Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Booked ST and S60 in for nct within 10 minutes of each other in Castlerea.

Got a text this evening saying i have a day/time for in 2 weeks, they 5 minutes later i get another text and i suddenly realise that i could be in a pickle as test centre is 45 mins away.

Luckily 2nd test is following day :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

GvidoR wrote: »
    Drove past Charlestown, there was some weird, green-ish rotating light pointed up in the air.

Aliens?

I'm telling you the truth is out there. They caught me a few times but won't get me again. I have a tin foil hat in all. I also have alien radar installed in the car. I spot them before they spot me.

Long shot but does anyone here in the general Limerick area have Volvo VIDA DICE? Need to get to the bottom of this chugging issue. Putting it off far too long at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Long shot but does anyone here in the general Limerick area have Volvo VIDA DICE? Need to get to the bottom of this chugging issue. Putting it off far too long at this stage.

Was the throttle body cleaned out properly ?

i had similar where the s80 would idle a little bit rough, out with the throttle body and a lad went at it with a toothbrush and made it brand new shiny and didnt have a problem again.

I do have vida/dice but not in limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

i had similar where the s80 would idle a little bit rough, out with the throttle body and a lad went at it with a toothbrush and made it brand new shiny and didnt have a problem again.

Well if you want I'll take it of your hands and take a spin down during the week or whenever?

I'll give that a go too.

Was your acceleration and power affected before you got it cleaned?

I spent 140e on mine and used it once :p

Is your throttle body a magnetti or Bosch Snotty ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

As I was getting my cvrt done today the amount of 141 vans being done was unreal. I can only imagine if nct started that with cars there would be war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Not only does the front window washer seem to allow water up on both front and rear (there's a seperate switch for the rear), it now sprays the water INSIDE the back window onto the parcel shelf, what :confused:

Dafuuuuq??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Why can't people juat be f*ckin honest for a f*cking change.

I ring up to buy a car. Question number 2 is always does the car drive? It does and drives very well. Grand Can I have a look bla bla bla.

I'm after busting my arse getting from Camlough to Tipp town to look at a car that was supposedly running but needs tightening up.

Arrive and the first thing "oh I thought you had a trailer"

Not a puff from the exhaust, not a higgle from the engine, not a hope of it going even with a 110ah 1200cca lorrey battery attached.

I have wasted several hours of my life and worse still someone elses lookin at yet another f*cking hippo of a car. I'm only headig back now, miles and miles away. I'm also up at 6 am just to make it all the better.

I'm fairly disappointed to say the least, I should have known better.

Last time was in Leitrim, van and trailer to look at a chicken coop I was told was a running car that needed work.

Don't really know why I bother sometimes, I really don't

Dafuuuuq??

I dunno, some major problem with the washer system. I'm guessing the pipe that brings water to the back window is broke, just above the boot door, allowing the water in.

Maybe! it might be something to do for tomorrow or something

Huh will have to wait until the weekend. Curse the dark evenings :mad: It's so annoying, because usually I nearly go through a full "tank" of washer fluid a week, with all the minging spray that builds up on the windscreen. When the windscreen gets so bad, I have to spray it, and of course que the back wiper having a spasm and drench my parcel shelf :pac:

I spent 140e on mine and used it once :p

Is your throttle body a magnetti or Bosch Snotty ?

I think its Bosch. I'm not sure but judging by some other sites the 2002 2.0T S60 uses this ETM. Apparently Volvo changed from Magnetti to Bosch from 2002 onwards. I could be wrong.

Anyway, a very generous fellow Limerick man who shares the first name as me has offered me the use of his scanner next week! YAY! :D

Huh will have to wait until the weekend. Curse the dark evenings :mad: It's so annoying, because usually I nearly go through a full "tank" of washer fluid a week, with all the minging spray that builds up on the windscreen. When the windscreen gets so bad, I have to spray it, and of course que the back wiper having a spasm and drench my parcel shelf :pac:

Dark evenings are a cnut all right :( I'd say maybe get a diagram of the washer system or something?

I think its Bosch. I'm not sure but judging by some other sites the 2002 2.0T S60 uses this ETM. Apparently Volvo changed from Magnetti to Bosch from 2002 onwards. I could be wrong.

Anyway, a very generous fellow Limerick man who shares the first name as me has offered me the use of his scanner next week! YAY! :D

No you are right.

The Bosch unit rarely fails electronically only the odd time mechanically as they made the sensors on the throttle body contactless.

I took mine to sent it to uk to be fitted with contactless sensors but once it was out realised it was a bosch so i just cleaned the hell out of it.

Problem continued.

Dark evenings are a cnut all right  I'd say maybe get a diagram of the washer system or something?

Yar that's what I was thinking. Will have a root around for one!

Grand! I'm lowering mine next week, much excitement :D

By how much?

No you are right.

The Bosch unit rarely fails electronically only the odd time mechanically as they made the sensors on the throttle body contactless.

I took mine to sent it to uk to be fitted with contactless sensors but once it was out realised it was a bosch so i just cleaned the hell out of it.

Problem continued.

Is it a pig to get out? Looking at some videos here. Some make it look easy, some don't.

It was in getting troubleshot ta feck by my mechanic and he took it out for me so i could sent it out while it was sat up

By how much?

30mm, genuine saab suspension and all ;) tis not modded at all gard! which it's not really!

30mm, genuine saab suspension and all  tis not modded at all gard! which it's not really!

Oh yes yes yes, is this parts from the donor car?

Tis! and then im putting my parts on it, then once everything is sprayed and wired up, the build is almost done! bar two rather pricey things but generally it'l be complete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

30mm, genuine saab suspension and all ;) tis not modded at all gard! which it's not really!

I didn't realise that it was slammed on cut springs or had a massive turbo Mr insurer

It was in getting troubleshot ta feck by my mechanic and he took it out for me so i could sent it out while it was sat up

It looks like a bloody knuckles, crushed fingers job but that never stopped me before. Sure we'll give it a go and see what happens.

I didn't realise that it was slammed on cut springs or had a massive turbo Mr insurer

That's how i got it! I swear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

It looks like a bloody knuckles, crushed fingers job but that never stopped me before. Sure we'll give it a go and see what happens.

Definitely get it out. You can get it out easier by having a mirror resting down the gap so you can see what your doing.

It could be filled with gunk from bad fuel or not enough motorway blasts that those cars like :D

First time I've ever heard of the Gardaí doing this.

Meath Traffic Unit detained car on Sat Night for a PSV Inspection due to suspicions about modifications to car, a strip down of the rear differential revealed ( see both photos attached) that the owner had deliberately welded the differential for the purpose of performing stunts, this makes the car very dangerous to use on public roads as it will no longer be able to steer properly

Pic 1, Pic 2

Car is a S15 btw. A PSV inspection on a S15? :confused: