Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I'm finding it difficult to value this car, seeing as there's so few online.

Will be going for sale soon and the owner was thinking of asking around 10k?

2010 Seat Ibiza 1.6tdi sport
    Well over a years test and 55,000 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I'm finding it difficult to value this car, seeing as there's so few online.

Will be going for sale soon and the owner was thinking of asking around 10k?

2010 Seat Ibiza 1.6tdi sport
    Well over a years test and 55,000 miles.

A few months ago herself could have bought a 2011 3 door one, nice alloys, air con, full history, 30 odd k km for a little over 10.5k with a years warranty, new tyres and service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

There couldn't of been too many of these registered in 2011. Bmw 535d original irish too.

Bmw 535d 2011

A few months ago herself could have bought a 2011 3 door one, nice alloys, air con, full history, 30 odd k km for a little over 10.5k with a years warranty, new tyres and service.

A 1.6 diesel? 99% are 1.2 diesel or petrol

Still 10k seems slightly strong assuming it's a private sale too. You could buy a diesel golf, octavia, astra etc same year for 10k or very close to it privately.

Bpmull wrote:
    Is there 205/55/16 on your car as that's about the most common size on irish roads making it the cheapest size or are they 215/55/16 like some fords.

They're 205/50/16 on the front and 205/55/16 on the back, I think I'll put all 4 as the former.

Bpmull wrote:
    Still 10k seems slightly strong assuming it's a private sale too. You could buy a diesel golf, octavia, astra etc same year for 10k or very close to it privately.

Ya that's what I was thinking. Their brother bought it crashed, very little damage in late 2010. He has a garage so he done it up for them and they bought it in Jan 2011, when it wasn't even a year old, for 13k. So if they sell it for 9 for example, they still have taken little depreciation over 4 years.

They're 205/50/16 on the front and 205/55/16 on the back, I think I'll put all 4 as the former.

I would have thought 205/50/16 would be substantially more to buy than 205/55/16 just because your going from one of the most common sizes on irish roads to a not very common size. I personally wouldn't give 20-30 quid a corner more then but maybe there is as much of a price difference as I'm thinking.

Yep, UK import from a Seat dealer. Only she does tiny mileage she'd have bought it.

Bpmull wrote:
    I would have thought 205/50/16 would be substantially more to buy than 205/55/16 just because your going from one of the most common sizes on irish roads to a not very common size. I personally wouldn't give 20-30 quid a corner more then but maybe there is as much of a price difference as I'm thinking.

Tyre fitter told me 5 euro difference, but I think thats a fairly cheapish brand. €75 a pop?

Personally I'd rather get a better brand like a bridgestone or goodyear in 55 sidewalk rather than getting a cheaper brand in 50 sidewall for the same money if you know what I mean. But if it's only going to cost 5 euro extra to get same tyre brand then that's not a huge difference I would have been thinking 20 euro.

New toy arrived yesterday. Its only a breaker bar but I really like it! :P

Also, the price of daysul here has dropped again to 116.9. I've become obsessed with fuel prices lately. Even the fill of kerosene we got before Christmas was significantly lower in price than the last one.

Saw it at 1.149 leaving Dungarvan yesterday evening.

Wonder if we'll see it go below the euro mark this year?

Seriously :eek: I didn't think it had got that low I wonder will we see 1 euro a litre for diesel that would be unreal although I don't think they will let it drop that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Found old receipt yesterday (Oct 2014) - 1.529 per litre of petrol, ouch!

joujoujou wrote: »
    Found old receipt yesterday (Oct 2014) - 1.529 per litre of petrol, ouch!

Theres a Topaz here in Limerick next to the regional hospital that was charging 1.7?? at one point. Every other station was at least 6 cents less. How they get any business is beyond me. There's a Maxol and a Texaco a stones throw away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Bpmull wrote: »
    Seriously :eek: I didn't think it had got that low I wonder will we see 1 euro a litre for diesel that would be unreal although I don't think they will let it drop that much.

Possibility is there. Costs the Saudis around 10 dollars per barrel of oil to produce it.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Possibility is there. Costs the Saudis around 10 dollars per barrel of oil to produce it.

A friend of mine moved to Dubai a few years ago. Bought himself a S8 recently and it costs less than €40 to fill the tank :(

When I was in Kuwait it was about 10 euro to fill the tank in a jeep around 60-70 litres well infairness most of the price here is tax it's not that petrol or diesel is expensive to buy before tax.

Well apparently the 407's electrics are back up and running. I can actually open the boot whenever I want now. How great!

Still have to get the CV Joint done (that'll be a next week job). Apparently he was at it for 6-7 hours total, and had it with the local peugeot dealer to get wires for it. I think, and i could be wrong (the phone reception wasn't great) he replaced about 1.5foot of wiring on every wire in the boot with new wiring from Peugeot.

Still wouldn't work right.

In the end, it was two wires just rubbing together in a different area altogether, that he noticed by chance.

Total cost of €80, which seems reasonable to me, all things considered...

In the end, it was two wires just rubbing together in a different area altogether, that he noticed by chance.

Total cost of €80, which seems reasonable to me, all things considered...

It's great to hear you got it sorted but surly the logical thing for the mechanic to do first was to check the continuity of all the wires going to the boot to see if any are touching it's not that hard to do with a decent multimeter. It would have saved him 6 hours of randomly replacing wiring loom.

Either way at least you have it sorted now which is the main thing and 80 euro wasn't too bad considering.

It's great to hear you got it sorted but surly the logical thing for the mechanic to do first was to check the continuity of all the wires going to the boot to see if any are touching it's not that hard to do with a decent multimeter. It would have saved him 6 hours of randomly replacing wiring loom.

Either way at least you have it sorted now which is the main thing and 80 euro wasn't too bad considering.

Well as I say, the phone reception wasn't great so i was kinda trying to piece the puzzle together.

When I went over to him, he was talking about pins in the locking mechanism itself (and hadn't mentioned touching wires at all when I was talking to him in person). But he was closing up, so he was being brief.

So to be honest.. I'm not actually sure what the problem/solution was... :confused:

I'll see him Monday, though and ask then.. Either way, im a happy camper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I've been reading about PSA's intentions to completely separate "DS" out of Citroen and set it up as a completely indepentdent premium brand within the PSA stable losing the chevrons, separate dealer network etc. Seems bizarre to me; only Toyota has managed to create a new premium brand and that was with a strong home base to buy the cars (albeit still badged Toyota). I can't see how this works for PSA, Citroen or the new DS. I could see how you can move the old brand upmarket (such as FIAT is trying with Alfa Romeo) but not a completely new premium French brand without heritage - keeping the DS label is hardly enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So I swapped my alloys :o not cos i wanted to but because the other ones were buckled, all 4 of em, only discovered this when it was being tracked, but hey now i have 2 practically new, and 2 new tyres on it! :D One less thing for the nct man to fail me for on thursday

All 4!? :eek:

The alloys on the blue one were buckled or the green one. Are you making the blue one your daily driver ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

The alloys on the blue one were buckled or the green one. Are you making the blue one your daily driver ?
    Yep the blue one is the daily now, the green ones fecked! One wasn't holding air at all. the others weren't as bad but none the less :( shame really!
    All 4!? :eek:

Yep all four :(

Admit it, you sold them on.

IMG_20150110_175406_zpsogrga1z5.jpg

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Just ordered myself a Dreamscience stratagem unit for the ST can't wait to map it now!! Costly kit but can be sold on handy enough I say so could get some back that way. :D:D Need something to get me through this month!