Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison Van stops for Chips in Inchicore, violent prisioner escapes

• 18-12-2014 11:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭

You couldn't make this one up. A prison van with THREE prison officers transporting a prisoner from the Mater to Portlaoise Prison decides to stop at a chipper in Inchicore. Harry Houdini in the back of the prison van somehow gets his wrists out of the handcuffs , push the prison officers out of his way and then outruns the three of them.

This criminal has over 70 convictions and was serving a 10 year sentence with release due in 2019. The prison service are claiming that they were stopping for chips for the prisoner who hadn't eaten. This is despite the fact that the Mater where he came from has plenty of food, sandwich shops inside it, etc and the journey time from Dublin to Portlaoise is under two hours which isn't exactly difficult to withstand on an empty stomach. The prison service are also claiming that he somehow slipped out of his handcuffs, then engaged in a scuffle when they opened the prison van door to give him his chips and he managed to escape the three of them.

What makes it even worse is that the location they decided to stop for chips (Inchicore) is pretty close to where the prisoner is from (Ballyfermot) so he would have had few problems finding a friendly safe house to lay low in, out of all the places between Dublin and Portlaoise to stop they stopped along the route in the single best location for the prisoner to do a runner and stand a decent chance of evading the Gardai, which he has done so far.

Full story
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gardai-hunting-dangerous-criminal-who-escaped-prison-van-30845618.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A man gotta have his chips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Why wouldn't they stop for chips? Ponch and Jon could sort that lad out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Chips or freedom.

I know which one I would have chosen, especially if they got a curry dip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Tubaiste wrote: »
    Red face for the Gardaí. You have to doubt that the chips were for the prisoner since he outran the 3 officers easily.

Nothing to do with the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Wasn't even the nice chipper in Inchicore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Indo says:
    McDonnell is known to be a violent, unstable and unpredictable individual.

Let's hope for a speedy resolution to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Dodge wrote: »

The POA press release stated that due to stringent cut backs by the government they can no longer afford to go to the good chipper, and if they had been able to go to the good chipper the prisoner would have not done a runner.

Its all Endas fault

Menace who terrorised city is finally jailed 21 NOVEMBER 2012

http://www.herald.ie/news/menace-who-terrorised-city-is-finally-jailed-28907150.html

Her'e the story from when he was jailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Wow what a disgrace 1 having 3 seemingly very out of touch prison guards not following any procedure. 2 they put themselves at huge risk as he may have had people to help him escape anyway possible. 3 why the hell would he need to travel to a hospital so far away just seems absolutely nuts to me. 4 why his cuffs were so loose and he wasn't actually restrained to the vehicle itself just seems crazy.

Hope they put that trash back in as every day out he is a danger to people.

Looking at his photo he looks like such a cheerful chap how could he do so much wrong I say (sarcastically).

Now I understand the saying someone has a face only a mother could love....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

bjork wrote: »
    Menace who terrorised city is finally jailed 21 NOVEMBER 2012

http://www.herald.ie/news/menace-who-terrorised-city-is-finally-jailed-28907150.html

Her'e the story from when he was jailed

Three year sentence, backdated to January 2012 - so he would have been out next month anyway? Have I got that right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Well they can't find him, where's wally? :D

I think you're Wally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I hope the three prison guards are properly disciplined - probably wont be though.

I call BS on their version. I wonder if the three of them went in for their curry chips and the prisoner managed to get out.

FFS it is actually less than an hour from Inchicore to Portlaoise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Outran the three of them... Gonna take a wild guess and say the prison service doesn't have any fitness requirements/evaluation...

Three year sentence, backdated to January 2012 - so he would have been out next month anyway? Have I got that right?

No, there's more

In Feb of this year he was jailed for 9 years

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda%C3%AD-search-for-violent-prisoner-who-escaped-after-hospital-visit-1.2041618

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭dan185

Who paid for the chips if it was for the prisoner?

I didn't let a dangerous prisoner escape while buying myself a bag of chips and a cheeseburger!

You're clearly the prisoner, you being recently registered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

something fishy about their story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Well they can't find him, where's wally? :D

If the could never find him he wouldn't have been there in the first place.

dan185 wrote: »
    Who paid for the chips if it was for the prisoner?

You and I

I thought they weren't allowed facebook in prison?

It seems someone was active , only having joined in september this year,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Most prison staff are those who washed out or did not make the cut for the Garda or army. This entire episode is down to human error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Dodge wrote: »

Maybe that's why he bolted. Check for him in the good chipper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

At last, a heartwarming story where someone makes it home for Xmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

This is something that could only happen in an Irish prision :pac:

"We stop and get the lads a bag of chips before we get back, is it two battered burgers you want Lee?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

This is fcuking ridiculous.

Most prison staff are those who washed out or did not make the cut for the Garda or army.

It's a lot easier to get into the army than prison service...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I just laughed very loudly at this. nothing surprises me in this little country anymore.

We cannot govern ourselves. a tiny little outcrop on the western edge of Europe. pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

mfergus wrote: »
    It's a lot easier to get into the army than prison service...

That says a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Prisoners in transit should be handcuffed and schackled to the floor the the van.

conorhal wrote: »
    Prisoners in transit should be handcuffed and schackled to the floor the the van.

And no chips or ice- cream either!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Red face for the Gardaí. You have to doubt that the chips were for the prisoner since he outran the 3 officers easily.
    Cheap shot at tha Gardai fail.
    Valetta wrote: »
    Ah, he has a chip on his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

vicwatson wrote: »
    I just laughed very loudly at this. nothing surprises me in this little country anymore.

We cannot govern ourselves. a tiny little outcrop on the western edge of Europe. pathetic

You obviously haven't tasted the chips from Macari's, I can understand why they stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

bjork wrote: »
    And no chips or ice- cream either!!

Unless they've been really really good boys that have earned a treat. And there's a prison officer willing to hold their cone while they lick it of course......

Most prison staff are those who washed out or did not make the cut for the Garda or army. This entire episode is down to human error.

Are you sure ? I thought prison officers are amonget the highest paid civil servants , some being ex soldiers , a prison officer is hardly an individual who didn't make the cut for the Gardai or Army.
    Its not as if we have break outs regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Valetta wrote: »

You could use that as the new Garda crime fighting motto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Are you sure ? I thought prison officers are amonget the highest paid civil servants , some being ex soldiers , a prison officer is hardly an individual who didn't make the cut for the Gardai or Army.

A testament to the handy number our prisoners have.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Apparently the prisoners often get steak in portlaoise prison. Maybe he was annoyed at being fobbed off with chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

Would it not take a bit longer for hunger to slow you down? Anyway, I'm sure prisoners know how to lie.

Anyway, the officers only made it look like an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I hope the three prison guards are properly disciplined - probably wont be though.

I call BS on their version. I wonder if the three of them went in for their curry chips and the prisoner managed to get out.

FFS it is actually less than an hour from Inchicore to Portlaoise.

This.

I'm not buying the story that they stopped for chips for the prisoner when the commute between Dublin and Portlaoise is so short and they had lots of waiting around to do in the Mater while the prisoner was being seen to, they could have got him a sandwich there. It seems more likely to me that the three prison officers have a favourite chipper in Inchicore and thats why they were there, they decided to stop for curry chips and leave the prisoner in the back of the van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Any truth to the rumour they had rang in an order for a pudding box?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

The prison officers are 3 idiots not capable of doing their jobs and should be sacked. This fella could easily harm someone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I wouldn't be so sure about that
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/over-400-prisoners-escaped-irish-4340291
    More than 400 prisoners have escaped in the last five years – and 32 of them are still on the loose.

Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald confirmed 419 inmates have absconded from detention centres with many simply walking out of open prisons.

While most were recaptured or gave themselves up, she confirmed 32 are still at large.

The worst year for break-outs was 2009 when 133 prisoners went missing while the following year 112 escaped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Muahahaha wrote: »
    This.

I'm not buying the story that they stopped for chips for the prisoner when the commute between Dublin and Portlaoise is so short and they had lots of waiting around to do in the Mater while the prisoner was being seen to, they could have got him a sandwich there. It seems more likely to me that the three prison officers have a favourite chipper in Inchicore and thats why they were there, they decided to stop for curry chips and leave the prisoner in the back of the van.

I'd say they were originally hoping to be back in Portlaoise in time for lunch but were delayed in the hospital.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Was the food nice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Muahahaha wrote: »

Total prison population is only 3,892

Roughly 10% of prisoners escape over a 4 year period ?!?!

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Total prison population is only 3,892

Roughly 10% of prisoners escape over a 4 year period ?!?!

Most of them probably were late back from their Christmas break home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

vicwatson wrote: »

Yeah youare dead right,no other country ever,anywhere has ever had a prisioner escape during transportation from one place to the next!ever!crap old Ireland eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

There should be a nice big face palm meme next to that article.
    Good to know that we have idiots like this watching over prisoners. Is there no protocal when it comes to transporting prisoners?!?
    They should be rightly disciplined and not on full feckin pay like they usually do. What an utter fcuk up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

We could privatise it like they did in the UK.. no private transporter ever lost any prisoners ...

Oh wait: G4S actually lost the keys for one prison costing half a million pounds to replace!

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/uk/crime/article4262938.ece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

One of them was probably in on it. Nice few € coming up to Christmas. It just seems to bizarre.