Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Making every mile count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Saturday 13/12
    10.20+ Miles Various

AM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.36/m in 38:02 (5.20 Miles+ forgot to start watch)

PM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.25p/m in 37:05

Sunday 14/12

6.50 Miles Easy @7.10p/m in 46:37

WEEK TOTAL: 77.05+ MILES

A fair few miles under the target but nothing to get too worked up about (yet). The plan was to increase the mileage by 10% but I didn't quite manage that this week. The weekend gave the legs a healthy amount of recovery and for that they feel in better condition.

Hopefully the next few weeks won't involve front-loading the miles to the start of the week.

Monday 15/12

Mountain/Hill Run
    -12 Miles @7.19p/m in 1.27:52

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/651414703

A really enjoyable but tough run. I am already looking forward to next weeks hill run! Some of the inclines today really pushed the effort levels into the red. At least the reward was tangible for the effort expended. The views across Dublin are simply amazing. One of those days you wished everyone gave running a go so they could experience the simple enjoyment of running up and down a hill :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Completely agree.

I was risking a fair bit this week by front-loading the miles/intensity as I knew the weekend would be manic. Luckily the easy miles over the weekend have recharged the old batteries. It's a very fine line and a tactic I wouldn't advise. It's was a bit stupid of me to be honest.

Yeah, the long run. A bit of a mess that was! I planned to run it easy. I checked the watch for the first time after 8 miles and it was showing an average mile pace of 6.51p/m. My easy pace has come down but I think that is down to me unable to control my pace rather than a natural progression in fitness.

I am enjoying reading your training. It looks like a very smart approach. Depending on how things go over the next few weeks I might see you over there in April! Hopefully I won't end up in the 10km corral again if I do.....:D.

I figured there was reasoning behind it because you're generally sensible when it comes to recovery, well, sensible enough :p I have also been guilty of front-loading miles and quite recently too but its a risky business and I don't think there's much to be gained while plenty to be lost.

I'm enjoying my training, it's a nice change to what I've been used to and I have a good feeling about it and the upcoming new year. Rotterdam? Do it, just do it. You're training very well, keep going injury free and you'll pull a great performance out of the bag, don't want to give you a time, yet ;)

jebuz wrote: »
    I figured there was reasoning behind it because you're generally sensible when it comes to recovery, well, sensible enough :p I have also been guilty of front-loading miles and quite recently too but its a risky business and I don't think there's much to be gained while plenty to be lost.

I'm enjoying my training, it's a nice change to what I've been used to and I have a good feeling about it and the upcoming new year. Rotterdam? Do it, just do it. You're training very well, keep going injury free and you'll pull a great performance out of the bag, don't want to give you a time, yet ;)

Yeah, usually I am smart enough. Very simple things like doing a hard run in the morning and having your next run late the next evening/night can make a big difference. You can essentially have 30+ hours of recovery (so a full days rest) if you plan your sessions well.

At the moment I am training for the National 50km in Donadea. The question now is will it be a race effort or a good solid effort with an eye on Rotterdam. The 50km is a race I really want to run but I realise it's not the best call in terms of development. I really need to focus on the shorter distances (10km and lower). Ideally I would be doing virtually no track sessions but I am trying to keep some speed in the legs and not become an ultra-runner (:rolleyes:). I'm not allowed race at the moment. That's probably a good thing as I have really become a good trainer and a bad racer!

I just want to head back to my favourite Italian in Rotterdam, the marathon is just the excuse to head over! That and the disgusting Burger King I had the day after.....haha!

Tuesday 16/12

10 Miles Easy @7.14p/m in 1.12:18

Decided against the usual club session. A combination of a hangover (Christmas Party), awful weather and bad traffic made the decision that bit easier to make.

Wednesday 17/12

11.10 Miles Easy @7.08p/m in 1.19:07

I made a bit of a mess of this run. The plan was to do 10 miles @6.17p/m (2.45 MP) so I took myself down to Tymon Park just after work. By half four the carpark was closing and it was getting seriously dark. I quickly got down to it but the last straw was realising that I wearing not two but three layers of running gear! I wasn't fussed about heading back to the car so I decided to keep tonight easy. The park became seriously dark so probably the best decision. My knee became sore several times during the run. The pain has moved from the side to just below the keep cap. Hopefully it keeps on bloody moving and finally gets the picture and disappears!

Thursday 18/12

11 Miles Various

-.50 Mile W/U
    -10 Miles @6.07p/m
    -.50 Mile W/D

The legs were telling me to get off the hard roads so I decided last night to head down to the gym instead of forcing it and doing this session on concrete/tarmac. It had been a long time since I was last in gym and the treadmill. It thinks it definitely serves a purpose if you can hit the right effort level. Without doubt it is slightly easier but to combat this I put on a decent gradient and a faster pace (6.07 vs 6.17 per mile). A healthy amount of clock watching staring at the stats on the treadmill nearing the end meant I probably hit the correct effort level for this run.

I am as weak as a kitten at the moment in the upper body. I really need to take some classes as I have zero motivation when it comes down to lifting weights etc. Zero.

The plan at the moment seems to be focused around long hard(ish) runs. The mileage is building nicely and I am feeling very strong despite some discomfort. I have entered the Staplestown Marathon (EoI) in late January. I am not sure will this be a long hard effort or an opportunity to simply get some time on the feet. I am really hoping there is some depth in the field around my target time. Looking back I really saw the benefit of running Tralee a few weeks before Rotterdam so hopefully this will hold true for the 50km in February.

As I type I realise how mad my plan is. Not something I would really advise if I were to be honest but something I have always wanted to do :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

The plan at the moment seems to be focused around long hard(ish) runs. The mileage is building nicely and I am feeling very strong despite some discomfort. I have entered the Staplestown Marathon (EoI) in late January. I am not sure will this be a long hard effort or an opportunity to simply get some time on the feet. I am really hoping there is some depth in the field around my target time. Looking back I really saw the benefit of running Tralee a few weeks before Rotterdam so hopefully this will hold true for the 50km in February.

really? i thought you had decided the opposite!

TBB is running that too so he should be around your pace. Actually maybe he in doing the one of the 27th of December

really? i thought you had decided the opposite!

TBB is running that too so he should be around your pace. Actually maybe he in doing the one of the 27th of December

Cool the more the better!

Yeah, I have flipped many time regarding Tralee but I have finally come to the conclusion that it was a good idea!! I wouldn't recommend it to many but I really think I am the type that needs a few very long runs. To put it simply, I can't get away with maxing out with a few 20 mile runs. God, I would love to be one of those lucky f!ckers!

I have heard the field will be strong for Donedea so looking forward to it.

Friday 19/12
    10 Miles Various

AM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.22p/m in 36:50

PM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.18p/m in 36:29

The legs needed a rest so I decided to split up the day and run twice. Did it work? No. The whole day was consumed by an unnatural tiredness, like the body was fighting something (maybe low iron). Absolutely shattered all day. Pretty sure it wasn't exercise related but I sure like most things running exasperates almost everything and anything.

Saturday 20/12

Plan: 12 Miles Steady/Tempo Run (6.17p/m) with w/u & c/d

Actual: Fail. Not only a failed session but a session I uncharacteristically didn't even attempt.

Result: 13 Miles Easy @7.03p/m in 1.31:41

A tough enough run on paper, basically covering a half-marathon at 1.22:30 pace. For whatever reason I was still really tired. I jumped into the car dreading the thought of running in my fatigued state (never mind the testing windy conditions). The traffic was shocking heading the Phoenix Park so I pulled the plug on the session and parked up in some random housing housing estate a mile or two away from the park. 13 uneventful miles ticked by with only the pain of my knee to keep me company.

Sunday 21/12

Long Easy Run
    -18 Miles @7.12p/m in 2.09:42

Out the door at early enough (for a Sunday) to get a few miles in before meeting Ecolii and TRR. Two decent nights sleep (and a beer or two :cool:) meant the batteries were nicely recharged heading out. An enjoyable run around Tymon with the two lads keeping me company before they departed, leaving me to run home and cover another 6/7 miles.

Broken Record Alert: The left leg/knee is now a bit of an issue and has to be sorted out. The energy levels were very high throughout the run but the pain in the knee in particular meant me considering heading home early. I feel like I am in a bit of a bind. I have never been injured before (touch wood) so it would be fair to say I am very inexperienced when it comes to running related injuries. I don't want to ease back but I definitely don't want to get injured.

I took the last few miles particularly easy so I was still surprised to see the continually miles tick by in 7.05-7.14p/m.

WEEK TOTAL: 85.10 MILES

Monday has become the day to hit the mountains/hills but I will avoid it tomorrow as it's doing the knee no favours. The energy and motivation levels are both very high at the moment so that's a great place to be in.

I will have a serious think about next weeks training before giving the coach a call. Right now I really feel like undertaking a 90+ mile week might be the wrong call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

If I were you A, I wouldn't run again till I had someone look at the knee, even a massage might identify some tightness that is causing the issue.

Telling you what you already know but if you run on it and you end up injured you'll be sick as a parrot!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭paddybarry

Friday 19/12
    10 Miles Various

AM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.22p/m in 36:50

PM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.18p/m in 36:29

The legs needed a rest so I decided to split up the day and run twice. Did it work? No. The whole day was consumed by an unnatural tiredness, like the body was fighting something (maybe low iron). Absolutely shattered all day. Pretty sure it wasn't exercise related but I sure like most things running exasperates almost everything and anything.

Saturday 20/12

Plan: 12 Miles Steady/Tempo Run (6.17p/m) with w/u & c/d

Actual: Fail. Not only a failed session but a session I uncharacteristically didn't even attempt.

Result: 13 Miles Easy @7.03p/m in 1.31:41

A tough enough run on paper, basically covering a half-marathon at 1.22:30 pace. For whatever reason I was still really tired. I jumped into the car dreading the thought of running in my fatigued state (never mind the testing windy conditions). The traffic was shocking heading the Phoenix Park so I pulled the plug on the session and parked up in some random housing housing estate a mile or two away from the park. 13 uneventful miles ticked by with only the pain of my knee to keep me company.

Sunday 21/12

Long Easy Run
    -18 Miles @7.12p/m in 2.09:42

Out the door at early enough (for a Sunday) to get a few miles in before meeting Ecolii and TRR. Two decent nights sleep (and a beer or two :cool:) meant the batteries were nicely recharged heading out. An enjoyable run around Tymon with the two lads keeping me company before they departed, leaving me to run home and cover another 6/7 miles.

Broken Record Alert: The left leg/knee is now a bit of an issue and has to be sorted out. The energy levels were very high throughout the run but the pain in the knee in particular meant me considering heading home early. I feel like I am in a bit of a bind. I have never been injured before (touch wood) so it would be fair to say I am very inexperienced when it comes to running related injuries. I don't want to ease back but I definitely don't want to get injured.

I took the last few miles particularly easy so I was still surprised to see the continually miles tick by in 7.05-7.14p/m.

WEEK TOTAL: 85.10 MILES

Monday has become the day to hit the mountains/hills but I will avoid it tomorrow as it's doing the knee no favours. The energy and motivation levels are both very high at the moment so that's a great place to be in.

I will have a serious think about next weeks training before giving the coach a call. Right now I really feel like undertaking a 90+ mile week might be the wrong call.
    Go to a physio and nip that knee problem in the bud. There is an excellent physio that I go to, who has managed to clear up any issue I have ever had. I will PM you details if you want?

If I were you A, I wouldn't run again till I had someone look at the knee, even a massage might identify some tightness that is causing the issue.

Telling you what you already know but if you run on it and you end up injured you'll be sick as a parrot!

TbL
    paddybarry wrote: »
    Go to a physio and nip that knee problem in the bud. There is an excellent physio that I go to, who has managed to clear up any issue I have ever had. I will PM you details if you want?

Cheers lads, much appreciated.

Going to get it seen to tomorrow. Nothing too bad, just a pain in the ar$e and costing me valuable days!

Monday 22/12
    10 Miles Various

AM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.26p/m in 37:10

A cheeky run before seeing the physio about my knee, prompted by fear that I will be told not run! Knee not too bad but noticeable.

PM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.27p/m in 37:16

A very cheeky run after seeing the physio. As usual Ecoli did a great job, despite the very necessary pain he put me through! As expected the issue was with my ITB. No knee issue whatsoever during this run.

Tuesday 23/12
    10.50 Miles

AM

5 Miles Very Easy @7.22p/m in 36:55

The difference in the knee was like night and day. Not once did it give out, although the right calf suddenly had it's moment in the spotlight. A sharp pain halfway through reminded me to take it easy this week. Perhaps this was due to the the fast I was compensating (due to the bad left knee) and had put more responsibility on the right leg to pull me through runs.

PM

5.50 Miles

Club Track Session

-1.25 Mile W/U (inc. stretch/drills/strides)
    -400m reps @10km effort with 80 seconds recovery (77,80,76,80,78,79,80,77,77)
    -W/D

Needing to collect my medal (and prize-money :D) from the Dublin Marathon, I headed down to the club and substituted the 1km reps for a few 400m laps of the track. In reality the pace was very easy, aided by long recoveries. I felt I needed to keep in touch with some faster paced running without putting any stress on the body. Job done.

This week will be a step-back week. The body needs a bit of break so that's what it will get! I may do the 5k in Dromore, Sligo on St. Stephen's Day (an excuse of get out of the house!). If I avoid eating all around me on Christmas Day I will tempo run it, not aiming to achieve any decent time. I came 4th lat year in the 10k last year but the last km is through a challenging enough section of forest so I will avoid the longer distance and hopefully latch on to someone in the 5km.

Wednesday 24/12

8 Miles Easy @7.02p/m in 56:17

A night on Wexford Street and the frequenting of many of it's fine establishments meant a serious hangover the next morning for my efforts.

These sort of runs can go way two ways I find:

1. You stumble from corner to corner, trying not to get sick whilst thinking to yourself 'what's the fewest amount of miles I can happily get away with'. Oh, where's the nearest toilet/bush?
    2. The run clears the head and the run turns out to be a joyous occasion, not the disaster you were expecting/deserved!

Luckily the run went joyously well! I got away with it.

Thursday 25/12

Cabin Fever: Day One

5.25 Miles General Aerobic @6.41p/m in 35:05

A run sandwiched in between 'Scrooged' and dinner. In Sligo for the festivities so having the country roads all to myself was fantastic. Bit of a progression run of sorts (6.50-6.30p/m).

Friday 26/12

Cabin Fever: Day Two

Jaysus, running can be a great escape. Brilliant to have few relaxing days but what's with all the sh!te tv and awful movies?!

Ok, this was a mess......:)

Plan:
    8 Miles Easy
    Actual: 14 Miles General Aerobic with a fast finish

14 Miles @6.46p/m in 1.34:51

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/657335390

Amazing to wake up to proper snow this morning. I decided to skip any race because the weather looked pretty bad (that's the excuse I am sticking to!). I got shockingly lost on this run, finally do the unmanly thing and asking a random person for directions. Once again I witnessed why the west has proportionally a higher number of good runners (in my opinion) compared to the larger urban areas. The terrain is never flat. It always seems to rise and fall. You'd be as strong as an ox running on these roads day after day.

Saturday 27/12

6 Miles Easy @7.05p/m in 42:34

Decided to take today handy. The choice was one part playing it safe and one part a distinct lack of sleep.

Sunday 28/12

Long Easy Run
    -20 Miles @7.12p/m in 2.24:05

http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/658842485

Felt strong throughout. I took it very handy down any hills. This tactic appears to be working, although the effort isn't as even as I would like. I am working too hard on the ascent and not working hard enough on the descent. That will naturally even itself out during the next few weeks.

I find myself using the Puma Faas 350's for most of my runs recently. A seriously impressive piece of footwear and a darn slight less expensive than other shoe manufacturers (Asics). Not wanting to sound like I am possibly on commission (!) but they also outlast most other shoes.

Looking back on the previous cycle, I felt I didn't have enough 'time on my feet' long runs. The plan is to push out the long run to 3 hours and see how that goes. I don't quite feel the training stimulus yet but I am sure I will.

The long run will look like this over the next 5 weeks: 22, 22, 24, 26.2, 20 Miles (approx.)

WEEK TOTAL: 73.75 MILES

No choice but to take it easy this week. I will look to up the mileage/intensity next week. With it being Christmas it probably worked out well in terms of timing.

Jaysus, the weeks are flying by!

Monday 29/12
    10.20 Miles Various

AM

5.20 Miles Very Easy @7.34p/m in 39:21

PM

5 Miles Easy @7.16p/m in 36:20

A nice easy day to balance out the long run the previous day. At the moment I need to keep the runs a bit shorter than I would really like but I need to look after an issue or two I have in the legs.

Tuesday 30/12
    12 Miles Various

AM

Total: 6.60 Miles

Hill Session

-4.10 Miles Easy (7.15p/m)
    -10x20 seconds @1 Mile Effort
    -2 Miles Easy (7.32p/m)

I found a nice little hill during an easy run last week. I thought it would be good for the 30 second hill rep session I planned but it was a fair bit shorter than I remembered. I increased the effort from the planned 3k pace to 1 mile pace to compensate. A really enjoyable session and a reminder how much I love the short sharp stuff on hills. Not only does it improve leg strength it also serves as the perfect form drill session.

PM

5.40 Miles Easy @7.26p/m in 40:09

Wednesday 31/12

Medium Long Run
    -13 Miles @7.06p/m in 1.32:16

Setting out on the last run of the year I knew this would be a tough enough run. The type of run you encounter every few weeks. That feeling of tightness and tiredness but feeling strong, not seeing the pace drop despite the constant stiffness in the legs.

Thursday 1/1

8.10 Miles Easy @7.09p/m in 57:58

After a busy night (house party :)) today served as a simple maintenance run. A run that keeps you ticking over when feeling <cough> 'delicate'!

Friday 2/1

Long Easy Run
    -23.20 Miles @7.13p/m in 2.47:31

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/662498152

With a busy weekend on the cards I reluctantly pushed forward the long run to today. I really wasn't feeling the love this morning, with a dodgy enough stomach and the prospect of running many miles on my own. When my morning coffee doesn't taste it's usual delicious self I know my stomach ain't great! In truth I was probably a bit apprehensive about what was ahead. The weather was glorious, despite the challenging wind. I took a very bad fall on the 4th mile, destroying my gloves, elbow, toe and right hip. Out of sheer embarrassment I jumped straight back up and marched on. Luckily the pain subsided after a mile or two. A lucky escape.

I really dislike the early miles of most long runs. Today was no different. I only started to feeling strong after almost two hours of running. After hitting the 15th mile the miles flew by and the effort was most definitely easy. Today was more about getting alot of time on the feet rather than hitting certain splits and time.

Two things to note:

-I took on no solids, fluids, water, gels etc. during the run
    -It ended up being my longest ever training run

I am pretty happy how the run went. The knee seized up completely after the run but after a few stretches it loosened out nicely and gave me very little pain throughout the run.

Very little fast running so far this week but that's they way it really has to be at the moment. The body is feeling stronger but the emphasis this week is simply about getting the miles in and doing the best I can in the circumstances :).

I most definitely underestimated the extent of my glorious fall on Fosters Avenue during the early miles of Thursday's long run. The main sources of pain was the toe (took the initial impact) and the hip, which took the full weight of the body. I could barely walk later that day and resembled an old man on his last legs!

The weekend involved a trip to the West and a wedding in Westport. I now have a new word to describe a certain type of workout. The two runs over the weekend served very little real purpose. I now call these types of runs maintenance runs.

The Christmas parties/drinking sessions/wedding are now finally over. It's been great but I have most definitely had my fill!

Saturday 3/1

8 Miles Easy/Maintenance @7.23p/m in 59:06

As mentioned above the legs were in shocking order setting out. The first mile was quite painful but things loosened out before becoming almost as painful during the closing miles.

Sunday 4/1

8.7 Miles Easy/Maintenance @6.58p/m in 1.00:37

Thankfully the legs felt great but the stomach was doing somersaults after the copious amounts of food and drink the previous night.

WEEK TOTAL: 83.2 MILES

Not a great week but far from disastrous. The previous two weeks have resembled base training, with very little specificity. This has kind of left me in a kind of no man's land, not feeling particularly strong in any particular area or distance. I think this week will be important as I will probably make a call on the races I will undertake and the direction in which I want to head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I know how you feel, but the solid mileage will stand to you, no matter what.

Monday 5/1
    13 Miles Various

AM

5 Miles Easy @6.59p/m in 34:54

PM

8 Miles Easy @7.1x (treadmill)
    -inc. 3 pick-ups (5k effort)

One soul destroying hour of unadulterated running fun. I included a good stretching session to compliment the excitement before almost drowning during my two laps of the pool (25m lengths). Long gone are days are the days of me being a very strong swimmer. My arms were falling off me. Embarrassing! Happy to see solid ground again :).

Tuesday 6/1
    10.40+ Miles Various

AM

4 Miles Very Easy @7.38p/m in 30:34

A gentle leg loosener to wake-up the legs.

PM

Club Track Session

Plan: 8x600m reps @5k effort (75sec/200m recovery)

Actual:

-W/U 1+ Miles (grass) inc. drills

Reps:

1. 2.00
    2. 1.59
    3. 1.56
    4. 1.56
    5. 1.54
    6. 1.55
    7. 1.54
    8. 1.54

-W/D 2 Miles

A solid session and a nice introduction into some speed-work after my recent ITB issues. The reps were honest in effort but I really didn't push myself too hard, happy to complete the session with a fair bit left in the tank. Definitely a session to build from. Happy.

Wednesday 7/9

Medium Long Run
    -13.20 Miles @7.07p/m in 1.33:52

In hindsight I ran this a bit too fast. The legs were a small bit tired from the previous nights session so the more sensible option would have been to tip along at 7.15-7.20 a mile pace.

Thursday 8/9
    13.10 Miles Various

AM

5.50 Miles Very Easy @7.35p/m in 41:44

Consciously paid more attention to the pace (and watch) during this run. Quite tired so the plan was to take it quite easy, despite the poxy demanding wind.

PM

7.60 Miles Very Easy @7.26p/m in 56:31

A very successful and enjoyable run. I was quite strict on myself regarding hitting the correct effort level. The run flew by and the effort was right on the money. Wednesday's run was a welcome wake-up call regarding pacing/effort.

Friday 9/9
    12 Miles Various

-W/U 1 Mile
    -10 Miles Steady @6.15p/m
    -W/D 1 Mile

All set to head to the Phoenix Park for this mornings session I really wasn't liking the idea of driving-running-driving. I make every effort not to do any tempo/steady runs on the paths where I live. I find it way too annoying to constantly avoid cars/pedestrians/dogs etc. I made the snap desicion to head down to the gym.

6.15p/m felt like the right effort level so I settled in for the long hall and ticked off the miles in constant boredom. After well over an hour of running I was well and truly sick of the place. The only distraction was witnessing the many people jumping on to the treadmill either side of me and running at 5 minute pace for two minutes before almost dying. What's with that?

I don't get gyms and they don't get me.

How heavy?

I am nowhere near my ideal racing weight. I am hovering just below the 13 stone mark and a good half a stone away from a respectable running weight given my height. I eat well but I love my bread, pasta and chocolate. You can keep your LCHF type of diet.

-I have set-up a Whatsapp group for training runs. It will be mainly Dublin based. If you are interested give me a PM. The idea is to compliment the thread used here. Paces will hopefully vary greatly so will hopefully appeal to many. It will be nothing like Tinder, I swear :pac:.

Saturday 10/1

Long Easy Run
    -22 Miles @7.15p/m in 2.39:38

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/670099005

*the first mile is always long after leaving the house. The Garmin trace is constantly off hence the slower first mile/faster second mile.

With a good sleep had (after watching Gremlins until 1am :)) I awoke to weather warns on the radio. This was not the best way to start the morning of a long run! The usual breakfast of a bagel and weetabix was taken before a cheeky little sleep. After a quick strong coffee I was ready to confront the day and whatever weather was instore for me. The sun was shining while the wind was indeed strong but happily it wasn't as bad as feared. The plan was to do a few miles before meeting Ecolii in Tymon Park. The journey to the park is always into wind and always uphill. It was great to meet someone to tick off 7 or 8 miles in the middle of a long run. It helps breakup the run and makes it seem more manageable.

Next week sees the last long run in training before a training race in Staplestown on the 24th. How the weeks fly by. I may take a gel/energy drink on my long run next week to help mimic race day.

Sunday 11/1

7 Miles Easy/Maintenance @7.16p/m in 50:51

WEEK TOTAL: 90.70+ MILES

Month|Days Run|Miles Run|Daily Average|2014
    January|31/31|347.80|11.20|347.80
    February|28/28|309.20|11.04|657.00
    March|31/31|389.29|12.55|1046.29
    April|26/30|166.34|5.44|1212.63
    May|29/31|215.07|6.93|1427.70
    June|27/30|264.35|8.81|1692.05
    July|31/31|346.03|11.16|2038.08
    August|31/31|377.89|12.19|2415.97
    September|30/30|364.08|12.13|2780.05
    October|27/31|243.25|7.84|3023.3
    November|29/30|203.03|6.76|3226.33
    December|31/31|345.70|11.15|3572.03
    TOTAL|351/365|N/A|9.78|3572.03|

April: Marathon and Recovery
    May: Rushed back into training and paid the price
    June: A few days holiday/stag in Budapest
    October: Marathon Taper/Recovery

2014 Summary:

This won't take long.

The first four months resulted in PB's across all distances raced. The last 8 months disappointed. I didn't really enjoy reading over some of training and reports but races like the Kilomarathon and some excellent training runs proved I was in decent shape in the autumn and winter, despite some forgettable performances.

2015:

Training smarter to race faster.

Monday 12/1
    15.20 Miles

AM

5 Miles Easy @7.09p/m in 35:45

PM

10.20 Miles Easy @7.14p/m in 1.13:55

Originally penciled in for an easy 8 miles but I embarrassingly got quite lost despite being under 2 miles away from home :eek:. Dublin 12 should be known as The Bermuda Triangle! I must have went by the same church three times. I couldn't get out! Very so happy to see Kimmage Village and familiar ground.

Oh course I could have asked for directions but that's not what us proud Irishmen do!

Tuesday 13/1
    10 Miles Various

AM

3 Miles Very Easy @7.49p/m in 23:29

It's pretty hard to motivate yourself for such a run but getting the legs loosened out in the morning makes a differnce come the session later on.

PM

Club Track Session
    7+ Miles

Plan: 12 x 400m @3k effort (60 seconds recovery)

Actual:

-W/U 1 Mile inc. drills

-6 x 400m

Reps:

1. 77 secs
    2. 75 secs
    3. 75 secs
    4. 76 secs
    5. 76 secs
    6. 75 secs

-6 x 200m

Reps:

1. 34 secs
    2. 35 secs
    3. 36 secs
    4. 35 secs
    5. 34 secs
    6. 33 secs

-W/D 2.78 Miles

Tonight was my first experience of a frozen track. My choice of footwear (Cloudracers) transpired to be a poor choice, with traction difficult to come by. By the 4th rep things were getting worse and I thought about getting off the track before I slipped and/or injured myself. Very happy to hear after the 6th rep that we would finish off with some 200m reps (with diagonal recoveries), using the least effected part of the track. The conditions were costing me a good few seconds a rep but nothing that can do about that. Disappointed not to continue and finish the 400m reps but the decision was the right one. Not often I say that! Things must be on the up :).

Wednesday 14/1

Medium Long Run
    -15.20 Miles Very Easy @7.28p/m in 1.53:28

The miles ticked by nicely this morning in the company of two of Tallaght's finest 'athletes' :). A very enjoyable run to Sean Moore Park/Nature Park before returning to D6 with the wind in our faces. The legs were feeling good so I threw in a few extra miles before deicing my fingers before frost bite set in.

Glad to keep this nice and handy as I took last weeks medium long run a bit too fast after the previous nights session.

Thursday 15/1
    13 Miles Various

AM

5.50 Miles Easy @7.18p/m in 40:08

PM

7.50 Miles Easy @7.10p/m in 53:42

Never listen to weather warnings, simple! You would swear we get proper weather extremes in Ireland if you bothered to listen to the media. We have only really ever two types of weather: mild and fierce mild. Two runs framing a busy working day.

Friday 16/1
    13.5 Miles

-W/U 1 Mile
    -12 Miles Steady @6.11p/m (treadmill)
    -W/D .5 Mile

A good steady effort, hitting the right effort level. I felt very sluggish starting out but after 5 miles I hit a nice groove and the stride/arms found a nice rhythm. The effort felt about right but later on that night I felt shattered so obviously it took a bit more out off me than first thought. Nice to get off the roads and give the legs a bit of break.

Saturday 17/1

Long Easy Run
    -24 Miles @7.04p/m in 2.49:27

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/675622720

Nice to have the long run done and dusted by 2pm on Saturday. It just means your whole weekend doesn't revolve around the traditional Sunday morning long run. I do enjoy my Saturday nights so the last thing I need is an early start the next day! Running is very important to me but so too is a bit of a social life and a few pints of Guinness :). Balance is everything.

The plan starting out was to tick off 22 miles around the 7.15p/m mark, with 'time on your feet' the most important thing. I knew after a mile that I would push it out to 24 miles and try and avoid the temptation to clock-watch. The effort felt nice and controlled, never once pushing it despite the trying wind and cold.

Once again I took on no gels/solids or liquids. I brought along a gel and some money is case I needed it but at no point did I want to take anything on board.

At this stage I really don't find these type long runs hard in anyway. Sure you have your moments questioning your sanity but I no longer find the distance any problem. I guess that old saying of 'it's the pace that kills you, never the distance' has never sounded more true. God, I sound like an ultra-runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I'm more impressed that you managed to run 24 miles without getting lost (for once :P).

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I'm more impressed that you managed to run 24 miles without getting lost (for once :P).

Haha!

I learnt my lesson and stuck to the more familiar surroundings of the good old northside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

yaboya1 wrote: »

Or fall over :)

TbL

Sunday 18/1

8 Miles Maintenance/Easy @7.16p/m in 58:09

It took a lot of self control not to head out and knock out some evening miles. What's it called again? Runners OCD. We do like our round numbers.

WEEK TOTAL: 98.90 MILES

A slight reduction in mileage next week will be needed so brilliant to clock in almost (;)) 100 miles for the week. I struck a good balance during the week, feeling strong throughout. Most importantly it was a very enjoyable training week and one that felt very manageable.

Monday 19/1
    14 Miles Various

AM

6 Miles Easy
    -4.75 Miles Easy (7.16p/m)
    -5x20 second hill sprints (jog down recovery)
    -1 Mile Very Easy (7.55p/m)

There's something very enjoyable about hill sprints. While looking all innocent on paper, they are quite challenging in reality. A serious case of wobbly legs (and hands on knees) meant a very slow mile home. I will try to increase the rep numbers up over the next few weeks. As they are short and sharp recovery is usually not an issue.

PM

8 Miles @7.02p/m in 56:24

Cold and dry with barely a breeze in the air to interrupt. Glorious running conditions tonight.

Tuesday 20/1
    10.25+ Miles Various

AM

4 Miles Very Easy @7.41p/m in 30:41

The usual very easy run before the session later on.

PM

Club Track Session
    6.25+ Miles

Plan: 8 x 600m @5k race effort (200m/75 seconds recovery)

Actual:

W/U: 1.20+ Miles with drills/strides

600m
    1. 1.57
    2. 1.58
    3. 1.54
    4. 1.55
    5. 1.55
    6. 1.54

200m
    1. 32secs
    2. 30secs

W/D: 2.5+ Miles

Felt very comfortable throughout, although I didn't feel in fantastic form. I called it a day after 6 as this week is a small step-back week. I then decided to do some quicker 200m reps just to get the legs moving. Felt good.

Wednesday 21/1

15.30 Miles

AM

10.05 Miles Easy @7.09p/m in 1.11:49

A run with with Mr. Continuity himself, Ecolii. Pretty tired but strong. The usual!

PM

5.25 Miles Very Easy @7.29p/m in 39:16

Two days easy running now before the long run at the weekend.

Thursday 22/1

6 Miles Easy @7.16p/m in 43:36

Friday 23/1

5.20 Miles Very Easy (treadmill)
    -inc. 5 pick-ups

The legs were feeling a bit dead so I threw in some pick-ups to waken. It did the trick nicely. Sometimes a day or two of running easy isn't the best way 'rest'. Sometimes.

Saturday 24/1
    30.91+ Miles Various

AM

EOI Staplestown Marathon

Time: 2.57:04 (26.41 Miles @6.42p/m)

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/681471745

What a fantastic morning for a long run. It was my kind of morning. The icy chill of the morning meant a patch or two of ice on the ground but I relish the cold. There's something oddly comforting in the freezing temperatures presented to us this morning.

The race consists of a short out-and-back section before 4 laps of the Kildare countryside. With only a slight breeze to contend with we set off. I quickly fell in beside PM before I waved goodbye to him around Mile 3. His goal of 2.50 was a bit loftier than mine. From that moment the race turned into a solo run, with only the sound of my thoughts to keep me company. The first lap quickly passed by and I felt pretty good. The inner demons were making themselves known but that is all part of getting back into the racing groove.

The course as a typical country affair with a few drags but nothing noteworthy. The lapped course meant that you quickly became familiar with the sights and sounds of Staplestown (the angry dog, the abandoned scooter....etc. :)). The penultimate lap was typically the toughest mentally. I told myself that here is where you get mentally strong. I know I generally have it in the legs but mentally I can let the demons get the better of me at times. Unlike Tralee (similar type training run) last year, I didn't have the safety net of a pacer. The plan all along was to run comfortably and not to focus on the watch/pace. The last mile or two proved very enjoyable. Job done.

An excellently organised race, on a fantastic course, ran with very friendly people. What more can you ask for?

PM

4.50 Miles @7.49p/m in 35:11

A good leg shakeout (before some beer!). The legs felt a bit tender setting out but loosened out nicely by the second mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Some good pictures on PM's Flickr page, you were obviously under no presure, smiling in every one. Some running for an LSR.

tang1 wrote: »
    Some good pictures on PM's Flickr page, you were obviously under no presure, smiling in every one. Some running for an LSR.

Some class photos alright.

Thanks. It more of a mental test than physical. I just needed to run the distance to cleanse myself after the previous marathon attempt! Bit more confidence now heading towards the 50km.