Boring pets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Karl Stein wrote: »
    They can be but they can also be loveable, charming, and funny. Cats make great pets which is why they are the world's most popular pet.

I have a cat. All lovey dovey and then we feed him and he's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Pet rocks was a real fad in the '70s

We once had fish who lived in a tank in the kitchen and they used to line up and watch US eating our dinner. Absolutely true fact.

One of them used to fling himself out of the tank sometimes and be found gasping on the floor;
    And also our cat used to sometimes be found near the tank with wet paws and a guilty expression!

So he had quite an exciting life, all in all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Jaysus, WTF with people and Fish Tanks these days. I know at least 4 people that got those stupid Fish tanks and spend a fortune on them.
    1 buddy already sick of it and looking for someone to take it from him.

Fish, what a stupid pet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

goldfish...never again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Cats have staff.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

@ ShadowHearth, our "fish tank" was an old Ballygowan water-cooler; sort of a giant plastic bottle with the top sawed off.

No expense was incurred, LOL. Even the fish were pretty cheap. That same one, Rincewind, lasted a whole year - he had Fish Magic in his fins LoL, and nine lives like his enemy, the cat. I just gave him a fresh jugful of water every couple of days.
    Oops silly me - #watercharges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

KKkitty wrote: »
    I have fish in a tank and find them boring enough. What other pets can be deemed as boring?

It gets exciting when you teach them to drive it!

Have tried but they forget it too quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

katemarch wrote: »
    @ ShadowHearth, our "fish tank" was an old Ballygowan water-cooler; sort of a giant plastic bottle with the top sawed off.

No expense was incurred, LOL. Even the fish were pretty cheap. That same one, Rincewind, lasted a whole year - he had Fish Magic in his fins LoL, and nine lives like his enemy, the cat. I just gave him a fresh jugful of water every couple of days.

No wonder he left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Karl Stein wrote: »
    They can be but they can also be loveable, charming, and funny. Cats make great pets which is why they are the world's most popular pet.

No way? Even more popular than dogs? :eek:

Hairy Japanesse bastards.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Actually ...

With my 10 fish they wouldn't know if they were coming or going in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

katemarch wrote: »

Did he take the Luggage when he left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

No way? Even more popular than dogs? :eek:

Hairy Japanesse bastards.

When the cats decide to take over they will remember their friends. Mine are planning it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

syklops wrote: »
    Cats. Its all meow meow meow.

FYP!

I always think people who have snakes or spiders for pets are a bit odd, what can you do with them besides watch them eat other living things?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Not a dog anyway!

Woshy wrote: »
    FYP!

I always think people who have snakes or spiders for pets are a bit odd, what can you do with them besides watch them eat other living things?

They're fine for a zoo type place but don't get having them as pets either. Suppose with snakes they shed skin but not much else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

First Up wrote: »
    When the cats decide to take over they will remember their friends. Mine are planning it now.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Woshy wrote: »
    FYP!

I'm all for tolerance and all that but I'd wonder about someone who bonds with a tarantula the way I'd bond with a cat/dog. Each to their own I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I have two boring goldfish myself and they're beautiful little scaley babies with magnificant eyes sticking out of both sides of their head

I've a beautiful 12 year tabby cat at home also who scopes up the two boys at certain times. He wants to get them out and do them over. Him deciding how he will attack the two lads before I stop it is about as exciting it gets for my pets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I had sea monkeys when I was younger. They weren't that interesting when the novelty wore off.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

First Up wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

My brother had a pet tarantula when he was 15. Now there was a boring creature. The thing just sat in its box all day. Even when he'd lob in frozen or dried grasshoppers and stuff to feed it, it just sat there. The odd time it did decide to do anything, it'd usually just slowly creep around the place.

Even the time it "escaped", it was found still in his room, just sitting on his desk, doing nothing.

Same with snakes. Friend of mine had a pet snake. I expected a bit of life out of it, but nope. Just lay there, with the evil eyes and the odd flick of the tongue.

Fish are like a carnival compared to spiders and snakes, to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Snakes. People who own snakes are weirdos imo. The snakes lie there doing nothing and are creepy as fcuk.

Cue story: "My friends cousin had a snake and it was lieing on the bed beside her" rabble rabble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭conor2469

KKkitty wrote: »
    With my 10 fish they wouldn't know if they were coming or going in that.

Get 10 tanks, imagine the possibilities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

Snakes. People who own snakes are weirdos imo. The snakes lie there doing nothing and are creepy as fcuk.

Cue story: "My friends cousin had a snake and it was lieing on the bed beside her" rabble rabble

Bingo. Snakes are grand out in the jungles or whatever. But I would never want to live under the same roof as one. Inconsiderate bastards from what I've heard.

And yeah, the old urban legend doesn't take long to come racing to the surface, does it? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

My mate had a little terrapin when we were younger and it disappeared. He told us his dog decided to drink out of the terrapin bowl and somehow swallowed it.

So speculation over terrapingate certainly wasn't boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

That fish on wheels reminds me of a wasp on a string.

Step 1: Catch a wasp in a jam jar
    Step 2: Leave it in the freezer for a few mins to knock the wasp out
    Step 3: Tie string around wasp
    Step 4: Give the wasp some fresh air, in order to come 2
    Step 5: Wasp regains consciousness
    Step 6: Bring your new pet wasp for a leisurely walk

conor2469 wrote: »
    Get 10 tanks, imagine the possibilities

Well I know which one would win :D