Garage Won't Return My Vehicle..;(

After he Told me he was taking the engine and gearbox back out, I asked a garage their opinion and they told me,If he takes that engine and gearbox back out that vehicle will never drive again..

Yeh, that's good advice. They tend not to drive well when the engine and gearbox are taken out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Drummer1967

whupdedo wrote: »
    I know if I was asked to do a job and they got someone to independently verify it was okay I wouldn't be too pleased, why did you ask him to do the job if you were going to go ahead and get it independently checked out, seems a very bizarre situation to me, are you unsure about his quality of work ?

He originally told me the engine I was getting only had 115,000 miles and a full service history but ignored all my texts asking for reg number and proof of full service history....
    Then he told me that someone else had fitted the engine and not him....

Now his father has taken over the situation and he's not even involved with the garage...
    something dodgy going on here, the father offered me 2,000 the other day and I refused but still no van...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭BmCon

Go to him with a numbered list of 10 independent garages.
    Put list on his desk face down.
    Tell him to pick a number between 1 and 10 without him seeing the list.
    The chosen number/garage will be the independent garage which will be used.

Then tell him to have your car either brought to said garage for an independent inspection, or if he's paranoid have that garage's mechanic come to his site.
    You will make the booking and observe the work and/or receive the independent garages report in both instances.

(maybe even give him 1 secondary opportunity to choose again from a different random list - in case he picks his arch nemesis or business rival, evil twin, or any other BS excuse )

If he refuses this option then he is dodgy and you should tell him to lawyer up cause you're on your way to consumer affairs/ombudsman.

Jesus I'd go mad if someone did this to me..
    In business there is an issue of trust and a good name holds this. If the OP did not know this guy why did he get the car done there? Did you trust the mechanic to do the work? If did the work and you were doing what you are doing I would hold your car till you pay me. He's not wrong. Pay the bill then you can get it checked all you want.

The next time you are getting work done get a quote and list of required work.

I do understand your position, 2k is a lot of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭BmCon

He originally told me the engine I was getting only had 115,000 miles and a full service history but ignored all my texts asking for reg number and proof of full service history....
    Then he told me that someone else had fitted the engine and not him....

Now his father has taken over the situation and he's not even involved with the garage...
    something dodgy going on here, the father offered me 2,000 the other day and I refused but still no van...:(

OK...

This is different. That's a bit fishy alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I'm tending more and more towards the garages side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Are you sure they actually changed the engine/gearbox? And didn't just talk up your car issues as being worse than they were, and simply repair what you drove in with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

percy212 wrote: »
    Whats the big deal about having work verified. If the guy can't stand by the work he said he did, then something is wrong. Either he did the work right or he didn't.

All it should mean to the garage is an extra couple of hours before they get paid.

Lol. You don't do tradey type work so. "Jasus Mate, they ripped you off there, erm, let me fix it for you..you need a new clutch radiator and a gearbox crankshaft, yer man must be a right cowboy....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Gardi ?

mike_ie wrote: »
    Are you sure they actually changed the engine/gearbox? And didn't just talk up your car issues as being worse than they were, and simply repair what you drove in with?

It's a 2.4 engine he said he fitted mine was a 2.5tdi.. no issue with that as i'd know instantly by the look of it that it was different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

It's a second hand engine am I just supposed to pay up without even checking if the engine is working properly..?? I asked them to bring it up to vw so they could verify that the engine is what he promised me but he refused,Now he wants to buy the vehicke and has offered me 2,000 but I just want it back as im being forced to hire one now...

Did he nit give some warranty? ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Well as long as you still have your logbook, it's not a problem. Tell him you'll be down to settle up tomorrow. If he's not compliant then give the guards a call.

He wanted me to pay him cash and take a verbal 2 month warranty...But if he ignored me before I paid for the job, whats he going to do once I've paid him...ignore my calls again ,most probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭dbrunson

I left my work vehicle to a garage to have a second hand engine and gearbox fitted.
    When the vehicle was repaired the garage sent me a short video of it been driven.When I Told the garage I would be paying by visa and that I wanted to have the work checked by an independent garage as it was costing 2,000 The owner threatened to remove the fitted engine and gearbox..That was on October 7th...I still have not got my vehicle back.

would anyone know how I should proceed from here..
    Thanks in advance

Op if you trusted ye garage to do the work in the first place what would you need to get it checked. pay up . ps no one including the garage you get to "check " the work - engine will be able to stand over the quality of a second hand engine.

Lone Stone wrote: »
    Gardi ?

I doubt it. I don't think he fixes cars anymore. He more into his art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

It's a second hand engine am I just supposed to pay up without even checking if the engine is working properly..?? I asked them to bring it up to vw so they could verify that the engine is what he promised me but he refused,Now he wants to buy the vehicke and has offered me 2,000 but I just want it back as im being forced to hire one now...

What did you originally agree with them? Was the agreement that they bring it to a 3rd party for a check before getting paid? Or is that a new condition that you've now introduced?

Its pretty normal for a garage to insist on payment before releasing a vehicle unless theres some other agreed arrangement. You can then bring it to a 3rd party pay for a check and if its not as per your agreement, then you out a claim into the small claims I assume.

This is not an Irish site, but something along these lines seems appropriate

http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/wales/consumer_w/consumer_cars_and_other_vehicles_e/cars_garage_repairs_and_services_e/disputing_a_bill_for_garage_repairs.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

So all tradespeople are on the make is what you are saying :) He can't trust the guy who just fixed his van, but he shouldn't trust anyone else he brings it to either?

I am getting everything double checked from now on. Thanks!
    Lol. You don't do tradey type work so. "Jasus Mate, they ripped you off there, erm, let me fix it for you..you need a new clutch radiator and a gearbox crankshaft, yer man must be a right cowboy....."

dbrunson wrote: »
    Op if you trusted ye garage to do the work in the first place what would you need to get it checked. pay up . ps no one including the garage you get to "check " the work - engine will be able to stand over the quality of a second hand engine.

yes your correct, but if its done 400,000 miles instead of the 115,000 he promised me it will be obvious when emissions are checked..All im asking for is what I was told I was getting for my 2,000 nothing else

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Yawns

We're getting the story in drips n drabs. As usual there's 2 sides to every story and truth usually lies somewhere in between.

Don't think the guards will get involved either as at the moment it's a civil case and the garage can hold the car until paid for work carried out. OP could pay with credit card and then get it,verified, receipt in writing with warranty and have someone with him when paying. If an independent garage says it wasn't done right and gives a report, he can talk to a solicitor or do a charge back if he has to.

Either way the trust is gone on both sides after this.

yes your correct, but if its done 400,000 miles instead of the 115,000 he promised me it will be obvious when emissions are checked..All im asking for is what I was told I was getting for my 2,000 nothing else

And what was that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭dbrunson

I left my work vehicle to a garage to have a second hand engine and gearbox fitted.
    When the vehicle was repaired the garage sent me a short video of it been driven.When I Told the garage I would be paying by visa and that I wanted to have the work checked by an independent garage as it was costing 2,000 The owner threatened to remove the fitted engine and gearbox..That was on October 7th...I still have not got my vehicle back.

would anyone know how I should proceed from here..
    Thanks in advance

percy212 wrote: »
    So all tradespeople are on the make is what you are saying :) He can't trust the guy who just fixed his van, but he shouldn't trust anyone else he brings it to either?

I am getting everything double checked from now on. Thanks!

Yes. I speak for ALL trades people. Everywhere. They elected me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Yeh, that's good advice. They tend not to drive well when the engine and gearbox are taken out.

I've seen The Flintstones, don't lie to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Get your car back. Simples.

its not simples at all. he wants an independant inspection of the work which he is right and entitled to do.
    With your attitude to date I wouldn't blame the owner for demanding cash tbh

attitude has nothing to do with anything. the owner will get payed by whatever method the OP wishes to pay him once he has the facilities in place to receive it which he should have.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

You are dealing with a cowboy. Isn't there an ombudsman for this sort of thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Dempsey wrote: »
    You are dealing with a cowboy. Isn't there an ombudsman for this sort of thing?

There no garage anywhere stand over quality of a secondhand engine and gearbox....also in all my time in and out of scrapyards...I've never seen anything approaching a receipt being handed out (not sayin it don't happen)
    Pay the garage....unless it's completely obvious altogether how will the other garage know???
    It's usually accepted when your buying second hand parts the risks being taken...usually if there is a rapid failure the garage or scrapyard covers the replacement out of good will....which I doubt the op will get much of after this!!

• Administrators Posts: 56,570 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What are you going to do if the independent mechanic disagrees with this guys opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

Yes. I speak for ALL trades people. Everywhere. They elected me.

You're doing your best anyway and that's what matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

whatever method the OP wishes to pay him.

Doesn't really work like that pal. What if the OP wishes to pay with his 2 grands worth of back issues of Hustler, does the grease monkey have to accept?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Joooooooeeeee Dufffffyyyyyy

no he won't, until he gets his independant inspection of the car

its not simples at all. he wants an independant inspection of the work before he pays for it which he is right and entitled to do.

attitude has nothing to do with anything. the owner will get payed by whatever method the OP wishes to pay him once he has the facilities in place to receive it.

How are you going to pay someone by visa if they don't have cc facilities.
    How are you going to get it inspected if he doesn't have the car.

Where are you getting any of this from? You should look what Lien is as it applies to garages and mechanics.