Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garage Won't Return My Vehicle..;(

• 25-11-2014 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

I left my work vehicle to a garage to have a second hand engine and gearbox fitted.
    When the vehicle was repaired the garage sent me a short video of it been driven.When I Told the garage I would be paying by visa and that I wanted to have the work checked by an independent garage as it was costing 2,000 The owner threatened to remove the fitted engine and gearbox..That was on October 7th...I still have not got my vehicle back.

would anyone know how I should proceed from here..
    Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

What? How does this happen? It's YOUR car and they have it over 6 weeks. Grow a pair. That's my advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Pay him the 2k. Things should flow from there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

I left my work vehicle to a garage to have a second hand engine and gearbox fitted.
    When the vehicle was repaired the garage sent me a short video of it been driven.When I Told the garage I would be paying by visa and that I wanted to have the work checked by an independent garage as it was costing 2,000 The owner threatened to remove the fitted engine and gearbox..That was on October 7th...I still have not got my vehicle back.

Thanks in advance

Park your other vehicle across there front gates until they give you back the work vehicle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Call a Pow Wow and plan an attack on the Cowboys.

Park your other vehicle across there front gates until they give you back the work vehicle!

Er, he needs to pay for the work. The stumbling block is not the garage, it's the bill. Pay Bill, all G. No pay Bill, all not G. Bill is important in all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

The video thing sounds weird. Almost like what a kidnapper does in a hostage situation.

On a serious note try the motors forum. Should get a better response.

The video thing sounds weird. Almost like what a kidnapper does in a hostage situation.

On a serious note try the motors forum. Should get a bitter response.

FYP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Er, he needs to pay for the work. The stumbling block is not the garage, it's the bill. Pay Bill, all G. No pay Bill, all not G. Bill is important in all this.

He said he was paying by Visa, is that not a legal form of payment in your part of the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

Have you any particular gripe about the workmanship done? I presume it was YOU who asked the garage to fit secondhand parts. Just pay the outstanding bill. I don't know much about motors but 2k to replace the engine, gearbox and pay for labour of said work doesn't sound excessive to me.
    Pay the bill. Get your car back. Simples.
    With your attitude to date I wouldn't blame the owner for demanding cash tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Drummer1967

It's a second hand engine am I just supposed to pay up without even checking if the engine is working properly..?? I asked them to bring it up to vw so they could verify that the engine is what he promised me but he refused,Now he wants to buy the vehicke and has offered me 2,000 but I just want it back as im being forced to hire one now...

It's a second hand engine am I just supposed to pay up without even checking if the engine is working properly..?? I asked them to bring it up to vw so they could verify that the engine is what he promised me but he refused,Now he wants to buy the vehicle and has offered me 2,000 but I just want it back as im being forced to hire one now...I have offered to pay the full amount once the work is verified, but he refuses...He did not do the work himself and failed to provide any evidence /proof of the donor vehicle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

It's a second hand engine am I just supposed to pay up without even checking if the engine is working properly..?? I asked them to bring it up to vw so they could verify that the engine is what he promised me but he refused,Now he wants to buy the vehicke and has offered me 2,000 but I just want it back as im being forced to hire one now...

So why not go direct to vw garage in the first instance. Did you not get a quote to begin with? He has done the work. Pay up. IF there is a problem afterward you'll be covered by the Sales of Goods and Supply of Services Act won't you?

vw don't sell secondhand engines, a new one would be too expensive...I've no problem paying for work but I can't afford to be ripped off again

He's probably saying the same thing. And maybe he doesn't have a visa machine. But you chucked in the "he wants to buy it bit" there, which queers the pitch. But also means the engine must be good. Why else would he want it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

The engine might be in fine working order but it may be from a questionable source. Maybe not 100% legal.

Very strange that he would offer to buy the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Pay him up front, get the work verified and if everything is good release the hostages unharmed.

He's not going to give you the car to drive off.
    Maybe if you offer to pay himself or one of his mechanics for the hours spent in the VW garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Pay the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Offer to hand over your passport, and a recent bill in your name so they no where to find you if you just bugger off with the car. Seems reasonable. It would be normal to pay first though, and follow up with the garage if there is an issue. I presume you stipulated your requirements for non-payment until certified by the VW garage before you got them to do the work?

I presume you went to an indy as it was cheaper, most small indies wouldn't have the volume of business to justify the overheads of a credit card machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭BmCon

You need to pay the bill. Engine, gearbox + labour = 2k sounds about right to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Go to him with a numbered list of 10 independent garages.
    Put list on his desk face down.
    Tell him to pick a number between 1 and 10 without him seeing the list.
    The chosen number/garage will be the independent garage which will be used.

Then tell him to have your car either brought to said garage for an independent inspection, or if he's paranoid have that garage's mechanic come to his site.
    You will make the booking and observe the work and/or receive the independent garages report in both instances.

(maybe even give him 1 secondary opportunity to choose again from a different random list - in case he picks his arch nemesis or business rival, evil twin, or any other BS excuse )

If he refuses this option then he is dodgy and you should tell him to lawyer up cause you're on your way to consumer affairs/ombudsman.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I know if I was asked to do a job and they got someone to independently verify it was okay I wouldn't be too pleased, why did you ask him to do the job if you were going to go ahead and get it independently checked out, seems a very bizarre situation to me, are you unsure about his quality of work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

If it's an established garage and not somebody's back yard who might skip town in the morning, I don't see the problem. Pay the bill, get invoices for the work done. Take the car to an independent garage if you wish. If there are any issues, you're covered by law.

After he Told me he was taking the engine and gearbox back out, I asked a garage their opinion and they told me,If he takes that engine and gearbox back out that vehicle will never drive again....The next day he called me with what he said was a solution....I will buy your van he said...At first I agreed to sell it for scrap for 1500, but then I felt I was being bullied into it by threats to remove the fitted engine,so I told him I couldn't afford to replace the vehicle for 1,500 and just wanted to pay for the repairs...He now insists that I agreed to sell the van and as far as he is concerned its deal done.....
    I fear he has already dismantled /sold the van...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

This sounds fishy. The OP offered to pay by Visa and the garage is getting upset. Visa can cancel a payment if there is a problem with the work and the OP complains. Cash doesn't come back once its handed over.

Best solution is as said above - offer to pay for one his mechanics to go with you for the second opinion. He can even drive the car there. If everything is above board there should be no issue with this arrangement. If he won't go for it, its garda time.

After he Told me he was taking the engine and gearbox back out, I asked a garage their opinion and they told me,If he takes that engine and gearbox back out that vehicle will never drive again....The next day he called me with what he said was a solution....I will buy your van he said...At first I agreed to sell it for scrap for 1500, but then I felt I was being bullied into it by threats to remove the fitted engine,so I told him I couldn't afford to replace the vehicle for 1,500 and just wanted to pay for the repairs...He now insists that I agreed to sell the van and as far as he is concerned its deal done.....
    I fear he has already dismantled /sold the van...

I fear you're messing. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

If he sourced the engine and did the work, then pay him. Any hassle afterwards like it not working, you're covered under the sales of good act etc. He needs paying and he does not have to bring it to any other garage to have his work verified in any way shape or form. After you pay him, you can bring the car to whoever you want to verify or do whatever and you can pay for that. The garage was contracted to do the work and he has fulfilled his end from what you tell us. He doesn't need to bring it anywhere to verify.

Did he take the video after you asked him to verify it working?

After he Told me he was taking the engine and gearbox back out, I asked a garage their opinion and they told me,If he takes that engine and gearbox back out that vehicle will never drive again....

Well whatever you do, don't bother going to that garage for any advice again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

whupdedo wrote: »
    I know if I was asked to do a job and they got someone to independently verify it was okay I wouldn't be too pleased, why did you ask him to do the job if you were going to go ahead and get it independently checked out, seems a very bizarre situation to me, are you unsure about his quality of work ?

Why? I wouldn't give a shyte, it's their own time and money their wasting. But unless they were bringing the inspector to me, quicksmart, I'd expect to be paid before they leave.

Whats the big deal about having work verified. If the guy can't stand by the work he said he did, then something is wrong. Either he did the work right or he didn't.

All it should mean to the garage is an extra couple of hours before they get paid.

After he Told me he was taking the engine and gearbox back out, I asked a garage their opinion and they told me,If he takes that engine and gearbox back out that vehicle will never drive again..

Yeh, that's good advice. They tend not to drive well when the engine and gearbox are taken out.

whupdedo wrote: »

He originally told me the engine I was getting only had 115,000 miles and a full service history but ignored all my texts asking for reg number and proof of full service history....
    Then he told me that someone else had fitted the engine and not him....

Now his father has taken over the situation and he's not even involved with the garage...
    something dodgy going on here, the father offered me 2,000 the other day and I refused but still no van...:(

Go to him with a numbered list of 10 independent garages.
    Put list on his desk face down.
    Tell him to pick a number between 1 and 10 without him seeing the list.
    The chosen number/garage will be the independent garage which will be used.

Then tell him to have your car either brought to said garage for an independent inspection, or if he's paranoid have that garage's mechanic come to his site.
    You will make the booking and observe the work and/or receive the independent garages report in both instances.

(maybe even give him 1 secondary opportunity to choose again from a different random list - in case he picks his arch nemesis or business rival, evil twin, or any other BS excuse )

If he refuses this option then he is dodgy and you should tell him to lawyer up cause you're on your way to consumer affairs/ombudsman.

Jesus I'd go mad if someone did this to me..
    In business there is an issue of trust and a good name holds this. If the OP did not know this guy why did he get the car done there? Did you trust the mechanic to do the work? If did the work and you were doing what you are doing I would hold your car till you pay me. He's not wrong. Pay the bill then you can get it checked all you want.

The next time you are getting work done get a quote and list of required work.

I do understand your position, 2k is a lot of money.

He originally told me the engine I was getting only had 115,000 miles and a full service history but ignored all my texts asking for reg number and proof of full service history....
    Then he told me that someone else had fitted the engine and not him....

Now his father has taken over the situation and he's not even involved with the garage...
    something dodgy going on here, the father offered me 2,000 the other day and I refused but still no van...:(

OK...

This is different. That's a bit fishy alright.

I'm tending more and more towards the garages side.

Are you sure they actually changed the engine/gearbox? And didn't just talk up your car issues as being worse than they were, and simply repair what you drove in with?

percy212 wrote: »
    Whats the big deal about having work verified. If the guy can't stand by the work he said he did, then something is wrong. Either he did the work right or he didn't.

All it should mean to the garage is an extra couple of hours before they get paid.

Lol. You don't do tradey type work so. "Jasus Mate, they ripped you off there, erm, let me fix it for you..you need a new clutch radiator and a gearbox crankshaft, yer man must be a right cowboy....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Gardi ?

mike_ie wrote: »
    Are you sure they actually changed the engine/gearbox? And didn't just talk up your car issues as being worse than they were, and simply repair what you drove in with?

It's a 2.4 engine he said he fitted mine was a 2.5tdi.. no issue with that as i'd know instantly by the look of it that it was different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Did he nit give some warranty? ?

Well as long as you still have your logbook, it's not a problem. Tell him you'll be down to settle up tomorrow. If he's not compliant then give the guards a call.

He wanted me to pay him cash and take a verbal 2 month warranty...But if he ignored me before I paid for the job, whats he going to do once I've paid him...ignore my calls again ,most probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭dbrunson

Thanks in advance

Op if you trusted ye garage to do the work in the first place what would you need to get it checked. pay up . ps no one including the garage you get to "check " the work - engine will be able to stand over the quality of a second hand engine.

Lone Stone wrote: »
    Gardi ?

I doubt it. I don't think he fixes cars anymore. He more into his art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

What did you originally agree with them? Was the agreement that they bring it to a 3rd party for a check before getting paid? Or is that a new condition that you've now introduced?

Its pretty normal for a garage to insist on payment before releasing a vehicle unless theres some other agreed arrangement. You can then bring it to a 3rd party pay for a check and if its not as per your agreement, then you out a claim into the small claims I assume.

This is not an Irish site, but something along these lines seems appropriate

http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/wales/consumer_w/consumer_cars_and_other_vehicles_e/cars_garage_repairs_and_services_e/disputing_a_bill_for_garage_repairs.htm

So all tradespeople are on the make is what you are saying :) He can't trust the guy who just fixed his van, but he shouldn't trust anyone else he brings it to either?

I am getting everything double checked from now on. Thanks!
    Lol. You don't do tradey type work so. "Jasus Mate, they ripped you off there, erm, let me fix it for you..you need a new clutch radiator and a gearbox crankshaft, yer man must be a right cowboy....."

dbrunson wrote: »
    Op if you trusted ye garage to do the work in the first place what would you need to get it checked. pay up . ps no one including the garage you get to "check " the work - engine will be able to stand over the quality of a second hand engine.

yes your correct, but if its done 400,000 miles instead of the 115,000 he promised me it will be obvious when emissions are checked..All im asking for is what I was told I was getting for my 2,000 nothing else

We're getting the story in drips n drabs. As usual there's 2 sides to every story and truth usually lies somewhere in between.

Don't think the guards will get involved either as at the moment it's a civil case and the garage can hold the car until paid for work carried out. OP could pay with credit card and then get it,verified, receipt in writing with warranty and have someone with him when paying. If an independent garage says it wasn't done right and gives a report, he can talk to a solicitor or do a charge back if he has to.

Either way the trust is gone on both sides after this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

yes your correct, but if its done 400,000 miles instead of the 115,000 he promised me it will be obvious when emissions are checked..All im asking for is what I was told I was getting for my 2,000 nothing else

And what was that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭dbrunson

Thanks in advance