Looting and Rioting in St. Louis (Merged)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 489 ✭✭Sclosages

Fair play to that guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Earl Turner

Guy recording the riot has his phone stolen by a fellow brother. That'll show whitey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Fair play to that cop, handled himself well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

jank wrote: »
    Powerful video by someone who actually wants to fix the problem and not perpetuate the usual agenda driven social justice warrior crap that some want.

That's the thing about cases that offer an opportunity for opposing ideologues to lock horns, which they do with increasing enthusiasm, particularly on the internet.
    Feels trump facts and the how, what, why and when of what actually happened largely become irrelevant once the circus rolls into town. Nobody's interested in the truth any more, just promoting their version of it more effectively than the other guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Yarf Yarf

DeadHand wrote: »
    Morbidly amused by the cynicism and bovine stupidity of those out looting innocent people and businesses in St.Louis.

What's the rationale here? "I'm so upset over the death of Brown that I need to rob this widescreen"?

Where's all this righteous fury from the black community when a black youth is killed by (the most likely kind of person to kill him by far) another black youth?

Or is it just a case that it's easier and more comforting to blame others for your problems than it is to look within?

There's a big difference between someone being killed by a gang member or some individual operating outside of the law and someone being killed by law enforcement, the people who are supposed to protect citizens. It's especially worse when this deadly force tends to be used more frequently against black people than white people.

Drawing comparisons between gang members killing each other and police forces killing citizens is beyond ridiculous, frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Yarf Yarf wrote: »
    Drawing comparisons between gang members killing each other and police forces killing citizens is beyond ridiculous, frankly.

Yes ridiculous. Especially when the numbers of "gang members" *ahem*killing each other are sky high and incidents involving police officers defending themselves against a violent attack by an offender are in fact quite rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Guy recording the riot has his phone stolen by a fellow brother. That'll show whitey!

:pac: he is a self described Arab. Seems it couldn't happen to a nicer guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

And after 3 months, 60 witness statements & 5,000 pages of testimony, a grand jury find no reason to indicte the police officer.

especially when the case was put to them by a prosecuter with family links to that particular police department. nothing can go wrong there

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

DeadHand wrote: »
    Morbidly amused by the cynicism and bovine stupidity of those out looting innocent people and businesses in St.Louis.

What's the rationale here? "I'm so upset over the death of Brown that I need to rob this widescreen"?

no . its to engineer a situation where they can have a go at the police. it was the same with the riots in the UK after the mark duggan murder

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

no . its to engineer a situation where they can have a go at the police. it was the same with the riots in the UK after the mark duggan murder

and get a free widescreen !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Yarf Yarf

Amazingfun wrote: »
    Yes ridiculous. Especially when the numbers of "gang members" *ahem*killing each other are sky high and incidents involving police officers defending themselves against a violent attack by an offender are in fact quite rare.

Yeah, exactly. Usually they're not simply defending themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

especially when the case was put to them by a prosecuter with family links to that particular police department. nothing can go wrong there

you keep harping on about this. What evidence did the prosecutor withhold from the grand jury? I presume that is what you are implying.

and get a free widescreen !!!
    its to engineer a situation where they can have a go at the police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

I dont think they're 'engineering' anything.
    Its the usual mob mentality of "lets take advantage of this situation whilst we can". Same with the riots after the Love Ulster Parade....think i'll call into footlocker for a free pair of runners while i'm at it.

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    I dont think they're 'engineering' anything.

yes they are. they are trying to engineer a situation where they can have a go at the police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

Yarf Yarf wrote: »
    Yeah, exactly. Usually they're not simply defending themselves.
    The facts clearly suggest that Wilson was doing just that. The record is clear:
    1. Michael Brown was a thug.
    2. Who came from a broken family also of thugs.
    3. He had just robbed a convenience store of relatively minor trinkets, e.g. cigarillos and some food (the cigarillos were worth $48, food a few dollars on top of that) and simply threw the owner out of the way when challenged.
    4. He walked down the middle of the street like a lunatic, and (likely) attacked a cop who challenged him.
    5. The police officer ends up killing the thug, most likely in self-defence.
    6. A bunch of leftists lionise him as some kind of black Mother Teresa.
    7. Riots ensue before any entity has had any opportunity to start an investigation, let alone reach any kind of conclusions.
    8. More riots ensue when multiple investigations and some witnesses destroy the "MB the gentle giant" narrative.
    How the hell is any of this whitey's fault, let alone the poor sods who lost businesses, personal possessions (they burned down a public storage facility) in the ensuing madness?

Where is the conspiracy? It looks straightforward to me. Thug robs store. Thug attacks cop. Thug dies. Leftists lionise thug. More thuggery en-masse by certain groups. End of.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

SeanW wrote: »
    3. He had just robbed a convenience store of relatively minor trinkets, e.g. cigarillos and some food (the cigarillos were worth $48, food a few dollars on top of that) and simply threw the owner out of the way when challenged.
    4. He walked down the middle of the street like a lunatic, and (likely) attacked a cop who challenged him.
    7. Riots ensue before any entity has had any opportunity to start an investigation, let alone reach any kind of conclusions.
    8. More riots ensue when multiple investigations and some witnesses destroy the "MB the gentle giant" narrative.
    How the hell is any of this whitey's fault, let alone the poor sods who lost businesses, personal possessions (they burned down a public storage facility) in the ensuing madness?

Where is the conspiracy? It looks straightforward to me. Thug robs store. Thug attacks cop. Thug dies. End of.
    he didn't attack him. they're was a bit of a struggle but nothing major. willson wasn't deffending himself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 489 ✭✭Sclosages

Where is the conspiracy? It looks straightforward to me. Thug robs store. Thug attacks cop. Thug dies. End of.

There are a woeful amount of thugs who don't get murdered (12 gun shots) for robbing the corner shop.

its to engineer a situation where they can have a go at the police

So, why did they loot business's within their OWN community, how is that having a go at the police??
    Why dont they try to burn down a police station?? Maybe not brave enough for that much of a go??

Destroying shops, hair salons ,auto shops etc, on their own doorstep is not having a go at police. It wasnt a shop owner who shot Brown
    They are just shtting on their own neighbours and neighbourhoods.

yes they are. they are trying to engineer a situation where they can have a go at the police

This isnt some organised structure set in place to have a concerted go at the local police. This is toe-rags taking advantage of a volatile situation for personal gain.

he didn't attack him. they're was a bit of a struggle but nothing major. willson wasn't deffending himself

a bit of struggle? he tried to take the officers gun. I'd consider that something major. He then walked away and then ran back at the officer. But dont let facts get in the way.

Sclosages wrote: »
    There are a woeful amount of thugs who don't get murdered (12 gun shots) for robbing the corner shop.

maybe they werent dumb enough to try and take the officers gun and then take a run at them?

Have you even read any of the eye witness accounts of what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

What do you mean "they're (sic) was a bit of a struggle" (which involved reaching for a gun) how can there be a "bit of a struggle" without one person necessarily attacking the other? Seriously? How can there be a struggle without an instigator?
    He wasn't murdered, and it wasn't for robbing the shop. He was killed after he attacked the cop and went for his gun.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Sig Sauer is a small caliber weapon, the lad killed was a big fella so it would of taken a few shots to kill him, tho the officer could of shot him between the eyes but i imagine people would be complaining about that too.

He wasn't "murdered" for robbing a shop, he was killed for attacking a police officer, the world is a better place without him.

Also the community of Ferguson have really let themselves down by thrashing the place for "justice"... any excuse to steal and destroy.

Jake1 wrote: »
    So, why did they loot business's within their OWN community, how is that having a go at the police??
    Why dont they try to burn down a police station?? Maybe not brave enough for that much of a go??

Destroying shops, hair salons ,auto shops etc, on their own doorstep is not having a go at police. It wasnt a shop owner who shot Brown
    They are just shtting on their own neighbours and neighbourhoods.
    person loots business or police station. police get called. group of people throw whatever at police or attack them. they could have attacked police stations for all we know

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    This isnt some organised structure set in place to have a concerted go at the local police. This is toe-rags taking advantage of a volatile situation for personal gain.
    This is an organised structure set in place to have a concerted go at the local police.

good night and good luck!

Beano wrote: »
    maybe they werent dumb enough to try and take the officers gun and then take a run at them?
    apparently only tried to take it. if that was even true it is nothing major if the gun was secured properly. if he had any chance of taking it it would have been because the officer was to stupid to secure it properly

What do you mean "they're (sic) was a bit of a struggle" (which involved reaching for a gun) how can there be a "bit of a struggle" without one person necessarily attacking the other? Seriously? How can there be a struggle without an instigator?

He wasn't murdered, and it wasn't for robbing the shop. He was killed after he attacked the cop and went for his gun.
    he was murdered, and i doubt he went for the gun unless the officer was to stupid to secure it properly