How much for a haircut?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

faceman wrote: »
    Of course they are. But we're not taking about status symbol sportscars here. The comparison makes no sense. We're taking hair cuts. If people are willing to pay over €20 for something you can get for half that price to the same standard and above, well that just doesn't economic sense to me.

I'm just talking about a standard dry cut here btw.

I don't believe the haircuts are of the same standard.

Granted, my hair is now a bit of a speciality because the beard and the way I get it cut but no barber has used a cut throat razor on me to sharpen up lines unless its a +20 euro hair cut joint. Lotions, gels, foams are all used in a more expensive barbers whereas a cheaper shop wi give you some brylcreme and a slap on the arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

im gonna go out on a limb here and say that whoever cuts their own hair is doing a blade all over and not styling with a scissors etc :P

If I go for a haircut I have to find parking, pay for parking, walk to the Barbers and so on. About 10 years ago I bought a clipper set in Argos. It has 12mm, 9mm, 7mm , 5mm blades. It also has graduated left and right edging pieces for the locks and the back. I use the 9mm on the top and 7mm side and back and then the graduated pieces on the neck line and the front side and locks. Trim front with scissors and get wife to check that neck shave is square. I spend between 10 and 15 minutes every week, so my hair always looks the same.
    I appreciate that a lot of people take more pride and effort in their image but if its presentable and clean cut and looks at least equal to any barbers effort I have been to, its good enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

What always pi$$es on my chips is if I go into the barbers and there is one guy already in the chair.

He has 4 maybe 5 hairs on his head and the hairdresser is going to give each hair 5 minutes of attention.

Come on - life is too short.

Nothing against baldy chaps, I'm sure you love kids and are kind to the dog, but really.:mad:

Feel better now Pookey - sure do :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Lol, try being a woman. Usually costs me about €100. That's for a haircut, half head of highlights, and a blow dry. I usually get it done every six months, so it's not too bad.

Some girls I know who have naturally brown hair need to get their blonde highlights done every 6 weeks, must cost a fortune!

Set me back about €220 every 2 months when I was a blondie. Back to brunette now so only have to pay a meagre 100 squids or so every time :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

My haircut is €7. Wouldn't pay more than a tenner.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I don't believe the haircuts are of the same standard.

Granted, my hair is now a bit of a speciality because the beard and the way I get it cut but no barber has used a cut throat razor on me to sharpen up lines unless its a +20 euro hair cut joint. Lotions, gels, foams are all used in a more expensive barbers whereas a cheaper shop wi give you some brylcreme and a slap on the arse

Ah there's the difference. You're looking for something a little different than the standard dry cut. Therefore it is a different, (forgive the pun), product you're getting.

Although fwiw my barber uses high quality gel and lotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭kalych

Back on the topic of women's cuts v men's cuts. Was at this place in London, unisex, but mostly for women. The whole premise of their business model was that if you are a woman and want to cut your hair short you should be charged same as a man's cut. 20 pound I think it was. So as a man one should feel privileged as we aren't ripped off as much as we could have been.

Back on the topic. In and around 20 is ok. Anything more and it better be really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

kalych wrote: »
    . Anything more and it better be really good.

Now i must admit, it is a damn good hair cut! one of the lads got a budget cut the other day and it looks awful.

If they keep cutting my hair in what i believe to be a very high standard, i will keep going back.

So the cut is, 2 back and sides, tightish on top all pointing like a V or mohawk but not extreme(think Seth McFarlane) with the beard tight on the sides of the face with the chin blended in to grow the hair downwards and inch or a half. All natural lines done with the straight razor....jobs a good'un

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Dry cut €10 and a grand job it is too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I pay £5 at my barbers, so around €6.50ish (?). That's 'mates' rates' though, I'd say £10 was the norm for most people I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

100 every 6 weeks....I'll let you do the maths!

€866 a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I used to get it done for 5 euro. Now Ive moved and havent had a cut in 2ish years. Need to try a place that wont make a balls of a guy with long hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Barbers serve drinks now? Wtf :confused:

I pay a tenner for mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

€12 in both of the places I go. If I can find a parking space nearby, I nip in. Takes no more than 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Burkie94

Grafton barber do it for 9 quid if you've a student card and you get in before 12 on a weekday. 23 quid otherwise but I don't mind paying it.

Used to do it myself, give it a 1 or 2 all over but the eldest brother started going bald so I said I'd use it while I have it!
    Do miss the lack of fuss though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

Haven't had to pay for a haircut in years :) My wife cuts mine for me.

On the extremely rare occasions that I've needed to go to a barbers, there is a local place. Last time I was there I paid somewhere between 7 and 10 euros. Anything above that and I'm not interested.

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

About tree fiddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

110 yesterday for a cut and colour. Down from about 180 as going for the cheap option these days.

Mind you, I look fabulous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

faceman wrote: »
    Of course they are. But we're not taking about status symbol sportscars here. The comparison makes no sense. We're taking hair cuts. If people are willing to pay over €20 for something you can get for half that price to the same standard and above, well that just doesn't economic sense to me

Status symbol sports cars? There's more to a Lamborghini than status symbols. You've missed the point. Performance, technology, noise, smell, soul, history, engineering, handling, esthetics etc... I know a Lamborghini owner and she keeps it locked up, she takes it out for her (and only her) pleasure.

Look, it's a personal choice. A €23 haircut won't be the same as a €10 haircut. I get my hair washed and gently "fluffed up" and dried by and attractive girl or a strong handed gentleman, he/she will then cut and style my hair in the way I want it, use a straight razor to neaten things up, and then (pleasure) will give me a robust head massage with a tonic. Chinese girls or men, Pakistan men, Indian men, Syrian men... all different, but epic in their own way. I really like it, it's relaxing and I think it's really worth it. I don't get my hair cut very often, but when I do, I want it to be nice.

I don't sneer at people that spend less on a haircut. That's your choice. You should live and let live.

As Oscar said, "I have the simplest of tastes. I'm always satisfied with the best"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Kat97

About 20 because I'm a student. I personally wouldn't pay more than 40 !

I have really long, thick hair and everytime I go it's just 2 inches off and cut straight across. I also have one or two layers so I couldn't do it myself. I don't have a colour in it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Matta Harri

Around the €35 for a wash cut and blow dry. Still my natural colour so don't dye yet. She's good so hope she's stays around.

Used to go to Dublin every two months to get it done. €85 for wash cut and blow dry. But then he fecked off to London and I couldn't be bothered travelling for 2 hours for a mediocre cut from one of the others.

A good hairdresser is a hard find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I used to pay over €20. It was a waste as it grows so quickly that a week later it would be unmanageable again. I then went to a different hairdressers who only charged €10. He used to do a decent job but for some reason started to make a mess of it. I then found somewhere else that also charged €10. It was fairly hit and miss whether I would get a good haircut there so a few months ago I bought a hair clipper in Argos.

I now shave my hair grade 5 every week or two and do as good a job as any hairdresser would. It actually looks better than some 'professional' haircuts I've had. It's just long enough that it doesn't have a shaved look and I can spike it up a little with some styling wax. There are only two problems. One is that I would like to leave the top slightly longer than the back and sides but that would be too difficult to do. The other is that it's difficult to shave the end of your hair just over your neck neatly. I manage to get it reasonably neat using a beard trimmer with no comb attachment and a scissors. It's not perfect but it's good enough.

I have the kind of hair that even if I got the worlds best haircut it wouldn't last. I used to have my hair long enough to put a parting in but as soon as a gust of wind hit it it would look terrible for the rest of the day. I also have a double crown which makes my hair stick out in about five different directions and makes me look like I'm bald. My hair looks best when it's short and spiked and it seems like a waste to pay someone to do what I could do myself.

I don't understand why anyone would get their beard trimmed in a barbers. You could buy a beard trimmer in Argos or Tesco for about €30 or €40. I don't get why anyone would get a hot towel shave either. Your stubble just grows back the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

110 yesterday for a cut and colour. Down from about 180 as going for the cheap option these days.

Mind you, I look fabulous.

I did get highlights a couple of times in the hairdressers but I just can't justify spending that amount of money on my hair. I've gotten very good with the home dying products though, with a bit of help from the daughter (pulling the hair through the cap etc) costs me about a tenner or so and I've been complimented on it several times so that'll do for me. Regular trims every 10/12 weeks keep it in good condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Usually €12 or €13 and I'll throw in €2 into the aul tip jar. That's for a trim with the scissors and blade 2/3 on the sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭stek

Cut my own, not so much due to cost but more convenience. Can get out of bed cut hair then have shower all within a 1/2 hour.. One less thing to do in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭moleyv

15e dry and 17e wet. Great job, tidy up with cut throat and thin out my mane every time too.

Got a cut for a fiver couple years back, came out feeling like my hair had been raped.