What's so great about Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

JaseHeath wrote: »
    I love Australian people! They just cut through the nonsense and get to the bloody point a lot quicker than most. No chit-chat, no foreplay, straight to business. Some people find that "rude" or "abrasive" or something. Not me, I find it refreshing and a nice change of pace.

The weather is just stunning.

Scenery in some areas is simply breathtaking.

The only downside for me is the animals, particularly those of the snakes and spiders bent. I was there about 3 years ago, and one morning when I was wandering to the bathroom after getting up, this thing about the size of my head with eight big long legs appeared out of the bath. I screamed like a girl and legged it out of the house (in my underwear), hyperventilating and nearly crying. I'm not normally scared of spiders, but this was no spider. T'was a remorseless killing machine. My relatives got a good laugh out of it, but I never felt sheer terror like it in my life. Never ran so fast in my life either.

The dangerous critters are a bit overhyped, as if they're around the next street corner to get you, in 8 months I just saw one redback, one fairly large rainforest type spider with a legspan about the size of a dinnerplate and a (dead) huntsman and the odd snake or two...a cassowary, some (baby) sharks and sea snakes....all in the wild...no big deal. Just like women, they're probably more afraid of you than you are of them.

Also; they got penguins! :D If I had to pick a fave it would be a Tasmanian Devil, mad looking yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

mad muffin wrote: »

I'm with you on that.Irish people have a strange inclination to blurt out crude,negative generalizations about certain countries-namely-USA,Australia and Britain and use the addendum of "craic" or banter.

However,watch the back and shoulder hairs bristle when Ol Hibernia herself comes in for a bit o' banter-like that thread recently where Germans made a quip about paying for the Irish-right on que came the Nazi references and the "how dare they" type comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Billy86 wrote: »
    Are you just really attached to Ireland or is there some reason you would dread Australia so much in particular?

Not attached as such, but it's my home. I like our climate. Sure, I wish our summers could be better, but I like the rain and cold in the winter. I don't fancy watching my nieces or nephews growing up on Skype or my own children only knowing their grandparents through a computer screen, never being able to get a cuddle from them.

I just doesn't appeal to me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Not attached as such, but it's my home. I like our climate. Sure, I wish our summers could be better, but I like the rain and cold in the winter. I don't fancy watching my nieces or nephews growing up on Skype or my own children only knowing their grandparents through a computer screen, never being able to get a cuddle from them.

I just doesn't appeal to me at all.

Ah right that makes sense, it's the "I hate Australia, never been and never will!" types that just make no sense to me. Not just for Australia mind, just in general. How you like the rain however I have no idea, the only type of weather I just can't f***ing abide by! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Remmy wrote: »
    It's where Bodhi got killed at the end of point break

We can't be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

It's not that great it's just that people flood Facebook and Twitter with statuses about how great it is, just so it looks like they wanted to be there and everyone that's not there is missing out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

crockholm wrote: »
    I'm with you on that.Irish people have a strange inclination to blurt out crude,negative generalizations about certain countries-namely-USA,Australia and Britain and use the addendum of "craic" or banter.

However,watch the back and shoulder hairs bristle when Ol Hibernia herself comes in for a bit o' banter-like that thread recently where Germans made a quip about paying for the Irish-right on que came the Nazi references and the "how dare they" type comments.

Sure we do the same against our own in everyday social settings. What is sometimes seen as having the craic are actually spiteful nasty comments.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

katemarch wrote: »
    Have visited several times for periods - family, travel etc

Pros:
    True about the climate mostly, apart from stink-hot North and misty Melbourne/Tasmania
    Yes, barbecue outdoors anytime and lots of parks have facilities etc.
    Amazing wildlife #marsupials
    Cultural history is awe-inspiring
    Fresh fruit and veg and local wine
    Very direct and efficient in business

BUT

Cons:
    Racism - we really have found this to be true - I know it is everywhere in the world, but there's a sort of knee-jerk ignorance in Australia that really puts our teeth on edge. Their immigration policies tell a story...
    Sustainability issues - the push to use up scarce water for saleable exports
    a Laddish culture - beer and sexism :-(
    Dangerous insects snakes and animals :-(
    Can be boring...not a lot of cultural activity in many places
    That ACCENT :-(

And the place -- Miles and miles, even thousands of miles, from anywhere to anywhere!

Worth a visit - oh yes

Would I live there? (if my family didn't) -well --
    Tempted by the sunshine, but...probably no.

Regards to the current immigration policy which one is racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Sure we do the same against our own in everyday social settings. What is sometimes seen as having the craic are actually spiteful nasty comments.

Sure we have the Craic even though we are generally an overly negative and miserable bunch, we are extremely tolerant but dont mention the Roma or travellers, we hate England even though more irish make their living there than Ireland, we don't begrudge even though we will cut you down if your boots get too big,we are a great little country even though we have failed to run the state in a mature manner for decades, we are the best but have to be drunk to sing the national anthem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I was there for 14 months - late 1999 to 2001.

Great country, i mean really great place. Warm weather, outdoor lifestyle, big into sports and eating well. Work was a pleasure and was well paid. Food and rent was cheap. People were grand - friendly enough i thought.

I have to laugh at some of the tools on here talking about it having very little culture - you'd think the half of you were flying around Europe every week to look at the great art in Paris and Rome, when in reality the only culture you've seen is in an Actimel...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Usually dislike the 'begrudgery' thing. But I think this thread is fairly full of it.

If I was 20 something with no commitments and a chance to get out to a decent climate with a completely different lifestyle I'd take it with both hands.

I've done it, but in Europe. I regret coming back if I'm honest. Now I'm stuck.

Worst possible outcome is it will open the eyes of a lot of heads who otherwise wouldn't have seen much beyond the local bookies / Monday club.

I'd love a go of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Only 4 months there a few years ago. Loved it, I would have stayed if I could have a found a job in my area but no such luck.

In the time there I never saw any of the spiders people go on about, but then Sydney area is pretty urban. I do remember seeing the bats they look more like flying carts they are so big.

The climate is just great a remember once been up at 6:30am in Sydney CBD sitting outside enjoying the heat, all my senses(from Irish weather) was telling me this is just not right, I need to put a jumper on or I need an umbrella handy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

A lot of you sound very bitter. The harsh reality is that for some people (myself included) I don't really know what I want in my life in terms of my career. I'm 24 and I honestly haven't got a clue. My social life has stagnated over in Ireland. Same couple of friends going to the same bars every week to get pissed drunk and tell the same stories. Sometimes a drastic change is needed in people's lives in order to find out who they really are, to meet some new people and have some amazing experiences. I haven't been to Australia yet but i'm going in February. It seems like the perfect place to shake my life up a bit. Try some new jobs, meet some new people and explore what looks like a beautiful country. The set up is perfect for people in my age group so the way I see it, why not? And if I don't like it over there I can feck off and be home within a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Dexter Bip wrote: »
    Cons
    No culture. No nice pubs. Anywhere. I was all over.
    Low emphasis on Education overall. Surfer dude rules.
    Insects
    Multicultural difficulties in communication. Actually I was part of that. Failed ever over several months to articulate 'Burger' or 'milk' ( tried to order both together once in Townsville in a chipper and left with something totally different ) without success.
    First long away trip like many Irish people. All memories are fond ones.

Excellent analysis of what constitutes 'no culture' based on pubs, surfing, and chippers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Milk in a chipper? Sure, should have asked for a bottle of red lemonade too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

I have traveled quite a bit and lived In oz and Canada. I would put Melbourne on the top of my list for best city I have ever been too

I lived in Melbourne for 2.5 years. Fantastic city. Has it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,566 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I lived in Melbourne for 2.5 years. Fantastic city. Has it all really.

Is it a secret.
    Both say has it all , both keeping it to themselves .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's a foreign country like any other.

Difference for me is it is SOOOO far away. 25 hours on a plane! Jeez I'd never survive that. Too many crap movies!

But TBH, if you go there for work, it will be good. If you go for a holiday, well I can't see the point of travelling 25 hours to an island/continent that is so far away from anywhere else in the region.

So if I were to go there, I would make it part of a world trip or something. Either go West out, and East back and stop off here and there.

Can't see the point of travelling all that distance and not getting out to smell the roses along the way!

I've Aussie rellies. They went there on the £10 passage millions of years ago now.

When they come home everything in Australia is better. Fair enough. But feck off back will ya. You have three showers a day when you stay here. And it's freezing here. My God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,566 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Abby Winters and Girls out West only good thing to come out of Australia.
    Seems like a funny place, tin roofs dirt roads. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

As first world countries go, Australia is very racist in comparison to the rest. Just because you can find racists in every country doesnt make that point any less valid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Seems like a funny place, tin roofs dirt roads. Weird.
    Good thing we don't have anything like that in rural Ireland! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Billy86 wrote: »
    It's funny that the accent has come up because to me there is one awful type of accent, the 'bogan' accent which is kind of like Australia's answer to the Dublin townie accent, two people with it having an argument is the worst sounding thing in the world.

But on the other hand I love the softer Aussie accent that you get in most of the cities, especially up around Gold Coast and Brisbane. Was seeing a girl from there for a bit and just a few words would have me fecking melting, I've also been in touch with St. George bank a lot in the last few months whose call centre is in Brisbane and the accent is just f***ing mwah!!

I quite like the bogan accent as well though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

mfceiling wrote: »
    I have to laugh at some of the tools on here talking about it having very little culture - you'd think the half of you were flying around Europe every week to look at the great art in Paris and Rome, when in reality the only culture you've seen is in an Actimel...

They wouldn't know culture if it came up and bit them on the ar*e.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

I have traveled quite a bit and lived In oz and Canada. I would put Melbourne on the top of my list for best city I have ever been too

O look at me Ive travelled a lot, fool's like you going around boasting make the rest of us sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

O look at me Ive travelled a lot, fool's like you going around boasting make the rest of us sick

Nothing wrong with it to be fair. He is just stating his favourite city. Theres a lot more to this planet than Ireland and im speaking as someone who might only travel as far as Spain for a holiday every year. Grow up ffs:rolleyes:

By the way your post stinks of a bit of begrudgery or jealousy. You must be finding it hard to leave Ros?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Jesus Christ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 NYC2013

I lived there for 2.5 years but didn't like it at all, mostly because of the following:
    - Massively racist country
    - Women are nice generally but 95% of the men I ran into were right d**kheads
    - I like music and very few bands ever tour there and the ones that do seem to charge ridicules prices to go and see them (I seen Kasabian in NYC a few weeks back and got 2 tickets for $50, if that was in Sydney it would have been like $200, Australia is a massive rip off for most things)
    - Local sports are crap and if I want to watch a proper sport on tv I had to get up at like 4 in the morning to see it
    - Its a thick f*ckers paradise, a person can go over there with absolutely no qualifications and earn good money on a building site, this I found drew lots of sumbags from Ireland that generally spent the time they weren't working drinking and causing fights in bars

Glad I got left there and moved to New York