Price of a pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

€3 pints in wetherspoons blackrock, I for one welcome our cheap new pub overlords and cant wait for the dun laoighaire location to open.
    The vintners association have been ripping us off for far too long and they deserve a kick up the backside for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

huberto wrote: »
    Having a pint of Galway Hooker in Ballsbridge - 6 euro, no receipt. Is this normal?

I would have demanded a reciept.

Chances are it was ~5.60 or so and the guy/gal behind the bar just gave you back 4e.

Ive come across this in certain bars on camden street and have pulled them over it.

Better in my pocket than their till

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Enjoyed a pint of plain in the centre of Waterford today for the princely sum of €3.85. I feel like a robber next to you poor b@stards in Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Was out for dinner last weekend with the wife and another couple. We decided to try the new Dean Hotel on Harcourt Street for a pre-dinner drink. I went to the bar while they got a table...

The order was 2 cocktails and 2 brewdog 'Punk IPA' beers (2 × 330ml cans)....

I handed in a €50 note and was handed back €17 and some small change.

Feckin 32 blips for 4 drinks!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

If Wetherspoons can cut their costs then so can the 'traditional' publicans.
    Well this is complete bollocks.

It's like saying, "Well if Tesco can charge €1 for a loaf of bread, I can't see how Mrs Murphy in the corner shop is charging €1.90".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Having a pint of Galway Hooker in Ballsbridge - 6 euro, no receipt. Is this normal?

Only if that pint came with a happy ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Genuinely misread this as "price of a joint" upon first scrolling past. I think I have a problem ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,287 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

SIX PACK wrote: »
    Government should lower the excise duty by €1 a pint €3.50 to €4 is enough to give.

Excise duty is approx 50c per pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,306 ✭✭✭kenmc

mike_ie wrote: »
    Galway Hooker is a craft beer now?? :confused:

to be fair, it was the first Irish pale ale, and still damn tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭lost in cork

3.30 euro a pint down here in Balligeary ,West Cork long may it continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

cant wait for spoons to have a good presence all around Dublin! Talking of beer, anyone else a fan of Hoegaarden? its delicious, Solas had it on tap the other night, or 4 bottles for E7.35 in tesco...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Wetherspoons are kinda soul less places though, too much food going on for a boozer imo. Grand for a pint and a scoff but i wouldnt go on the piss in Wetherspoons, cant beat a local boozer for that. Plus no sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,984 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

€9.50 for a badly pulled "pint" of 1664 in Paris.

Top Trumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Wetherspoons are kinda soul less places though, too much food going on for a boozer imo. Grand for a pint and a scoff but i wouldnt go on the piss in Wetherspoons, cant beat a local boozer for that. Plus no sports
    extra competition is always good. I wouldnt go on the piss in it, but if I had one close to me, I would go out for 2 or 3 with the lads for a quiet few, I generally wont paying E5.50 in the locals where I live...

Ah yes, nothing like Ireland to get peopled all riled up and complaining about the price of a pint in between sessions of flooring about twelve of them.
    Anyway, €1.65 for a pint in Cyprus last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Vote with your wallet OP.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Well this is complete bollocks.

It's like saying, "Well if Tesco can charge €1 for a loaf of bread, I can't see how Mrs Murphy in the corner shop is charging €1.90".

Wetherspoons charge €3 for a pint of Heineken while any other pub you go to in Dublin will charge a flat €5 or more explain that when vinter's are blaming the tax on booze for the high prices how one pub can charge €2 difference on the same drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Was out for dinner last weekend with the wife and another couple. We decided to try the new Dean Hotel on Harcourt Street for a pre-dinner drink. I went to the bar while they got a table...

The order was 2 cocktails and 2 brewdog 'Punk IPA' beers (2 × 330ml cans)....

I handed in a €50 note and was handed back €17 and some small change.

Feckin 32 blips for 4 drinks!!!!

probably tenner a cocktail, and 6 quid for each of the cans.
    sounds about right for a posh / 'boutique' hotel in the city centre.

VinLieger wrote: »
    Wetherspoons charge €3 for a pint of Heineken while any other pub you go to in Dublin will charge a flat €5 or more explain that when vinter's are blaming the tax on booze for the high prices how one pub can charge €2 difference on the same drink?

Wetherspoons are paying a lot less for that keg of Heineken than the traditional pubs.

That's why they don't do Guinness. Diagio refused to lower their keg price for them.

Wetherspoons are paying a lot less for that keg of Heineken than the traditional pubs.

That's why they don't do Guinness. Diagio refused to lower their keg price for them.

Well then the other pubs should apply for the same keg prices, and I know they don't do Diageo which to me is a bonus to drinking there as I think more places should be telling Diageo to go fvck themselves due to their ****ty business practices, forward the craft revolution I say.
    Irish people need to start getting over the myth that Guinness can make or break a pub.

Well then the other pubs should apply for the same keg prices, and I know they don't do Diageo which to me is a bonus to drinking there as I think more places should be telling Diageo to go fvck themselves due to their ****ty business practices, forward the craft revolution I say.
    Irish people need to start getting over the myth that Guinness can make or break a pub.
    There's no way that other pubs can get the same keg price. They don't have the buying power that chains like Wetherspoons have.

Then whats the purpose of the Vintners association? Is it just used so all the pub owners can get together and circle jerk each other about how much they rip off the average pub goer?
    Surely they could use it to go to the likes of Heineken and Diageo and lobby for better prices on behalf of their customers?

Then whats the purpose of the Vintners association? Is it just used so all the pub owners can get together and circle jerk each other about how much they rip off the average pub goer?
    Surely they could use it to go to the likes of Heineken and Diageo and lobby for better prices on behalf of their customers?
    I may be completely wrong, but I don't think they are allowed to. I want to say something about competition law.

Someone else may know a bit more about it.

You have to remember that Wetherspoons also keep their costs down by not having music or TV in their premises. That means not having to pay out ridiculous amounts of money to IMRO, PPI and Sky.

Very true, forgot about that. I still find it hard to believe though that all of that makes up the difference in what they are charging though.
    There is huge evidence that our pockets are getting raped left right and centre, just look at what happens in Temple bar with prices, granted its tourist trap but €6+ for a pint of anything is obscene and nightclubs up and down the country after 11 o clock go nuts with their prices just cus they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Have never been in one, but a pub with no roaring music and no sports tv sounds like a great pub to me. Add in cheap pints and its a done deal.
    I dont suppose we'll be lucky enough to get them to open in Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭votecounts

Have never been in one, but a pub with no roaring music and no sports tv sounds like a great pub to me. Add in cheap pints and its a done deal.
    I dont suppose we'll be lucky enough to get them to open in Cork?
    The're opening one in cork city in the new year afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

SIX PACK wrote: »
    Government should lower the excise duty by €1 a pint €3.50 to €4 is enough to give. More people might have a drink in pub then Instead of buying at Off licence.

You've made the mistake of thinking that a change in duty will be reflected in the price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Warper wrote: »
    Plus no sports

You say that like it's a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Weatherspoons could've imported exported Guinness for cheaper than Diagio were charging but were unable due to contractual obligations.

I'd say Diagio and manically laughing when they hear another 'price of a pint' rant and everyone is blaming the pubs.

Where do the pubs get their booze from....