How to annoy your wedding guests. **MOD WARNING POST # 1**

Senna wrote: »
    Obviously you were sneering at, I'm sure the majority were not.

Im sorry I wasn't aware that you were at this particular wedding? because I can Assure you that everybody was talking about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Im sorry I wasn't aware that you were at this particular wedding? because I can Assure you that everybody was talking about it

Sounds like they invited a right shower of b0llockses.

because we thought it was nauseating to be invited by a child? we must have all been so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Judging by this thread there's nothing I can do to keep everyone happy at my wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭nosietoes

iDave: that's why I gave up trying. We decided to just go with what would make us happy if we were at someone else's wedding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

iDave wrote: »
    Judging by this thread there's nothing I can do to keep everyone happy at my wedding.

invite no one. no guests = no annoyed guests.

honestly, there will always be someone annoyed at something, like the ultra conservative uncle who disapproves of the mass, the foodies who dont like the food, the family who dont eat anything except spuds and beef etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭NSAman

Yes there is, give them all an invitation to the Divorce party... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭ukoda

feed them well and keep them from standing around. thats it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Keeping people happy is overrated and makes you unhappy.

Just revel in the fact that someone, somewhere, is pissed off with you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Dose the wine with ecstasy and you should be alright…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I was chatting to a neighbour (crusty old bugger much like myself), he said these days he much prefers funerals
      • no present
      • no dressing up
      • look as rough as you like in fact probably the rougher the better
      • no making idle chit-chat with people you can't stand
      • the person you couldn't stand could well be in the box
      • no seating plan. Sit where the craic is.
      • chance to catch up with people you hadn't seen in a while.

Couldn't really disagree:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭BobMc

had some laugh at some of these, my own

- Meal Venue to far away and no conection with the area for either bride or groom (us expecting venue to be out of this world only seeing as they're making us travel all this way to discover kip of country house hotel)

- speeches before meal and length of speeches, in my opinion, feed the crowd, once fed and watered they'll be more relaxed, this trying to get them out of the way due to nerves etc is bull****, these people are here to celebrate with you,
      prepare well, keep em short and everyone will love them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Don't try to! :) Do what you want, keep your guests well feed and watered and you're sorted.

ToTriOrNot wrote: »

It's interesting that you should link to Gijon there, I worked with a girl from there. One summer day, it was 25 degrees C in Cork where we were. We were all commenting on how hot it was. She was like "This isn't hot at all, this is normal summer weather at home". She didn't even consider it particularly warm, never mind hot. Whereas for most Irish people, it's amazing weather!

because we thought it was nauseating to be invited by a child? we must have all been so.

For everyone to be sneering at it was not very nice, despite their own views on the invite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭berrecka

Serving a better meal to the top table. I was at one in a really fancy hotel where the top table all got steaks while the other guests got slices of roast beef.
      Was at another wedding during a really hot summers day in a church (stiflingly hot) where the priest said "right I have ye now, its a lovely Saturday afternoon, Im in no hurry". An unbelievably long ceremony ensued, followed by photos in the church, which we had to sit through too as then B&G were to walk back down the aisle as newlyweds afterwards. We entered the church at 1.30, got out at 4pm!
      Have been to a few where we have had to drive hours between church and venue. I always find I'm gasping for a drink by the time I get there, and usually end up drinking too much.
      Have been to 2 where the guests were in two separate rooms for dinner as the venues didn't have a function room big enough for all the guests. Top table, important people, speeches etc in one room, lesser guests in the another - you really don't feel like you are part of the celebration.

The best weddings I have been to are the low key, good craic ones. Never mind the fancy locations, fancy décor, or costly gimmicks. Make it easy for guests to get there. Spend whatever budget you have on good food (that definitely doesn't have to mean expensive food) and booze - keep it coming throughout the day, and supply as much as you can possibly afford. Don't leave your guests waiting for you all day (brides late arrival, going missing for hours for photos, announcing have the wedding before dinner, speeches on empty stomachs etc). Have fun with your guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭ToTriOrNot

Tarzana2 wrote: »
      It's interesting that you should link to Gijon there, I worked with a girl from there. One summer day, it was 25 degrees C in Cork where we were. We were all commenting on how hot it was. She was like "This isn't hot at all, this is normal summer weather at home". She didn't even consider it particularly warm, never mind hot. Whereas for most Irish people, it's amazing weather!

I wonder if she's the same girl I know in Cork from Gijon (even though I am sure there is plenty living here)
      Anyway, we have drag this off topic enough, we will have to agree to disagree...temperatures in the norht are not as hot as Spain has reputation form. Saying that, I am starting to question the averages I have been quoting.
      http://www.holiday-weather.com/madrid/averages/
      It's a long time since I was last living there, but I can remember higher temps for July and August!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Not knowing what is going on or what the guest are expected to do annoys me.. It is fine if it is all in the one spot but if it is in different areas it is a balls. You don't know what time you are to be there for the reception, for dinner..What time the music is on all that goes

lazygal wrote: »
      Yeah when I'm looking for the craic nothing beats mass with a wedding ceremony shoved in the middle of it, with people who've never followed the teachings anyway.

Well it's that of a weekday wedding with the civil ceremonies only being mon-fri

ToTriOrNot wrote: »
      Anyway, we have drag this off topic enough, we will have to agree to disagree...temperatures in the norht are not as hot as Spain has reputation form.

Of course they wouldn't be as hot as southern Spain, but they'd still be far higher than Ireland.

But yeah, enough about that! :D

Not sending thank you cards are a biggie with me.

Was at a wedding five days before Christmas last year, that was awkward for everyone to get to and far away from where either of the couples are from and from airports and urban centres.

A year has passed with no thank you card. How self-absorbed can you get? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I was invited to a wedding a few years ago and they invitations were from the couples 3 year old daughter - so it went like this (made up names)

"Annie Smith would like to invite you to the wedding of her mammy mary and daddy john etc..."

They might have thought it was cute, but everyone was sneering at it.

I think this is pukesville.

As far as I remember Ryan Tubridy and his wife to be had their child announce their engagement in the papers.......and look how it turned out for them :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Mumm_ra

Just getting invited to a wedding is enough to top my list of things to piss off guests.

haha whats your address ill send you an invite..

Have to say the thank you card thing wouldn't bother me at all if they sent them or didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Rose35

Got engaged at christmas, we have a two year old, when it comes to the invites he will feature in the invites for sure after all we are a family and come as one, we just had the child before the marriage........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Rose35 wrote: »
      Got engaged at christmas, we have a two year old, when it comes to the invites he will feature in the invites for sure after all we are a family and come as one, we just had the child before the marriage........

But you're not marrying your child?! :confused:

True whos name are you going to put the babys after!!

But you're not marrying your child?! :confused:

I didn't say I was, I said he is a big part of our relationship and with this next step we are taking he will be a big part of that too and he will be included in the invites that we will send out, don't see why anyone should have a problem with that to be honest

Milly33 wrote: »
      True whos name are you going to put the babys after!!

Was that question for me?????? Don't understand what you mean ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

Anyone who has a wedding on any day other than a Fri, Sat or Sun.

There's no way I'm using 2 days of my precious work leave to attend a wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Rose35 wrote: »
      I didn't say I was, I said he is a big part of our relationship and with this next step we are taking he will be a big part of that too and he will be included in the invites that we will send out, don't see why anyone should have a problem with that to be honest

Because your child is not getting married.