Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Elite: Dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Edgey75

dunno how i missed this thread...
    i backed the game on kickstarter but didnt partake in the alpha or beta, ive played so many games in real early testing phases that it put me off. that said soon as gamma came out i downloaded and have been having a lot of fun.

i have played the first elite on the bbc micro and a 286sx pc :P frontier was my favourite though on the amiga, so many hours spent on that game.

elite dangerous has a promising future ahead of it and the planned updates will make the game a lot of fun.

mining is a little op at the moment imho as i can rake a lot of money in very quickly by just hitting a few metal asteriod belts, exploring can bring a nice cash flow in from selling the data but it can be a bit hit and miss. bounty hunting and piracy need a bit of work though to bring the income up from doing either.

really great fun though and its a nice retro but modern feeling flying around in a cobra :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭jumbobreakfast

My first elite game was Frontier on the Amiga so I know where you're coming from. ED right now is sort of similar to the old game but we still havent got military missions and mining is indeed broken (and there is a game breaking exploit that almost made me stop mining when I heard about it). Frontier have a track record of under promising and over delivering so hopefully these things will be fixed before launch.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,493 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

So with the release a few days away, is it pretty much feature complete? Is there actually much to do?

I've not followed it for a while, but just curious.

We don't really know for sure. Their weekly newsletters have been quite short on info lately but they did give some of the back story this week. They have a habit of under promising and over delivering so hopes are high that the game will have more substance to it other than the trading, mining, bounty hunting, delivery missions and selling exploration data.

I assume that the storyline will be fleshed out by military missions (not included yet) but there may be other things to do.
    Latest newsletter:
    http://us2.campaign-archive1.com/?u=dcbf6b86b4b0c7d1c21b73b1e&id=560d50221f

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Parcel Motel have my Thrustmaster stick and can't find it. This is not pleasing news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,250 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Jaysus Parcel Motel seem to have a problem with gaming/Arcade and retro stuff, non-stop complaints about them there and a thumbs up for great service from everyone else including a heavy user like me.

Shiminay wrote: »
    Parcel Motel have my Thrustmaster stick and can't find it. This is not pleasing news.

Ouch. Do you have a tracking number? you can use Nightline's tracking page for parcel motel items.

Seems to be a symptom of the time of year as Amazon lost a monitor on me last week :( Not parcel motel related though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

aye crazy busy for them this time of the year no doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,250 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Theres a guy in the OnePlus One owners thread who received an empty box from Parcel Motel recently aswell, they're paying for it but annoying at this time of the year and with OnePlus invites and high demand etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Fian

Big news.

I guess i will finish grinding my asp, I'm about half way there.

now I have to figure out what to do about my hostile Federation rep, which I have had since getting caught smuggling a bunch of prototype tech into a black market station. Anyone know how to improve my hostile rep with them - is it just doing missions for anyone in federation systems?

Makes crashing my type 6 with a 100 cargo into an incoming ship as i exited a station rather more annoying now that the loss "counts" but meh, didn't take long to recover the loss i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Ordered Mercenary Edition last night, will I get to play before the official release?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Ordered Mercenary Edition last night, will I get to play before the official release?

Only the offline combat demo. But full telease is only 1 week away sher :)

Arcto wrote: »
    Only the offline combat demo. But full telease is only 1 week away sher :)

But I want it now.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

No point in buying beta access at this point!

The Merc edition (which I got too) seemed to have a free second spess ship too? What ship do you start with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Skatedude

you start with a sidewinder, the bonus ship for the merc edition is a light fighter, the eagle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Fian

Skatedude wrote: »
    you start with a sidewinder, the bonus ship for the merc edition is a light fighter, the eagle.

But the real bonus you get is a light fighter you can sell which will net you 40k towards the 60k or so you need to fly a "hauler". The hauler is the cheap "white van" of space. Plastic dashboard, sluggish, slow, but it holds 16 cargo when upgraded if you keep your shields. Sell your weapon, it is no good to you and the weight of it reduces hyperspace range (note this is "weapon" not "weapose". Run away if anyone attacks you. Alternatively you could try fitting a refinery and mining laser.

Use the hauler until you gather the 350k or so you need to upgrade to a cobra. that is a good allround ship that can hold 40 cargo with shields and operates as a good platform to mine or trade and hold its own in combat until you get 1.6 million or so for a Lakon 6.

Lakon 6 is back to a sluggish trader again, this time it is a rigid truck rather than a white van though. 104 cargo with shields.

Each time you upgrade a ship make sure you have enough "working capital" left to fill your cargo hold. No point having a 100 cargo capacity and no money to buy goods to fill it with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

"Can't connect to edServer. Your client is too new"

Eh... is this happening to anyone else?

Gamma 2.0 update is meant to be live since about 5.30pm but they seem to be having problems

Ah right, thought it was live yesterday.

humanji wrote: »
    Ah right, thought it was live yesterday.
    updating now

Is moving on your head real choppy for anyone else using the Rift?

It's fine for me, was it okay before the patch?

Update:

Parcel Motel are sorting me out. Amazon have twice now sent things to them without my name and/or Parcel Motel ID, so the fault lies entirely with them. Credit to the PM folks, they've been helping as best they can.

Let's all remember to stay calm and respectful when talking to the humans at the end of the line when mistakes happen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

Shiminay wrote: »
    Update:

Parcel Motel are sorting me out. Amazon have twice now sent things to them without my name and/or Parcel Motel ID, so the fault lies entirely with them. Credit to the PM folks, they've been helping as best they can.

Let's all remember to stay calm and respectful when talking to the humans at the end of the line when mistakes happen :)

good to hear :)

was a bit worried about the same thing myself actually - have something coming from germany via DPD delivery to parcelmotel, and DPD emailed me early yesterday morning with:

Your order is due for delivery today, please be available etc etc
    Your Delivery Details:
    Mr W
    McKinney Rd 1A
    Newtownabbey
    Antrim

feckin eejits - no PM number, no postcode, 'parcelmotel' not mentioned anywhere :< looks like it was on the package itself though, as can see it on the PM website. Slightly worried for a while there though..!

Just saw on the Elite twitter feed that someone has found Voyager 2 in the exact place it should be in the year 3300. That's attention to detail!

It's fine for me, was it okay before the patch?

Regular pre-order pleb here. It's happening on the training demo.
    The Rift was acting up a bit beforehand though. But the same thing happened in that Sightline The Chair game.

Regular pre-order pleb here. It's happening on the training demo.
    The Rift was acting up a bit beforehand though. But the same thing happened in that Sightline The Chair game.
    It's a bit off topic here but it sounds like you are not getting 75 FPS. A good way to troubleshoot this is to use something like MSI afterburner to measure your framerate (settings-->monitor tab-->tick Frame per second and enable log to file at the bottom). It coud take a bit of back and forth to find the problem so maybe post something in the oculus thread instead:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056743469&page=102

It's a bit off topic here but it sounds like you are not getting 75 FPS. A good way to troubleshoot this is to use something like MSI afterburner to measure your framerate (settings-->monitor tab-->tick Frame per second and enable log to file at the bottom). It coud take a bit of back and forth to find the problem so maybe post something in the oculus thread instead:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056743469&page=102

Hardly off topic to ask about troubleshooting E: D in the E: D thread :D

Will try, ty.