Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They were up to date in the early 90s. They haven't really been updated since.

Enough said so. She is shopping in NI. Is prefer another bangernomics type purchase for her but I think she wants a new car on finance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Enough said so. She is shopping in NI. Is prefer another bangernomics type purchase for her but I think she wants a new car on finance.

What's her budget?

If I was buying a brand new small car it'd be one of the VAG triplets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Buddy texted me today about driving up to cork for some KCs '( a fantastic award winning chipper and yes it's worth 40miles drive to cork for it :D) tonight. Nice one! I felt like having something nice tonight after long week at work. After few minutes he texted and said that one of our buddies will join in and he is driving. In the end of text he said "wait until you see his car ;)". I was like: "Ffs, it's going to be some **** box and we will be eating our food in some yoga position..."
    So he drives up to my house in Toyota aristo 3.0 twin turbo.... Yup, trip to chipper was a lot of fun tonight! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Dord wrote: »
    What's her budget?

If I was buying a brand new small car it'd be one of the VAG triplets.

Yep.

Would I be right in thinking the newest model alto is a rebadged Nissan Pixo? And good Christ are those things grim, they don't even have a glove box. I thought that idea went out with the Cinquecento.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Its like an aygo without any charm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Aren't vw giving a lot of extras on the up for free for January. Whatever you do ba don't let her see the beetle if your in a vw showroom there are like a magnet that just draw women. When my mother was over looking at my dads golf they had a red beetle in the showroom and we literally had to pull her out of it she full On wanted to trade the octy for it they are fairly cheap too.

Those new beetles look quite decent with the rear spoiler
    A bit Porsche-y

beetle-spoiler.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

They look real nice in the retro soft colours with the steel wheel thingys. Like so:
    volkswagen_beetle_7.jpg

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Those new beetles look quite decent with the rear spoiler

Funnily enough I got into the back of it for the laugh and I could just about fit headroom wise which is surprising as there is plenty of saloon and 5 door cars I have to bend my head down in . The new supposedly bigger octavia has a lot less headroom in the back than the mk2 whatever way the roof slopes. The new golf sv is huge in the back too very high up aswell she really like that too but they are very expensive and not exactly a looker at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I was charged a euro for a 30 amp fuse in a petrol station just there. Surely that has to be a record :eek: Think they're 10 cents in motor factors.

Maybe if motor factors were 24 hour, they'd charge €1 as well :)

I was charged a euro for a 30 amp fuse in a petrol station just there. Surely that has to be a record :eek: Think they're 10 cents in motor factors.

I picked this up in micksgarage no harm to have one.
    http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=2979384

colm_mcm wrote:
    Maybe if motor factors were 24 hour, they'd charge €1 as well 

This is a gammy petrol station that closes at 10. Took out a box of them which looked liked they came from the 2 euro shop

Yep.

Would I be right in thinking the newest model alto is a rebadged Nissan Pixo? And good Christ are those things grim, they don't even have a glove box. I thought that idea went out with the Cinquecento.

Yep. It's a rebadged Pixo. They're bad enough as it is.

Only Suzuki I would ever consider is one of the new Swift Sports. Even then, there's better out there.
    bear1 wrote: »
    I'd say you're right, the GLX is 13k ex-works then. Quite expensive considering you get more standard features in a barn.
    I'd rather spend the 11995 on a Panda

Not mad on the new Panda's but mine has the same engine (1.2 69bhp) and it's grand. Not going to win races but it's quite economical doesn't sound too bad when you push it.

No decisions yet. I'd rather spend less and get a used car than a new one. It'll be a car from NI as that's where she is from and works. Then again, as much as I'd prefer used, finance on some cars up there is very cheap so it might be time to avail of it. So far we have looked at a Vauxhall Adam and Corsa as I can access an employee discount scheme they run.

also spotted a 2008 Megane with tiny mileage in Goss main dealer in Newry but not had a chance to look at it yet.

Her Avensis is up for its MOT on Friday do no final decision before then but I reckon it'll fail.

She should be able to get a used Up! from a dealer for little money up there. They're a few years old at this stage, but new enough that you could get one on dealer used finance.

Have a look on http://www.usedcarsni.com

I don't think she would be an Up! Fan tbh and neither would I. I've had a falling out with VAG twice previously and unless it ticks every box twice over it'll be very hard to get me in another.

Fair nuff. I'm quite happy with my second gen Panda. No issues so far. It's comfy, fits all my stuff (and me!), and is enjoyable to drive.

I don't like the newer "squarcicle" ones. The design is a bit naff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

My whole weekend has gone on helping a friend try fix his car!
    His Polo broke down in his apartment on Parnell St, so I left from Laois with a car transporter (In a red Transit connect in case anyone seen the bogger around the quays Friday evening :))

Loaded it up and brought it home.

Today we went about pulling two heads and swapping them but ran into difficulty, I'll explain all on the "Today I did something.." thread.

Busy Busy weekend!

Guys, I got a cheap aux cable to use in car amd thing is that I need to crank up the sound to the max to get some sound.
    Would it be due to quality of cable? Or that's just how it is? Keep in mind I payed only 1.49 for it lol.

Is the sound on the connected device down very low?

Set it to max first then try :)

Could be a setting on your stereo too, some have an aux in level adjustment. Obviously your device has volume adjustment but I'm guessing you tried that?

I feel dumb. I'll check it the volume on device. It is always on max though as I use my phone for running. Maybe it bounced back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Guys, I got a cheap aux cable to use in car amd thing is that I need to crank up the sound to the max to get some sound.
    Would it be due to quality of cable? Or that's just how it is? Keep in mind I payed only 1.49 for it lol.

Find the same with my iPod. Ipod up to max to use it with aux in on radio... Blow the ears off yourself then when you use with headphones.

I wanted to switch up amd use my phone and not usb stick as for some reason my new unit just goes lialia when you start car. It just gets stuck on reading sometimes. Takes 3 minutes to reset and then it plays music from usb stick like nothing happened. Tried 2 sticks and same stuff with both. Just a bit annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

YbFocus wrote: »
    My whole weekend has gone on helping a friend try fix his car!
    His Polo broke down in his apartment on Parnell St, so I left from Laois with a car transporter (In a red Transit connect in case anyone seen the bogger around the quays Friday evening :))

Loaded it up and brought it home.

Today we went about pulling two heads and swapping them but ran into difficulty, I'll explain all on the "Today I did something.." thread.

Busy Busy weekend!

I saw you!!! You were driving so slow!! I was right behind you and didn't even know it was you! The world is a small place alright :pac:

Sobanek wrote: »
    I saw you!!! You were driving so slow!! I was right behind you and didn't even know it was you! The world is a small place alright :pac:

No fecking way!! If you passed I would have known the car I'm sure of it!
    Was I loaded or empty at that stage? It was making terrific noise when empty going down the quays so had to try quieten it!
    You were probably flipping out :D

Edit: Threw up a post in the something I did thread so ye can have a laugh at our amateur hour mechanics :)

I found myself driving behind 2 of my friends (on different occasions) at night this weekend. So I started flashing the light at both of them, and both pull in, shiiting themselves fully convinced that I was an unmarked squad car. The joys of having a mondeo. The MO reg always gives it away though!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭scottp68877

Does anyone know of a website where I can check if a car was imported and if possible when it was?