Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    I feel like Sheldon in that Christmas presents scene of the big bang :)

Jaysis if someone bought me a car like that for christmas id be the same haha

I actually have never watched the big bang :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Engine, pickles. ;)

For the future twin cam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CianRyan wrote: »
    Engine, pickles. ;)

For the future twin cam?

Yep that'd be the plan although he's screaming for a cheap 180 shell and get going!

CianRyan wrote: »
    Engine, pickles. ;)

For the future twin cam?

Only copped that now :o kept thinking it was a drift car like the one I was offered a go in

Heads fecked altogether these days :o

Only copped that now :o kept thinking it was a drift car like the one I was offered a go in

Heads fecked altogether these days :o

Ah jesus man college is really taking its toll?!

Yep :o when i come see this rig of your's ill bring down what i done, and re done, this week, its about 7 a1 pages so far and the deadlines Monday, It's properly consumed me to be honest, I've no time for anything any more because ill fall behind otherwise, and even at this rate, I'm just about managing! Even now I'm modelling crap to put into my 3d model tomorrow :o

Not looking for sympathy but that's how it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Jesus what course are you doing? Architecture or somethin?

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Jesus what course are you doing? Architecture or somethin?

Architectural technology :pac:

My final year was hectic man no doubt about it but it will all be worth it in the end!
    Over christmas get down here and give this a blast :)

My final year was hectic man no doubt about it but it will all be worth it in the end!
    Over christmas get down here and give this a blast :)

Shall do! :D I'm actually "off" next week so I'll potter down then :)

Architectural technology :pac:

Jaysus ya poor bastard, when I was in WIT, the arch tech folk never bothered going home, they just lived in the architecture building :pac:

Yeah that's pretty much how it goes! :pac: if we could we'd bring our beds in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i'm also "going through" third year architectural technology right now, i'm also currently commuting 100 miles a day to do it. i think it's easier than second year. second year was hell, make no mistake. i was incredibly close to throwing in the towel.

pickles, i know them feels.

edit: i do it in W.I.T, the family atmosphere is great, but the hours are huge. what year did you finish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

I feel for you toastedpickles.

College can be the worst when you have deadlines, so many better things going on around deadlines. What I want to know is - how in the name of sweet devine baby Jesus can you run a 2.3t Saab as a student?

Shall do! :D I'm actually "off" next week so I'll potter down then :)

Great man, I'm off every evening, free from about 6 :)

i'm also "going through" third year architectural technology right now, i'm also currently commuting 100 miles a day to do it. i think it's easier than second year. second year was hell, make no mistake. i was incredibly close to throwing in the towel.

pickles, i know them feels.

Everyones saying that here too, second year is torture, and if you can make it through you'l be grand, and theyre right, we're coming to the end of timber framed buildings....I hate them so much, steel is next, then concrete I'm not gona give up but you're right, the days where i feel like going "Yknow what?? Fcuk all this!" are getting increasingly frequent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

We all give out about our course in college as to how difficult it is and how many lectures labs we have but tp your course seems to be a whole different level difficult. Although if you've got to this stage with it your more than capable of completing it. I have a tough 3 weeks ahead of me. Study week next week then 2 weeks of exams but sure what can you do only get down to it.

Can't wait for my few weeks off over Christmas. My car needs a serious going over and possibly a service (must check that). It will be nice to spend a few days on that rather than just working my brain to an inch of its life in college day in day out. But I suppose it's all worth it when you qualify and get a decent job out of it.

edit: i do it in W.I.T, the family atmosphere is great, but the hours are huge. what year did you finish?

Loved it there, great craic of a town, lived there mind, kildare - waterford was too much of a commute, the full m9 only opened half way through 4th year for me I think.

Did quantity surveying, finished in 2012.

I feel for you toastedpickles.

College can be the worst when you have deadlines, so many better things going on around deadlines. What I want to know is - how in the name of sweet devine baby Jesus can you run a 2.3t Saab as a student?

See this is a peculiar set up, As only my aunt works in the family, and my folks are separated, I live way outside the circle of the college, so because of all that and a bit more my grant is a rather large sum each month, from which i budget the insurance, tax, fuel, and the occasional bus trip from, so by being poor and going to college i can afford to run the car :pac: Otherwise i wouldnt be able to!
    Great man, I'm off every evening, free from about 6 :)

Grand so! :) I'll give you shout anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

That's a course I would have loved to do. I really considered it as wit was so close I'd have been laughing only 30 minute drive but no of course I had to make life difficult for myself by heading to cork :pac:

Everyones saying that here too, second year is torture, and if you can make it through you'l be grand, and theyre right, we're coming to the end of timber framed buildings....I hate them so much, steel is next, then concrete I'm not gona give up but you're right, the days where i feel like going "Yknow what?? Fcuk all this!" are getting increasingly frequent

at this point we've covered all building techniques, third year is just applying them.

our whole studio c/a is picking a building in town, knocking it, going through the planning and development process and seeing how best to maximise the space, then build it. it's more paperwork and red tape than detailing at this stage, which is a nice change tbh.

are you doing domestic timber frame? i have some snazzy details if you'd like a look.
    Loved it there, great craic of a town, lived there mind, kildare - waterford was too much of a commute, the full m9 only opened half way through 4th year for me I think.

that was on the Cork Rd. campus was it? i started in the granary in 2012, some spot in fairness, they cauld is unreal :P

fortunately, i have a house down there i'm only commuting this fortnight.

at this point we've covered all building techniques, third year is just applying them.

our whole studio c/a is picking a building in town, knocking it, going through the planning and development process and seeing how best to maximise the space, then build it. it's more paperwork and red tape than detailing at this stage, which is a nice change tbh.

are you doing domestic timber frame? i have some snazzy details if you'd like a look.

Sounds similar to the third years in my place, nah we're past all the domestic lark, all commercial stuff this year, breather membranes and vapour barriers have become the bane of my life :pac:

i take great enjoyment in commercial buildings, in that, unlike anything domestic which at this point in time is basically a hermetically sealed box thanks to the advent of passiv necessity, a commercial or industrial unit just has to stand upright, get bolted together and not blow over, then you attach a ****ing massive no expense spared HVAC system and **** air tightness.

that was on the Cork Rd. campus was it? i started in the granary in 2012, some spot in fairness, they cauld is unreal :P

fortunately, i have a house down there i'm only commuting this fortnight.

Correct! ha I've heard of that place alright, I take it the site for the architecture building is still sitting there hardcored and fenced off then?

Nice, templars I suppose? :pac:

i take great enjoyment in commercial buildings, in that, unlike anything domestic which at this point in time is basically a hermetically sealed box thanks to the advent of passiv necessity, a commercial or industrial unit just has to stand upright, get bolted together and not blow over, then you attach a ****ing massive no expense spared HVAC system and **** air tightness.

Haha see that's how it would work in reality, but noooo! we're being trained for "teh fewwture" All this nzeb craic coming up when we graduate, so even our insutrial units have to be near bloody passive regs :o terrible altogether!

Correct! ha I've heard of that place alright, I take it the site for the architecture building is still sitting there hardcored and fenced off then?

Nice, templars I suppose? :pac:

yeah, still fenced off. we've got a few good lectures on it though on laying service conduits, foundations and we spent one whole module out on it doing linear surveying and levelling :pac: so i guess it's not totally useless.

nah, templers is too classy, i'm up in ballybricken, truly lovely part of the world.
    Haha see that's how it would work in reality, but noooo! we're being trained for "teh fewwture" All this nzeb craic coming up when we graduate, so even our insutrial units have to be near bloody passive regs :o terrible altogether!

i am very happy to not be in D.I.T. after this statement :pac: hows the drop-out rate with yous? there 6 in my class this year and just 3 in second year.

Most people are :pac:

Eh we had 65 last year and 20 odd this year and at the rate this year is going it'l be about 7 next year

Also in car related news, my 900s fuel pump should be here tomorrow :) then i can get it insured and sorted out properly

yeah, still fenced off. we've got a few good lectures on it though on laying service conduits, foundations and we spent one whole module out on it doing linear surveying and levelling :pac: so i guess it's not totally useless.

nah, templers is too classy, i'm up in ballybricken, truly lovely part of the world.

At least its coming to some use, awful shame really, was set to be a great building :( (Not that us sh1tehawks would have been let near it :pac: )

Feck, I was out in Ardkeen, had a very law-de-daw gaff, and it was for peanuts too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Trinity geology, ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

At least its coming to some use, awful shame really, was set to be a great building :( (Not that us sh1tehawks would have been let near it :pac: )

Feck, I was out in Ardkeen, had a very law-de-daw gaff, and it was for peanuts too!

Rent down in Waterford is ridiculously low! Almost makes driving to Cork everyday worth it!