Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much for a haircut?

• 04-01-2015 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭

Went to the Barbers today and had a lovely hair cut and beard trim, . I was in the chair for about 35 minutes and it was very relaxing.

The haircut cost €23 euro and i could take a bottle of bud whilst waiting if i so pleased but i didnt, had the car.

How much do you pay for your cut on?

How much is ok for a hair cut? 243 votes

Do it yourself
    0% 0 votes
    €0 - €5
    14% 36 votes
    €5 - €10
    2% 6 votes
    €10 -€20
    29% 72 votes
    €20 - €30
    48% 117 votes
    €30 + (hardly any males pay more??)
    4% 12 votes

I never get the whole beer and haircut thing. My local offers it too, but they just don't go together for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

I never get the whole beer and haircut thing. My local offers it too, but they just don't go together for me

not me..yet! But i can understand if its a Groom and best man double team or something like that....

Always an indicator I was about to be ripped off if they offered a beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

It all depends what's offered. If you go to a barbers, get tea/coffee, or a beer in this case, beard and eyebrows trim as well as hair, then anything up to €30 is acceptable. If it's just a simple in and out haircut then anything more than €15 is taking the piss.

Always an indicator I was about to be ripped off if they offered a beer.

i dont consider 23 euro a rip off if im honest. The cut is always good and im talking about a full beard aswell. Plus they offer tea and coffee.

I have had some truely awful cuts for sub 10 euro in my time. Not all of them but some have been so bad i have gone to another barbers to sort it!

I try get a hair cut every 5 - 7 weeks since i grew the beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

After about half a dozen cuts, my clippers have already more than paid for them selfs a few times over based on the OPs rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Anywhere between 10 and 15 and I am happy. It is worth paying a decent amount for a proper cut I think.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    After about half a dozen cuts, my clippers have already more than paid for them selfs a few times over based on the OPs rate.

yeah but what are you doing? a blade all over? i dont want that cut so cant do it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

E7.50 in my barbers. 2 blade back and sides, inch off the top with the scissors. Takes 5-10 minutes with minimum fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

yeah but what are you doing? a blade all over? i dont want that cut so cant do it myself

I am the same and believe me I have tried giving myself my own haircut...didn't end well at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

€65, wha? I'm worth it. :p

I am the same and believe me I have tried giving myself my own haircut...didn't end well at all.

Try removing a couple of ribs, prince-style?

€65, wha? I'm worth it. :p

filthy dirty lies

i dont consider 23 euro a rip off if im honest. The cut is always good and im talking about a full beard aswell. Plus they offer tea and coffee.

I have had some truely awful cuts for sub 10 euro in my time. Not all of them but some have been so bad i have gone to another barbers to sort it!

I try get a hair cut every 5 - 7 weeks since i grew the beard

That is a good price then, just wherever I've gone before if they offer me a beer I'm getting charged at least 20 euro + for a dry cut.
    It really depends on the quality too, I spend 14 euro now at a place because I like the staff and they haven't fcked my head up yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

filthy dirty lies

True dat, I wouldn't spend 65 squid on hair cuts over 2 years. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I got tired of getting my haircut. I don't have a car, so I'd have to walk a bit (say 10 minutes) to get there. Then I'd sit and wait for 10-20 minutes. Then I'd get my hair cut, it wouldn't take them very long - maybe another 10-15 minutes. Then I'd pay ~12 euro and walk back home. In total, it would end up taking 60-90 minutes and I'd always need to change my shirt cause it'd be all itchy and stuff.

I'd go every 5-6 weeks too, so that's maybe 100 quid per year...but it was mostly the hassle of walking and waiting.

I paid 20 euro for a set of clippers and now I do it myself. The first time was the hardest, I almost gave up. I usually do a #4 on the sides, a #8 on the top, and then use scissors on the very front. Now it's easy, takes me 25 minutes to cut my hair, clean up the mess, and take a shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

€45. Free tea or coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭major deegan

€13 dry cut , takes 20 mins ... No tea/ coffee/ beer!

Cathy.C wrote: »
    €45. Free tea or coffee.

i can imagine 45 euro not being too bad for a ladies cut??

The barbers i use are fairly well known with a few branches in Dublin. When i went in today they had 5 hair dressers at work. And all of them are very good at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,903 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I pay a tenner for number 2 all over, tried doing it myself once and made a hames of it so won't go down that route again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

€15 and a loyalty card with every 5th cut free. €2 tip. Always have a decent cup of tea and give a quality cut.

What I don't like is when they try and pull the scalp off your scull dressed up as a head massage. WTF is that all about?

Having said all that I have a Phillips clippers with a swivel head for doing it myself in the summer. No point paying €15 for a number 2 all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I'm not big into hairdressing and just have it machined all over.

Went into yer wan young Eastern European.

"How you like?"
    "Number 2 all over please."

"All your hair?"
    "Yes please - number 2 all over."

"All your hair?"
    "Yes please."

"All your hair?"
    "Well just on my head today, eh?"

Possibly over did it, because rest of the haircut was in stony silence.

All right for €9 :D.

im gonna go out on a limb here and say that whoever cuts their own hair is doing a blade all over and not styling with a scissors etc :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

30 quid plus tip of a fiver. Wash cut and blow dry. Cup of tea and I'm in and out in 30-40 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭AdFundum

€22 at Grafton Barber on Baggot Street. They do a thorough job, beard trim (I've more beard hair than head hair), wash before or after if you want, tea/coffee/beer. They are meticulous. And, however they wrap you, I have never had that itch feeling that can ruin a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

im gonna go out on a limb here and say that whoever cuts their own hair is doing a blade all over and not styling with a scissors etc :P

There's quite a few youtube instructions on how to cut your own hair - never tried it though - but yes most would be the same all over I imagine.

I do the husbands - bare blade all over every 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Where I used to live , you could get a haircut and tattoo in the same place.

In saying that they arguably the worst barbers on the plant , one my young lads went in one day and came home with a haircut that looked like half a hedgehog stuck on the side of his head .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

€45. Free tea or coffee.

Jesus wept....

€8-10 depending on where I go.

€45. Free tea or coffee.

At that price I'd be expecting the tea in a fine china cup, to be served by a scantly glad female.

But then i'm guessing thats for a ladies cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

15yoyo in the square barber at Lincoln place, D2. 4 sides and short on top.

Great place and a quality job every time.

1-4 depending on mood.
    I pay a tenner for number 2 all over, tried doing it myself once and made a hames of it so won't go down that route again.

How do you make a hames of it if doing the same blade all over. I do mine front to back, left to right, and visa versa all over to take in to account hair growing in various directions, and to catch any strays, so I dont make a hames of it. Ensuring your blades are well looked after, and only cutting washed hair will also give better results.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

€16 for me usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

If you use your lawnmower it will only cost a few cent in petrol!
    I would pay €10 in the barbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭kenmccarthy

€10 for me, €8 for the boy......€20 inc the tip.......grand job/everyone's happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

20 quid, takes the cut throat to the head hot towel shave style. some job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

I didn't know so many women in this thread had beards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭evancmurphy00

€10 for 1 back and sides and scissors on top. Also get a free lollipop which makes the haircut to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

12 euro for me usually!!
    get it cut every 3 weeks or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Lol, try being a woman. Usually costs me about €100. That's for a haircut, half head of highlights, and a blow dry. I usually get it done every six months, so it's not too bad.

Some girls I know who have naturally brown hair need to get their blonde highlights done every 6 weeks, must cost a fortune!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Cut my own. Clippers cost twenty euro years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

€28 for a wash and cut. I'd round it up to €35. I don't have a beard, so it's just for the standard cut and style. I'd consider it excellent value considering the attention to detail and the products used - American Crew shampoo, conditioner and finishing tonic. The chap who does it for me is sound as well.
    It's really not possible to get a decent cut for around €8. It has to be one of these examples where people are 'penny rich and pound poor'. Thinking you're getting a great deal, then wandering around for the next few weeks looking like you were attacked by a rogue model helicopter. Maybe even ending up here giving out about why women won't talk to you on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Lol, try being a woman. Usually costs me about €100. That's for a haircut, half head of highlights, and a blow dry. I usually get it done every six months, so it's not too bad.

Some girls I know who have naturally brown hair need to get their blonde highlights done every 6 weeks, must cost a fortune!

100 every 6 weeks....I'll let you do the maths!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Wow. Some of you people are bonkers paying that kind of money for a haircut.

I pay €9.50 and I tip €2. Two lads run the place and they have you in and out in no time. None of that "Ooh have a beer while you wait" horsecrap. They have a few newspapers, that's all you need.

That price includes any tidying up of the beard I need too. They're really good.

faceman wrote: »
    Wow. Some of you people are bonkers paying that kind of money for a haircut.

I pay €9.50 and I tip €2. Two lads run the place and they have you in and out in no time. None of that "Ooh have a beer while you wait" horsecrap. They have a few newspapers, that's all you need.

That price includes any tidying up of the beard I need too. They're really good.

But can a decent haircut be done in an "In and out" timeframe?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 Radon Alien

£20 here. I can't wait to move home in a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

€28 for a wash and cut. I'd round it up to €35. I don't have a beard, so it's just for the standard cut and style. I'd consider it excellent value considering the attention to detail and the products used - American Crew shampoo, conditioner and finishing tonic. The chap who does it for me is sound as well.
    It's really not possible to get a decent cut for around €8. It has to be one of these examples where people are 'penny rich and pound poor'. Thinking you're getting a great deal, then wandering around for the next few weeks looking like you were attacked by a rogue model helicopter. Maybe even ending up here giving out about why women won't talk to you on a night out.

You're full of ****e!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

faceman wrote: »
    Wow. Some of you people are bonkers paying that kind of money for a haircut

Are some people crazy for paying Lamborghini prices for Lamborghini's? Horses for courses, some people are ok with a €5 cut, some aren't. Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

100 every 6 weeks....I'll let you do the maths!

Or more! I only get a half head, some people get a full head of highlights which costs more. All depends on where you go of course..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Are some people crazy for paying Lamborghini prices for Lamborghini's? Horses for courses, some people are ok with a €5 cut, some aren't. Wow.

Agreed. Appearance is also extremely important, so it wouldn't be an area where thrift should be considered. €15 quid extra in the wallet, but looking like you had your hair cut by the barber in San Quentin State Prison.

I'll pay my 'outrageous prices', thank you very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Or more! I only get a half head, some people get a full head of highlights which costs more. All depends on where you go of course..

do people not do it at home anymore??
    ive couple of sisters who wreaked the carpet growing up with hair dye/bleach