle around for an hour or two before spotting an easy victim, snatch the phone and cycle off. It's also a tactic used to ferry drugs around the place knowing the garda haven't a hope of catching them in dense city traffic.

Gardai won't be getting proactive anytime soon towards addicts, they tend to pick on targets who won't stab them with a syringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I got the luas (red line, need I mention it!) the other evening, and these 4 got on at jervis, luas was fairly packed, two women, spaced out and drinking cider from empty Pepsi bottles, and one of them had the 2litre Devils bit they were all sharing. Anyway, there was no seats and the dopiest lady junkie stood in the aisle and when the luas took off she fell on her ass. This kid sitting in the front seat helped lift her up when the other more aggressive female junkie started roaring about how the kid should have jumped up off his seat as soon as they got on to let "Avril" sit down, because she wasn't well. She was ranting until the next stop at least about how nobody offered the females a seat.

Funny thing is that young lad probably paid for his fare and they made a holy show of him

Any chance you spoke up for the kid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

This just in:

Junkies in Dublin City use public transport. Shocker!

I think moving the methodone clinics out of the city centre could help a lot in Dublins case - decentralize it out to areas in the inner city where they live but away from businesses and tourists. Also the gardai need to clamp down on loitering at Luas stops and the boardwalk. Public drinking etc needs to be dealt with and not ignored. That's the NYPD's way of doing things - clamp down hard on the little things and the big things tend to sort themselves out. Think such a strategy could work well in a small area like Dublin or Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Diemos wrote: »
    Any chance you spoke up for the kid?

Are you insane? There was 4 of them and 1 of me. They were scaring me already without even saying anything to me, I wasn't going to open my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Agree, Londis at the corner of Westmoreland Street is another bad spot. I had my phone robbed there a few weeks back while standing at the bus stop there. The Gardai are not motivated top stop this. Its a worsening problem. And btw I dont blame the Gardai, as I said before I blame bad governance of the country. Problems are being seen across all emergency services in the country. Health etc.

Gardai won't be getting proactive anytime soon towards addicts, they tend to pick on targets who won't stab them with a syringe.

Part of the problem is with the wider justice system - think of it from the Guards point of view: they could pick up some zombie for shooting up in public/causing hassel on the Luas etc, wrestle them into the back of the squadcar while avoiding being jabbed with a needle, have to deal with the aftermath of the junkie sh*tting himself/puking in the car, do the hours of paperwork the arrest would entail and for what? Judge would just hand down a suspended sentence and the little cretin would be back on the streets giving the same guard the two fingers before tea time.

I don't envy the gardai their jobs in this system.

Whosthis wrote: »
    This just in:

Junkies in Dublin City use public transport. Shocker!

They don't "use" public transport- they loiter and hang about on it all day without paying, injecting drugs and intimidating real customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Vomit wrote: »
    They don't "use" public transport- they loiter and hang about on it all day without paying, injecting drugs and intimidating real customers.

Pretty sure that constitutes "use".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

6 Year old kid apparently pricked by a syringe on a Dublin Bus service.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0116/673173-syringe-dublin-bus/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

At the very least the compromise should be a "no shooting up on the LUAS" rule that's actually enforced.

Straight up question but how do you enforce a rule like this?.

I work a bar/club door, have done for over twenty years now and whenever I've come across an addict taking a turn-on in the toilets I leave them to finish the job then escort them from the premises ~ no way am I going to try stop them mid-flow so to speak.

As for LUAS I've never had to use it but I hear the Tallaght line (red or green, I'm not sure) is particularly bad, well I don't think STI pay their lads enough money to be hero's.