Looting and Rioting in St. Louis (Merged)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Nodin wrote: »
    So you're saying that the author recommended is a racist then? Certainly he could be popular amongst the white supremacists and seperatists due to something like gardening skills, or reaching out to young men and teaching them knitting.....doubt it though.

What has that got to do with the whole situation? its not about race but the spin the media is putting on it is making it into black vs white like that was the whole moative behind the whole thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Time was when Calling somebody a racist on boards was sanctioned with a card or a ban. I guess it just depends on the moderator then ,doesn't it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

evo2000 wrote: »
    What has that got to do with the whole situation? its not about race but the spin the media is putting on it is making it into black vs white like that was the whole moative behind the whole thing...

It stems from this post
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93202227&postcount=1154

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭mark13

That article in no way proves he's a racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

So you're saying that the author recommended is a racist then? Certainly he could be popular amongst the white supremacists and seperatists due to something like gardening skills, or reaching out to young men and teaching them knitting.....doubt it though.

he wrote a book pointing out that most of the racial crime in the US is committed by blacks

is he right or wrong, check the stats

there are also plenty of black people who are worried by very same thing

just because white supremacists like his book does not make it right or wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

evo2000 wrote: »
    Anyone that has to use slavery as a stick in modern day issues is a joke!
    no they aren't

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

only happens when one is simply calling someone a racist when they aren't, as a form of personal abuse. not when infact the person called a racist is actually one with posts to prove it

I got slapped by a mod (Penn) with a ban after I called Another poster a racist-it was pointed out to me that Calling someone a racist was the same as Calling them a troll or likewise-a de facto way of discrediting Another poster by slinging mud.It sunk in and I ended up agreeing with his decision.

A lot of well able posters making valid Points on both sides without resorting to low blows.

Anyhow,discussing this further would be drawing the subject off topic....so back to Ferguson, MI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Peist2007 wrote: »
    I think a hangover from slavery is a major factor in why there is more reporting of white on black crime. Slavery is a major part of american history from the plantations up to the 'modern' struggles of Malcolm X etc. Blacks in america will always be descendants of slaves and the white-owned corporate media are aware of that.

Yes I don't disagree with the above.

Again, do you think the extra focus and outrage on white on black crime is warranted because of this?

Personally I think it is unwarranted and cynical. A black person being killed by a white person does not automatically mean it was because of racism or a hangover from slavery. The media would love it to be the case though as would many of their viewers.
    An interesting part of your above post is your clear-cut statement that there is "little to none" coverage of black on black crime.

You admit above that there is less reporting on black on white crime, and my apparently "interesting" statement was relating to focus/outrage and not simply "coverage" as you put it. While there is no doubt coverage on all kinds of newsworthy crime, it is the special attention and outrage that I am referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Putinovsky

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Slavery doesnt really explain the rioting that took place in London a while back.

Or maybe it does?

Who knows.

The rioting that poor whites also took part in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

I think you need to up your comprehension skills amigo ;)

I guess this proves racists do have tiny minds

you managed to respond without adding anything. well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

humanji wrote: »
    But he was massaging the facts to miss out the important information regarding the backgrounds of those who commit criminal acts. Taking all the information paints a very different picture.

he didnt massage anything. he stated a fact. nothing else. you decided to infer something from that

Don't know why the media focus on this so much.

Whenever there is white on black crime in the US, the media have a field day.

Never the same hullaballo when it's black on white crime, or black on black crime for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭reprise

Well fancy that, your first post on thread and calling someone a racist.

Well done you.

crockholm wrote: »
    I got slapped by a mod (Penn) with a ban after I called Another poster a racist-it was pointed out to me that Calling someone a racist was the same as Calling them a troll or likewise-a de facto way of discrediting Another poster by slinging mud.It sunk in and I ended up agreeing with his decision.

A lot of well able posters making valid Points on both sides without resorting to low blows.

Anyhow,discussing this further would be drawing the subject off topic....so back to Ferguson, MI

Fair play to you for taking it on the chin and seeing the mods point. The problem with a lot of threads like this is too often the witch-hunt played out by trolls who use it to back seat moderate and intimidate.

So far as I am concerned, I now treat being called a racist the same as being called a rapist. Prove it and fine, otherwise, I report.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Acting the maggot goes with any skin colour White, Black, Yellow, Green, Grey.

So true, as does any bullying and harrasment.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I am doing a rebellious thing and actually reading all the evidence and testimony. There is a metric ton of the stuff, so I'm not going to comment on much right now. However, some things I have already encountered in the first few hundred pages.
    This prosecutor presented all evidence because he did not want an indictment, and he presented this to a Grand Jury knowing they are less likely to indict when it is an officer involved shooting.

I'm trying to figure out the logic of that statement. If he doesn't want an indictment, surely he would present only some of the stuff, the stuff which most supports Wilson's testimony? Presenting everything means that the cards fall as they may.
    Secondly, Wilson fired twelve shots. Between the first/second and eleventh/twelth shot, the risk of imminent harm was reduced. It was overkill on the part of Wilson yet the prosecutor brushed this aside.

There is no such offence as "overkill" in any jurisdiction that I'm aware of. Lethal force was justified or it was not, be it on the first or the thirteenth round. (He did not empty his magazine)
    Fourthly, the police department allowed for Brown's body to stay in the middle of the street for 4.5 hours during a hot summer day. His mother and family were not permitted to go to his body and the police did not respect the family's request to at least cover his body as they continued their investigation. This is what inflamed the community.

This is specifically countered by testimony. Brown's Father was allowed inside the perimeter, and the body was both covered, and screened from view as much as possible. Indeed, the medical investigator made mention of the fact that he had little space to work with because of all the cops in close proximity holding up the screens to try to reduce the ability for people in higher floors of nearby apartments to see in.

I have only touched the water on the testimony so far, but, for example, Item 3 is incorrect. It is true that the medical legal examiner did not take any measurements and that his battery was dead. It is also true, however, that he wasn't too worried about the measurements because it was the job of the crime scene detective (who in his testimony had measurements down to the inch, for example, 156', 9" from the front left wheel of Wilson's vehicle to Brown's head), and he also directed the St Louis County photographer to take photos for him, so it's not as if the photographs were not taken.

As to the other items in the case, I haven't analysed it yet. Frankly, I can't imagine that the HuffPost person had either at the time it was posted. There is a -hell- of a lot of reading to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Once again the US exposed as a backward racist s h ithole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Oh, of course.

I mean the USA only develops technology so advanced it may as well be magic, is the cultural capital of the modern world and elected a mixed race president.

What a backward, racist s h ithole!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Originally Posted by Killer Wench View Post
    Mistakes in the investigation:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/1...n_6220814.html

Just got to testimony relevant to item #4. The investigators have to make a conscious decision between testing a gun for fingerprints and testing it for DNA. They cannot do both. (I presume because the fingerprint kit destroys DNA, and the swabbing with moist Q-tips destroys fingerprints). The detective in charge of securing Wilson's sidearm evidence goes over the decision-making process and why they chose to go the DNA route and not the fingerprint route.

Frankly, that HuffPo article is not to be taken as a reference, IMO.

Just got to testimony relevant to item #4. The investigators have to make a conscious decision between testing a gun for fingerprints and testing it for DNA. They cannot do both. (I presume because the fingerprint kit destroys DNA, and the swabbing with moist Q-tips destroys fingerprints). The detective in charge of securing Wilson's sidearm evidence goes over the decision-making process and why they chose to go the DNA route and not the fingerprint route.

Frankly, that HuffPo article is not to be taken as a reference, IMO.

Well done Manic Moran.

I was intrigued by the DNA vs fingerprint thing, that makes sense.

The medias role in inflaming rather than educating is disgusting. Too many ill educated and ignorant people get a free ride with an "anti racist" slant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

**** WARNING ****

Here is the video and article to the 12 year old being shot.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/11/26/tamir-rice-video-shows-co_n_6227552.html?ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000063

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭sin_city

That’s right!

I’m getting tired of hearing Asian-Americans doing better than whites….When will the Asian-Americans stop discriminating against the whites?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

What nationality are you? If you are Irish, or of any European nationality at all, perhaps the time to take the US to task on it's perceived racialist shortcomings is when we have a black president, black head of defence forces, black foreign secretary, etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

No. White people didn't loot after OJ was found not guilty.

But White people looted when Joe Paterno, a famed football couch, was fired. He was fired after stories surfaced that one of his assistant couches had sexually abused and raped young boys who participated in children's football camps. Paterno knew and did nothing about it.

http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2011/11/10/rioting-penn-state-students-topple-tv-van-attack-reporter-in-wake-of-paterno-firing/

Rioting after a Pumpkin Festival in Keene, New Hampshire:

http://www.cnn.com/2014/10/19/us/new-hampshire-pumpkin-festival-riot/

Here are our cousins in Canada, looting and rioting after the Canucks lost Game 7 in the Stanley Cup Finals:

http://bc.ctvnews.ca/looting-breaks-out-as-riots-intensify-in-vancouver-1.657730

Yes, there was rioting and looting in Ferguson after an 18 year old was shot and killed by the police.

Since Brown's death, a 12 year old Black boy was shot and killed by police in Cleveland. The child was carrying a toy gun and when he was commanded to put the gun down, the child froze, and then was shot twice in the stomach.

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2014/11/26/cleveland-to-release-video-12-year-old-boy-shot-by-officer/

Since Brown's death, a Black man was gunned down in the middle of a Walmart. He had picked up a toy gun and was carrying it around the store. Most customers didn't care. But then someone called it in saying that he was pointing it at customers; police responded by killing the man. The 911 caller later retracted their statement about the man pointing the gun at people.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-nation/wp/2014/09/25/ohio-wal-mart-surveillance-video-shows-police-shooting-and-killing-john-crawford-iii/

Since Brown's death, a Black man in Utah was shot in the back after police responded to a 911 call that a man was swinging a sword. It turned out the man was wearing an anime costume and the sword on his back was for show. Police said he charged him with the sword. Witnesses said that the man had been talking and laughing with the police before he was shot.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/10/29/utah-police-shooting/18102775/

The reason people are angry is because in these police shootings, police have said that they feared for their life and they responded with deadly force. Witnesses contradict the police statements. Police are using the deeply entrenched fear that most Americans are programmed to have about Black people--Black men in particular.

Wilson described Brown as being a hulking figure. Wilson said that he felt like a five year compared to Brown's size. He said that Brown practically grew with rage. His comments mirror the old racist images of the apish Black man.

So what your saying is that white people riot when their sports team loses... black people riot for social 'justice'... got it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

No, it does not. Wilson stands at 6'4 and over 200 lbs. Mike Brown was 6'6 and nearly 300 lbs. Not really a big hulking difference as Wilson liked to characterize it.

Clearly you have never participated in any contact sport or hand to hand combat sports. That 100 lbs is a huge difference. That is just under 50kg and I can tell you from experience that weight in sports like boxing, or any marital art especially that involves gabbling, that 100lbs is very difficult to over come even if you are more skilled than your opponent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

jank wrote: »
    So what your saying is that white people riot when their sports team loses... black people riot for social 'justice'... got it!

Nothing of the sort was suggested.

and?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

reprise wrote: »
    and?
    nothing of the sort was suggested

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.