Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Spazdarn wrote: »
    Haha it is a good point though.. Does that mean 30% of his passes are almost all to De Gea!

You forgot the other CB & the wingbacks. If Carrick was playing in the same position last season that stat would be very different.
    My point is that he has so many more options to pass to compared to last year when he had the world champion at hide & seek playing with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

zerks wrote: »
    You forgot the other CB & the wingbacks. If Carrick was playing in the same position last season that stat would be very different.
    My point is that he has so many more options to pass to compared to last year when he had the world champion at hide & seek playing with him.

Like I said I've been impressed with how he's returned... still don't think when our defence is fit he should be a cornerstone of our midfield, we need the next player to step up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Haha it is a good point though.. Does that mean 30% of his passes are almost all to De Gea!

90% of all passes should be to De Gea.

When in doubt, let Big Dave sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Van Gaal also tells #MUTV of the fantastic atmosphere among his players: "We have a lot of confidence built up." #mufc

This is what makes me happy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

I suppose when you post in the Liverpool thread using worlds such as we and us, then yeah, guess he does.

But that dosent mean you can't hve an opinion on carrick. What do you think of him

I can't make sense of your posts. "Worlds such as we and us, guess he does" makes no sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

You must be pretty slow on the uptake if you can't decipher worlds meaning words. Then again..you are a liverpool fan..

ANNNNNNNNNNNNNYWAYYYYYYY
    Predictions for the game tomorrow,
    Gunna say 2-0 United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Gits_bone wrote: »
    I can't make sense of your posts. "Worlds such as we and us, guess he does" makes no sense at all.

Oh get over yourself, you know what he meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Fellaini is ill, LvG tells MUTV. He doesn't expand though, no mention of his chances of playing tomorrow.

Oh get over yourself, you know what he meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

I wish we could make a private forum like the chelsea lads.

Anyways..hopefully ADM is fit tomorrow and starts, love watching him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Blatter wrote: »
    Fellaini is ill, LvG tells MUTV. He doesn't expand though, no mention of his chances of playing tomorrow.

Hopefully that means Herrera will start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Gits_bone wrote: »

Worlds is obviously an autocorrect to worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Really looking forward to tomorrow now.

pity about Fellaini, but we should have too much for Villa.

EVENFLOW

Worlds is obviously an autocorrect to worlds.

And who is "he"?

Anyway, Carricks obviously going to have more forward passes when he's a defender when he has more options in front of him. But because I'm a Liverpool fan I get petty insults thrown my way.

And my comment wasn't an opinion on Carrick, it was an opinion on a stat of Carrick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

It's easier to just put up with people that aren't going to be around too long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It's easier to just put up with people that aren't going to be around too long...

Ah Jesus, I hope to live another good 50 years yet;)

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

I wish we could make a private forum like the chelsea lads.

Anyways..hopefully ADM is fit tomorrow and starts, love watching him.

Is the Chelsea forum private?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Setanta trying to tease us!

10868031_747805465274224_9199326654374499957_n.jpg?oh=b03fb078b27b8123b53f4a9321c373f4&oe=550A5F5E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

bullvine wrote: »
    Is the Chelsea forum private?

The supporters group they have here is. Anyways...the presser

i f*cking hate the place, refuse to contribute one cent to the local economy there apart from the airport and the bus out of it :)

English cities in general are kips, Manchester being a classic example!

I was in Manchester in 1991.

You think it was a kip now, it was a x100 back then

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Ah Jesus, I hope to live another good 50 years yet;)

Eat well, exercise and always wear sunscreen, you'll be grand.

Thats me ****ed:pac:

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Am... am I supposed to be wearing sunscreen? Even now?

Unless you're De Gea, he just blocks it out himself.;)

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Anyone with a decent memory will know I've been a huge Carrick naysayer for quite some time now. But he's impressed me since his return this season so credit where credit's due.

even a naysayer when he was one of the top midfielders in Europe 2 years ago and wenger said he should have won player of the year?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

bangkok wrote: »
    even a naysayer when he was one of the top midfielders in Europe 2 years ago and wenger said he should have won player of the year?!

I'm not myopic he has had good seasons at United but there were times where I felt he was poor (last season) or that his inability to take the ball, turn and distribute was causing us to play a style of play that was too slow and laboured... taking the sting out of our wing play and ability to counter attack.

The sidewards and backwards passing argument I know can be countered by statistics related to forward passing so that's not quite it...

I think he's a good player, he has some good qualities but I think a club like United should have a much stronger player in that position. I expect better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

The supporters group they have here is. Anyways...the presser

8 minutes long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

I'm not myopic he has had good seasons at United but there were times where I felt he was poor (last season) or that his inability to take the ball, turn and distribute was causing us to play a style of play that was too slow and laboured... taking the sting out of our wing play and ability to counter attack.

The sidewards and backwards passing argument I know can be countered by statistics related to forward passing so that's not quite it...

I think he's a good player, he has some good qualities but I think a club like United should have a much stronger player in that position. I expect better

You make it sound like it was his fault alone. It was clearly the system/manager.

He played under a manager that told all our midfielders not to get on front of the ball. Its no coincidence that they all struggled. That in turn left him a lot less options than what hes seeing under LVG this season.

He is never going to be an physical enforcer, people still seem to hold against him. He does do that job but just in a different way. He tends to put out fires before they happen.

Simply put look at what we've won with him in that role. He played a huge part in it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

You did pick the team :pac: