When did the Legion of Mary take over school uniform policy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Do you remember whereabouts in the country this was?

Wankville, Co Imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

And your sure this really happened?

Of course I am, I am not demented.. Newcastlewest co Limerick, very short skirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Of course I am, I am not demented.. Newcastlewest co Limerick, very short skirts.

Fair enough...odd.

Say you were in the minority of schools.

Cause you know short skirts cause pregnancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I went to a convent school in the 90's. Other girls schools in the area were convent schools, all had long skirts. The only school I can remember with a normal skirt was the comprehensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Went to secondary school in the mid-to-late 90s in Galway, Dublin and Donegal.

In both Galway and Donegal the girls wore knee-length skirts. In Dublin it was ankle-length.

Pretty sure both Dublin and Donegal introduced the option of trousers for the girls during the time I was there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

When I was going to secondary school in the mid to late 90s all the girls wore skirts above the knee. Now they are almost wearing burkas. Why did this happen?

Since you got early release.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I left school in 2007, mixed school with option between pants and skirt and literally all of us wore the trousers. From what I remember the girls' schools from nearby tended to wear skirts knee length or above, but definitely around Limerick and in a few other places you'd see the ankle length ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

Its just as bad for men. My school choose the brand of trousers we wore "so everyone had a uniform grey colour trousers". Together with a ****ty woollen jumper, that smelt of wet dog after you got rain on it. It didnt matter if you looked anorexia,our school uniform was so ill-fitting, you looked severely obese with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

eviltwin wrote: »
    my son has a no uniform policy.

Christian Brothers school, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

hfallada wrote: »
    "so everyone had a uniform grey colour trousers"

But thats... the entire point of having a uniform. They're uniform.

Wouldn't really be a uniform if they were just any old colour trousers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Goodshape wrote: »
    But thats... the entire point of having a uniform. They're uniform.

Wouldn't really be a uniform if they were just any old colour trousers.

A Uniformity of Randomness.

Too late Goodshape. You're trapped now in the twisted logic maze of our paradox web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

I went to two schools a very long time ago, and in both schools we wore a uniform only on one or two special days e.g. sports day and prize giving day. I have no strong opinion one way or another, but I remember at that time a guy on radio making the case that a school uniform left everybody equal, taking pressure off parents of limited means to pay through the nose so that their kids could compete in the fashion stakes with rich kids.
    I've seen the long skirts in Limerick and wondered why. Maybe girls were competing with each other, with skirts getting shorter and shorter until one day a girl turned up all ass and virtually no skirt, and somebody decided a stand had to be taken.
    If you think Limerick is bad ask your granny about the apparel of the young women at Carysfort teacher training college ( third level! ) up to the sixties. Burqa indeed! It was designed to conceal every human shape, and the dominant colour was dour black. The women were known to their male colleagues as crows.
    Incidentally, in the absence of a link or source the reference to the Legion of Mary in the title is silly and schoolboyish. By all means criticise all and sundry when you can substantiate, but otherwise you make yourself look like somebody barely out of school who wants to kick out at everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Is the long skirts thing mainly around Limerick then? I never realised they were not really worn around the rest of the country. I assumed it was an all over Ireland thing, as I went to school in the UK.

I live in Co Limerick now, and my daughter has to wear an ankle length blue 'tarten' skirt for school, teamed with brown dubarry deck shoes. I wouldn't have been seen dead in them when I was her age lol!

My uniform in the UK was a very short grey skirt, made even shorter by turning over the waistband 5or6 times.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Is the long skirts thing mainly around Limerick then? I never realised they were not really worn around the rest of the country. I assumed it was an all over Ireland thing, as I went to school in the UK.

I live in Co Limerick now, and my daughter has to wear an ankle length blue 'tarten' skirt for school, teamed with brown dubarry deck shoes. I wouldn't have been seen dead in them when I was her age lol!

My uniform in the UK was a very short grey skirt, made even shorter by turning over the waistband 5or6 times.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Yes they do!

They really do.

My daughter is a real tom-boy and she was highly annoyed when she started secondary school and realised she couldn't cycle to school because she had to wear what amounted to, in cycling terms, a highland kilt down to her ankles.

The school has a pretty good monitored bike shed but half the students can't possibly use it because they're not allowed wear a pair of trousers because....bishops and stuff I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

Skirts of any length were optional for girls in my school (everyone just wore trousers though) until a girl who moved to the area came in wearing extremely an extremely short skirt. No clue whether they ever confronted her about it directly but the rules were immediately changed so that they had to be of a similar length to trousers (ankle length, I guess) after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

The ankle length skirts seem to be unique to Limerick. My old secondary school (Clare) had the same colour uniform as Laurel Hill but we wore skirts to just below the knee. Some girls in my year got the Laurel Hill skirt (warmer?)instead from Gemma's uniforms on Henry Street in Limerick and our teachers didn't mind those.

We had to wear a grey serge wool tunic with a grey gabardine coat or a blazer in the summer or if we were representing the school, and all toped off with a grey beret that had the school crest on the front. The uniform cost a fortune and if it got wet it stunk to high heaven. We also had to have indoor and outdoor shoes and uniform inspections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

When I was in secondary school, the girls all had those long skirts that went almost to the ground. They brought in the option of trousers and a skirt was never seen again. The lads all loved it too because the girls all typically wore a size too small for them and lads would gawk at their arses. There may also have been a few...incidents...revolving around skirts

Ours were above the knee. A lot of us wore the tracksuit all day on warmer summer days when we were still in.
    I've seen schools with both tiny, tiny short skirts and ankle length ones, maybe they have a choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

When I was going to secondary school in the mid to late 90s all the girls wore skirts above the knee. Now they are almost wearing burkas. Why did this happen? There was nothing at all with short skirts, they were grand.

Burkas?! Brilliant! Just when you think AH can't get even more hyper somthing coles along to prove you wrong! Bravo, Sir!

Personally, I'm against uniforms full stop. They do nothing a positively reinforced dress code (no trainers, football shirts, revealing mini-skirts, so on) instillined by a rational school board coulsn't do.

Short skirts must be bloody cold at this time of year anyway.

EDIT: Who or what is the "legion of Mary" and why would they have the kids wearing burkas...??

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Funny this. I was showing my GF some pictures of me from secondary school and she commented on the length of the skirts the girls were wearing in the pics. She said they seemed very long.

She herself went to an Opus Dei-run school in Spain and even they had shorter skirts than the ones here.

Burkas?! Brilliant! Just when you think AH can't get even more hyper somthing coles along to prove you wrong! Bravo, Sir!

Personally, I'm against uniforms full stop. They do nothing a positively reinforced dress code (no trainers, football shirts, revealing mini-skirts, so on) instillined by a rational school board coulsn't do.

Short skirts must be bloody cold at this time of year anyway.

I am all for school uniforms for the simple reason of brand following by teenagers no matter what rules you put in some child will have a brand name something that will become the( very expensive ) must have item of clothes, uniforms stops that between the hours of 9 to 4 each day. The uniform could be a sweatshirt with school name It does not have to be a skirt and jumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

When I was going to secondary school in the mid to late 90s all the girls wore skirts above the knee. Now they are almost wearing burkas. Why did this happen? There was nothing at all with short skirts, they were grand.

It's because kids grow. They use the skirt perhaps for three years getting it long allows them to not have to buy another skirt for a while. If they bought them above the knee some of the kids might have a growth spurt. There is not much hem in some of them. In first year some girls were where six inches shorter than the were the next year.

I only had one skirt and lots of shirts. They are really expensive and my parents were not going to be able to fork out for a new school uniform every year. They are ridiculously expensive in some schools.

By the way I reiterate the creepiness of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I do love those uniforms they wear in Home and Away...but...err...what were we talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

The worst thing about wearing skirts though was having to wear tights in winter. Tights that felt like they were knitted from yak's pubic hair. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,111 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

By the way I reiterate the creepiness of this thread.

Ah go way out of that, some girls look like they are on the way to the highland games and those skirts must cost people a small fortune. What the heck would be wrong with tailored trousers and a crested fleece or jacket instead of looking like an Enid Blyton hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

why would a grown man be interested in the skirt length on schoolgirls? sounds pervy if you ask me.

iDave wrote: »
    I do love those uniforms they wear in Home and Away...but...err...what were we talking about?
    I always wanted our school to have one of those.