Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Sobanek wrote: »
    Boring work is boring.

Upside is 5.5 hours to go.

Upside :pac:

My stupid Wandows is acting up after a fresh install, stupid Wandows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Your Wandows is fooked.

DrWandows.com :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Interslice wrote: »
    Do a bit of rockclimbing and surfing so just interesting to know what your working with! We were trying to climb lovely cliffs during the summer in North Kerry around ballybunnion but it was fairly dodgy, too brittle to climb. Calcareous shale apparently.

High in calcium carbonate levels most likely due to marine sediments considering you were close to the coast. Generally speaking, the farther from land sediments fall, the less calcareous they are but given your location it probably wouldn't have been a good idea.

I work on a lot of iconic sites around the country, including two world heritage sites, its great for a geography and ancient history anorak like myself, but sometimes its nice to be able to work at less recognised sites around the country - Ireland certainly has no shortage of them, especially around the South West. I do like a nice unspoiled view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Sobanek wrote: »
    Your Wandows is fooked.

DrWandows.com :pac:

3Y8yH.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Fetwgfkirg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Yeah, sure I never seem to post anything useful, Nothing is really going on with the cars, any time I do post about them it's usually hur hur you're driving an over engineered Opel, and I'm just spending far too much time on here sometimes I dunno I think I'm just having an off day to be honest! Pay no heed haha

it.s the nature of this forum. No two people on it are enthusiastic about cars for the same reason. They are ornaments, workhorses, rally cars, sideways, gadget holders, the cheapest way from a to b, the comfiest piece of furniture, magical mystery machines, old, new, e46, low, high, stock, modified... each to their own. A bit of variety to it. I do look at posts sometimes and wonder why would you bother and I'm sure others think the same about mine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Great to see we've all kind of gelled again :)

I have gotten some great information on here since I joined, hope I've been able to help some out there too :)

I've made a few friends and attend anything I can (we need to go karting again! )

I've also learned in the photo forum that I'm highly regarded as the worst photographer on here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

So I diagnosed the problem with the 166 as being one of the hydraulic lifters :). I ordered one and it arrived yesterday. I plan to lob it into the head today but have a quick question. All of the lifters in in the car are shiny but the new one is very dull. Is this normal? Should i do anything with it or fit it as is?

Great to hear Deb :)

I've never heard of having to do any prep work anyway, I'd say the others have been heat treated to a lovely oily polish after all these years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Jaysus I'm out of the house one night, log in now and see nothing but male affection... Dafuq has happened!!!!!!!!
    In all seriousness I think it is the best forum on Boards, AH can be great sometimes but it's very difficult to get any sort of useful answer whereas here you are guaranteed a useful answer.
    My problem is that the guaranteed answers I've gotten have ended up costing me a feckin fortune in repairs :D

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    So I diagnosed the problem with the 166 as being one of the hydraulic lifters :). I ordered one and it arrived yesterday. I plan to lob it into the head today but have a quick question. All of the lifters in in the car are shiny but the new one is very dull. Is this normal? Should i do anything with it or fit it as is?

Cough... I did say that it could be the lifters*

*Can't be bolloxed to go through all these pages just to prove myself wrong :D

Why? :confused:

Never mind, I get you now.

If the battery is flat in the morning I'll know why.

No problems today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

bear1 wrote: »
    Cough... I did say that it could be the lifters*

*Can't be bolloxed to go through all these pages just to prove myself wrong :D

You did! Hats off to you sir :)

Now it's just a small matter of dropping in the new lifter, putting in the camshaft, torquing it in, setting the timing, putting on and tensioning the belt, fitting all the covers, coils, plugs, intake plenum, timing belt covers, auxiliary belt, wheel arch liner and the wheel. That's it off the top of my head:p. About 20 minutes I think :pac::pac::pac:

I also got a drop link for it which I should throw in too. I'll do my best to get loads of pictures and I'll update the project thread when I do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

You're not a real bloke until you use the heater in the car to dry your hair because you don't own a hair dryer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    You did! Hats off to you sir :)

Now it's just a small matter of dropping in the new lifter, putting in the camshaft, torquing it in, setting the timing, putting on and tensioning the belt, fitting all the covers, coils, plugs, intake plenum, timing belt covers, auxiliary belt, wheel arch liner and the wheel. That's it off the top of my head:p. About 20 minutes I think :pac::pac::pac:

I also got a drop link for it which I should throw in too. I'll do my best to get loads of pictures and I'll update the project thread when I do :)

That makes me feel bad about not bothering to fit my new fuel filter out of pure laziness. Have had it about 6 months now....in the spring maybe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

There has been a noticeable attitude difference in the last while around here. I was off line for most of the weekend and when I came back I could see that a few virtual digs were thrown. A couple of disrespectful comments about what certain posters drive etc. Its fairly hypocritical for me to point out immaturity but there was absolutely no need for what went on to happen.

I've stopped really posting or reading here since I returned from my ban approx 2-3 months ago.
    Glad to see that I'm not the only instigator of violence :P

You're not a real bloke until you use the heater in the car to dry your hair because you don't own a hair dryer :D

Pah, try brushing your teeth using the windshield washer :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Yeah, sure I never seem to post anything useful, Nothing is really going on with the cars, any time I do post about them it's usually hur hur you're driving an over engineered Opel, and I'm just spending far too much time on here sometimes I dunno I think I'm just having an off day to be honest! Pay no heed haha

Hup there now, don't be going anywhere lad, where will I nab all the LED's from then? :pac:

Ah no, I haven't been posting here as much as I'd like to recently, due to work and no spare time. But sure 99% of my posts are stupid, and usually have no relevance. The odd time I might post something of my productive work, but more often than not I'm whining about my car problems.

Keep posting away, you're one of the ones who's always up for a bit of banter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Just started aluminium welding today, such a hormonal metal to work with.

Hey lads, i want to buy two new tyres for a friend of mine for Christmas for drifting.
    I'm wondering where is the cheapest spot to get 18's?
    I found them on openeo for €60, just wondering if someone knows of somewhere that can beat it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Are part-worns an option? If so, try ProParts in Dublin.

We have any endless supply of part worns Thanks MM :)
    There's an incredible difference drifting on new tyres and I'll try afford two new ones for him :)

OSI wrote: »
    Must be a "special" friend to warrant getting him tyres for Christmas

Ah no he's just a good friend! He's a he too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

YbFocus wrote: »
    Ah no he's just a good friend! He's a he too!

"He" could still be "special".....we don't know all your secrets Yb! :pac:

Of course, and the is nothing wrong with modern times :)
    But I ain't special :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Seems my painting skills are sh1te, some bits are flaking off after 2 whole days :pac:

Think I'll try it with some satin instead of matt black & some clear coat.. might give it a bash with the compressor & spray gun rather than aerosol cans..

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Seems my painting skills are sh1te, some bits are flaking off after 2 whole days :pac:

Think I'll try it with some satin instead of matt black & some clear coat.. might give it a bash with the compressor & spray gun rather than aerosol cans..

Did you use a plastic primer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Interslice wrote: »
    Did you use a plastic primer?

Just sanded the stones out of it and used halfords grey primer.

Was never intended to be a good job, just something to keep me busy for a few days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm never buying you a coke in McDs again :D

I'm fairly sure you don't know this car tbh, and I'm being kind
    It was rebuilt by a member on here, then not driven for a year.

I consider those issues minor, as I look after my cars the wishbone issue only came up last weekend when I/we were servicing the car and we jumped on the suspension

I'm one of the rare breed of owners who listen to their cars and questions anything weird, so much so that when I take my OHs car to our mechanic he listens to me and we have a laugh at the Oh

I'd spent about 500e on a weekend away, would you spend that on a car ?

and he in return laughs at you when you leave :pac:

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Just sanded the stones out of it and used halfords grey primer.

Was never intended to be a good job, just something to keep me busy for a few days..

Ha! fair enough.