Prison Van stops for Chips in Inchicore, violent prisioner escapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

At last, a heartwarming story where someone makes it home for Xmas.
    He's not home yet. But if he hitches, he might get lucky and bum a ride with Chris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Jake1 wrote: »
    Lets hope so, before he asSalts and Batters someone

This is a very serious matter not a time to be codding around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

Maybe he's right now looking for the one-armed man who really committed those 70 crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭kub

c_man wrote: »
    Outran the three of them... Gonna take a wild guess and say the prison service doesn't have any fitness requirements/evaluation...

Sounds like a great hospital, I mean how many people come out of a hospital after some treatment and manage to out run 3 ( fit and healthy ???????) prison officer's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I hope the three prison guards are properly disciplined - probably wont be though.

I call BS on their version. I wonder if the three of them went in for their curry chips and the prisoner managed to get out.

FFS it is actually less than an hour from Inchicore to Portlaoise.

Inchicore isn't even on the way to Portlaoise. The muppets went off the main road. That's the reason we built motorways. Prob looking for overtime. Should loose their jobs for gross incompetence and putting the ppl of Ireland in unessary danger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Omackeral wrote: »
    Those numbers include people not signing on when on temporary release. They are not 'escapes' in the proper sense of the word.

The word "escape" sounds sexier than "walked out the gate for lunch and decided not to come back". Loughan House is the equivalent of a voluntary admission prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

The word "escape" sounds sexier than "walked out the gate for lunch and decided not to come back". Loughan House is the equivalent of a voluntary admission prison.

Do they still get paid if they are "escaped"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I chicory isn't even on the way to Portlaoise. The muppets went off the main road. That's the reason we built motorways. Prob looking for overtime. Should loose their jobs for gross incompetence and putting the ppl of Ireland in unessary danger.

To be fair, if you're in the Mater, it's a straightforward route from NCR, Infirmary Road, Conyngham Road, SCR to Inchicore and then onto Naas Road/red cow. It's probably better than taking the M50 and would be the way I would go. Funnily though, I spent 10 years taking that route and never felt the need to stop for chips....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Bad grub in that chipper.
    The poor lad got the runs.

To be fair, if you're in the Mater, it's a straightforward route from NCR, Infirmary Road, Conyngham Road, SCR to Inchicore and then onto Naas Road/red cow. It's probably better than taking the M50 and would be the way I would go. Funnily though, I spent 10 years taking that route and never felt the need to stop for chips....

Agreed but less chance of anything happening if the prison van is on a motorway rather than stuck in slow moving traffic. Still should loose their jobs,and prob a few pounds,may make them faster:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

I wonder did he ask for a fizzy orange with his chips.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Total prison population is only 3,892

Roughly 10% of prisoners escape over a 4 year period ?!?!

The 3900 prisoners 4 years ago arent the same 3900 there are now, lots of them would have left and lots come in, so the escaped % will be lower than what you said.

Also as was said, "escaped" can simply mean not signing your attendance, or not cooperating with reahabilitation.

Pfft.....

Escaped now, released early in another 6 months.

What difference does it make?, he was going to get back out regardless of what he done in a reasonable time anyway.

Amazing how we keep seeing the Government commit to projects that require a fair chunk of money that don't really impact people in a significant way, or benefit everyone yet there hasn't been the slightest talk about building more prisons so we can make the country safer.

When you consider how small Ireland is, there really is a mountain of scumbags in this country.

I was born and raised in Galway City, which as most would agree is one of the safer cities in Ireland.... I saw less scumbags in Berlin that I have in my own home town.
    I doubt you'd get as many scumbags in any European City of 70k than you would in similar sized Irish towns and Cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Can't imagine this happening in the USA where they would transport prisoners regularly.
    We must ask why is there a need for 3 officers to escort 1 prisoner, if he can easily make good his escape by "Lunging" at said officers and running off.
    Was the said "Lunge" a life threatening manoeuvre?
    Maybe it's in the Prison Officers Handbook, that they must not give chase if they have been "Lunged" at.
    Just finish your chips, alert the Gardaí, and we'll investigate this and try to ensure that it doesn't happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

About twenty years ago now, I was heading along a narrow street behind the courthouse in Cork City when, what I can only describe as a member of Harry Enfield's "Calm down! Calm down!" Liverpudlians (Bubble perm, 'tache, turquoise shell suit and several gold chains) came jogging past with a pair of handcuffs dangling from his wrist. I rounded the corner to be met by a fat, and rather out of breath, Garda sergeant and a (slimmer) prison officer wanting to know if I'd seen anyone suspicious. I pointed in their quarry's general direction and off they went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

One of them was probably in on it. Nice few € coming up to Christmas. It just seems to bizarre.

Its the handcuffs bit I find strange, seems bizarre to me that he managed to get out of them. Unless they weren't tightened around his wrists properly in the first place. Either that or not put on him at all and there's some arse covering going on here

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Its the handcuffs bit I find strange, seems bizarre to me that he managed to get out of them. Unless they weren't tightened around his wrists properly in the first place. Either that or not put on him at all and there's some arse covering going on here

Or he got a key. You can get them for €2 on the internet and it's not too hard to hide such a small item.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭AppleD

No word of this in news since? Still on the loose??

More to the point are those dopes still "guarding" other prisoners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Ordered the Batter Burger then Battered them :D

Mesrine65 wrote: »

Still on the loose according to the indo today, says guards haven't the resources to search for him in Ballefermot 😈 Maybe in UK or Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭irelandrover

At least he was at an appointment when he escaped, the fools over here were finished with the hospital but stopped at a chipper to feed their fat guts.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 jake66

This scumbag was picked up this evening.
    He,s back in Portlaoise tonight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

jake66 wrote: »
    This scumbag was picked up this evening.
    He,s back in Portlaoise tonight...

I wonder did he have chips for his tea there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭carzony

any link? can't find it on any news channels..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

At least he was at an appointment when he escaped, the fools over here were finished with the hospital but stopped at a chipper to feed their fat guts.:rolleyes:

Read it again... especially the bit that says 'AT THE JAIL ENTRANCE'

A lot of presumptions there BTW..

Strange as it may sound Prisoners (even on an escort) are 'entitled' to a hot meal during the day. Almost always Chippers are used because A: That's what they prefer and B; The allowance given to the Officers for that meal wouldn't cover the price of a hot meal in the Mater!!

Just like me, you don't know what time they left Portlaoise that morning or what was the last time any of them ate. Lunch time (the main meal in prison) is at 12 or soon after. If you're used to eating at the same time every day then your body gets used to it. If they drove back to the Prison then the next meal (smaller) was at tea-time at 4.30/5pm. Fair time to be without grub.

Finally, a fair few people can slip cuffs, but it's not exactly something that they're going to advertise!! If I burst out the door of a van and catch you off guard then you're not going to catch me in a built up area that I know well. In 15 seconds I'll be gone down a lane/over a wall/behind a shed or building and you won't catch me.

Quiz Time (just for fun..) !!!! When was the last time any prisoner escaped from inside the walls of a closed prison in this country??

(Cue stupid answers from people that have never seen the inside of a jail ...."Why would they want to..they have it too easy...etc...:rolleyes:)

Read it again... especially the bit that says 'AT THE JAIL ENTRANCE'

A lot of presumptions there BTW..

Strange as it may sound Prisoners (even on an escort) are 'entitled' to a hot meal during the day. Almost always Chippers are used because A: That's what they prefer and B; The allowance given to the Officers for that meal wouldn't cover the price of a hot meal in the Mater!!

Just like me, you don't know what time they left Portlaoise that morning or what was the last time any of them ate. Lunch time (the main meal in prison) is at 12 or soon after. If you're used to eating at the same time every day then your body gets used to it. If they drove back to the Prison then the next meal (smaller) was at tea-time at 4.30/5pm. Fair time to be without grub.

Finally, a fair few people can slip cuffs, but it's not exactly something that they're going to advertise!! If I burst out the door of a van and catch you off guard then you're not going to catch me in a built up area that I know well. In 15 seconds I'll be gone down a lane/over a wall/behind a shed or building and you won't catch me.

Quiz Time (just for fun..) !!!! When was the last time any prisoner escaped from inside the walls of a closed prison in this country??

(Cue stupid answers from people that have never seen the inside of a jail ...."Why would they want to..they have it too easy...etc...:rolleyes:)
    I suggest you read it again warden, he was on his way to an addiction councillor when he escaped. The fools over here were feeding their guts in the middle of Yer mand home patch:rolleyes:. Their business was finished in the courts and Portlaoise is less than an hour away and I'm sure Portlaoise has an abundance of chippers if that's what they wanted to eat.
    You say that prisoners can slip cuffs burst out doors and be gone in 15 seconds especially on their home patch, well that wouldn't happen if the van stayed on the motorway and away from chippers on their home patch.
    There's no way do dress this up the prison guards made a bollix of it.:) because they wanted chips..

I suggest you read it again warden, he was on his way to an addiction councillor when he escaped. The fools over here were feeding their guts in the middle of Yer mand home patch:rolleyes:. Their business was finished in the courts and Portlaoise is less than an hour away and I'm sure Portlaoise has an abundance of chippers if that's what they wanted to eat.
    You say that prisoners can slip cuffs burst out doors and be gone in 15 seconds especially on their home patch, well that wouldn't happen if the van stayed on the motorway and away from chippers on their home patch.
    There's no way do dress this up the prison guards made a bollix of it.:) because they wanted chips..

Can you link the source you are using to determine that the chips were for the guards and not the prisoner?