movie cliches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

That's a lovely little family pet you've got there ... Would be a shame if someone ... Killed it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 Jose Mourinho GOAT

The handcuffs are always that little bit too tight. Prompting the arressted to complain while the cop looks like a bit of a maverick.

From personal experience I found they were too loose. Was in the back of a Garda car at 16 and successful squeezed them off. Was funny when the Guard saw them in the back seat as I got out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

"Don't you die on me goddammit"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Its quiet............too quiet

(cue the biggest attack/explosion ever)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

In Horror movies: "Let's split up"

Me: "How about..let's not"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

every movie with a submarine has to include

a ) a scene where an overhead pipe bursts and the captain/hero has to stand under it like a shower and turn a handle until the spray stops
    b) a scene where the sub dives to a depth that is beyond the safety level and the sound effects have the metal groaning under the strain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

"summer blockbuster"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Sonic Death Monkey

Bombs are always given ridiculous time frames before they detonate.

We're gonna need a montage .... MONTAGE!!!

Always fade out in a montage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

out of control cars either either end up being driven off a cliff edge with a roll tumble and big explosion or a pier followed by a big splash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Adamantium wrote: »
    In Horror movies: "Let's split up"

Me: "How about..let's not"

Also going down to the basement at night in a power cut in a thunderstorm always seems to happen in horror films , similar to the bloke in the red top in Star Trek always getting killed first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Mom and dad split up!
    Dad always in bad books, missing kids birthdays and stuff!
    Dad ends up Hero saving the day whilst revealing Moms new boyfriend is an out and out pr*ck and Dad will usually end up, to the delight of mom and kids, punching him in his smug f*ckin' face!
    Oh wait!! Did you say movies??? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Person on the other end of the phone obviously hangs up, phone line goes dead. 'Hello? HELLO?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Robert2012

" Okay, you've got 24 hours"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Person on the other end of the phone obviously hangs up, phone line goes dead. 'Hello? HELLO?'

They'll then lower the receiver, turn it and stare at it for three seconds before returning it to the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

An anti social high school kid try's to reinvent himself in order to please his peers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

blade1 wrote: »
    Mom and dad split up!
    Dad always in bad books, missing kids birthdays and stuff!
    Dad ends up Hero saving the day whilst revealing Moms new boyfriend is an out and out pr*ck and Dad will usually end up, to the delight of mom and kids, punching him in his smug f*ckin' face!
    Oh wait!! Did you say movies??? :pac:

Also if it's the 80's or early 90's you work a fast paced corporate job in middle-class America, which of course means you're a terrible father.

Choose one, the job or the children.
    He picks the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Ah but if you've ever watched a movie from the 40's, the main character then keeps shouting "hello, hello;" down the phone while constantly pressing the receiver with his other hand...even if the person on the other end had just gone quiet, the hero has just hung up on them multiple times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Bombs are always given ridiculous time frames before they detonate.

And no-one ever defuses it with half an hour to go.

Ah but if you've ever watched a movie from the 40's, the main character then keeps shouting "hello, hello;" down the phone while constantly pressing the receiver with his other hand...even if the person on the other end had just gone quiet, the hero has just hung up on them multiple times!

that's because on those old phone systems it would connect you to the operator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Grayson wrote: »
    And no-one ever defuses it with half an hour to go.

that's because on those old phone systems it would connect you to the operator.

You've still killed the call though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

No one has Bluetooth or handsfree when making mobile phone calls while characters are driving.
    Car tyres alwas squeal when some one is on a mission.
    All phone nos start with 555.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Clint Eastwood plays by his own rules

If anyone just read that without putting on Clint Eastwood's raspy voice then ye have no soul...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Hi, I'm the good guy. In the fierce and final battle the entire film has been building to, I have fired approximately 90,145 bullets from my handgun which holds between 6 and 15 bullets. You haven't seen me reload much, unless it is at a suspense building moment where a bad guy approaches me silently pointing his gun at me (Funnily enough he never shoots while 15 feet away...)

Oh did I mention that endless supply of bullets runs out JUST as I make it to the head honcho bad guy? I have to look again at my gun even though I already knew it was empty just to emphasise to the gobshítes that it is empty, and throw it away. Then I have to prove my good guy status by beating him in hand to hand combat even though he is a much better martial artist than I!

Barely ever happens though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fight scene .....

bunch of bad guys but do they approach hero on mass...no

its in order one by one, with each being knocked out with one blow how convenient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

All phone nos start with 555.

Universal films use (212) 664-7665. they bought it just for film use.

Now something i didn't know, but found out when i was googling the universal number is that there's an irish equivalent to a 555 number.
    Phone numbers of the format 020-91X-XXXX are reserved for filming and drama use by ComReg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Army characters that never follow procedure but somehow are tolerated and never seems to get thrown out of the army.The Hurt Locker is a prime example of this.

In reality they wouldn't last a day in the army I would say.

Colonel - "You disobeyed my order"

Soldier - "Yes sir" (looks down at the ground sheepishly)

Colonel - "That's why I'm promoting you".

Soldier is happy, everyone else is happy, chopper flies past the sun. Newly promoted soldiers arch enemy walks up to him with a stern look on his face. Stare down for a few seconds (tense music obviously), arch enemy finally extends hand, "you deserved it pal", former arch enemy and newly promoted soldier embrace and end up holding hands, skipping into the sunset..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

Taking pills with out a drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Always plenty of time to pick up a live hand grenade and throw it back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

When they are watching the news on TV, and at the end of the sentence relevant to them they switch the TV off straight away....

Also, American families always seem to have monster slap-up breakfasts while the sun shines brightly outside