Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Bpmull wrote: »
    Granted that one is high spec but it's still ultimately going to be the same car on the outside regardless of spec only small bits and pieces will change.

So spec has no great bearing on how the VW looks it will always look the dogs danglies, but the same can't be said for the Mondeo?

But for a titanium spec it doesn't seem great from the outside. I think that look suits the new focus but the pictures above just look like a slightly bigger focus and it's abit too plain from the back.

ultimately going to be the same car on the outside regardless of spec only small bits and pieces will change. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

People who put those red noses and deer horns on their cars this year:

you-suck-and-yua1rd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I was gonna put a red nose on but im lazy so i didnt :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

We will have to wait and see what the paddy spec ones look like so :pac: still doesn't change my point it's a very different car at the front to a golf or jetta. Is the fully digital display that was in them ones coming in them all ie no physical gauges or odometer speedometer just all digital that looks fairly cool.

That's extra and not available right away.

A basic highline, like the titanium, will be underwheeled on 17s unless someone springs for the sport pack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

So spec has no great bearing on how the VW looks it will always look the dogs danglies, but the same can't be said for the Mondeo?

ultimately going to be the same car on the outside regardless of spec only small bits and pieces will change. :pac:

You got me there alright It was worded wrong. My basic point is from the front a focus and mondeo look abit too similar. The passat looks very different to a golf regardless of which either is specced they are hard to mix up. As for spec changing the outside sure alloys headlights chrome bits etc. will be different but bonnets doors wings aren't going to be changing ie the shape of the car won't change. Considering that above mondeo is at the top end of the specs it's not something I would stop to look the alloys could do with being bigger. Tbh I quite like the new focus but I just think they could have done more with the mondeo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So I'm parked in an underground carpark and go for a bit of shopping.
    Come back to the car 20ish minutes later to find a Skoda parked behind me but albeit very very close (I've got a tow bar ;))
    As I'm getting into my car, the Skoda driver is getting into his but instead of putting into reverse he pops it in 1st and goes.
    I'm there looking at him like wtf, I go to the back and there is a small scratch on the tow bar so I'm just going to let it go. Zero damage and all.
    What does he do? Gets out and tells me I parked to close to him. Gave him another wtf stare as he gets back into his car and drives off.
    Some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'd log a call with your insurance just in case dude.

I'm abroad, do you think I should anyway? I mean there was literally no damage to either cars.

bear1 wrote: »
    I'm abroad, do you think I should anyway? I mean there was literally no damage to either cars.

Probably nothing will come of it. Just the way he tried to blame you would have my guard up.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Probably nothing will come of it. Just the way he tried to blame you would have my guard up.

Maybe I'll call FBD tomorrow just in case. He didn't seem dodgy but you never know :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Right we collected the turbo!
    Onward and upward from tomorrow!

331855.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Turbo-Review_612x380.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I was told two things.

1. It was choked with carbon, not a big deal at that mileage.
    2. It was overtightened so must have been off or rebuilt before, but had oem internals.

Both points he says meant that the car could not have been pulling to its true potential, far too much friction in there!
    We'll have to see :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ran over (an already dead) badger, got a puncture and broke my lock nut all in the space of half an hour :mad:

Sure it wasn't a hedgehog?

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Sure it wasn't a hedgehog?

That would make more sense, but no :P

And I lost my credit card, and the new Mondeo doesn't appeal to me, ahh ffs, i'll just write this day off :P

What's the process when getting a replacement lock nut? Or even more important, how to get the current one off (space saver is currently on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I used a laser locknut removal tool. It might be good for 2 uses, as it seized on the locknut after removing a second one, and no amount of heat or persuasion would let me separate the tool from the nut. They work though.

http://www.halfords.ie/motoring/garage-equipment/hand-tools/laser-locking-wheel-nut-remover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

The backs seats on an RX8 aren't just for show.... They're reportedly fairly comfy provided the person in front isn't too tall. First time I've ever had anyone back there and they were quite happy.

Dartz wrote: »
    The backs seats on an RX8 aren't just for show...First time I've ever had anyone back there and they were quite happy.

Fair play to you! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

bear1 wrote: »
    So I'm parked in an underground carpark and go for a bit of shopping.
    Come back to the car 20ish minutes later to find a Skoda parked behind me but albeit very very close (I've got a tow bar ;))
    As I'm getting into my car, the Skoda driver is getting into his but instead of putting into reverse he pops it in 1st and goes.
    I'm there looking at him like wtf, I go to the back and there is a small scratch on the tow bar so I'm just going to let it go. Zero damage and all.
    What does he do? Gets out and tells me I parked to close to him. Gave him another wtf stare as he gets back into his car and drives off.
    Some people.

Saw a bizarre one recently. Carpark in limerick. Skoda with towbar. Porsche carrera 4s (i think). Yer man in the porsche (not a tarmac merchant) drives into space, stops, goes again - bang. Doesn't even check it when he gets out. WTF?

So I went for my usual daily cardio session. Pissing rain like no tomorrow, never stopped me.
    Headphones on and just in my little world. The next second I feel like I am drowning... A huge wave of water just covers me completely. Huge shock and massive Wtf in my head. So massive truck, which was carrying logs, went throw a big puddle of water at around 80km/h and not even slowing down for a bit...
    All I could do is shout out **** and put a finger up.... Fecking asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

So I went for my usual daily cardio session. Pissing rain like no tomorrow, never stopped me.
    Headphones on and just in my little world. The next second I feel like I am drowning... A huge wave of water just covers me completely. Huge shock and massive Wtf in my head. So massive truck, which was carrying logs, went throw a big puddle of water at around 80km/h and not even slowing down for a bit...
    All I could do is shout out **** and put a finger up.... Fecking asshole.

Theres nothing nicer than running in the rain tbh.

Your scenario sounds hilarious though :pac: ...from the other side of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Isn't it illegal for a driver to do that to a pedestrian?

Went to the main dealer to get the lock nuts off, decided to take them off for good and replace them with 4 standard nuts. It's only the focus, it's not many that would bother with the wheels anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Went to the main dealer to get the lock nuts off, decided to take them off for good and replace them with 4 standard nuts. It's only the focus, it's not many that would bother with the wheels anyway.

That what I did with my focus replaced the lock nuts with normal nuts it saves a lot of hassle if your lock nuts are anyway damaged which they always seem to be. No doubt from them not being put on by hand but rather by an air gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭BBMcQ

Dartz wrote: »
    The backs seats on an RX8 aren't just for show.... They're reportedly fairly comfy provided the person in front isn't too tall. First time I've ever had anyone back there and they were quite happy.

I can confirm. I've had 2 RX8's and front and back comfortably fits a 5ft 10 combo x 2

Theres nothing nicer than running in the rain tbh.

Your scenario sounds hilarious though :pac: ...from the other side of the road

I bet it was. And someone who was driving behind that truck... Was not funny for me at all.

As MM said, I though it was illegal to do too, but who the feck I will say about it. Garda will just have a laugh.
    I just admire more all people who slow down near puddles like this. I am running on that route for almost half year and always notice car slow down near water. This time I got a proper shower though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I bet it was. And someone who was driving behind that truck... Was not funny for me at all.

As MM said, I though it was illegal to do too, but who the feck I will say about it. Garda will just have a laugh.
    I just admire more all people who slow down near puddles like this. I am running on that route for almost half year and always notice car slow down near water. This time I got a proper shower though.

Is it possible that the driver of that colossal thing didn't see the water? Was it dark at the time? No trucker will deliberately do that to a civilian.