Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Game-week 14 Transfers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 77 ✭✭wreckless if true

Lads,, I badly need some advise please from one of ye guys who are lethal at fantasy footie. Im currently only 20 points off the guy of the top of my pay league having been 140 points behind him 8 weeks ago, after having a brilliant 7 weeks thanks to mr aguero, but last weekend i only got 39 points and my team is in need of some surgery. please someone tell me what to do , because my mind is going mad trying to cover all permutations. I was this close to bringing ricky lambert into my team last night like :O!!

Coutois Myhill - I know its too much money (10mil) tied up but gonna keep coutois for another 5/6 weeks as other areas of team require more attention.

Dummet Yun Bertrand Robertson Wisdom - Not getting enough points from the defense at all, have been trying to fix it the last few weeks but any of them except dummet can go if im honest.

Sanchez Hazard Siggy Downing Tadic - been my best line the last few weeks but tadic has to go, too much money tied up with him and not enough returns, other 4 are fine imo.

Costa Aguero Kane - costa obviously has to go this week but i want to bring him back in for 2 weeks time so not sure wat to replace him with, i was thinking berahino maybe or Ings?? Other two are fine in my opinion, kane away to chelsea this week but other than that he was a great buy 4 weeks ago.

A max of 2 tranfers this week, as I only have 1 free transfer this week, but any suggestions for this and the next few weeks transfer strategies would be greatly appreaciated,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Lads.

I don't want to talk anyone out of a transfer but it's 12.4 million!!! Is the celtic tiger back? :D

Austin is 6m. Bony is 8m. Kane is under 5 million! All with better records and allows a 5m dud midfileder to become Chadli or Hazard or Yaya or Sanchez.

Its a two week punt for me after which Costa will more than likely come back in for Hull. Downgraded ADM to Eriksen so the cash was there, I've actually for 1m in the bank with this front 7

Hazard, Sanchez, Eriksen, Downing
    Aguero, Bony, RVP
    Having slept on it I can safely say that RVP in would be madness. I was weakening but now I'm 99% set against it again :)

It probably is in your position in fairness. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Lads,, I badly need some advise please from one of ye guys who are lethal at fantasy footie. Im currently only 20 points off the guy of the top of my pay league having been 140 points behind him 8 weeks ago, after having a brilliant 7 weeks thanks to mr aguero, but last weekend i only got 39 points and my team is in need of some surgery. please someone tell me what to do , because my mind is going mad trying to cover all permutations. I was this close to bringing ricky lambert into my team last night like :O!!

Coutois Myhill - I know its too much money (10mil) tied up but gonna keep coutois for another 5/6 weeks as other areas of team require more attention.

Dummet Yun Bertrand Robertson Wisdom - Not getting enough points from the defense at all, have been trying to fix it the last few weeks but any of them except dummet can go if im honest.

Sanchez Hazard Siggy Downing Tadic - been my best line the last few weeks but tadic has to go, too much money tied up with him and not enough returns, other 4 are fine imo.

Costa Aguero Kane - costa obviously has to go this week but i want to bring him back in for 2 weeks time so not sure wat to replace him with, i was thinking berahino maybe or Ings?? Other two are fine in my opinion, kane away to chelsea this week but other than that he was a great buy 4 weeks ago.

A max of 2 tranfers this week, as I only have 1 free transfer this week, but any suggestions for this and the next few weeks transfer strategies would be greatly appreaciated,

39 wasn't a bad score for last week at all.
    Nobody is really making a killing from there defence so I wouldn't get to panicked about that back 5.

If you're going to be getting Costa back then I would be inclined to hold onto him in your case and play 3-5-2.
    I'd nearly keep your transfer this week and use your 2FT's before next weekend to do something like
    Tadic -> Boyd (giving you 3m to play with - You have overspent on your front 8 imo)
    Cheap Def -> Premium Def

All in all, it's a good team and I can't see the panic tbh.

PARlance wrote: »
    39 wasn't a bad score for last week at all.
    Nobody is really making a killing from there defence so I wouldn't get to panicked about that back 5.

If you're going to be getting Costa back then I would be inclined to hold onto him in your case and play 3-5-2.
    I'd nearly keep your transfer this week and use your 2FT's before next weekend to do something like
    Tadic -> Boyd (giving you 3m to play with - You have overspent on your front 8 imo)
    Cheap Def -> Premium Def

All in all, it's a good team and I can't see the panic tbh.

Thanks a mil for the reply. Yes, tadic to boyd is a transfer i meant to do last week actually but moore of leicester lost his place so i swapped him for yun (who now looks injured). I would then transfer bertrand to coleman or baines which would be good. The only thing if i bank it this week is that my only two playing strikers are aguero and kane (away to chelsea), might captain aguero and hope he causes wreck away to sunderland. Good strategy yea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

I feel I have made the transfer that will define my season. ADM to Santi instead of Sanchez.

On 733 right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I'd also be looking to swap out Courtois to someone like Krul or Pantilimon (although he has a shocking few weeks ahead of him, so maybe best to wait a few weeks).

FHFC wrote: »
    Its a two week punt for me after which Costa will more than likely come back in for Hull.

Exactly, it's one transfer to replace Costa, and it will be one to get him back in. Getting Bony and spreading the cash elsewhere will lead to points hits and heartache over who to ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

FHFC wrote: »
    It probably is in your position in fairness. Pity.

I'd love to get in on the act but it's 4 million to find from Bony to RVP. The whole Costa thing back in for Hull needs to be addressed though. If only we could have 4 slots upfront.

I'm going to play around a bit today and then keep my head fresh on Tuesday until 6ish.

Thanks a mil for the reply. Yes, tadic to boyd is a transfer i meant to do last week actually but moore of leicester lost his place so i swapped him for yun (who now looks injured). I would then transfer bertrand to coleman or baines which would be good. The only thing if i bank it this week is that my only two playing strikers are aguero and kane (away to chelsea), might captain aguero and hope he causes wreck away to sunderland. Good strategy yea?

You could do Costa -> Bony this week but you've got 5 playing midfielders and seeing that you will be getting Costa back, I just see it as a wasted transfer.
    Even though it's a free transfer, I would be looking at it as a 4 point hit, because it'll probably cost you 4 points or even 8 points down the line when you're getting Costa back in.

Looks like you've a good opportunity to bank it and sort out your team for no hits on Thursday. Tadic might even give you a nice parting gift on Weds against Arsenal.

PARlance wrote: »
    You could do Costa -> Bony this week but you've got 5 playing midfielders and seeing that you will be getting Costa back, I just see it as a wasted transfer.
    Even though it's a free transfer, I would be looking at it as a 4 point hit, because it'll probably cost you 4 points or even 8 points down the line when you're getting Costa back in.

Looks like you've a good opportunity to bank it and sort out your team for no hits on Thursday. Tadic might even give you a nice parting gift on Weds against Arsenal.

great advise thanks, you have definitley talked me out of taking a points hit for tomorrows games. although i am still tempted to get rooney/bony in for costa still, even if it will be for a max of two gameweeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭miller82

Thoughts please ...

Current team :

Forrester

Dummet
    Bertrand
    Baines

Sanchez
    Fab
    Siggy
    Chadli

Aguero
    Pelle
    Costa

Bench :
    Myhill
    Wisdom
    Boyd
    Duff

have two free transfers. considering
    Costa ----> Bony
    Chadli----> Mir

Fab
    > Haz

I could probably ditch the third one.
    any thoughts appreciated

great advise thanks, you have definitley talked me out of taking a points hit for tomorrows games. although i am still tempted to get rooney/bony in for costa still, even if it will be for a max of two gameweeks.

Costa -> Rooney or Bony could be a great move but if I was making it I'd be prepared to go without Costa up until Jan.

Either way, I don't think you need to take a hit this GW. It'd be 1 transfer or a bank for me.
    Loads of us are having to take a hit, you'll have a head start on a lot of folk by not taking one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Are you sure siggy will outscore downing by 4 points? If not id hold off that one for a week.

Good point. Siggy's fixture is more attractive than Downing's but I would need an assist and clean sheet just to break even on the transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I'd love to get in on the act but it's 4 million to find from Bony to RVP. The whole Costa thing back in for Hull needs to be addressed though. If only we could have 4 slots upfront.

I'm going to play around a bit today and then keep my head fresh on Tuesday until 6ish.

Costa has Newcastle away before Hull though and Chelsea have struggled up there before. They lost 2-0 last season:

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/24681361

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

First of all, if you close such a gap in such a time (15 pts/week gain) we may all as well be the ones to ask your advice ;).
    Think Courtois could do it for you until the Jan WC. My only worry regarding him is Mourinho giving a Christmas game to Cech.
    Nothing majorly wrong with that defence. For me Wisdom is a season keeper too. Despite him being at fault on the Arsenal goal I found him very interesting, he goes forward a lot, he's quick and paced enough.
    Robertson and Yun are your concern. I'd try get a Swansea def. Chambers at his price may be appealing. And for Christmas if you have the funds a City def may work a threat.

That's a strong front 8.

It's all about your preferred formation though. 3-4-3, 3-5-2, rotating between the 2? I abandonned the rotation one last year. IMO you lose more than you gain with it. So if I were you I'd choose which formation I prefer and put my strongest player accordingly. I see 2 major questions:

How much can you upgrade Tadic by?
    How much you'd "lose" on selling Costa?
    A max of 2 tranfers this week, as I only have 1 free transfer this week, but any suggestions for this and the next few weeks transfer strategies would be greatly appreaciated
    Looking at your team and depending for what price you'd be selling Costa a 1-week punt on Rooney or Bony could work a threat.
    If you plan on keeping him long term though your midfield is strong enough to cover. Eriksen could be a good replacement for Tadic but not this week.
    So in the end maybe your best bet is get a Swansea def in.

If you have the funds you can monitor Silva. He could be a great improvement on Tadic when back fit (especially with their Christmas fixtures).

Overall no need to panic over this team. And remember that a good captain choice accounts for more than 50% I'd say of how you perform in this game. My (C) choices have been dire this year and despite having a strong enough team I'm struggling big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Lemlin wrote: »
    Costa has Newcastle away before Hull though and Chelsea have struggled up there before. They lost 2-0 last season:

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/24681361
    I don't think you can really look at last year's result to try and predict what would happen this year.

The teams are completely different... Costa wasn't even with Chelsea then, either were the two outstanding players Matic and Fabregas and one of last year's goalscorers has even moved to Chelsea :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

De Gea and Yaya Toure in for Forster and Di Maria for -4. I can survive a week with Costa on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

De Gea and Yaya Toure in for Forster and Di Maria for -4. I can survive a week with Costa on the bench.

Anyone else out there got Yaya??? I would equate him with Van Persie for the moment, clearly overpriced but could be a great short term punt when money is burning a hole in your pocket (as often happens for various reasons)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Here's my team lads..looking at moving out Costa and ADM Im torn on who too get in tho,

Austin and hazard
    Or
    Aguero and Siggy

Or Yaya toure... Advice please lads
    Any advice lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Any advice lads?

I would go Aguero and Siggy.

Austin and Hazard isn't a bad option, though.

Yaya is the worst imo.

Any advice lads?

Just get Aguero in anyway, how much money will you have left over for the midfield replacement? Siggy sounds good but with a bit of extra money you could chance someone else.

miller82 wrote: »
    Thoughts please ...

Current team :

Forrester

Dummet
    Bertrand
    Baines

Sanchez
    Fab
    Siggy
    Chadli

Aguero
    Pelle
    Costa

Bench :
    Myhill
    Wisdom
    Boyd
    Duff

have two free transfers. considering
    Costa ----> Bony
    Chadli----> Mir

Fab
    > Haz

I could probably ditch the third one.
    any thoughts appreciated

Chadli should be fit for midweek. He was on the bench at the w-e and I guess it's mainly because he was probably not 100% despite what he said. The advantage is you can wait for team news tomorrow eve to make your decision.
    I'd be wary of Mirallas gametime though, especially going into Christmas.

To drop (Costa) or not to drop? Depends on tour midterm plan and if/when/how much you'd need to get him back.

Upgrading Fab to Hazard? If you got him at £9m like everyone, wait at least for tomorrow since Fab will prob rise tonight. Bony and Rooney (if 100% fit) are the standout replacements alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Just get Aguero in anyway, how much money will you have left over for the midfield replacement? Siggy sounds good but with a bit of extra money you could chance someone else.

Gettin out costa and adm will give me 21mill

After I get in KUN I have 8.2 too spend on a midfielder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Gettin out costa and adm will give me 21mill

After I get in KUN I have 8.2 too spend on a midfielder

Siggy, Eriksen or (not sure about this one tbh) Mirallas should be on your watchlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Costa and ADM to Rooney and Hazard

The Costa transfer could be inspired or come back to bite me. I stuck with him when he was off for two weeks, but that hasn't really paid off. I suppose there's always the January wildcard if he becomes must-have again. Here's hoping Hazard picks up more of a forward role in the Tottenham game while Costa's on the sidelines.

iroced wrote: »
    Chadli should be fit for midweek. He was on the bench at the w-e and I guess it's mainly because he was probably not 100% despite what he said. The advantage is you can wait for team news tomorrow eve to make your decision.
    I'd be wary of Mirallas gametime though, especially going into Christmas.

I'd be wary of Chadli myself which is why I haven't touched him so far this year. He's scoring goals but he's not a great player and Spurs have won both games he's missed, there's still competition in that Spurs midfield and as I guessed would happen Eriksen has made himself indespensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

I'd be wary of Chadli myself which is why I haven't touched him so far this year. He's scoring goals but he's not a great player and Spurs have won both games he's missed, there's still competition in that Spurs midfield and as I guessed would happen Eriksen has made himself indespensible.

Eriksen absolutely ran the show yesterday. Just got him in yesterday as part of a hit with prices in mind and to (hopefully) be able to field XI this GW. Anything more than 2pts v Chelsea will be a bonus, but you never know. After that, Spurs have a nice little run and I'd be hopeful of some good points returns. He seems to mop up the BP's any time he scores also, which is good.

iroced wrote: »
    First of all, if you close such a gap in such a time (15 pts/week gain) we may all as well be the ones to ask your advice ;).

Think Courtois could do it for you until the Jan WC. My only worry regarding him is Mourinho giving a Christmas game to Cech.

Nothing majorly wrong with that defence. For me Wisdom is a season keeper too. Despite him being at fault on the Arsenal goal I found him very interesting, he goes forward a lot, he's quick and paced enough.
    Robertson and Yun are your concern. I'd try get a Swansea def. Chambers at his price may be appealing. And for Christmas if you have the funds a City def may work a threat.

That's a strong front 8.

It's all about your preferred formation though. 3-4-3, 3-5-2, rotating between the 2? I abandonned the rotation one last year. IMO you lose more than you gain with it. So if I were you I'd choose which formation I prefer and put my strongest player accordingly. I see 2 major questions:

How much can you upgrade Tadic by?
    How much you'd "lose" on selling Costa?

Looking at your team and depending for what price you'd be selling Costa a 1-week punt on Rooney or Bony could work a threat.
    If you plan on keeping him long term though your midfield is strong enough to cover. Eriksen could be a good replacement for Tadic but not this week.
    So in the end maybe your best bet is get a Swansea def in.

If you have the funds you can monitor Silva. He could be a great improvement on Tadic when back fit (especially with their Christmas fixtures).

Overall no need to panic over this team. And remember that a good captain choice accounts for more than 50% I'd say of how you perform in this game. My (C) choices have been dire this year and despite having a strong enough team I'm struggling big time.

Wow, Jesus you are some legend for that analysis of my squad, I can't thank you enough mate.its posts like that that makes this forum so brilliant. Cheers bud.

Everything you've said re my team I agree with or at least its def crossed my mind. My biggest worry overall is lack of points from defence (no baines or Coleman) and tadic not performing to justify his price. Most of what u said I plan to do anyway. I think 1 free transfer Costa to Rooney may be on the cards 2moro, I won't lose any money by selling him and I know parlance has said it may cost me a 4pt hit in 2/3 weeks time but hopefully Rooney will score enough to cover it. Tadic will deffo go this coming Saturday for Boyd and then I'll use the savings to upgrade downing to Silva/mata/sterling the following week. Then coutois and Bertrand to possibly guzan and coleman.
    That will surely see me crawl back that 20 points.

BTW who are you captaining this week? Just so i can do the opposite ;)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Anyone else out there got Yaya??? I would equate him with Van Persie for the moment, clearly overpriced but could be a great short term punt when money is burning a hole in your pocket (as often happens for various reasons)

He's scored the winner in the last 2 weeks, I think he's coming into form. And if it doesn't work out, I can easily get back Di Maria.

BTW who are you captaining this week? Just so i can do the opposite ;)!
    Ahah you b@st@rd :D :pac:. Will captain Elliott, that suits :p :pac:?